Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

VOTE HERE - Staunton

• 10-01-2006 3:55pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,115 ✭✭✭

are you happy about Steve Staunton or not ?

Are you satisfied with Steve Staunton as the choice for new manager 94 votes

YES
    0% 0 votes
    NO
    24% 23 votes
    DONT CARE
    75% 71 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,613 ✭✭✭Big Nelly

How many threads are needed on this all asking the same question

Answer is NO I aint happy but sure what has the FAI ever done to make the fans happy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,800 ✭✭✭county

not irish but i think this will be a bad move,he has a serious lack of experience

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

I see all these anti Staunton threads and hear all this anti Staunton sentiment, but I have yet to hear anyone say who, realistically would come in and do a good job.

Also, I find it hilarious that people who dont even support domestic football should give 2 hoots about the irish national team.

Aside from that, the FAI, if you havent twigged, are a shower of tools. They got rid of the previous two managers due to lack of experience, yet are on the verge of appointing a guy with none whatsoever. That said, it doesnt necessarily mean that this is a poor appointment. Stan is well respected in the irish and English game, is a proven and weathered international, and most of all is Irish.

gimmick wrote:
    I see all these anti Staunton threads and hear all this anti Staunton sentiment, but I have yet to hear anyone say who, realistically would come in and do a good job.

Also, I find it hilarious that people who dont even support domestic football should give 2 hoots about the irish national team. I tought they would be better served supporting England. Afterall, its the English league which most here support.

Aside from that, the FAI, if you havent twigged, are a shower of tools. They got rid of the previous two managers due to lack of experience, yet are on the verge of appointing a guy with none whatsoever. That said, it doesnt necessarily mean that this is a poor appointment. Stan is well respected in the irish and English game, is a proven and weathered international, and most of all is Irish.

Wats the Eircom league got to do with anything? you trying to start the usual Eircom/PL crap again? this has already been discussed to the last and I aint going into the reason why I support the PL and I have already said I will make a EL game next season. Now what has that got to do with the Irish managers job?

Ever hear of free speech? just because you support an Eircom League team doesnt give you a God given right to tell anyone that we cant comment on the vacant Irish job.

I respect Stan and remember some of the 50-60 yead inch perfect passes he made in his career and the desire he showed but I just dont see him and never have as a manager. A manager has to be tough but Staunton can be a push over if you know what I mean. Trying to please everyone. Wasn't him and Keane on the lash in US and Keane was the only one to tell Charlton/McCarthy where to go? cant remember exact detailks

if he gets job I will wish him well but I will still think it is the wrong decision

Oh sorry can I not comment because I dont support EL teams? I think not.

^ touch a raw nerve did I? :o Hypocrisy is all I claim to not understand.

And by saying what I did (edited before I saw your post by the way), I wasnt trying to stir the pot, merely using my right to free speech or whatever. But lets leave that aside, and move on.

Im just annoyed that so may people are automatically anti Staunton. Surely they should be anti FAI in this respect, afterall, it is they will be making the appointment, it is they who have allowed Irish football fall into the mess its in, and yes I include the domestic league in that. Its they who have stood still and expected things to be done for them ie stadia etc. Its they who caused the whole sorry Saipan mess, which is directly responsible for Ireland not qualifying for the last two major tournaments, and dare I say the next few also.

Steve Staunton, while I hope he does really well, probably wont be able to do a great job, but IMO thats more down to the reasons I have said above, things which are out of his control, rather than his own inexperience/failings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,139 ✭✭✭flanzer

I was waiting for someone to do this!!>.........NO NO NO NO DEFFO NO WAY :mad:

I have been one of the most public on here about this apointment but I aint slagging off Staunton I am saying that he isnt management material and that this is the FAI fault. Not his. The FAI are taking the pi** out of Irish fan as usual because they haven't a clue. Look at the bloody stadium situation.

It is the usual cr*p that has been going on for years and I think it is about time someone just sacked half of them and let the people take over and hire some proper people to run it. I do management courses all the time and to be honest the way they run the company(oh yeah FAI is a company) is a joke and no wonder they haven't a clue about hiring people or building a stadium.

Everyone on here slags off the GAA about this or that but look at the way it is run. The way they have one of the best stadium in Europe and they have a great grass roots systems to find young prospects. Then look at the FAI. Outside Dublin/major citys there is hardly a soccer club around for young people. I lived in Cavan and althou we played soccer everyday at school for a team sport if was GAA and that was the only option.

No raw nerve about the EL I have discussed this before with MJS and alot of people on here to the death so to speak(ask him about it if you dont believe me;) ) but before you edited it sounded like you said my opinion didnt count because I wasn't a EL fan.

^ Meh, i say alot of things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,282 ✭✭✭BlackWizard

I voted no.

Id like a experienced manager to lead us. I bet other countries are laughing at
    us. *shakes fist at the FAI*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,304 ✭✭✭✭ctrl-alt-delete

gimmick wrote:

Also, I find it hilarious that people who dont even support domestic football should give 2 hoots about the irish national team.
    QUOTE]

they obviously and quite clearly do not go hand in hand....not for a good many years to come anyway - when was the last time an eircom league player payed a competitive match for the rep of ireland? you are as previously mentioned trying to troll on about eircom league ****e

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

Brian Kerr is a far better option that steve staunton

they obviously and quite clearly do not go hand in hand....not for a good many years to come anyway - when was the last time an eircom league player payed a competitive match for the rep of ireland? you are as previously mentioned trying to troll on about eircom league ****e

^ Lol @ that. Troll on about the eL? :D

Do you not find it in the least bit disturbing/stupid that the national side and the domestic league do not go hand in hand?

Do you not think that if maybe the FAI and gave a crap about the eL that the national game would be in far stronger position?

Also, if the FAI even tried to develop our game in this country rather than do their best to ship out any decent young talent to England in the hopes that a few of them come good, would you be saying im trolling (:D ) on the subject?

Look at every other half decent footballing nation in Europe, if not the world, and a good chunk of their internationals played domestically for at lest a few years ie Sweden have a good national team, and an okay league. It nurtures its young players, before they invariably end up playing abrod, but not before the selling club has made a handsome profit in the sale of the player.

Does it not bother you that no eL player has represented the national team competively in 20+ years? Are you happy to see players like Gary Doherty, Alan Lee, Thomas Butler, that other Butler etc get international recognition while never playing first team football for their 1st Division clubs, while players in this country like Owen Heary, George O Callaghan, Jason Byrne, Alan Bennett arent even considered?

Maybe think about all of that, before calling someone a troll :rolleyes: .

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Get Robson in. A man with a bit of experience.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

Marco Van basten anyone??

right so...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,013 ✭✭✭✭eirebhoy

gimmick wrote:
    In all fairness, the vast majority of people that know there stuff about the Irish national team on foot.ie mainly have nothing more than an eye on the Eircom league. A lot of the hardcore EL only have a passing interest on the Irish team unless a big match comes around.
    Id like a experienced manager to lead us. I bet other countries are laughing at us.
    "Van Basten officially left Milan in 1995 and retired from football, stating he would never try management. However, he eventually realized that football was too important for him and successfully took a course with the Royal Netherlands Football Association (KNVB). His first stint as a coach was as an assistant to his former teammate John van't Schip managing the second team of Ajax in 2003-2004. On 29 July 2004, van Basten was named as the new head coach of the Dutch national team, with van't Schip as his assistant."

---

"Upon retiring from active play, Klinsmann started his commercial career. He became the vice-president of a sports marketing consultancy based in the United States and was involved in Major League Soccer as part of the Los Angeles Galaxy team.

On 26 July 2004, he returned to Germany as the new coach of the national team, succeeding Rudi Völler."

---

"Beckenbauer retired in 1984 after a spell with Hamburger SV in Germany and one final season with the Cosmos (1983). He had 103 caps and had scored 14 goals, in the domestic league he had made 424 appearances and scored 44 goals.

On his return to Germany he was appointed manager of the national side to replace the lacklustre Jupp Derwall and he took an underwhelming team all the way to the final of the World Cup 1986 where they lost to Argentina. In 1990 Beckenbauer managed the last West German team in a World Cup before the reunification, winning the final with a victory over Argentina. He is one of two men (with Mario Zagallo) to have won the cup as player and as coach."

---

"In the 2003-04 season, Stoichkov started a coaching career, serving as a forwards coach at Barça. After Bulgarian national team coach Plamen Markov resigned in the wake of the team's first-round exit from Euro 2004, the Bulgarian Football Union named him as the new national team coach on 15 July."

---

"It was in 1999 that Hughes first tasted management with the Welsh national side, taking temporary joint-charge with Neville Southall for the Euro 2000 qualifier against Denmark in June, following Bobby Gould's sudden resignation.

And in August he was appointed as Wales manager for the final two qualifying games. He made such an impression that in November he was handed a four-and-a-half-year deal, the first 18 months of which would be served on a part-time basis."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,137 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

The domestic game has nothing to do with the national job, simply put in my eyes the EL is a league of amateurs, with not one player able to sniff a place in the irish squad realisticly.

Steve Staunton being appointed is a joke really, not any experience and jumps into the hotseat. I woulda prefered just to have bobby rob take the job on his own.

Then agian the irish job is ear marked as a no go because of a) high expectations for a generally weak team b) a very unreliable dissapointing national board FAI

This is only going to end in tears.....

I woulda just elft Brian Ker in charge till Dave O'Leary or Martin O'Neill finally acepted the job that they will inevitably take.

The domestic game has nothing to do with the national job, simply put in my eyes the EL is a league of amateurs, with not one player able to sniff a place in the irish squad realisticly.

And thats okay, is it? Think they are all amatuers all you want, but are you happy that the FAI doesnt give a toss about the Irish game at grass roots level? (which in turn leads into the domestic PROFESSIONAL game)

Reading this again I wonder did you actually read my posts, or just glance over them with a predetermined response?

Steve Staunton in the same sentence as Marco van Basten anyone?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,124 ✭✭✭Jonny Arson

gimmick wrote:
    And thats okay, is it? Think they are all amatuers all you want, but are you happy that the FAI doesnt give a toss about the Irish game at grass roots level? (which in turn leads into the domestic PROFESSIONAL game)

gimmick, there's no point in trying to talk to a brick wall. Bottom line is if Irish football fans supported their own domestic league the international team would benefit.

Anyway, Staunton? No thanks. I have the upmost respect for him but lets be realistic no managerial experience = disaster. No managerial experience + mentor who he has never known in person and who would want to be in the driving seat =...... oh jesus I don't wanna think about it.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,731 ✭✭✭el rabitos

that FAI bloke delaney has the disposition of a dope. the majority of decisions made by the FAI are no more than i'd expect from a shower of amatures. its like a bunch of kerry men around a table trying to think of how we can NOT qualify for the next major tournement.

wrong thread, this is about steve staunton getting a major footballing job with no experience, not a thread about who's been the best striker in football.

robson or venebles would get us to the european championships, might not get much futher than qualifying, but we'd get there, and at this stage i think most people would settle for getting to european championship

• Administrators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,752 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭hullaballoo

I have to say I voted no, but in hindsight, sure why not? What have we got to lose? Our reputation as an international force in terms of soccer?

I'd say give Stan the benefit of the doubt until you have a reason to doubt him. Maybe my legal education is creeping in here, but "innocent until proven guilty" anyone?

It's not like there are throngs of football managerial veterans queuing up outside 80 Merrion Square.

I have to say I voted no, but in hindsight, sure why not? What have we got to lose? Our reputation as an international force in terms of soccer?
    Four years of frustration when we have a bunch of players that should be able to qualify for a world cup if managed properly.

PORNAPSTER wrote:
    Steve Staunton in the same sentence as Marco van Basten anyone?
    I don't get that at all. Van Basten was a better player than Staunton so he's going to be a better manager? van Basten, Stoichkov, Klinsmann, Beckenbauer and Hughes all managed their countries without any managerial experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

I'll give Staunton a chance, only because he was a decent player. But I feel the FAI-lure have made the wrong decision.

Pat Dolan anyone? Gimmick, what do you think? ;p

eirebhoy wrote:
    I don't get that at all. Van Basten was a better player than Staunton so he's going to be a better manager? van Basten, Stoichkov, Klinsmann, Beckenbauer and Hughes all managed their countries without any managerial experience.
    I'm saying that van Basten has had played at the very top level under the top level managers. Players learn from that to become good managers. Who has Staunton played for?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,601 ✭✭✭Corben Dallas

No not happy, no disrespect to the man, has served his country well as a player, but if ppl say that Kerr didn’t have enough experience to manage the Senior National Team (maybe also lack of professional management) then Steve has practically none.

I hope they give him support and hope the FAI blazers haven’t picked he so they have a yes man 'supposedly' picking/running the national team.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

No not happy, no disrespect to the man, has served his country well as a player, but if ppl say that Kerr didn’t have enough experience to manage the Senior National Team (maybe also lack of professional management) then Steve has practically none.

When kerr got the job i remeber most people not being to unhappy.

Its when he did a **** job that people started complaining. It was his **** decision making that cost him his job, and his complete incompetence.

MrJoeSoap wrote:
    Pat Dolan anyone? Gimmick, what do you think? ;p

All jokes and personal animosities aside, I reckon Dolan would make a very good international manager. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

He certainly has the attributes for it. Commited, passionate and "in the know".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Johnny_the_fox

Clearly the choice was made because its the best 'we' are going to get..

I wasnt too happy when Brain Kerr was appointed, he seemed to be too cocky of himself, during every interview... 'ah i bought on blah, i knew he would score' .. where was his top-level experience? he achieved lots at u-19 level - great.. but where was his top-level experience?

people forget the irish job isnt as good as it used to be.. with 'i didnt know moses played for the other team as we watch the defence spilt again like the red sea'... or another 'westlife performance' - we maybe can sing, we have the looks but we cant dance - so its another poor performance..

if Terry Venables/Kevin Keegan/AN.Other English Manager - had got the job.. people would be compaining.. about another getting english manager... and all the 'Plastic Paddys', he will bring with him (lets not forget 'we' had our most successful time under 'english' born managers, lots of top-level experience? no - and most of 'our' successful footballers are english born)

PORNAPSTER wrote:
    I'm saying that van Basten has had played at the very top level under the top level managers. Players learn from that to become good managers. Who has Staunton played for?
    I'm sure having Robson as his right hand man will make up for the fact he didn't play for Milan and Ajax.

But why not just have Robson as manager?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,003 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

PORNAPSTER wrote:

I would imagine age played a factor in that decision. Robson will be 76 by the next world cup , can really see him taking the training sessions at that age.

• Registered Users Posts: 230 ✭✭robz150

PORNAPSTER wrote:

The Mighty Reds, Milan know all about them ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

gimmick wrote:
    Im just annoyed that so may people are automatically anti Staunton. Surely they should be anti FAI in this respect, afterall, it is they will be making the appointment, it is they who have allowed Irish football fall into the mess its in, and yes I include the domestic league in that. Its they who have stood still and expected things to be done for them ie stadia etc. Its they who caused the whole sorry Saipan mess, which is directly responsible for Ireland not qualifying for the last two major tournaments, and dare I say the next few also.

Steve Staunton, while I hope he does really well, probably wont be able to do a great job, but IMO thats more down to the reasons I have said above, things which are out of his control, rather than his own inexperience/failings.

That'd be opinion on the situation. Don't necessarily like or respect the FAI for the reasons above but I really hope Stan does a good. Unfortunatley though, if he does it will just vindicate the FAI's decision.

B.

robz150 wrote:
    The Mighty Reds, Milan know all about them ;)
    Yes... Souness was quality wasn't he?! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 495 ✭✭The Insider

eirebhoy wrote:
    van Basten, Stoichkov, Klinsmann, Beckenbauer and Hughes all managed their countries without any managerial experience.

That's a good point eirebhoy especially the Mark Hughes comparison. The thing that worries me though is the joint manager bit. Is Robson really just going to be is right hand man? Robson has always seemed to me as a hands on guy. Who will be picking the team, who will give the team talks, make tactical decisions, give interview to the press etc? I just can't see the joint manager thing working; it never does Houlier and Evans being one example. I would honestly rather see Stan given the job on his own and see how he does.

• Registered Users Posts: 230 ✭✭robz150

PORNAPSTER wrote:
    Yes... Souness was quality wasn't he?! :p

In his first Job for Rangers he was yeah:D Maybe steve will win the world cup and then go on to wreck a few premiership clubs:v:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,299 ✭✭✭Sandals

gimmick wrote:
    ]

What in the name of god are you on about?

The thread has moved on from that. if you bothered to read any of the others posts in this thread you would have noticed that.

PORNAPSTER wrote:
    I don't know, you could say the same about Holland and Germany. Why didn't they appoint a more experienced manager when they could no doubt attract the best. Staunton is putting his career on the line for this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,987 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

You could also add Gheorghe Hagi to the list of ex players becoming national team managers, he had a 6 month stint as manager in 2001, but finished after they failed to qualify for the World Cup.

Also Rudi Voller was appointed head coach for Germany after their Euro 2000, and he didnt even have a coaching licence, didn't he take the Germans to the World Cup final in 2002, but resigned after an early knockout in Euro 2004