Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Moving to Waterford

• 05-01-2006 7:26pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,647 ✭✭✭

Hey just want to pick your brains a bit.......

My husband is 99.9% buying a restaurant in Tramore quite soon............so maybe we'll have to move from the midlands.
    Not straight away, as I have two doing junior/leaving certs this year, but after the exams, towards the end of spring.

I want to live in /near the CITY, with hustle and bustle! How difficult will it be to rent a house as near to the city as poss?

Any school recommendations for a 9yr girl (4th class) and 15yr old boy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,624 ✭✭✭✭Fajitas!

The big school in Waterford for young lads is De La Salle, most of my friends went there, and thought it was really really good. The Ursline's always had a pretty good name for a girls school. You could quite easily live in the city, and commute daily - There's a bus in and out of Tramore every half hour abouts. Traffic does get hectic though.

Hope all goes well for ye!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 698 ✭✭✭meldrew

Dont mean to sound smart but the schools in Tramore are meant to be fairly good and the property is a little less expensive , you might be better living out there and getting to know the locals . The city is only ten minutes away anyway so you'd have the best of both worlds .

• Registered Users Posts: 2,272 ✭✭✭merlante

Indeed, Tramore is very close to Waterford. There are regular busses throughout the day (every 30mins, iirc., could be even better now) and it only takes about 15mins to get in. The same applies in the other direction, though, if you want to live in the city and go to the beach. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 687 ✭✭✭kano476

schools in tramore amalgamating and building a new co-ed within next 5-7 years apparantly. The town isnt bad has everything you need and waterford isnt far away. property is reasonable enough and there are lots of nice estates around. night life is decent enough and the people are nice.

meldrew wrote:
    Dont mean to sound smart but the schools in Tramore are meant to be fairly good and the property is a little less expensive , you might be better living out there and getting to know the locals .

Yeah, I've heard plenty of good reports from Stella Maris in Tramore!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 392 ✭✭DéiseGirl

Fajitas! wrote:

Woohoo!!!

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,763 Mod ✭✭✭✭ToxicPaddy

Fajitas! wrote:

Have you??? lol

Tramore is a good spot and getting better... Lots of new developments
    happening there over the next few years including Tescos..

Pick a house at the top of the town as its a quieter area and away from the
    tourists during the summer and the race course..

Nice 3 bed semi can be got for around the €240k mark.

Im from Tramore and my sisters have gone to Stella Maris, Ursline (sp?) and
    Mercy in Waterford, Ursline seems to be the best secondary school between
    the three and I would recommend that, not sure about primary, and its on
    the Tramore side of the city so only 10 - 15 min drive from Tramore..

Tox

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,198 ✭✭✭kensutz

quite a few houses in Cherrymount for sale/rent. the one next door to me was sold last week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,647 ✭✭✭dragona

Thanks - it is all a happening now!

Only thing is that hubby has to go down by himself in the next couple of weeks and I have to stay here:mad: at least until the boys have done their exams - junior and leaving.Can't pull them out of school and move just now.
    So loneliness here I come......Not really feasible for him to commute from Mullingar to Waterford!

How easy would it be to rent a room in/near Tramore for six months or so?And how much are people paying?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,640 ✭✭✭south

ToxicPaddy wrote:
    Have you??? lol

Yup!

Few people in my course last year went there, they always said it was really good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 semisleeping

I'm from tramore and attended Stella Maris. To be honest, I think its a fine school - no better or worse than the waterford schools.
    Tramore is a fantastic place to live and a great place to grow up aswell, go for it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭Bookee

Did you find somewhere? Sister in law's mother has a place available, if you're still looking...!
    :o

• Registered Users Posts: 6,544 ✭✭✭Samaris

Meh, it's probably not the worst...although it was far from the best when I was there. Ah, it wasn't too bad and I hear there's a new principal now and the place is actually getting pulled together. Won't hurt it a bit to get a good shaking up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭Dan133269

whatever you do do NOT send your 15 yr old son to Mount Sion in the city!
    ask anyone who has attended the school and no one will give you a good reply

• Registered Users Posts: 317 ✭✭sonners

one of my brothers went to De La Salle and the other went to Waterpark, both good schools but Waterpark did come out the best. Neither of my brothers were angels, De La Salle chose to ignore the problem and blame 'parents, upbringing, etc.' whereas Waterpark tried to help my brother and find out why he was acting up in class. My mother also found Waterpark alot easier to deal with. De La Salle is VERY big and as a result my mother felt she was goin into parent teacher meetings and they did'nt even know who her son was! Waterpark on the other hand make an effort with every student.

Both schools are good, we found Waterpark to be the better but I think what you should be asking is which schools should I NOT send my child to! I can think of a few around town that I definitely would'nt send my child to but I dont have first hand experience of them and thus dont want to name names!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,472 ✭✭✭AdMMM

I think the nearest you're going to get to the city, without being in the city itself, is out in Tramore. As already mentioned, the property is cheaper than it is in Waterford City and is only a 10 minute drive away from the city. Tramore also has everything you need there.

One thing I would say about the schools is that if you send your children to schools in Waterford, they'd have to be either dropped in every morning, or get a bus. Either way this means early starts. Also, if your children do go to a school in Waterford, the majority of their friends in school would be living in Waterford which would make it difficult for them to socialise properly with them, unless you (or your husband) was on hand at any given moment to drop them here and there.

If I was to utter any word of caution about Tramore, it would have to be the attention it attracts during Summer. With it's reasonable weather and it's amusement park, Tramore becomes the home to bus load after bus load of Dubliners every Summer who care little for those who reside there. It can be a very daunting experience walking through Tramore during the Summer!

Finally, good luck to yourself and your family with your venture.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,679 ✭✭✭Freddie59

[QUOTE=sonners I can think of a few around town that I definitely would'nt send my child to but I dont have first hand experience of them and thus dont want to name names![/QUOTE]

What kind of statement is that?:confused: You don't have first hand experience but are willing to castigate them on the basis of hearsay? Let's face it - Waterpark and DLS are no different. Just a small percentage of toffee-nosed people looking down on others. As my late mother used to say a penny looking down on two half-pennies (ha'pennies).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

FFS This thred was started in January!

Mike.