Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Firefox Adblock and an innocent Flash animation

Options
  • 06-01-2006 9:14pm
    Registered Users Posts: 12,309 ✭✭✭✭

I have a perfectly innocent Flash animation at the top of every page of a particular web site. It serves as a swishy version of the company logo.

Unfortunately, Adblock in Firefox blocks this Flash anim and so, for anyone with Adblock installed and running, they don't get to see the company's name and logo.

Does anyone know any way around this?

Oh- and as a Flash amateur myself, is there a way of having an "alt" image for a Flash animation?

Comments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,131 ✭✭✭subway

where is the animation hosted?
    why would adblock block it?

• Registered Users Posts: 12,309 ✭✭✭✭Bard

It's on www.net1.ie

I don't know why adblock would block it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh

Adblock blocks all Object tags by default now, which means that Flash gets caught in the wake.

You can disable this on a client by client basis by advising them to go to Tools > Adblock > Preferences, clicking Ad-Block Options and unchecking Obj-Tags.

As for what to do otherwise, I'm not sure. Is it possible to use CSS to underlay an image of the same size, so you might get a static logo in place of the Flash one should Ad-Block take it out?

http://www.austinville.net/pica/adblock.JPG

fine for me.
    i have standard settings and filterset.g installed.

sorry i cant be more helpful

• Registered Users Posts: 8,483 ✭✭✭Töpher

Shows up on mine aswell, with filterset G, and with obj tabs clicked and unclicked.

• Advertisement