Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

BroadBand download rates - screen shots. WHO IS THE BEST?

• Registered Users Posts: 101 ✭✭Fionn_McCool

oops

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

NTL 3meg.

ntl0yr.png

• Closed Accounts Posts: 561 ✭✭✭Anarchist

dlofnep wrote:
    NTL 3meg.

ntl0yr.png
    That is incorrect, you havn't gave your speed time to settle down, thats why u are showing such a fast speed.
    Post the test/pic again when d/l is 1/2 way

You would'nt get that speed with a 3 meg line anyhow, about 350 at best etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭CivilServant

Anarchist wrote:
    That is incorrect, you havn't gave your speed time to settle down, thats why u are showing such a fast speed.
    Post the test/pic again when d/l is 1/2 way

You would'nt get that speed with a 3 meg line anyhow, about 350 at best etc
    It says 344kb/s that's about right.

Yes, why the fck did I reply with the previous reply for :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,231 ✭✭✭✭Sparky

jesus christ, some of you lads have some kick ass connections.

I am not worthy,
    /bows many times

@asok
    best ping ever there
    Asok wrote:
    Pinging www.boards.ie [82.195.136.250] with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 82.195.136.250: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=62

Ping statistics for 82.195.136.250:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 0ms, Average = 0ms

Anarchist wrote:
    That is incorrect

No it is not incorrect. I'm not downloading half of this file just to show you my connection - I've better things to waste my bandwidth on. Ive downloaded about 70megs however for ya, it's settled and not budged from 349.

ntl20jj.png

Btw, If I wanted to try make my connection look better, this is what it looks like when I start the download :)

fast5ve.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,581 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

well considering Asok was probably within kicking distance of the boards.ie server his ping should be lower :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,918 ✭✭✭Steffano2002

IBB 2MB/2MB 24:1

Screenshot of download speed here

Reply from 82.195.136.250: bytes=32 time=9ms TTL=57
    Reply from 82.195.136.250: bytes=32 time=11ms TTL=57
    Reply from 82.195.136.250: bytes=32 time=9ms TTL=57
    Reply from 82.195.136.250: bytes=32 time=8ms TTL=57

Minimum = 8ms, Maximum = 11ms, Average = 9ms

Pinging www.jolt.co.uk [82.133.85.65] with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 82.133.85.65: bytes=32 time=26ms TTL=54
    Reply from 82.133.85.65: bytes=32 time=22ms TTL=54
    Reply from 82.133.85.65: bytes=32 time=31ms TTL=54

Ping statistics for 82.133.85.65:
        Minimum = 22ms, Maximum = 31ms, Average = 27ms

But up to a few minutes ago I had 70% packet loss... Pity IBB is so unrealable. Works great (when it works...) :o

dlofnep wrote:
    No it is not incorrect. I'm not downloading half of this file just to show you my connection - I've better things to waste my bandwidth on. Ive downloaded about 70megs however for ya, it's settled and not budged from 349.

ntl20jj.png

Btw, If I wanted to try make my connection look better, this is what it looks like when I start the download :)

fast5ve.png
    I admitted in a later reply I had double vision lol, look up :p

Anarchist wrote:
    I admitted in a later reply I had double vision lol, look up :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 450 ✭✭Willymuncher

BT 2mb...pretty standard really compared to what has been posted.

speed1jc.jpg

Pinging boards.ie [82.195.136.250] with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 82.195.136.250: bytes=32 time=25ms TTL=56
    Reply from 82.195.136.250: bytes=32 time=28ms TTL=56
    Reply from 82.195.136.250: bytes=32 time=26ms TTL=56
    Reply from 82.195.136.250: bytes=32 time=28ms TTL=56

Minimum = 25ms, Maximum = 28ms, Average = 26ms
    Pinging jolt.co.uk [82.133.85.65] with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 82.133.85.65: bytes=32 time=35ms TTL=57
    Reply from 82.133.85.65: bytes=32 time=38ms TTL=57
    Reply from 82.133.85.65: bytes=32 time=37ms TTL=57
    Reply from 82.133.85.65: bytes=32 time=36ms TTL=57

Ping statistics for 82.133.85.65:
    Minimum = 35ms, Maximum = 38ms, Average = 36ms

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,606 ✭✭✭djmarkus

ne ripwave users?

djmarkus wrote:
    ne ripwave users?
    Ah now that's just cruel... :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,441 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

IBB's 2meg Breeze service in Leopardstown:

C:\Documents and Settings>ping www.boards.ie -n 10

Reply from 82.195.136.250: bytes=32 time=10ms TTL=56
    Reply from 82.195.136.250: bytes=32 time=7ms TTL=56
    Reply from 82.195.136.250: bytes=32 time=8ms TTL=56
    Reply from 82.195.136.250: bytes=32 time=10ms TTL=56
    Reply from 82.195.136.250: bytes=32 time=8ms TTL=56

Packets: Sent = 10, Received = 10, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Minimum = 7ms, Maximum = 10ms, Average = 7ms

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,373 ✭✭✭Irishpimpdude

Alot of people that have Ibb seem to be getting better speeds now... am i right? lol

• Registered Users Posts: 343 ✭✭Gigiwagga

My willy is bigger than yours, Jesus what is this all about, all that's missing now are the cock shots. This thread serves NO purpose at all ie giving some interested party some insight into what's available here. Who ever started it go suck your thumb or what ever you can reach !!!!!:) :o :v:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 562 ✭✭✭ro2

Where would we be without a bit of dick waving...

Cheney_inside.jpg

My willy is bigger than yours, Jesus what is this all about, all that's missing now are the cock shots. This thread serves NO purpose at all ie giving some interested party some insight into what's available here. Who ever started it go suck your thumb or what ever you can reach !!!!!:) :o :v:

Please, everybody knows the faster your internet connection is, the more respected you are. Get with the program Lurch!

:rolleyes: Huh? What ? kind of like a big car thing.

Nice one Ro2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,231 ✭✭✭✭Sparky

Ah boo hoo yourself :D

Pfff... 56k n00b! LOL :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,348 ✭✭✭ricey

Metro 4mb/1mb In Limerick.

123swe.jpg

I suppose I'm a stupid bloke and have to take part in the who's willy is biggest contest too, it might not be the biggest but it's bigger than yours Steff. It's not what you got it's what you can do with it, Though with 56k there's alot of playing with yourself, how bad.:D

F*ck it anyway! He beat me! Now I have to call IBB and re-upgrade to 3MB/3MB.. :mad:

(hehehehe! How sad is all this becoming? In fairness...)

Ye see I've got this special gel I rub all over my 56k modem and my speeds just go through the roof. From what I've read on some threads here, you're wasting your time upgrading your IBB service, about as reliable as gel on your willy I'd say. Go for Metro or Smart or NTL, then you'll have a whopper of a connection and we'll all be dribblin' with envy.:)

Ye see I've got this special gel I rub all over my 56k modem and my speeds just go through the roof. From what I've read on some threads here, you're wasting your time upgrading your IBB service, about as reliable as gel on your willy I'd say.
    A bit contradictory that! hehehehe ;)
    Go for Metro or Smart or NTL, then you'll have a whopper of a connection and we'll all be dribblin' with envy.:)
    Metro: No Line of Sight (and not as reliable as ADSL anyway...)
    Smart: Not available
    NTL: Not available

Why do you think I have IBB??? lol

Bummer, yeah I'm in 2 minds about Metro myself as yet, when it's good it's great, and when it's not so good: well I may as well get the old gel out. And their phone service is poxy thus far.

As far as being a contradiction, sure, I can live with that. I'm just having a bit of craic. It does my head in, the way us blokes become obsessed with the size of things be it BB connection, car, CPU, girlfriends tits, house, salary, willy, the list is endless. Sometimes we loose the bigger picture, no pun intended. :rolleyes: Now, where's that gel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 370 ✭✭Adey2002

My Metro 3Mb tonight. I'd definitely advise going for Metro :rolleyes:

Come back IBB, all is forgiven... (well actually it's not that bad...... yet).

metro.jpg

I'm thinking of going with Digiweb Metro myself but it doesn't really sound like the perfect replacement to IBB... I'm going to stick with IBB for a little while longer I think...