Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

could you see yourself repeating

• 09-01-2006 5:12pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 331 ✭✭

i did the leaving cert last yr, and by the time i had sat my last paper i was so sick of the whole thing, had i not got my course i wouldnt even have considered repeating.
    i suppose i was kinda traumatised by the stress of it and all that and i had out in a good bit of work/stury and thought into the whole thing. i tried to look at my notes the other day for a laugh and i just didnt wanna see them made me feel angry, like i've had ennnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnuf!
    i got my 1st choice anyway and this prob doesnt face me.

do u think u'd repeat if u missed your first choice, and do u think u'd do anybetter than the 1st go, If so why dont u just try ur hardest this time round and save a yrs extra work

anyway in summary would u repeat?

• Registered Users Posts: 747 ✭✭✭caesar

Not a hope in hell, I couldn't do it, infact I hate even thinking about it. Tbh I don't have my mind set on one course so if I don't get my first choice its not the end of the world.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 247 ✭✭tripper

I could see myself reapeating, lets hope not though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭abercrombie

i could see myself repeating too...but hopefully not! I'd prob take up another subject like classical studies or something too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,619 ✭✭✭Fast_Mover

did my leaving cert last yr..im not much of a studier so since the start of 6th year i was lik " it's ok im repeating next year.." its not like i new what course i wanted to do so it wasnt a about getting a specific number of points..i thought i was gna do so bad that i would have to repeat..it was the only option kinda thing.

so anyway did my pre's that grand..stil had the idea of repeating in my head..but i agree with ed6hellsfresh..by the time it came to the last exam of the leaving cert i was lik" no way cud i go through this again"..it wasnt the fact that i put blood sweat and tears into the exams/study coz i didnt, bu it was the fact that the leaving cert is so over rated etc..

I knew i had gottn a course that i would have likd to in ucc(knew roughy i had gottn about 420points)but i surprised myself(..and many other people aswell mind u!) in the end with my results and got my first choice which i thought was only a dream..never ever did id get it..now im in limerick!

anyway moral of story:...dnt under estimate urself..put down whatever u want to do on cao coz u never know u myt actually get, even if it seems impossible!!!

good luck2all

f_m

• Registered Users Posts: 2,130 ✭✭✭Azureus

i wouldnt repeat. if i dont do well enough this time round repeating wont help me, ill just take alternative routes to what i want to do or do something that requires a lower standard.
    thats a confidence boost fast mover-with any luck itll work out that way for all of us! :o)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 331 ✭✭ed6hellsfresh

yeh definatly do put down whatever u want my friend doin the leaving said it was what, 21 weeks till the leaving? that is ALOT of time, if u put int the work now it will be better than doin another school yrs worth of weeks the next yr.
    But most people overpreform compared to their expectation (although sometimes amazingly under hehe...) so nothin to worry about.
    plus college is so much fun, u get out of bed when u want to hahaha......oh my poor grades what will they think of me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

just repeat what you need to get yer course.

I did [back in teh day] and got the course second time round. :)

it will work out for everyone...and if it doesnt atleast repeating is an option. ya like ed6hellsfresh said, people do over perform in leaving cert..everyone i know did better then they expected!
    if ye need any help just give us a shout..

ya college good..u meet so many new people and socialise alot more..tho i must say i have gone to most of my lectures..with the course im doing u kinda have to otherwise u screwed and dont know what going on..so getting outa bed whenever i want isnt really an option..lol:)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

Would I repeat? I am repeating... and it sucks.

...but once u get what u want it will all be worth it sur!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭eamoss

I can see me not getting what I want but im not sure if I will go back and repeat. All of my m8s would be gone and I would be 19 repeating. Would not mind repeating if I did not do TY(wat a waste of a year but class craic tho)

ya i didnt do TY so i could use that year to repeat if i needed to..aswell i wanted to get the whole leaving cert thing over and done with, i thought that by doing TY it only putting it off.. gota do it at some stage so y not sooner rather than later..am so glad i didnt do it tho..imagine id be in 6th year facing into pre's..except now im in 1st year college and doing exams at the mo.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭eamoss

If I didnt what to do it I would have to leave my school. I had no choice in the matter it is compulsory in my school. But the fact that everyone did it made it class craic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 358 ✭✭dogz

not a hope in hell of me repeating, come july thats me done with school, im taking a year off and then deciding the following year if im going to bother going to college. Im filling out the cao form this year but havnt really got a clue what i want to do :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,109 ✭✭✭ThE_IVIAcIVIAIV

no way

• Closed Accounts Posts: 648 ✭✭✭exiot

Fast_Mover wrote:
    did my leaving cert last yr..im not much of a studier so since the start of 6th year i was lik " it's ok im repeating next year.." its not like i new what course i wanted to do so it wasnt a about getting a specific number of points..i thought i was gna do so bad that i would have to repeat..it was the only option kinda thing.

so anyway did my pre's that grand..stil had the idea of repeating in my head..but i agree with ed6hellsfresh..by the time it came to the last exam of the leaving cert i was lik" no way cud i go through this again"..it wasnt the fact that i put blood sweat and tears into the exams/study coz i didnt, bu it was the fact that the leaving cert is so over rated etc..

I knew i had gottn a course that i would have likd to in ucc(knew roughy i had gottn about 420points)but i surprised myself(..and many other people aswell mind u!) in the end with my results and got my first choice which i thought was only a dream..never ever did id get it..now im in limerick!

anyway moral of story:...dnt under estimate urself..put down whatever u want to do on cao coz u never know u myt actually get, even if it seems impossible!!!

good luck2all

f_m
    I have a feeling Im in the same boat as you? Maths Requirement for Computer System, dont get - go do Computer Science in UCC?? just a guess but thats me.

Theres not a hope in hell I would repeat next year, I completed Transition Year so I would be 18 going into uni, if I dont get. I will get out of this country and maybe come back once I can apply as a Mature Student..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 474 ✭✭deisedolly

Not a hope in hell

It's not the end of the world if I dont get the points I'm aiming for, or my first choice. I have a few other lower points coarses on my CAO form with lower points which I'm fairly sure I'll get anyway!
    I don't know how anyone has it in them to put themselves through this bullsh*t twice!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,603 ✭✭✭Gangsta

people thinking of medicine will more than likely have to repeat with its crazy points :(

• Registered Users Posts: 5,728 ✭✭✭dazftw

I will not be repeating.. No matter what points I get ! I wanted 350 for photography in Dublin but I aint going to get 350 points (I would be happy for around 100-200) so im just going to go to cti in waterford and do photography there... I hate the leaving cert... Too much stress :( :mad:

Network with your people: https://www.builtinireland.ie/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 Haedes1987

I'm repeating , thought it would be hell but the years flying and theres a bit of craic. Plus Im feeling way better with myself cos im actually working this year. Aswell as getting my course i kinda wanna show myself i can do better cos last year was a disgrace, just sat on my arse and watched the year go by.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 377 ✭✭Aporia

DeafVision wrote:
    I will not be repeating.. No matter what points I get ! I wanted 350 for photography in Dublin but I aint going to get 350 points (I would be happy for around 100-200) so im just going to go to cti in waterford and do photography there... I hate the leaving cert... Too much stress :( :mad:

What photography course is that and what college in Dublin??

I'm repeating my Leaving. It's actually not as bad as I though it was going to be. I'm still 17 so it's grand really. It's also giving (or I should nearly say gave now) me more time to think about what I really want to do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 modal_ie

It depends if you know what course you want to do - I wanted to do Comp. Sci. and didn't get enough points but couldn't see myself repeating. I went for a 2 year PLC course and finished that - was then accepted into 2nd year of a BSc in D.I.T. and fininshed with a 1.1. Just shows the L.C. isn't the only way of getting onto the course you want and doesn't reflect your ability to perform well in a particular course. I was only a year worse off too but at least I was studying a subject I was interested in...