Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

British Soldiers Beating Up Children In Iraq

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,432 ✭✭✭Peteee

a very similar group of army lads will be marching down o'connell street in a couple of months,

rotten tomatoes anyone

Yeah good point. If they didn't go around suicide bombing the soldiers, the US and British Armies would likely be gone by now...but, well..some people huh.

Thats pretty nasty behavior, but if they were US Soldiers they probably would have been shot.

I'd say the video could ahve been taken out of context, the 'kids' mights ahve been throwing molotov cocktails at them or something. But it's defitetly out of line to be giving out that kinda abuse

• Closed Accounts Posts: 344 ✭✭Cosine

Aparently the BBC got an unedited version of the tape and there are people throwing maltov's just outside the compound

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,767 ✭✭✭Hugh Hefner

In had to turn down the sound a bit so that my parents wouldn't think I was watching porn. No joke.

I think anything I could say about the vid. would be obvious.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,531 ✭✭✭jonny68

The British Army vermin have once again shown their true colours here,Nationalist people in the North Of Ireland have suffered this same fate for many years,those responsible should be tried for war crimes :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,506 ✭✭✭woody

jonny68 wrote:
    The British Army vermin have once again shown their true colours here,Nationalist people in the North Of Ireland have suffered this same fate for many years,those responsible should be tried for war crimes :mad:

All soliders are not the same and plenty are disgusted, judging an entire army by actions of a few scumbags is generalising and unjust....

What they did outshadows the good that other do and as for the North the Nationalists there are no angels nor the loyalists and they commited more acts of thuggery against there own than the british ever did.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 806 ✭✭✭Atrocity

This should be on Kirsty's Home Videos! I find it light-hearted and amusing!

Hit 'em with a little ghetto gospel!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭franksm

Please lets not drag Northern Ireland into this, it's not the same by any stretch of the imagination. I'm from Belfast and saw enough sh!t going on from all quarters - I've always been of the opinion that if the scumbags from either side (Nationalist and Loyalist) had their heads knocked, it would have let the rest of us get on with things. No amount of rose-tinted sunglasses can show that what the IRA/UDA/UVF/INLA/UDR/RUC ever did there was good for Northern Ireland. Might be glorified as a "war" in the memory of 1916 from the one side - and protecting a piece of Britain from the other side, but it never was. Politicians and people from outside of the North love dressing it up in these romantic terms though.

Like Iraq now - the war was originally a good thing in my opinion, those people were just terrorised by the regime there, but now the whole situation has long gone stale. That vid - the unfortunate thing was that maybe it went to far, I don't know. I didn't see any footage from the riots there. But knocking heads is the only thing that rioters understand.

Speaking of the Iraq situation being stale, I am not at all surprised now that people there are just totally frustrated living under the thumb of the coalition and (worse than that) the hanger-on mercenaries. One of the sh!ttiest things I saw recently was when I was reading up on that occasion when security were shooting up innocent motorists in Iraq - video footage from the "tail gunner" in a convoy of civil engineers. That lead me to other stories and vids. Eg. know how these mercenaries spend their time when not doing convoy duty ? They shoot dogs for fun - there are some horrific videos there. The whole Iraq story has long gone out of control and that video with the rioters - no surprise there. Hopefully it'll be (another) wake up call for pull-out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

i hear those kids throw a mean stone.

it's war and all, but beating up kids is not justifiable in any situation.
    ask the kids in Belfast how they feel after british soldiers beat them up. 35 years later and they will still give you the same answer.
    they didn't do themselves any favours there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,140 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Shock horror!!!!

The centuries old staunch British traditions of terrorising those unfortunate enough to live under their occupation lives on!!!!

These slimebags should be put through the Iraqi judicial system and should not get away with a handy court-martial. :mad:

See how long they'd last in an Iraqi jail. :v:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,800 ✭✭✭county

Zebra3 wrote:
    Shock horror!!!!

The centuries old staunch British traditions of terrorising those unfortunate enough to live under their occupation lives on!!!!

These slimebags should be put through the Iraqi judicial system and should not get away with a handy court-martial. :mad:

See how long they'd last in an Iraqi jail. :v:

nice one,tar us all with the same brush:mad:

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,036 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

ferdi wrote:
    i'm presuming these scumbags will be thrown in prison?

Given the situation at the time, not a chance.
    The lads will be given a talking to, maybe non-judicial punishment, and that will be the end of it is my guess.

Background info, which four pages in, nobody's bothered to post:

The riot started because Iraqis were pissed off. Not because of occupation, or brutality by the Coalition... They were rioting because they had not been selected for admission into the Customs Service. I should try that: I don't get a job, I riot.

As the riot progressed, molotov cocktails were thrown. See here for picture of two British soldiers with their gear on fire:
    http://i1.tinypic.com/nnw2vq.jpg

You can also hear, as the videotaped charge went in, that people are still shooting at the British. This is corroborated by the cameraman, in between his exhortations, shouting "Shoot at us, will you?"

Now, if you're being shot at, and also you've seen your buddies on fire, you're going to be a little wired up. I'm not saying that the British did nothing wrong, but you have to put it into context. If it were my soldiers that were doing it and I walked around the corner, I'd have immediately put a stop to it, had a word with them about professionalism, and then done nothing further.

NTM

• Closed Accounts Posts: 634 ✭✭✭nomorebadtown

these are professional soldiers.

they are in a position of authority and responsibility.

these men should be stripped of their ranks and jailed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,800 ✭✭✭county

one soldier arrested according to sky news
    http://www.sky.com/skynews/article/0,,30000-13506194,00.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,929 ✭✭✭Raiser

This fits nicely with the established profile of the average US/British soldier in Iraq.

18-21 years of age [with a mental age of 12-13]
    IQ of 55-65 [enjoys taking orders religiously from w@nkers]
    GI Joe, Gung ho lets whup some ass attitude [even if its schoolchildren]

* Possibility of shooting, bombing, maiming fellow British/US army personnel circa 90% * - do a google search on friendly fire incidents....

FFS who joins the army ? Retards mainly......Do you believe those stupid propaganda adds on TV ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Hobbes

They were rioting because they had not been selected for admission into the Customs Service.

Strange similar things happened in Northern Ireland as Catholics found they could not be allowed to get jobs.
    As the riot progressed, molotov cocktails were thrown. See here for picture of two British soldiers with their gear on fire:
    http://i1.tinypic.com/nnw2vq.jpg

Do you have a source for that photo? The reason I ask is it looks very familar to the photos of the British soldiers being firebombed when they broke into an Iraqai prison to rescue one of thier own for being jailed.
    I'd have immediately put a stop to it, had a word with them about professionalism, and then done nothing further.

After watching the whole video I'd have to say they should be looking at a court marshall. Maybe thats the problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

one of the kids was on the ground, subdued and they were still kicking him in the nuts and head. none of the soldies in the video looked like they were on fire.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 51 ✭✭zen63

OMG – will some of you climb down off your moral high horses?

These kids were rioting, throwing rocks, bricks, and petrol bombs. The army is just that – a fighting force, they are far from a police force which you seem to judge them as. IMO those kids were lucky to get a minor beating (yes that’s all I would view this as). I have seen worse fights in school playgrounds.

There are also some other factors about this video which you have not posted:

• The strong suggestion that the voice over was added afterwards by the News of the World
    • The off camera suggestion that these ‘kids’ were actually the ring leaders of the mini-riot
    • The strong suggestion that they are not 9 or 10 as some posters have assumed with no evidence.

What do YOU propose an armed soldier should do when someone endangers his life? Yes a brick thrown at the right place can have this effect.

Those kids got off lightly; you have to be an insane idiot to throw rocks at a soldier in a war zone. And if some kid threw rocks at me in IRELAND I would certainly make sure he learned his lesson.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,506 ✭✭✭woody

Raiser wrote:
    This fits nicely with the established profile of the average US/British soldier in Iraq.

18-21 years of age [with a mental age of 12-13]
    IQ of 55-65 [enjoys taking orders religiously from w@nkers]
    GI Joe, Gung ho lets whup some ass attitude [even if its schoolchildren]

* Possibility of shooting, bombing, maiming fellow British/US army personnel circa 90% * - do a google search on friendly fire incidents....

FFS who joins the army ? Retards mainly......Do you believe those stupid propaganda adds on TV ?

Your information is correct to US Forces apart from Special Forces, generally the British are more professional and less confrontational, the Americans from experience are ignorant,naieve and generally gung ho..

Yes you get muppets in the Brits but not as many....And I am not a retard Pal I served with the BA for several years....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 titface

That place must be hell for any solider..you don't know how you would behave in that situation...not even the ex squaddie here who was commenting..unless he was in Iraq....fu#kin place is mental....( i know 2 guys from New Zealand who were doing security work over there...yeah headcases alright)
    theres hardly any control to speak of even though the try and make you believe they have it under control...they dont.
    Cant really justify the kicking in the balls..but the sticks across the legs is not so bad..garda in this country have dished out a lot worse..and still do if they can get away with it..
    I wouldnt defend british soliders in any situation but in fairness the iraqi's are a lot more accepting of them than the yanks this could cause major problems for them.
    IMO this is being blown up to much...it was only a beating most people have probably gotten worse at some stage

zen63 wrote:
    These kids were rioting, throwing rocks, bricks, and petrol bombs.

Have you watched the full video? The firebombs were thrown after the fact and the kids captured were not throwing them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 891 ✭✭✭Mmmm_Lemony

zen63 wrote:
    OMG – will some of you climb down off your moral high horses?

These kids were rioting, throwing rocks, bricks, and petrol bombs. The army is just that – a fighting force, they are far from a police force which you seem to judge them as. IMO those kids were lucky to get a minor beating (yes that’s all I would view this as). I have seen worse fights in school playgrounds.

There are also some other factors about this video which you have not posted:

• The strong suggestion that the voice over was added afterwards by the News of the World
    • The off camera suggestion that these ‘kids’ were actually the ring leaders of the mini-riot
    • The strong suggestion that they are not 9 or 10 as some posters have assumed with no evidence.

What do YOU propose an armed soldier should do when someone endangers his life? Yes a brick thrown at the right place can have this effect.

Those kids got off lightly; you have to be an insane idiot to throw rocks at a soldier in a war zone. And if some kid threw rocks at me in IRELAND I would certainly make sure he learned his lesson.

You're not Wayne O’Donoghue by any chance?

I can't get over this.... The simple question I would ask you is: IF a group of kids start throwing bricks at you, what would you do? I'd find the little ****, and kick the crap out of him.

I'm against the occupation of Iraq. I'm against a hell of alot of what has gone on in Iraq to date.

But I haven't seen anything wrong with their response to this attack. The simple truth is that a rock or a brick can kill or maim a person for life. Ignoring such an attack put the troops in danger and would encourage more attacks on other British troops.

I think we've lost some of our common sense in this Politically correct world. Kids need to be disciplined. Had these kids thrown rocks at the former Republician Guard units, do you think they'd be still walking with the living?

We expect western troops to behave & respond to such situations better than non-western troops. However as Zen mentions, they're soldiers not policemen. They're trained to kill. Frankly I'm more suprised that they didn't kill a few of them when the stones started flying at the start.

Yes hobbes I watched the full video - do you have the full facts becuase what I saw differs from what you believe.

And no i dont have the full facts - but I will not jump to the British soldiers are thugs immediatly like some people on here :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 317 ✭✭kellxor.1337

luckat wrote:
    Problem not solved, as generations of vendetta in various countries have shown.

A disgusting piece of film.

If you didnt see the video in Question you'd be none the wiser, I think they deserved it, If there rioting then it needs to be handled, Hell if i was one of the soldiers and some little sh1t started throwin rocks at me i'd give him a wallop aswell, If they come back for more i'd make the beatin even worse,

Kellxor

zen63 wrote:
    Yes hobbes I watched the full video - do you have the full facts becuase what I saw differs from what you believe.

And no i dont have the full facts - but I will not jump to the British soldiers are thugs immediatly like some people on here :D

The news of the world one in the first post is not the full video. For example its not shown there (but has been in newspapers) of one of the kids being stripped naked and beaten. Also the voice over of the camera holder in the video doesn't help matters.
    I can't get over this.... The simple question I would ask you is: IF a group of kids start throwing bricks at you, what would you do? I'd find the little ****, and kick the crap out of him.

and if you did this in Ireland you would be facing jail time if the kid reported you.
    However as Zen mentions, they're soldiers not policemen. They're trained to kill.

Actually British soldiers are also trained in peacekeeping/police roles, unlike thier US counterparts.

some little sh1t started throwin rocks at me i'd give him a wallop aswell, If they come back for more i'd make the beatin even worse,

Oh right, so if you managed to catch a kid out of a group of people (because the kids are slower) then standing on thier back while two others beat them around with sticks makes it alright?

Prehaps they can give the kids the full body armor and riot gear the soliders are dressed in beforehand to make it a bit fair like. :rolleyes:

You're not Wayne O’Donoghue by any chance?

Come on, what would YOU do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 317 ✭✭kellxor.1337

TBh i dont care, I wouldnt do it over here in Ireland, Cause i know i'd get done for it, If i was a soldier and I was being attacked like that, I'd react the same way the soldiers did, I wouldnt go as far as to strippin them, But i would Beat them, 4give me if i sound cruel but there was petrol bombs thrown aswell, If the kids didnt Throw sh1t at the soldiers then they wouldnt have been touched!!!

Plain and Simple

Kellxor

Hobbes - I am not satisfied that the voice over was not added after the fact - but yes the person who made that seems quite insane :mad:

As for the troops being police - lets take one of the other countries from the region, what do you think would happen to a kid who threw a rock at a Saudi Arabian police officer?

The other full video I have not seen - my comments are based on the one posted here only. If what you say is true (there have been a lot of sensationalist media reporting on these matters) then that is a different matter.

Hobbes wrote:
    and if you did this in Ireland you would be facing jail time if the kid reported you.

Aye I would. Which in itself is a bit rubbish. And If I reported them? They'd receive a warning, and nothing to stop them from doing it again, and possibly doing more damage then.

But you still ignore the fact that they attacked british troops with weapons. Stones have the ability to pierce flesh, and crush bones. The kids used weapons and attacked British forces. Don't you think you're being a bit too leftist here?
    Hobbes wrote:
    Prehaps they can give the kids the full body armor and riot gear the soliders are dressed in beforehand to make it a bit fair like.

And neither body armour or riot gear covers all parts of the body. Argue it any way you like, the "kids" (ages? 13-16, perhaps) attacked britsh soldiers with the intent to injure them. If the British forces had shot back, then I'd agree with you, but they didn't. They booted them a bit, slapped them a bit, and gave a few headbutts. Wooptie do. Big deal.

Frankly you're all blowing this out of proportion. :rolleyes: