Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tracksuits

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

I never said that this was my main problem with the country - as I said before - After Hours is here to discuss stupid little things like this is it not?

I was just being general there, you're right about AH being a free for all :o
    That sounds like a cross between gimme gimme gimme's lindy and Mr T

And you can be sure that she has two kids.. Britney & Beyounce (she wouldn't have spelt it correctly either :D )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 888 ✭✭✭Merrick

connundrum wrote:

And you can be sure that she has two kids.. Britney & Beyounce (she wouldn't have spelt it correctly either :D )

The one that's on the way's going to be called Tiffany...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

So having a dislike for a particular fashion makes me a snob? How? Snobbery is looking down on people because you think you're better than them. If all my friends started wearing tracksuits all the time they'd still be my friends...
    Its the way you have gone about it that makes you a snob!

Everyone else has said why the hate tracksuits but you go on about how foreigners will look at us.

Seriously, I wish I had such little things to worry about! :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 387 ✭✭fischerspooner

well Kiera perhaps you should go into the politics forum and talk about government coalitions or something if you don't have time for silly little threads like this.

Why stop there? Go on Kiera, become the next Taoiseach!

"Oh no you di-int"

*Removes hoop earings & excessive jewelry, rubs vaseline on eyebrows*

*Dons tracksuit for pre fight warm-up*

Aw i'm sorry. Does someone not want to play anymore?? ;)

Merrick wrote:

Will I will I??? Oh yay!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,585 ✭✭✭HelterSkelter

Merrick wrote:
    Just don't go wearing an anarok like Bertie did, or the canary coloured trousers, the foreigners will laugh at you!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

i tend to loaf around our metropole's bustling hub in a pair of black trackie bottoms nicely set off by a dark hoodie. I believe I strike a balance between comfort and a nice sensible presentation. However, one worrying trend that i have noticed among the younger generation is to tuck their trackie bottoms into their sports socks in the manner of their contemporaries across the water. This (along with the toehold that burberry caps are gaining in our beloved city) is to be deplored and strong measures need to be taken now lest the trend become irreversible. I shall outline a number of such measures in a letter to the "Irish Times" during the coming week.

:v: <gwan ourra dat, nice jumper over new shiney lacoste trackie bottoms, maybe some of elisabeth dukes finest work hanging out for the classy touch... nurrin bleedin better bud

Just don't go wearing an anarok like Bertie did, or the canary coloured trousers, the foreigners will laugh at you!!
    Ah the good aul foreigners again, I wouldn't want them to think i was a knacker ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭ST*

Kiera wrote:
    Will I will I??? Oh yay!!!

Before reading this reply I was considering how I would make my millions JK Rowling style, to bring up my two chavvy boys.
    Maybe I can write a book on comebacks.

You coulda done better than that girl! ;)

Before reading this reply I was considering how I would make my millions JK Rowling style, to bring up my two chavvy boys.
    Maybe I can write a book on comebacks.

*You coulda done better than that girl* ;)
    Yeah, I know I can do sooo much better *shame on me* I'll do better next time i promise!!

Kiera wrote:
    Yeah, I know I can do sooo much better *shame on me* I'll do better next time i promise!!

Kiera for Taoiseach!!! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 141 ✭✭g-punkteffekt

god you're all so pathetic the way you always back up the girls on these forums, e.g. everyone trying to get on Kiera's good side with the taoiseach thing etc. For all the unsociable boards freaks, looking at that little picture of the cartoon from who framed roger rabbit is probably the closest to a real woman you'll ever get...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭Nunu

I'm wearing a tracksuit at the moment, but please hear me out! I'm a sport and rec student, so if you see me out and about the shops in one please don't judge me, I'm most likely on my way to or from college:o .

I will say this though I'm surprised so many of those mentioned on this thread wear them because in all the major sports shops in dublin they are an absolute rip off! I'd say the average cost of a brand named tracksuit is €70.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭Siogfinsceal

Lads come on!! You can hardly judge all us irish girls just by the state of the irish girls round the Jervis street area!! If I was to judge ye by the standard of lads round Jervis you wouldnt like it either!! as for there being more good looking irish men than women - yeah right?! I must be hanging out in the wrong places....
    I would never wear a tracksuit myself just dont like it its too matching. I wear tracksuit bottoms sometimes allright cos they are comfy. I think the problem is that you see pictures of Coleen McLoughlin or Terry Hatcher wearing an expensive Juicy couture tracksuit and looking great so all the dublin girls copy it and it goies very wrong!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

I don't understand people who wear tracksuits other then in the gym or slobbing around at home. They just cling to your body in the wrong places and do nothing for even the skinniest of female figures. I would rather wear my PJS to the shops then trackies. Men look woeful in them too, biggest turn off!

Oh an by the ay Irish women aren't the best of dressers, either too much flesh on show or not enough!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Its great. You know whom to ignore:D

Also, some of the skangers DO wear their PJ's to the shop. Go figure.

god you're all so pathetic the way you always back up the girls on these forums, e.g. everyone trying to get on Kiera's good side with the taoiseach thing etc. For all the unsociable boards freaks, looking at that little picture of the cartoon from who framed roger rabbit is probably the closest to a real woman you'll ever get...

Yes I'm not a real woman. I'm a 25 stone trucker driver from Kerry.

Wanna kiss????

If I was to judge ye by the standard of lads round Jervis you wouldnt like it either!!!

You mean this sarong and Hawai 5-0 Shirt are no good?! :confused:
    as for there being more good looking irish men than women - yeah right?! I must be hanging out in the wrong places...

I must agree, after all, I do know which side my bread is buttered on! :D

Lads come on!! You can hardly judge all us irish girls just by the state of the irish girls round the Jervis street area!!

Well I don't know which is worse. The "girls round the Jervis street area" in their full-on shell suits, or the girls in posh areas and in UCD/trinity etc. in their tracksuit bottoms AND BOAT SHOES!!! How can that be considered fashionable in posh areas???

What are these boat shoes everyone talks about? Anybody got a photo?

They waet THOSE? with Track suits?!! Hahaha, that's the stupidest thing I ever heard (read!)

this type of craic...

Are they :confused: I thought they were loafers.
    we live and learn

• Closed Accounts Posts: 155 ✭✭the-lad

Lux23 wrote:
    . I would rather wear my PJS to the shops then trackies.
    Unfortunately this is also coming quite common place!! :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 951 ✭✭✭Eminem

Theres nothing wrong with wearing tracksuits going into town. If thars what you want to wear then do it . I :D dont see a problem with it as such.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,494 ✭✭✭ronbyrne2005

next time i go shopping i better wear an amarani suit to suit some people :rolleyes:

i wear plain tracksuit bottoms as i find them comfortable especially as i cycle or walk everywhere,i think people generalise too much and group your average tracksuit bottom wearer in with the chronic scumbag tracksuit wearer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

Yeah the proliferation of women in terrible (yet strangely expensive) tracksuits around Dublin City Centre is pretty awful. I don't get it, however I'm sure they have their reasons for thinking they look good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

You could possibly blame Desperate Housewives for this: http://wisteria.serieunlimit.com/dossiers/look/look%20gaby%20(6).jpg

Of course, this character only wears tracksuits for jogging - something those who try to emulate her forget!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 288 ✭✭Publin

I agree with the original poster. Tracksuits - in general - look woeful. However, I think the people that are being referred to (i.e. in and around the Jervis St. Centre) are the cream-crackers of Dublin, who not only wear illuminous green or bright white shell suits, but also a ton of make-up and circus earrings to go with it (they may also be pushing a buggy and be shouting at the top of their voice in a hideous accent "He-or, Ja-cin-teh, luk ar dis yolk in da win-da). To be honest, these kind of people can be extremely annoying, especially when they're in your way and you're in a hurry, and the look absolutely terrible. However, in fairness to these individuals, it's what their friends and neighbours are wearing and probably wear it for these reasons. It's a major turn-off, but they're not out on the pull - they're out shopping.

Oh and Kiera - I take it you wear tracksuits! I don't THINK you were the kind of person being referred to by the OP.

EDIT: I'm surprised no one has been on this thread to mis-use the word racist yet (cue someone calling me racist!).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

tracksuits/bottoms on young ones - I loath em, I LOATH EM WITH A PASSION THAT COULD EXTINGUISH SUNS ! :mad:

in my entire life ive only met ONE girl whos managed to resist the urge to wear em. as a bloke i find nothing more of a turn off than girls with impeccable taste in a club wandering around in these during the day . i mean jesus you can buy a pair of slacks and a shirt for under 20euro in dunnes which looks IMMEASURABLY better than a tracksuit. but no, the gender thats made a CLICHE out of the line "does my arse look big in this" wear the ONE thing that makes it look like it should have its own orbit :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

I can't stand tracksuits.. they do nothing for a woman's figure at all! They don't even look good... And both ends of the wealth scale do them badly, whether it's Tallaght skangers in fake Lacoste with €150 runners or UCD's D4head girls with O'Neills or fat pants and Dubes...

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,440 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr Magnolia

I can't stand tracksuits.. they do nothing for a woman's figure at all! They don't even look good...

One begs to differ..

Tracksuits.jpg

Publin wrote:
    Oh and Kiera - I take it you wear tracksuits! I don't THINK you were the kind of person being referred to by the OP.
    Yes I do wear tracksuits but only for exercise. I would never wear them to go shopping. Saying that I still don’t find it offensive when other people wear them. Each to their own and all that!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,909 ✭✭✭europerson

Well I don't know which is worse. The "girls round the Jervis street area" in their full-on shell suits, or the girls in posh areas and in UCD/trinity etc. in their tracksuit bottoms AND BOAT SHOES!!! How can that be considered fashionable in posh areas???
    I think that the "full-on shell suits" are horrible, especially the velour-type ensembles. They definitelt ought only to be worn for exercising. The Trinity-UCD tracksuit-bottoms-and-boat-shoes-phenomenon is slightly more acceptable, but still very lax, I think. Why can't any of these people wear proper clothes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭liam1204

come on get a grip people. tracksuits are like jeans, combats and any other type of garment. that means that there are some well nice tracksuits and some **** tracksuits. adidas oldskool tracksuits are the business. another thing women and girls CAN look mighty fine in them if they are worn properly. sometimes though tracksuits are best used at home, football training or the gym. they reached their peak years ago when you could were them in to some of the cooler clubs both here and abroad.
    as for "pair of slacks and a shirt for under 20euro in dunnes" gimme a tracksuit anyday.
    \\\ three stripes of adidas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,909 ✭✭✭europerson

liam1204 wrote:
    come on get a grip people. tracksuits are like jeans, combats and any other type of garment. that means that there are some well nice tracksuits and some **** tracksuits. adidas oldskool tracksuits are the business. another thing women and girls CAN look mighty fine in them if they are worn properly. sometimes though tracksuits are best used at home, football training or the gym. they reached their peak years ago when you could were them in to some of the cooler clubs both here and abroad.
    as for "pair of slacks and a shirt for under 20euro in dunnes" gimme a tracksuit anyday.
    \\\ three stripes of adidas.
    I think Adidas tracksuits are the worst of the lot. I find those three stripes a complete turn-off to see on anyone.

liam1204 wrote:
    adidas oldskool tracksuits are the business. another thing women and girls CAN look mighty fine in them if they are worn properly. they reached their peak years ago when you could were them in to some of the cooler clubs both here and abroad..

Ive been clubbing for the best part of 13yrs, in all that time ive NEVER seen anyone get into a club wearing a tracksuit. hell they would bearly get into a bar in one back then:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Kiera wrote:
    Yes I'm not a real woman. I'm a 25 stone trucker driver from Kerry.
    A quote for someone's sig...

=-=

There's different types of clothes people wear:
    • "Casual" clothes
    • Shredded "casual" clothes
    • "Goth" clothes
    • "Army" or camo clothes
    • Tracksuits
    • Filthy clothes
    Now, ya see the last item in the list? Thats what people hate, but the tracksuit wearers don't seem to know how to clean them, thus they look knackerish.

Also, its the mainly ultra-bright Daz white that most people hate so much. The dark blue, etc, tracksuits that the older people wear, no-one minds. Its just seeing a sh|t stained ultra-bright non-Daz [strike]sh|te[/strike]white, that I find disgusting, tbh.

=-=

Oh, and for the record, I'm usually wearing camo/goth/jeans-n-black clothes. I have (literally) one pair of tracksuit bottoms, that I sometimes wear on "wash day", when everything else is in the wash.

the_syco wrote:

Oh, and for the record, I'm usually wearing camo/goth/jeans-n-black clothes. I have (literally) one pair of tracksuit bottoms, that I sometimes wear on "wash day", when everything else is in the wash.

I'm tha same, I had one single pair of tracksiut bottoms that I used to wear for PE classes. Since I'll never have another PE class ever again, the tracksiut has now been demoted to "painting trousers" and are now covered in an interesting mixture of paint and varnish. They still look better than some of those godawful things people wear...

Merrick wrote:
    I'm tha same, I had one single pair of tracksiut bottoms that I used to wear for PE classes. Since I'll never have another PE class ever again, the tracksiut has now been demoted to "painting trousers" and are now covered in an interesting mixture of paint and varnish. They still look better than some of those godawful things people wear...

EXACTLY like me, the ONLY time i wear tracksuit bottoms is to pain the house, i wouldnt be seen dead outside in em:rolleyes:

Well, I do occassionally wear them outside...
    ...to paint the shed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭- bo -

tracksuits are alright as long as they're not the knackery looking all-white type thing, or them other ones young ones wear that stick up their arses. normally accompanied with fellas resembling this:
    http://xs.to/xs.php?h=xs65&d=06042&f=chavs1.jpg

Them all white ones would be brilliant for shed painting wouldn't they? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭- bo -

depends what colour yer shed is....

they'd also be brilliant for getting attention from this fella:
    chav.jpg
    looks a charmer :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,743 ✭✭✭Rockee

Tracksuit bottoms are grand to wear around the house or running up the road to grab something in the shops. Im 24 and feel a bit weird if I whipped on a tracksuit top with NIKE written in big letters.

- bo - wrote:
    depends what colour yer shed is....

they'd also be brilliant for getting attention from this fella:
    chav.jpg
    looks a charmer :cool:

Ugh, I'd rather not get any attention at all from that fella...
    (Like the new sig)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu