Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boards Weekly Soccer Game

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

Trying to get the touch back is the killer. A few times there saturday I had the touch of a rapist

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 317 ✭✭kellxor.1337

Ya suppose ur right Cormie, out touches need a bit of work alright, Some of the balls i was passing aswell went everywhere, I mean, I know i can cross a ball, But on saturday i couldnt pass for my life, was the dude on our team called Jerry, The short dude blondish hair, He was dead handy, Who broght him along,

Kellxor

His name was Jules wasn't it?

Was it, F*ck, I was callin him jerry the entire game lol, hahaha, Still got the ball from him, played some savage 1-2's with him, he's got a great touch, and good carrier with the ball, If we can manage gettin 20each week, Thats perfect, Again if anymore than 22 come up we can have roll on-off subs, so i'm gonna go out and say it,

I think as of next week we should all start chippin in, €2or3 each, I'll keep a note of who's payin what, We can use it to Get proper footballs and such, i dont think we'd miss a few euro a week, With the numbers that are showin up we'd be able to afford the bibs, footballs, Water bottles and such, I mean, this is gonna be a weekly game, Everyweek there's more ppl cominng and friends of there's,

Kellxor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 461 ✭✭BOHS

The guy with the green Ireland jersey on against us was pretty class.I'll def be on for playing again this week anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,845 ✭✭✭✭cormie

We can rent physios and a ref too:D

Yeah, I think we should get some kind of fund together. It's ok at the mo as it is but it would be nice to have a bag full of tricks.

My friend might be able to come next week. He was p1ssed off he couldn't make it. He's a ref part time too and he's the fittest chap ever.

I should be able to bring 1 or two with me some weeks anyway.

If too many turn up, well I saw another game going on the farside of the park near the big monument so I'm sure there's always a game to be found in the Park.

yeah, Jules was the blonde chap with the Ireland jersey, his boards username is Frank Grimes! I messed up so many nice balls he played to me:o

Excellent, Jules, I'll remember it now, Ya you had some good runs alright cormie, Our defence was rock solid 2nd half, That pep talk we had was Mighty lol, anyway, i'm finished early 2day, Dying at the moment, So i'm gonna go home and get some extra kip,
    Talk to ye all 2moro

Kellxor
    "Stephen"

I can supply water bottles, used to work in C&C and have millions of club energise sports bottles

Onkle51 wrote:
    I can supply water bottles, used to work in C&C and have millions of club energise sports bottles

Haha, if anyone ever doubted that one they they'd come in useful you can shove it in their face now:)

I drank funk all water on Sat, when I used to play in the summer I'd drink about 2 litres and be thirsty for more. Wonder is it just that it wasn't as warm or what's that all about? I used to sweat a lot more too. Yeah, ok, un-necessary info but I'm curious why. lol.

My muscles are paining more now then they were yesterday too:confused:

Thats how most of us felt this time last week, I was sore till tue or wed, Dont use deep heat though, It's actually really bad for ya, Better of leaving it fix naturally, Alright Onkle, Where abouts do you live, I think i'm the nearest person to the park, I can fill them up and keep them in my place till the next week, Unless you have a car and can bring them,

Kellxor
    "Stephen"

use filtered water:D

Kell, could you PM me your mob number if you have one please? I don't have yours yet!

I live in Inchicore and I drive so I can fill them myself. Unless you really want to fill them up Stephen!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,032 ✭✭✭FrankGrimes

alright lads, good game on saturday, but fuk me have I been wrecked ever since. Stiff as a board even though I had a bath after it, just had to head to the jacks in work to stretch the auld hamstrings.

kellxor - yeh the names Jules alright, let you away with the Jerry thing cos it was amusing...just like when I heard two of the lads on the other team talk about my mate Barry (red/pink top) and decide his name was Derek..now I gotta start calling him Derek.

thanks for the compliments but have to say that was, without a shadow of a doubt, the worst I've ever played.....the body just wouldnt do what it was told :rolleyes: . That said, it was my first game of ball for months, first on grass for over a year, cos I've a long term back injury. That said, you gotta start the comeback road somewhere, though it'll be a long way back to the top of the LSL.

Decent bunch of lads alright and I'd say the game will only get better...just hope I can take time off the renovations on my gaff to make it, though I reckon my mates Cathal and Barry will be back next week either way. 2 main differences that changed the 2nd half were us setting up properly which left less holes down the middle, and then us realising the best way was to take the ball past their defenders rather than trying to play it through and run onto it, which is generally the better option, but not when your forwards are too wrecked to get on the end of it.

That Luke fella was gas - missed a bunch of sitters then sticks in the most difficult, left footed half volley Ronaldinho style

Alright lads - good news: my mate works for Adidas in the UK and will be home this weekend and is probably gonna be able to get me some bibs. Not sure how many but they'll probably be free gratis or at least a very good price so should come in handy for these games.

I have 6 or 7 green nike ones. Have them from playing astro, So if somebody had a few other green ones or even if we bought a few green ones?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,731 ✭✭✭el rabitos

hey lads, was just wondering what the story is for this saturday, is there another game on? i was away over the weekend so i missed it this week : /

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

Just back from training. It was pissing rain all night. My match is off on Sunday. We were warned by the council that if we are caught training on Sunday we'll be in fined or some such!

Check out aertel tomorrow!

Training where? They can't stop us playing unless they have signs up as far as I know. Either way we have to be warned before they can take any action, and even still a sign isn't enough warning as far as I know. This is if you're talking about the Phoenix Park by the way:)

I'll send the text tomorrow morning, still waiting on numbers from:

*Tripper*
    blu_sonic
    carpothepunk
    Catch_22
    Clank
    Conchubar
    el rabitos
    ferdi
    FrankGrimes
    Gileadi
    IDM
    KdjaC
    kellxor.1337
    353851476881 L5
    Nimrod's Son
    Peace
    raheny red
    Rockee
    Savman
    Stekelly
    super_furry
    The Muppet
    Tusky.

I'll play in any weather and I'm sure a lot of the lads would too:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭raheny red

If the council catches you it is a fine. However, there is a loophole, this is not a football club therefore you and the lads are safe from the councils :D :cool: :p

Yeah, it'd probably be different with a club. Are you in on this Raheny, PM your mobile number if you're interested:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭raheny red

I would have played this Saturday since the games will be off but I have an injury at the moment (due to an All-Ireland quarter-final yesterday :cool: ). I'll be in touch when I have a free weekend though....:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,531 ✭✭✭jonny68

Cant make it myself this Saturday Cormie but should be able to the following Saturday :)

PS-I've no Football boots does everyone actually use boots or just runners?:o

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

cormie wrote:

Training where? They can't stop us playing unless they have signs up as far as I know.

They dont put signs up. It'll be on aertel from about 12. They can only fine clubs but they can stop is from playing football. I've been there a few times!

I play for a club out in Lucan. Train on an all weather pitch which had a about an inch of rain on it. Nice!

I should be around tomorrow

Yeah I didn't think they could fine individuals;)

Jonny, I'd invest in a pair of boots if I were you, there were plenty of slips last week from those in runners, the ground can be quite slidey. You can get a nice Umbro pair for about €30!

jonny68 wrote:
    PS-I've no Football boots does everyone actually use boots or just runners?:o

We almost all wear boots, I've seen a few ppl wear runners but you'll be slippin all over the place,
    I'm gonna be there this saturday, Cant wait

Kellxor

Just sent the group text now anyway to 17 people. So we'll see what the response is:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,578 ✭✭✭daymobrew

raheny red wrote:
    If the council catches you it is a fine. However, there is a loophole, this is not a football club therefore you and the lads are safe from the councils :D :cool: :p
    The Phoenix Park is patrolled by the Park Wardens from the Heritage Service (An Taisce). My mates and I have been moved on once or twice when playing on an official pitch.

In this situation the solution is to move off the official pitch onto an adjacent unmarked area and get the jumpers and bags down as corner and goal markers. The non-pitch area will probably be less worn too.
    I think if you move along the road, back towards the Pope's Cross a bit, there is such an area.

As mentioned much earlier in the thread, beside the Wellington Monument (view from main road; note footballer on left) could be a good alternative though a bit of a pain logistically (how are late comers informed?). The area on the east/city side would be best as you won't get pedestrians trying to cross the pitch.

I won't be around to play tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,705 ✭✭✭ciaran76

Not trying to wuss out or anything. ;)

But seems like a good few games are called off this weekend. Would the conditions be ok for us to play on. Even last week there was a good few slipping and they were wearing football boots.

What do people think ?:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,473 ✭✭✭Roddy23

Not trying to wuss out or anything.

Get him Lads hes wussing out.

Ah ill turn up, it could be p1ssin down and i'd still prob turn up. Just gettin used to it now. If i missed this week, well, it all could come crashing down.

I'm well up for playin in the rain, Just get us more into the game, I cant see that many ppl wussin out, There's no point, I'll say we'll get lucky with the weather, If the conditions are that bad we'll move away from the pitchs and find somewhere thats not as worn, Ball will run more smoothly

Kellxor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,126 ✭✭✭Gileadi

yea **** it,it'll be grand in the rain

adds a few metres to a slide tackle and as kellxor says the ball will run more smooth, if anything it will slow it down abit which could help afew people ;)

ciaran76 wrote:
    Not trying to wuss out or anything. ;)

But seems like a good few games are called off this weekend. Would the conditions be ok for us to play on. Even last week there was a good few slipping and they were wearing football boots.

What do people think ?:confused:

If the pitches are called off I wont be there. Its real wet and if you go out you'll cut the pitch up bad.

I'd be pissed off if some lads cut up my pitch when they werent meant to be playing on it.

All PHOENIX PARK pitches are unplayable

Fook, I suppose it's off so, I'd have to agree with Kearnsr on this one, If it says the pitch's are unplayable there's no point in goin up, We'd mess the place up and could get shifted, Unless some1 can organise one of the big all weather pitches for the same time, I know there's one on the green luas line, think it's up by cowper, not too sure where exaclty but it could be worth a look see,

Kellxor

Damn, is that definitely for Saturday though and not just for today? Just looking at the pitch out the window here and it looks fine. Is there any kip of a place that's already cut up badly that we wont make a difference to? I'm definitely up for still playing no matter what the conditions are but if there's not going to be a turn out then I suppose there's not much that can be done. I'd be up for an all weather pitch too. Just want to get out for a kick about:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 618 ✭✭✭CrazySka

theres gotta be a place nearby we could set up if the pitches are too bad, no point in calling it off unless we absolutely have to.

Well i'm not familiar with the area, I dont know any green areas, I suppose i'm up for it still, dont care where as long as it's big enough to have a good kick about, I'll be stayin up in rathfarnham 2night, I know there's loads of greens up there, there's a soccer pitch up there thats never really used and it looks like a good pitch, posts and all, Then there's the Frank kelly park i think it's called, There's always free pitchs there and the lads there dont care how many ppl are playing, I wont have access to Boards after 3.45 2day so cormie if you can keep me informed on where were gonna play i'll turn up,

Kellxor

is that pitch we used last week used by any clubs? its a crap pitch and didnt even have a D marked out at penalty area.

I've got the small matters of knocking my garage, knocking chimney, and kangoing up my driveway to attend to tomorrow but would be on for it if I get these done in time. Rain doesn't bother me but showing up to a crap turnout would piss me off, and I can't even commit to it for sure. Getting an alternative pitch would be well tricky cos all the clubs train on them when the pitches are called off.

I'll keep an eye out here if its going ahead or not. my mate cathal, and probably Barry said he'd be on for it no matter what.

Ok should we just say were gonna meet at the same place as last week, We'll see what happens, we'll play if it's alright, if not we'll go find sumplace worthy of a game, How does that sound

Kellxor

is that pitch we used last week used by any clubs? its a crap pitch and didnt even have a D marked out at penalty area.

Not many teams would mark out the d.

Pitches are called off on a Friday which means you cant play on them that weekend (or train on them during the week afaik).

THere is astro turf in celbridge & tallaght. I'm sure there are others

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,126 ✭✭✭Gileadi

well im driving through the park in about 20 mins so ill stop and give it a once over

will report back some time this evening and let you know how it is

excellent, referee inspection of pitch the night before our game? won't be long till the Champions League are offering us an honorary spot lads!!

kearns - I thought all LSL teams had to mark out the D? I've been out for 2 years but don't remember ever playing on a pitch that didnt have it.

doesnt sound like the numbers are there - Cormie hows it lookin?

kearns - I thought all LSL teams had to mark out the D? I've been out for 2 years but don't remember ever playing on a pitch that didnt have it.

The higher up in the league you do. The team I play with at present dont.

I'll text you Kellxor, no problem:)

Ok, well I've only got a few replies:
    John_Dub - Yes
    El Rabitos - Yes
    Garred - Yes
    Onkle51 - Maybe
    Ciaran76 - Yes
    Kearnsr (opinion above)
    Bohs - Maybe

Inspecting the pitch is a good idea alright, but even if it's not up to scratch, I'm still up for the idea of meeting up anyway and trecking around to the Wellington Monument. I'm sure the grass there is rarely used, except by people in runners etc, just for a little kick about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,531 ✭✭✭jonny68

cormie wrote:
    Yeah I didn't think they could fine individuals;)

Jonny, I'd invest in a pair of boots if I were you, there were plenty of slips last week from those in runners, the ground can be quite slidey. You can get a nice Umbro pair for about €30!

Yeah ill have to be investing in a pair of boots then,stupid question again but is there anywhere around you can have a shower afterwards hate having to go home filthy :o

Jesus lads it's only a bit of rain!!! Can't believe it's dwindling this much. I may or may not have to drive to Belfast tomorrow so thats why I'm just a maybe

jonny68 wrote:
    Yeah ill have to be investing in a pair of boots then,stupid question again but is there anywhere around you can have a shower afterwards hate having to go home filthy :o

Unless it rains no showers I'm afraid.

I dont mind playing in the rain but I dont want to ruin the pitches.

my mate Cathal is defo on for it either way, and maybe one more. barry is away, and as I said I won't know if I can make it till I see how long the work is gonna take.

Kangoin is a pain in the ass, takes a lot longer then people think too:( Would your mates be coming even if you're not?

So who's up for meeting at the same spot at 3 regardless. If it's playable, we play, if not, we'll go down to the monument?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 618 ✭✭✭CrazySka

ill be there defo anyway(unless its decided here that its definitely not going ahead), even if it ends up just being a game of 5-6 a side itll still be a bit of craic, theres prob more who'll turn up on the day anyway.

cathal will be there regardless of whether I can make it. I'll do my best but no guarantees