Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What was your first car?

• 07-02-2006 1:45am
    Registered Users Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭

Something that i think every driver holds dear to their heart...

What was your first car?

Did you give them a name and how did you get on? how long where you together? Everyone has a story about their first car....?!

Well me, Im still on my first car I love her! My Ford Ka '98. I'm only with her 1 year so far and I'm not sellin her yet!

What was your first car? 39 votes

Ford Fiesta
    0% 0 votes
    Honda Civic
    23% 9 votes
    Nissan Micra
    10% 4 votes
    Mini
    10% 4 votes
    Opel Corsa
    2% 1 vote
    Renault Clio
    10% 4 votes
    Toyota Starlet
    10% 4 votes
    Volkswagon Golf
    5% 2 votes
    Volkswagon Polo
    10% 4 votes
    Other
    17% 7 votes

• Registered Users Posts: 7,457 ✭✭✭Blisterman

I've never had my own car. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Me neither Blister. I'm working on it as we speak :\

• Registered Users Posts: 4,098 ✭✭✭bennyx_o

A LHD Smart Car

• Registered Users Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭hardCopy

Fiat Punto

• Registered Users Posts: 6,182 ✭✭✭Tiriel

Polo:D

• Registered Users Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭ninty9er

Just got loan approval today so i'm lookin now, everyone will recomend their own car, but what don't you recommend.

I'm quite the car buff so wouldn't go for anything low spec, so polo and corsa are definately out in my budget range, know loadsa people who have punto trouble, but everything else looks horrible!!! urrrgggh:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,237 ✭✭✭AMurphy

A Fiat 128 rustbucket. Apart from all the things wrong with it, it went like the clappers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 881 ✭✭✭Ernie Ball

A LHD 1983 1.3l Honda Civic saloon which I bought in 1987 and drove until 1995 with nary a problem (until the timing belt broke in the last year).

The car was known as "The Jewel."

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,433 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr Magnolia

What was your first car?
    Vauxhall Corsa *sighs*, grand wee motor
    Did you give them a name and how did you get on?
    No and grand!
    how long where you together?

3 yrs.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,788 ✭✭✭MrPudding

A very nicely restored 1972 MGB GT. Fcuking loved that car.

MrP

• Registered Users Posts: 2,376 ✭✭✭Squirrel

A '97 Micra, in two months.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭Borzoi

A six year old Toyota Carina E, with about 90K on the clock. Terrific car, the only time it let me down was when the original battery died at around 105K. Nearly wrote it off the first time I drove it!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,398 ✭✭✭ando

my first motor was a focus. Slow as a snail but, ah I miss her:

f1.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,613 ✭✭✭Big Nelly

First car was 1.6 Nissan Primara

First insured on a 3L Turbo Diesel Izuzu Tropper

• Closed Accounts Posts: 658 ✭✭✭pontovic

The first car I drove was a hand me down 1995 ford fiesta from my brother. I shared it with my younger brother for 6 months, but then I started having to commute to work, so I got myself a 1997 polo 4 door. I sold that a month ago and now I have a 1999 vw Bora 1.6 comfortline, so thats 3 cars I've had in one year :) I do drive alot though.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭fletch

'98 Ford Escort...had for over a yr & a half, just passed the 100,000mile mark and never had one single problem with it yet...happy days :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,245 ✭✭✭drdre

i had a vw polo and now am 21 and got a 05 golf

• Registered Users Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭fletch

drdre wrote:
    i had a vw polo and now am 21 and got a 05 golf
    You lucky b**tard....21 and drivin an '05 Golf!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,249 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

:o:o:o:o:o:o Rover 25 1.4 :o:o:o:o:o:o

Got rid of it 20 months after getting it. Disaster of a car, never ever again. Hopefully picking up a 98 Lancer in August.

Until then I'm on my Moped.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭prospect

First car I drove - Citroen BX
    First Car I owned - Peugeot 306

• Registered Users Posts: 814 ✭✭✭Raytown Rocks

1988 Suzuki Swift...Ahhhh the memories

• Registered Users Posts: 1,146 ✭✭✭PaddyFagan

I had a 98 clio (Mark II), bought her at three months old - ex demo.

I kept her for five years, only one problem - cracked fuel line, not a big deal expect for the muppets in the garage who didn't put it back together right! (Ended up in the fast lane of the M50, going 70 mph when the engine cutout!)

Picking up my fourth car today, 1.6 FSI Golf Plus - spot the guy with the young kid!

Paddy

• Registered Users Posts: 51,243 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

The first car I learned to drive in was my dad's 1988 Nissan Bluebird 1.8. It was dog slow, had the aerodynamics and style of a stone but it was the bee's knees to me at the time.

My first car that I owned was a 1991 Nissan Sunny 1.4 with 90k on the clock. Grand little car. The car cost me £3,500 and the insurance was £2,000 TPFT :eek: .

I had the Sunny for 12 months, the only issues I had with it were that both front wheels needed new bareings and there was a problem with the heater. It would only blow cold air which was a slight problem in the cold winter mornings. The problem was with the leaver that switched the fan from cold to hot air. I carried a pair of pliers in the glove box to force the leaver from cold to hot in the winter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

Company Van for me.... Had ten lessons, passed my test first time and was handed the keys to a VW Caddy 1.9 TDI

• Registered Users Posts: 482 ✭✭tapest

God, Ye must all be kids here...and I "hate ye to pieces"(you won't remember"Sylvester the cat" either), for making me feel old.

Hillman Avenger, with a wooden central console. By which I mean the console was not wood effect, but actually made by a carpenter...lol

Guess the age, anyone???..without looking it up
    t

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,249 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

tapest wrote:
    God, Ye must all be kids here...and I "hate ye to pieces"(you won't remember"Sylvester the cat" either), for making me feel old.

Hillman Avenger, with a wooden central console. By which I mean the console was not wood effect, but actually made by a carpenter...lol

t

I'm going to guess Nineteen Dickity two!!! :p

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,711 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

Ford Escort MkI 1300xl automatic :D It was slow and thirsty.

I then bought and restored a Renualt 4 van. Excellent yoke.

Fiat Uno 1.1. Grand wee car.

1987 - 1999 Co. cars. Mainly boring. I had an early Opel Tigra, which was "different".

1999 - date. Fords. All new. 1 Mondeo, and 6 or 7 Focuses. Employees scheme jobs :D Excellent motors all of them.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,451 ✭✭✭blastman

tapest wrote:

t
    We had two new Hillman Avengers when I was a kid, so I'm going to guess at around 1972 or thereabouts. :) By the way, it was Jinksy in Pixie, Dixie and Mr. Jinks that used to say "I hate all meeces to pieces!" :D

The first car I owned was a Citroen AX GT. Bought it from a mate, it was his first car as well. He'd christened it Hector and the name stuck, although none of my cars since have had names that stuck. We were together about two years when the head gasket went and I thought it was time to turn Japanese.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 616 ✭✭✭BnA

First Car I owned : 1992 1.4 Ford Escort. Bought in 1999. Had it for about 2 years. It was an ok enough car. Solid, comfortable and fairly reliable.

First car I was insured on : My parents 1987 Toyota Carina. They bought it in 1992. Was an ex-squad car. I always liked that car.

What I learned to drive on : A 20 year old 1965 Fordson Super Dexta (That's a tractor for all ye Palers...) when I was 8 years old.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,659 ✭✭✭PowerHouseDan

My first car i bought is a Bmw and still have it... tis me baby...