Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

city v united

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,003 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

Harsh decision considering no contact was made.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,987 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

Fully deserved card IMO, made not attempt to win the ball.
    No problem with that red being shown, but its the consistency of referring, if thats a red, then there would be 2-3 red cards every game.

Not that I'm complaining

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,951 ✭✭✭✭Villain

PHB wrote:
    You are totally blind.
    He went for the ball, and missed it, and didn't even touch the player, what the **** sort of decision is that?
    ****ing woeful reffing
    Hold on that was a very dangerous tackle with intent to hurt a player and therefore a clear cut red card, it doesn't matter that he missed him the intent to cause harm was there.

Learn the rules before you call people blind :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,839 ✭✭✭Hobart

The Muppet wrote:
    Harsh decision considering no contact was made.
    You don't have to make contact. His intent was enough to get him sent off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,251 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

eh! who got sent off lads?

Cristiano Ronaldo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

I know the rules fully.
    How the **** is the intend there, when the direction is for the ball?
    How can you have intent, when your eyes are totally on the ball, and you don't go for the player?
    How is that a red card? Explain to me how there is intent?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,213 ✭✭✭✭therecklessone

irish1 wrote:
    Hold on that was a very dangerous tackle with intent to hurt a player and therefore a clear cut red card, it doesn't matter that he missed him the intent to cause harm was there.

Nail hit bang on head. Thanks.

Hobart wrote:
    Deserved to go. What an asshole.

Whether a card or not, there's no need to refer to a player in that manner.

zabbo wrote:
    No problem with that red being shown, but its the consistency of referring, if thats a red, then there would be 2-3 red cards every game.

Nail hit bang on head. Thanks.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

If your telling me he went for the ball there then he should never be allowed tackle again. Woeful attempt at a tackle.

Lemlin wrote:
    His actions as opposed to him.

Wait till you see the tackle again, and actually watch it instead of watching the reaction of the ref, and you'll see fully he wasn't going for the player.

The only thign wrong with that tackle is that the foot was high going in, but if you watch it, you see he puts the foot down when he is tryign to get the ball, and doesn't touch the player.

If there actually was intent there, why the **** didn't he cream him? Are you saying that he missed him?

Lemlin wrote:

Indeed users have been banned for less .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 259 ✭✭OTliddy

Pffff well I'm not going to get stressed about the premiership until Mourinho leaves Chelsea

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,426 ✭✭✭Roar

i htought the card was harsh, he was late alright, but if he made contact with the ball it would have been a good tackle.. such a fine line really.. a yellow would have sufficied IMO

Go On Ruud, Go On

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

RVN scores...a draw then!

Mike.

PHB wrote:
    I know the rules fully.
    How the **** is the intend there, when the direction is for the ball?
    How can you have intent, when your eyes are totally on the ball, and you don't go for the player?
    How is that a red card? Explain to me how there is intent?

When you want to win a ball you slide in you don't jump in in a reckless manner like Ronaldo did, it was clearly an attempt to hurt the player, if a Liverpool did that on Ronaldo you would probably be the first to look for a red.

Now back to the game, Great goal by RVN!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,426 ✭✭✭Roar

superb goal by ruud.
    2-1, game on!

2-1 Ruud vN

Fowler on!

Mike.

Will he miss the second leg against Blackburn now? On current form, I'd probably prefer if he didn't.

When you want to win a ball you slide in you don't jump in in a reckless manner like Ronaldo did, it was clearly an attempt to hurt the player, if a Liverpool did that on Ronaldo you would probably be the first to look for a red.

Why the hell not? Where in the rules does it say, you can't jump in towards the ball? Reckless is not an issue because it wasn't reckless, its only reckless if you get the player or intent was there!

It was a late tackle, thus can deserveda yellow, thats it. Considering the standerd of yellow cards not given in this game, the city handball, van nists hand ball, and the taclke from behind on Ronaldo which only had the goal of fouling ronaldo, it shouldn't have been given a yellow by the standerds that bennet had set. Obviously its a yellow in a proper refs book, but we don't seem to have a proper ref

PHB wrote:
    If there actually was intent there, why the **** didn't he cream him? Are you saying that he missed him?
    Looking at his current form, probably.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,937 ✭✭✭fade2black

Hobart wrote:
    Looking at his current form, probably.

OTliddy wrote:
    Pffff well I'm not going to get stressed about the premiership until Mourinho leaves Chelsea

What a great point. :rolleyes: Sure we might as well all give up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,549 ✭✭✭scuba steve

Harsh red card tbh.
    ya very harsh, considering he was fouled not even a minute before that. And theres been worse tackles before and gotten away woth no yellow. That ref is a sour wankEr!

PHB wrote:
    Why the hell not? Where in the rules does it say, you can't jump in towards the ball? Reckless is not an issue because it wasn't reckless, its only reckless if you get the player or intent was there!

It was a late tackle, thus can deserveda yellow, thats it. Considering the standerd of yellow cards not given in this game, the city handball, van nists hand ball, and the taclke from behind on Ronaldo which only had the goal of fouling ronaldo, it shouldn't have been given a yellow by the standerds that bennet had set. Obviously its a yellow in a proper refs book, but we don't seem to have a proper ref

Just saw the replay again, defo a red card he clearly jumped in with intent to hurt the player. You can see what you want to see in it, but I am sure if a Pool player did it you would be looking for a red.

Did you notice that Ronaldo didn't argue with the decision.

Harsh red card tbh.
    ya very harsh, considering he was fouled not even a minute before that. And theres been worse tackles before and gotten away woth no yellow. That ref is a sour wankEr!

MrJoeSoap wrote:
    What a great point. :rolleyes: Sure we might as well all give up.
    ha ha!

I think the fact that he was fouled was what made the referees decision up for him, it was clearly a tackle out of frustration.

Enjoy the week off by the way.

Silvestre is not having a good game at all.

Just saw the replay again, defo a red card he clearly jumped in with intent to hurt the player.

If he did, why the hell didn't he? Why didn't he hurt the player?
    Ronaldo knocked the ball out, Ronaldo went for the ball, and Cole went around the ball, nowhere near where Ronaldo put in the taclke.

Also if that is a red card, how isn't the tackle just on Slyvestre a red? How the hell aren't any of these cards red? You set a standerd, you have to keep to it.

MrJoeSoap wrote:
    I think the fact that he was fouled was what made the referees decision up for him, it was clearly a tackle out of frustration.

Enjoy the week off by the way.
    ya but still, it could be the fact that Ronaldo does dive himself and makes big deals out of tackles aswell as the tackle that made the ref's mind up.
    Yup, will enjoy week off if it happens!

Robbie Fowler Scores!!!!!!!!!!!

He may get a card for his celebrations.

Mike.

Go on the Robbie!! YESSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS!!

3-1 Fowler all over, Fergie is finished.

• Registered Users Posts: 553 ✭✭✭phenom

3-1 Folwer scores a good goal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,115 ✭✭✭Pacifico

Haha 3-1!!

What a finish!

irish1 wrote:
    Silvestre is not having a good game at all.
    nope,terrible game for him,
    i totally agree with PHB

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Nice one !
    My accumulator is off to a good start :D

Pacifico wrote:
    Haha 3-1!!

What a finish!
    Brilliant finish. I'm delighted for Fowler. Especially as Neville was capt and all he had to say about him when Fowler was at Liverpool. Absoloutely delighted for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,987 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

Get in there GOD, 3-1 and as usual Man City are good value for live games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,067 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

bahahaha woooooo

Fair play City.

irish1 wrote:
    3-1 Fowler all over, Fergie is finished.

Not a chance.

Well done city they deserved their win today.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,879 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

oh me jaysus

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,937 ✭✭✭fade2black

United are just not good enough. There's no point in getting into arguments on here that are essentially pointless...once again they let their fans down when it matters most.

Super win for City.

United this and that, take nothing away from the Blue boys.

Ireland for Ireland!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Super finish from Robbie. What sthat saying about form being temporary, but class being permenant. God still has it.

Great result for Liverpool, 4 pts behind Utd now with 3 games in hand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,225 ✭✭✭Chardee MacDennis

fowler you beauty, what a game!