Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pat Rabbitte and 40 million Poles

• 08-01-2006 1:57pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 88,978 ✭✭✭✭

So then whats the story here, is Pat Rabbitte socialist (possibly) coming out against Jonny Foreigner?

His interview in IT
    "The time may be coming when we will have to sit down and examine whether we would have to look at whether a work permits regime ought to be implemented in terms of some of this non-national labour, even for countries in the European Union," he said.

In an interview with The Irish Times, Mr Rabbitte said that unless basic standards for workers were established across the EU, Irish jobs would be threatened.

The Labour leader also said that there would be no coalition with Fianna Fáil under his leadership.

On taxation, he committed himself to keeping personal and corporate tax rates at their present levels and refused to be drawn on whether he would propose any increase in capital taxation.

However, he said his party was looking at the idea of a minimum effective tax for the super rich.

On immigration, Mr Rabbitte said that the recent dispute at Irish Ferries had raised serious questions, particularly as the Government had been blocking the directive on agency workers in Europe and had also been blocking the maritime directive.

"If the EU services directive goes ahead you can establish a company in Poland or Latvia and come over here on contract and do an Irish Ferries. You get an agency to employ the workers here at domestic rates in Poland or Latvia. It is a big issue."

Mr Rabbitte said it was nonsense to argue, as Ibec and the Taoiseach had done during the Irish Ferries dispute, that the practice was confined to maritime industries.

"That is manifestly not the case. Displacement is going on in the meat factories and it is going on in the hospitality industry and it is going on in the building industry.

"What Irish Ferries has done has lanced the boil and we need to know more about the numbers coming here, the kind of work they are engaged in, the displacement effect, if any, on other sectors.

"We need to look at that because there is anecdotal evidence about it happening in construction, and happening in meat factories and happening in the hospitality industry."

Mr Rabbitte said that for the very same reasons Tánaiste Mary Harney invited Gama to come to Ireland, he did not expect there would be any outcry from Ibec about the situation because it was contributing to wage moderation.

"We can't compete now in the traditional type industries. The rate of attrition in terms of job losses has been far higher than we have acknowledged. It has been concealed by the scale of the boom. There are many positive spin-offs from the diversity of labour here now, but to say that that should for all time go unregulated I think has been thrown into question by the Irish Ferries dispute.

"There are 40 million or so Poles after all, so it is an issue we have to have a look at."

Reasonable concern for Irish workers or something less honourable? Like pandering to the trade unions and low paid Irish by playing up the 'threat' of
    40 million Poles? Maybe rather than playing the "Little Irelander" card he should say thanks to the Polish and other immigrant groups for thier contribution to the Irishh economy (and culture).

Mike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,065 ✭✭✭Maskhadov

I think any plan to stop Jonny Foreigner coming into the country is madness. We need immigrants both to keep the economy going and to diversify the country. We have full employment now so why try to halt immigration ?

If there isnt an over supply of labour for all areas of the economy it may harm our ability to keep growing ecomically. All those great growth figures were due to having loads of unemployment.

Restricting People from other EU member countries coming here to work is a cop out.
    The leeway to do it is there but only in the short term,this looks to me to be a sap to voters who think that these guys are taking their jobs.
    They are not.
    Many of the people unemployed at this stage are from what I can see either people very clever at getting away with lucrative nixer work or people who cant work for various reasons or people who just simply dont want to work.
    [sarcasm]
    If Labour want to gather up that vote, they may invest in mini busses and sweets to get them all to the polls aswell otherwise its a lost cause.[/sarcasm]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 Mr.Whistle

Earthman wrote:
    Restricting People from other EU member countries coming here to work is a cop out.
    The leeway to do it is there but only in the short term,this looks to me to be a sap to voters who think that these guys are taking their jobs.
    They are not.
    Much larger economies (note: I didn't say societies) in the EU have excluded them because of the risk to their labour market. Not recognising that risk is a cop out. Are you a gombeen employer?

Mr.Whistle wrote:
    Are you a gombeen employer?
    You'll have to come up with something better that that :rolleyes:
    I'm waiting...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,978 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Oh boy! "How To Make Friends and Influence People" is clearly not on your reading list!

Mike.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,924 ✭✭✭Cork

In an interview last week Rabbitte called for a reassessment of immigration policy in the aftermath of the Irish Ferries dispute. He said that job displacement by low-paid workers was an issue beyond the maritime sector and was taking place in meat factories, the hospitality and building industries.

“The time may be coming when we will have to sit down and examine whether a work permits’ regime ought to be implemented in terms of some of the non-national labour, even for countries in the European Union,” the Labour leader said.

These comments are disgraceful. Movement of Labour within the EU is accepted by all for years.

What is Rabbitt at?

Maybe he is bringing Labour to the far right?

Bring back Rory Quinn or Dick Spring. How do these comments sit with the Mullingar Accord?

Enda Kenny seems to be pretty silent.

Rabbitt needs to apologise for his comments and withdraw them.

Can't say, I ever had much time for the guy.

Earthman wrote:
    You'll have to come up with something better that that :rolleyes:
    I'm waiting...
    That's a trite response. You've avoided answering the question or the point I made.

mike65 wrote:
    Oh boy! "How To Make Friends and Influence People" is clearly not on your reading list!
    No, and I don't want to conform to the blinkered views on this thread either. None of you ask why Rabbitt changed his mind on this, at least in a qualified way. He was strictly PC too until reality raised its head with Irish Ferries. The Europeans knew the risk and took precautions.

Mr.Whistle wrote:
    That's a trite response.
    what did you expect me to say to your insult?
    You've avoided answering the question or the point I made.
    No I didn't I just recognised that you didnt read my post properly.Let me expand...
    We've been giving it up the áss to the EU in terms of taking their money for decades and now we are seeing the expansion of that EU-the agreed by the member states expansion of that EU.The free movement and mass availability of labour is one of the consequences.

I'm still waiting.

Mr.Whistle wrote:
    He was strictly PC too until reality raised its head with Irish Ferries. The Europeans knew the risk and took precautions.
    So you are expecting Irish business'es to move lock stock and barrell to the open seas?
    Otherwise that comment has nothing whatsoever to do with the poles or any other EU citizen being here.

Earthman wrote:
    what did you expect me to say to your insult?
    Why would you be insulted if you weren't a gombeen employer? There's no reason for anyone else to be gung-ho about the race to the bottom.
    No I didn't I just recognised that you didnt read my post properly.Let me expand...
    We've been giving it up the áss to the EU in terms of taking their money for decades and now we are seeing the expansion of that EU-the agreed by the member states expansion of that EU.The free movement and mass availability of labour is one of the consequences.
    Emm...you didn't make that point in post 3. And you're confusing two unrelated issues: budget credits and job displacement. Ireland may have been a net benficiary from the budget but Irish workers haven't displaced workers in other EU states. It's not a quid pro quo.

Earthman wrote:
    So you are expecting Irish business'es to move lock stock and barrell to the open seas?
    Otherwise that comment has nothing whatsoever to do with the poles or any other EU citizen being here.
    Rabbitt mentions several industries where there's been job displacement: construction and meat factories for instance. There's plenty of anecdotal evidence for this, even though it mightn't reach you in Iceland. Here's one media link: http://www.dublinpeople.com/cms/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=608&Itemid=49. There was also quite a large march about job displacement recently.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,588 ✭✭✭✭Sand

Emm...you didn't make that point in post 3. And you're confusing two unrelated issues: budget credits and job displacement. Ireland may have been a net benficiary from the budget but Irish workers haven't displaced workers in other EU states. It's not a quid pro quo.

They have actually, A) by travelling to other countries long before the EU, and B) since the EU formed Ireland has grabbed investment from other EU partners, costing them jobs to our benefit. Why do you think tax harmonisation is demonised in Ireland?
    Why would you be insulted if you weren't a gombeen employer? There's no reason for anyone else to be gung-ho about the race to the bottom.

Customers certainly get a better deal from the so called race to the bottom. It wasnt so long ago unionised train drivers were seriously considering going on strike to demand more money for driving trains with more carraiges on them!

Rabbittes just playing for the nationalistic, xenophobic vote painting foreign immigrants as some sort of scab labour. As lousy as FF are, a Labour govt hostile to immigrants getting jobs in an economy where employment is shockingly low by Irish standards would not be an improvement.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,107 ✭✭✭John R

Mr.Whistle wrote:
    Much larger economies (note: I didn't say societies) in the EU have excluded them because of the risk to their labour market. Not recognising that risk is a cop out.

Those would be the countries with much higher unemployment rates. Besides they have not excluded free movement, just delayed it. All of the old EU states will be revising their policies in the next few months and AFAIK some will be relaxing the restrictions at this point, others will be waiting a few more years.

In the countries where unrestricted access already exists (Ireland, Sweeden and the UK) there hasn't been the mass economic migration that the right wing (and now pseudo-left wing) scaremongers predicted.

Rabbite's comments were disgraceful no question, sounded just like the xenophobic crap that you typically hear from the right wingers. It was either cynical vote-whoring or just plain stupidity.

The Irish Ferries situation was unique in that they have a loophole allowing them to bypass EU and national labour laws. This is not the case for any legally employed immigrants that are resident in Ireland (or any of the other EU nations) it is the illegal immigrants and even more the illegally employed workers that are causing problems in certain sectors here and closing the borders on the new EU countries will only encourage that practice further. Strict enforecement of OUR laws on OUR employers is the best way of dealing with that problem.

• Registered Users Posts: 120 ✭✭Koyasan

Did anyone read that extract and detect a genuine concern that workers, foreign and domestic in origin, may be taken advantage of by either being paid less than the minimum wage, or over looked in favour of those who can be paid less than the minumum wage?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 136 ✭✭w66w66

As part of a labour movement that claims it wants to have less inequalities and less disparities in wealth in are society it's only natural that Pat Rabbitte and others on the left would be against a policy that saturates the lower paid workforce, allowing businesses to keep wages in lower income jobs artificially low, while wages in middle income and higher income jobs continue to rise.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,010 ✭✭✭Dr_Teeth

Without Johnny Foreigner, wage inflation would crush our little celtic tiger flat. Pat Rabbitte is a muppet. :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,207 ✭✭✭meditraitor

Koyasan wrote:
    Did anyone read that extract and detect a genuine concern that workers, foreign and domestic in origin, may be taken advantage of by either being paid less than the minimum wage, or over looked in favour of those who can be paid less than the minumum wage?

I Agree.
    DrTeeth wrote:
    Without Johnny Foreigner, wage inflation would crush our little celtic tiger flat. Pat Rabbitte is a muppet. :P

You obviously didnt reed the article,

What Pat Rabbitte was saying(for the gobshits who didnt read it, or the FFools who just want to have a dig) is that there needs to be an indept study into the movement of labour from one country to another if the workers in the country of departure are not being offered the same rights(contracted within countries in the EU zone from countries with no or low Minimum wage) as the workers within the destination country.

For example: If 300 Construction workers are hired by a company in Poland and contracted to work in Ireland for 6months at a rate of 5yoyo's per hour(legal to do this in Poland) there is a grey area within european law were this can happen, Its not just a maratime issue(Irish ferries).
    Pat rabbit want to restrict the use of such labour because it doesnt fit in into the Irish Labour model which affords better working standards of both health and safety and pay!

What Pat Rabbitte was saying(for the gobshits who didnt read it, or the FFools who just want to have a dig) is that there needs to be an indept study into the movement of labour from one country to another if the workers in the country of departure are not being offered the same rights(contracted within countries in the EU zone from countries with no or low Minimum wage) as the workers within the destination country.

What Pat Rabbitte was saying (for the gobshits who didnt read it, or the pro-Rabbitte fools who refuse to read between the lines) is that there are votes for labour in urban areas if you just have a dig at the Poles and Eastern Europeans and defend it on some pretext of caring for workers...

Did bertie put you up to this:D come on,
    Pat rabbit using the race card, now thats pure nonesense.....

You are implying something you cannot back up... You a FF member by any chance.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

One wonders how IBEC would feel if polish companies were allowed to operate in ireland under polish accounting, audit, revenue etc laws. It would be good for the consumer i bet and thats what really matter's...

:v: < we need eddie hobbs to do a rip off poland

Did bertie put you up to this...

Yep, I'm on his speedial...;)

I don't think Rabbitte is racist. I think he could have been more careful in addressing the issue though and he left himself open to the allegation of playing the race card...and perception is often more important than what is actually being said...

I don't think Rabbitte is racist. I think he could have been more careful in addressing the issue

More careful? one mention of restricting immigration, a perfectly legitimate and natural position to take for someone whose part of labour movement that claims it's wants to have less inequalities and disparities in wealth in are nation and half the nation goes stark raving mad. Can’t people not just discuss this matter in a cool and rational manner without the hysterics, the sly remarks, and the phantom economics?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,295 ✭✭✭Meh

For example: If 300 Construction workers are hired by a company in Poland and contracted to work in Ireland for 6months at a rate of 5yoyo's per hour(legal to do this in Poland) there is a grey area within european law were this can happen
    This is utterly wrong. All workers in Ireland are protected by Irish labour law (including minimum wage). (There is something called the EU services directive but 1) it hasn't been brought in yet and 2) it would still give Polish workers contracted to work in Ireland the protection of Irish labour law.)
    w66s66 wrote:
    one mention of restricting immigration, a perfectly legitimate and natural position to take for someone whose part of labour movement that claims it's wants to have less inequalities and disparities in wealth in are nation and half the nation goes stark raving mad.
    I thought the labour movement was supposed to be about international worker's solidarity and all that, not Ireland Uber Alles?

Meh wrote:
    This is utterly wrong.

Indeed

Meh wrote:
    This is utterly wrong. All workers in Ireland are protected by Irish labour law (including minimum wage). (There is something called the EU services directive but 1) it hasn't been brought in yet and 2) it would still give Polish workers contracted to work in Ireland the protection of Irish labour law.)I thought the labour movement was supposed to be about international worker's solidarity and all that, not Ireland Uber Alles?
    Very good, I see what you did there,

I am sure that this exploitation of workers is happening, and the grey areas I mentioned are in the effectiveness of our government at tackling these issue( Zero at the moment), this EU services directive_ who enforces this?
    There are plenty of irish building contractors in Dublin at the moment using European based Employment Agencies for to fill their vacancies.
    Can you prove to me that these employees are being treated the same as our own. NO because the exploitation is happening and it is only going to get worse if the matter is not looked into seriously and soon.
    These exploited workers are not going to complain, Poland is a relatively poor country with 40M people living in it, a good % want to emmigrate to make a better life, and fair play I hope this happens, but dont come back at me with the old "Irish people have been emmigrating for econnomic reasons for years" chestnut. Ireland of the 50s,60s,70s and 80s had a total population of 3m, how would this have effected an economy like the UK and Germany if the same % went there for work as the % of Poles that are currnetly on the Move... I'll tell you--- not very much
    But if you take polands population into account this is a whole different ball game.
    Put a bit of thought into it and come back
    Im of for my dinner now, will come back to this tomorrow

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,295 ✭✭✭Meh

this EU services directive_ who enforces this?
    Nobody enforces the EU services directive yet, because it's only a proposal at the moment.
    There are plenty of irish building contractors in Dublin at the moment using European based Employment Agencies for to fill their vacancies.
    Can you prove to me that these employees are being treated the same as our own. NO because the exploitation is happening and it is only going to get worse if the matter is not looked into seriously and soon.
    So the answer is to fix the exploitation by appointing more labour inspectors and giving them more powers, not to restrict immigration.

Meh wrote:
    I thought the labour movement was supposed to be about international worker's solidarity and all that, not Ireland Uber Alles?

Depends, some labour movements and its members are devoted internationalists, while some are primarily concerned with national and local issues. The Irish Labour party I’m guessing would be the latter, judging by the fact that their policies are predominately concerned with national issues.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,978 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Beware the Polish Plumber!

Mike.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,924 ✭✭✭Cork

I don't think Rabbitte is racist.

But the guy seems to be aganist the freedom of movement of Labour within the EU.

Is this now official Labour policy?

Freedom of movement of Labour is an accepted principle.

Rabbitt now seems to have trouble with it.

Can't remember him raising this during the NICE vote.