Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ryanair: Caught Napping

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,924 ✭✭✭✭BuffyBot

Ask yourself the question why single out Ryanair and not another bigger airline to expose then?

Because there isn't a bigger low-cost carrier in Europe, maybe?

The show was pumped up fluff..and the producers were trying to make a lot of stuff seem worse than it was. To be honest, it was more suited to a Sky One "documentary" than anything else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,947 ✭✭✭BLITZ_Molloy

Didn't see the show but I'd be slow to criticise RyanAir. I used to work for Ryanairs handling agent and those guys a model of efficiency. The turnaround is tight at just 25minutes but as a dispatcher (had to do the loadplan, supervise the turnaround) they were a pleasure to deal with. Captains were friendly (and always called the flight on time if you were 3 or 4 minutes late), air hostesses were cool (not to mention alot better looking than most of the other airlines, tons of cracking Eastern Europeans with nice attitues), and they helped me out all the time trying to get passangers on quickly to hit my timeslot.

Contrast this with Easyjet who have a turnaround of 20 minutes. That's practically impossible to hit. And the staff had absolutely no interest in helping you reach the target (they weren't getting any commision). As a result they wouldn't do any cleaning or security checks until everybody was off the plane. Holding me up for a good 8 or 10 minutes. Absolute ****ing **** the lot of them. And Ryanair were running rings around them. I doubt they'll still be in Shannon in 6 months time.

Ryanair are great at what they do. They've demistified the whole process. Now it's like getting a bus (and often cheaper!). All the airlines are subcontracted to the same low cost handlers, with the same **** food, and the same laissez fair attitute to cleaning and hygene.. so at least Ryanair are passing the savings onto the consumer.

edit: oh, and regarding safety. They have the same baggage handlers as everybody else. They go through the same scanning process and get banned from travelling for the same reasons. If you aren't there 10 minutes before the plane departs you're bag is removed and you don't travel. No passanger, no bag. They have all the newest navigation tech (bought loads of new planes after Sept 11th for next to nothing) and can land blind perfectly safely if they want to.

edit2: Wheelchair use is the same with all the airlines. If you confirm the disability when you book the ticket it's free. No plane can have more than 5 disabled people on it for reasons of evacuation in an emergency. They need to know about these things in advance.

And you get loads of stupid chancers deciding they don't feel like walking to their plane, refusing to go on unless they get a wheelchair, getting wheeled out and then bounding up the steps without a care in the world. We've waived the charge lots of times and made exceptions and I've personally seen that happen loads of times. Ryanair subcontract the disability facilities to a company, who in turn subcontract that out to another company with staff trained and insured to deal with wheelchairs and lifting people on and off correctly. You can't just magic them up on the spot and off you go. These things need to be scheduled in advance.

edit3: Heheh, lots of edits. Just going to say I'm not surprised that one of the girls fell asleep on the job. That happens to staff in airports all the time. Manys the time I've sat down for 30 seconds and gone out like a light heheh. The thing is you're shifts vary all over the place, and are generally 10+ hours. You could be up at 5am one week. Working 10pm to 8am the next. It does strange things to your sleep patterns. I was drinking a good 8 or 10 cans of coke every day (never touch the stuff usually) to keep me concious. Being on your feet for 12 hours (and walking a few miles an hour as a dispatcher) necessitated the intake of a hell of alot of sugar and caffene. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 182 ✭✭zippo22

www.ryan-be-fair.org

See message board.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,531 ✭✭✭jonny68

BuffyBot wrote:
    Because there isn't a bigger low-cost carrier in Europe, maybe?

I wasn't necessarily talking low cost carriers,why not then try expose the likes of BA or Emirates or Air France 3 of the biggest airlines in the world?Mainly because there would not be a lot to expose,the standards set and adhered to for those airlines is impeccable,your unlilkely to hear one of their flight captains saying that customers don't matter,i wonder if a person on a Ryanair flight was to have a bad accident would he/she still not matter then?

I wasn't necessarily talking low cost carriers,why not then try expose the likes of BA or Emirates or Air France 3 of the biggest airlines in the world?Mainly because there would not be a lot to expose,the standards set and adhered to for those airlines is impeccable,your unlilkely to hear one of their flight captains saying that customers don't matter

Pointless speculation really.

There was an undercover BA thing done a few years ago anyway, and there were plenty of claims of "hatchet job" about that too..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,984 ✭✭✭✭Lump

jonny68 wrote:
    Can't seem to open them myself but of course O Leary is going to deny everything thus making a fool of himself,the camera doesn't lie FFS they have been well and truly exposed,i would have more respect for him if he actually just came out and admitted that there are many many faults with his airline,trying to cover up the truth does nothing for his credibility or that of his airline.

Eh, Camera's do lie, Look at that poxy C4 programme that had people believing they were in space. It's easy to mock up the jump seat of a plane. I'm not saying that's what happened, but your claim is redilculous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭rsta

zippo22 wrote:
    www.ryan-be-fair.org

See message board.

good site

also wat about the trainer on the programme going on about people sitting in seat 1a, they will die if there is an impact... the metal thing will go straight into their head (i am sure she said that?) omg like... who would actually sit through a training course and after hearing that not tell anyone? i know for sure i would tell everyone. and then afterwards hearing that that is actually b******t. well .... i just dont know... wat kind of people are they hiring?

and wat about listening to the pilots actually giving out about how much they have to fly? they said they will do about 9 months of the year full on flying and do about 897 hours of flying time before they will be giventheir holidays (just so in an emergency they can call them for a flight...)

but in the statement issued by ryanair it said our pilots fly on average 900 hours per annum which is about 18 hours per week. but thats not the case as they make the pilots fly full on for about 9 months of the year (as one pilot on the programme said) and then give them 2-3 months off.

ive only flown with ryanair once and it wasnt my choice it was a weekend away for a group of us and i had no say in who booked the tix. i though it was fair relaxed like gettin on a bus or something. esp the way the cabin crew were so yeah like watever about it all. there seemed to be a total unprofessionalism about the whole set up. why go for cheap alternatives if one can pay a few quid more for quality ...

im glad about this documentary, i think its about time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

lol, channel 4 actually STAGED one particular scene "to re-enact the situation" and to protect identities.

I didn't get to see the program unfortunately, but reading some of the claims such as the pilots being afraid of losing their jobs if they don't work the full hours, and they're tired -- my heart bleeds for you, you poor poor people!

Did the show actually have any remarkable revelations, or just more stuff we knew already?

Is there a short list of the claims made from the show?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 68 ✭✭bidireland

when will Dispatches be doing a doc on Irish Bus Companies, they've killed or Injured more people in the last 3 years than any airline, there service is crap, there prices are the same as Ryanair and the staff also treat people like dirt.
    I can't remember the last time I got a seat on the 39 Bus or the Calcutta Express to Clonsilla
    Bus and Rail services don't have to provide high service why should airlines?
    It' all transport.
    Trains have also killed more people in the last 6 years than any Irish or UK airline.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,002 ✭✭✭bringitdown

The only thing I saw that was in any way worrying was the claim that a pilot who declared himself too tired to fly was demoted as Ryanair didn't believe him.

After that is was all arse-picking.

Get someone undercover into the maintanence hangers / on-stand inspections thats what I really worry about in ANY airline.

bidireland wrote:
    when will Dispatches be doing a doc on Irish Bus Companies, they've killed or Injured more people in the last 3 years than any airline, there service is crap, there prices are the same as Ryanair and the staff also treat people like dirt.
    I can't remember the last time I got a seat on the 39 Bus or the Calcutta Express to Clonsilla
    Bus and Rail services don't have to provide high service why should airlines?
    It' all transport.
    Trains have also killed more people in the last 6 years than any Irish or UK airline.
    Here here .... there are plenty more 'worthy' areas that could do with a docco with the dude with the serious toned voice they seem to wheel out.

/Tom Tucker: Coming up in this half hour, our undercover exposé on conveniently placed news reports in television shows. But first, Peter, look out for that skateboard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 68 ✭✭bidireland

Here here .... there are plenty more 'worthy' areas that could do with a docco with the dude with the serious toned voice they seem to wheel out.

/Tom Tucker: Coming up in this half hour, our undercover exposé on conveniently placed news reports in television shows. But first, Peter, look out for that skateboard.

I thought the part with the "Aviation Specialist" was really good, "the pressure of the slide was not 100%, what if the aero plane fell out of the sky and landed inside a volcano, the slide wouldn't inflate and people won't be able to disembark"

I love the "Specialists" on these doco's especially the former SAS soldiers, Hey! wasn't the "Aviation Specialist" the "SAS Specialist" on the Iran Embassy Siege?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 288 ✭✭hepcat

The Dispatches programme have admitted they did do a mock-up of the hostess slumped asleep opn the jump seat "to protect her identity" - why did they not try to protect the identity of the pilots slagging the Ryanair "philolosophy" or the hostess saying she was told to get a reference of someone she had only known a few months? All they did with these staff was blur the faces - so why could they not have done that with the crew member who was asleep? Serious error on the programme makers part, and makes it seem that they were really grasping at straws to incriminate Ryanair. After 5 months undercover they came up with feck all, really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 162 ✭✭damalo

Having being in a long distance relationship for a few years both myself and my ex girlfriend found ryanair's service excellent in terms of getting back and forward from Ireland to England to catch connecting flights. With flights going back and forward every 2 hours you cant go wrong.

Remember the concorde crashed in France? Air France still fly and people still use them in their thousands! What do you think would happen if Ryanair had a crash? Would you get back on their plane? Would almost 40 million people per year? O leary knows this and so safety it top priority for him.

Ryanair provides a cheap and cheerful service which is ideal from getting from A to B - quick and cheap. It is people like ryanair that have made the world a smaller place which can only be a good thing.

Michael O Leary has shown that all issues in that program are false and unfounded. There was nothing sensational about his defense yet the program was sensational and thats why everyone is getting on the we hate ryanair bandwagon. Read his notes to channel 4

Ryanair is something for Irish people to be proud of and it has my vote any time i have to travel to the uk and beyond

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,241 ✭✭✭mel123

My pennies worth:

If an undercover reporter came to work in my job, they would find people giving out everyday about the managers, the food, the conditions, the breaks...shall i go on?!? Thats what i thought this program last night was really about, it was people giving out about their job.
    In saying that, i wasnt impressed with the 'open book exam', the paying for training, among a few things.
    I have never had a problem with Ryanair, infact ive found them nothing but helpful to me, and i can say that in all honesty. Until i have a 'bad experience' then i will fly with them, at the end of the day if they are the cheapest of course i will. I also believe that if anyone was to do a documentary on Aer Lingus, Air France or whatever, they defo would not come out smelling of roses.
    At the end of the day, if it wasnt for Ryanair with these cheap flights, we would litreally be paying thousands to go anywhere (many moons ago most of us wouldnt have been able to afford to go to the UK on a flight, let alone the US cause it was so expensive), so i have to pat Ryanair on the back just for the cheap flights alone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 182 ✭✭zippo22

The only thing I saw that was in any way worrying was the claim that a pilot who declared himself too tired to fly was demoted as Ryanair didn't believe him.

Were you not even slightly disturbed by the laissez fairre attitude to passports, life jackets and security passes. Oh yes, and the safety training exams with the answers written down in front of them? As the examiner said himself the hardest bit of the test would be writing their own name correctly.

www.ryan-be-fair.org

zippo22 wrote:
    Were you not even slightly disturbed by the laissez fairre attitude to passports, life jackets and security passes. Oh yes, and the safety training exams with the answers written down in front of them? As the examiner said himself the hardest bit of the test would be writing their own name correctly.

www.ryan-be-fair.org
    Not really ... all the airlines I have flown with (both budget and non) hardly look at passports at the gate with the exception of ALL airlines I travel with to the states ...

Life jackets - are peace of mind items. Landing on water: if you survived it would have little to do with life jackets. Try landing on water to prove me wrong ... maybe it is just me but it didn't worry me.

I have had confidence in all the Ryanair cabin crew I have flown with.

I'm not trying to make light of safety issues but the things 'exposed' (exception: Pilot fatigue as I said) have very little influence on whether a plane actually crashes etc... as I said I'd watch with more interest when they go undercover in maintanence or on stand inspections.

You have to remember, that's only one side of the story reported through a third-party. Doesn't nessecarily mean it may match the facts of the case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

zippo22 wrote:
    Checking passports at the gate is a very new thing which no airline did until recently. AFAIK it is only necessary in any case when the airline operates automatic check-in and so the passport is not seen at check-in (as Aer Lingus do in Dublin for example - Ryanair are only introducing web checkin from next month.)

I flew Dublin-Riga with Ryanair recently and if I recall Ryanair did check my passport at the gate; Riga-Dublin was Aer Lingus and I am pretty sure they did not check my passport at the gate, just my boarding card.

Not that I have anything against Aer Lingus, I think they are a great airline, particularly in recent years by following Ryanair's example.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,038 ✭✭✭penexpers

Checking passports at the gate isn't a major issue. In most airports it's the third line, after having shown your passport to the check in desk and at the security control.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

The girlfriend smashed her knee and had to crutch the whole way from check-in to the gate because of their ridiculous wheelchair charge of 18 sterling.
    Did you not think £18 was worth it? do you think the other passengers should have chipped in, which in effect used to be the case, and still is with other airlines. Would you expect wheelchairs provided on dublin bus or the dart who often charge even more than ryanair for a trip.

I can see where you are coming from but it really seems to me that people expect airlines to be totally different from other modes of transport. Maybe it comes from the fact that they did charge a fortune in the 80's and earlier and it was seen as glamourous to travel by plane, and luxurious. A trip home on a piss & puke riddled nitelink full of scumbags costs up to 4 times the price of a flight to europe now, I don't expect some bird in a fancy uniform to be on the bus smiling at me and handing me my ticket and giving me a "free" cup of coffee. I would expect the decency of the passengers to give up their seat for the girl with the broken leg, not expect the driver/pilot to come down and insist on it.

I know its cheap but common decency and manners should not have to be paid for and should not be waived just because you paid a tenner for your flight. Filth. As someone esle said - I'd rather pay the extra and have the nicer boarding experience
    Well a lot of people will pay the extra tenner for the exact same products in shops like brown thomas, or the levis store rather than having to rummage through piles of the exact same clothes in other "budget" stores. Maybe the staff are paid more and are worth it. I expect the head waiter in patrick guilbauds gets a bit more money than the guy serving in mcdonalds, he is probably more mannerly and would expected to be due to his wages, and due to the expectation of the customer who pays more. I cannot wait for the day ryanair get rid of the hostesses altogether and we get really cheap flights.

Heinrich wrote:
    Before these airlines came along the cartel Aer Lingus - Air France - Lufthansa etc were rooking the passengers. Admittledly you got a free cup of tea and some biscuits. :D
    I know you are probably taking the piss there. Thing is if you have to hand over money for something it is not "free", you paid for it, if you choose not to take it, you effectively paid and threw it away. If ryanair did not charge for wheelchairs they would calculate the worst case scenario of lots of people turning up needing them and span the cost amongst all people. The baggage handlers have to be paid, if I turn up with no luggage I am in effect paying these guys for nothing, charging people is far more fair, it reduces prices if you want to, similar to the plastic bag tax in a way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,577 ✭✭✭Heinrich

rubadub wrote:

I know you are probably taking the piss there. Thing is if you have to hand over money for something it is not "free", you paid for it, if you choose not to take it, you effectively paid and threw it away. If ryanair did not charge for wheelchairs they would calculate the worst case scenario of lots of people turning up needing them and span the cost amongst all people. The baggage handlers have to be paid, if I turn up with no luggage I am in effect paying these guys for nothing, charging people is far more fair, it reduces prices if you want to, similar to the plastic bag tax in a way.

Indeed I am not taking the piss! I have travelled extensively since the 70s and I fully agree with the Ryanair policy. There is indeed nothing free and for a 45 minute flight from LHR who needs the sandwich/coffee? I have spent longer on the 11a bus at rush hour.

Were you not even slightly disturbed by the laissez fairre attitude to passports, life jackets and security passes.

Passports - as others have said, it's not unique to Ryanair. I've experienced with with BA, bmi, Aer Lingus etc

Lifejackets - I'm not sure what they were on about, as on the aircraft Ryanair have now, the lifejackets are no longer under the seats, but overhead with the oxygen masks so they can't be tampered with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,016 ✭✭✭mad m

All I'll say us who in there right mind would pay Ryanair £1400 to go on a training program to work for them,then pay them £25 a month for the uniform....Jesus.Even then they didnt get onto a plane until they completed their exams,while it was stated that other airlines either use a real plane or simulator to train staff and they dont have to pay for their own training.

And jesus they get £14 flying from Uk to ireland and £14 back.Want to be flying a hell of a lot to make up a decent wage.

Even then they didnt get onto a plane until they completed their exams,while it was stated that other airlines either use a real plane or simulator to train staff and they dont have to pay for their own training.

I'm not completely sure that they said they "never" got on a plane - just someone commented that they thought they should be doing it more.
    And jesus they get £14 flying from Uk to ireland and £14 back.Want to be flying a hell of a lot to make up a decent wage.

Plus sales comissions..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,016 ✭✭✭mad m

BuffyBot wrote:
    I'm not completely sure that they said they "never" got on a plane - just someone commented that they thought they should be doing it more.

Plus sales comissions..

Yeah but what about paying Ryanair that £1400 for the training,which didnt look all that good now,and the £25 for the uniform a month....Didnt someone say actually that there was 70 on course and it was 90 odd grand that was paided between the 70 people and they hadnt been on a plane yet and it was nearly end of course?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,213 ✭✭✭✭therecklessone

penexpers wrote:
    Checking passports at the gate isn't a major issue. In most airports it's the third line, after having shown your passport to the check in desk and at the security control.

I keep hearing this.

Can somebody please point our airports at which your passport is checked while transiting security control.

It does not happen at Dublin, Heathrow, or Stansted (and those are just the ones I can recall right now)
    jonny68 wrote:
    Ask yourself the question why single out Ryanair and not another bigger airline to expose then?

They did. A number of years ago they filmed a BA crew on an overnight in Spain on the p*ss mere hours before returning to the UK, drinking well inside the period of time they are supposed to refrain from taking any substances that can affect their performance.

Yeah but what about paying Ryanair that £1400 for the training,which didnt look all that good now

In fairness, we saw 5 minutes out of 5 weeks - a bit hard to say the whole training isn't "that good". I've sat through training courses which have had more than their fair share of "dodgy" five minutes..
    Didnt someone say actually that there was 70 on course and it was 90 odd grand that was paided between the 70 people and they hadnt been on a plane yet and it was nearly end of course?

I can't remember the exact words, but I do remember someone saying in one bit of footage about the money mounting up if multiplied.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 272 ✭✭mobpd

Jesper wrote:
    Return flight to London from Friday to Monday the Week before Paddy's day €20.50 (all in). O' Leary ya legend. Then stick me with a €5 credit card fee, happy to give it; I almost feel like I was robbing them.

not sure how you managed this as even if the 'fare' portion was 0.01 cent each way then you still have to pay the 'taxes and charges' so the 'all-in' would have to be at least :
    20.64 for the taxes etc on outbound to london and
    22.84 or 27.80 for the taxes inbound to Dublin plus
    the 5.00 credit card 'fee'

(and how come ryanair get away with charging the credit card fee per 'item' and not per transaction - jeez! if tesco did the same policy with the weekly shopping.....)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,107 ✭✭✭John R

mobpd wrote:
    not sure how you managed this as even if the 'fare' portion was 0.01 cent each way then you still have to pay the 'taxes and charges' so the 'all-in' would have to be at least :
    20.64 for the taxes etc on outbound to london and
    22.84 or 27.80 for the taxes inbound to Dublin plus
    the 5.00 credit card 'fee'

(and how come ryanair get away with charging the credit card fee per 'item' and not per transaction - jeez! if tesco did the same policy with the weekly shopping.....)

What if they (and everyone else) priced all their products the same way as Ryanair (and other airlines)

Tin of beans €0.04 (Tax, shelf stacking fee, supplier fee, fuel surcharge, trolley levvy not included)

It is false advertising and I am sick of all the muppets who constantly go on about being able to get RA flights for "less than the price of a bar of chocolate". The lowest a return to Stansted can be got for is approx €50.

I need to go to London this Saturday, returning Sunday. The fare from Ryanair is €353.46 (plus booking fee), now what sort of service should I expect to get for that? Certainly better than some of the incidents shown in that film.

FYI For a similar flight AerLingus is €260 and BMI is €214 and for all of those "RA is cheaper than busfare" a return to London with Eurolines coaches is €34 all in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

id like to see someone go undercover with the baggage handlers to see how much of the stuff they nick :p there was a cover story on the evening herald last year at some point i believe.

John R wrote:
    I need to go to London this Saturday, returning Sunday. The fare from Ryanair is €353.46 (plus booking fee), now what sort of service should I expect to get for that? Certainly better than some of the incidents shown in that film.

FYI For a similar flight AerLingus is €260 and BMI is €214 and for all of those "RA is cheaper than busfare" a return to London with Eurolines coaches is €34 all in.

You know well if you book late you pay more ... and you get the same level of service as all the passengers that paid a pittance. And hey thanks to Ryanair you now have decent CHOICE on the Dublin->London route

I am sick to death of people who don't get the model yet .... yes they pull the piss with the way they do it, but hell in the most part if I get a cheap fair, I go w/ Ryanair or whoever is cheapest on the route and I'm happy. If I don't get a cheap fair ... I don't go. Regardless of this I don't ever feel my safety is compromised ... nor has this docco shown much to sway that opinion.

... oh no they given me choice and cheap fares and changed the way the aviation sector works and we ... *SOB* must COMPLAIN?

Also I'd have no problem with Tesco pricing displayed excluding VAT, this is the way it is done in the States.

Supply/demand. It's that simple.

227 euro on aerlingus for this saturday returning sunday

And 234 euro on BMI ( with food I think )

Supply and demand would make me fly with either of the above and not ryanair this w/end

Earthman wrote:

No food.

Ryanair won't always be the cheapest option folks, but will be more often than not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭Bazzy

what u pay for is what you get.

dublin prices

FOSTERS €3.00

BUDWEISER €4.30

both do the same job/ get u the same place .................. what ya pay for is what u get. ryanair will get u there. ryanair are employing the average joe and giving them a chance which we cant say for the aer lingus posh hair in a bun posh tart. if it bothers u that much about ryanair dont fly with them. the fella at the start is obviously a mean F*uker if the staff told his girlfriend not to fly and he did and wouldnt pay for her wheel chair

A. he doesnt love her
    B he's cheap

thats it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,357 ✭✭✭secret_squirrel

Bazzy wrote:
    ryanair are employing the average joe and giving them a chance which we cant say for the aer lingus posh hair in a bun posh tart.

Actually if you check your facts both Ryanair and Aer Lingus are mostly taking on average joeski's from eastern europe these days. :rolleyes:

John R wrote:
    What if they (and everyone else) priced all their products the same way as Ryanair (and other airlines)

Tin of beans €0.04 (Tax, shelf stacking fee, supplier fee, fuel surcharge, trolley levvy not included)

Im on a BMI flight to London this weekend and guess what when i booked it a while back it was €12 cheaper than Ryanair,it's a myth to suggest Ryanair are ALWAYS cheaper because they are certainly not,and why do people keep going on about 99p flights they do not exist you still have to pay taxes,etc,you'll be extremly lucky to get a flight to say London even if you book well in advance with Ryanair for less than €50,sure you travel midweek you'll get it cheap(cheap with BMI and Aer Lingus as well) but for most people midweek isn't convienent.

I need to go to London this Saturday, returning Sunday. The fare from Ryanair is €353.46 (plus booking fee), now what sort of service should I expect to get for that? Certainly better than some of the incidents shown in that film
    .cheap fares indeed :rolleyes:

It is false advertising and I am sick of all the muppets who constantly go on about being able to get RA flights for "less than the price of a bar of chocolate". The lowest a return to Stansted can be got for is approx €50.
    Spot on

You could get a week in the sun for this,i realise it's short notice but when i travelled with them in the past on some occasions i went to say London i booked a flight with literally 24 hours to go and it was never as dear to gatwick as this.

Going Out

Reg fare
    Adult Reg Fare 139.99 EUR

Sat, 18 Feb 06
    Flight 118
    19:10 Depart Dublin (DUB)
    20:25 Arrive London Gatwick (LGW)

Coming Back

Reg fare
    Adult Reg Fare 119.99 EUR

Sun, 19 Feb 06
    Flight 119
    20:55 Depart London Gatwick (LGW)
    22:10 Arrive Dublin (DUB)

Pricing

Going Out (Reg fare)
    1 @ 139.99 EUR 139.99 EUR
    Taxes, Fees & Charges
    details 20.64 EUR

Coming Back (Reg fare)
    1 @ 119.99 EUR 119.99 EUR
    Taxes, Fees & Charges
    details 27.80 EUR

Total Cost of Flight
    excluding handling fee (if applicable)
    click here for new information
    on handling fees
    308.42 EUR

Earthman wrote:
    227 euro on aerlingus for this saturday returning sunday

Supply and demand would make me fly with either of the above and not ryanair this w/end
    most definitely

jonny68 wrote:
    Im on a BMI flight to London this weekend and guess what when i booked it a while back it was €12 cheaper than Ryanair,it's a myth to suggest Ryanair are ALWAYS cheaper because they are certainly not,and why do people keep going on about 99p flights they do not exist you still have to pay taxes,etc,you'll be extremly lucky to get a flight to say London even if you book well in advance with Ryanair for less than €50,sure you travel midweek you'll get it cheap(cheap with BMI and Aer Lingus as well) but for most people midweek isn't convienent.

I'm travelling to London on Sunday with BMI (my favourite airline) for c. €135. Ryanair wanted a minimum of €190 to Stansted.

However, when I thought I'd be going on Saturday (match was moved for Sky) I checked the prices with both airlines. Ryanair could offer me any number of combinations @ €45 (before the CC charge), all of which suited my needs. BMI were at least €100. That was two weeks ago today.

Ryanair's prices are so high now because they have very few seats left on the flight. When I flew with BMI two weeks ago to LHR the flights cost me €78, and the flight was less than half full. Check their prices when they're full.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 288 ✭✭hepcat

Actually if you check your facts both Ryanair and Aer Lingus are mostly taking on average joeski's from eastern europe these days. :rolleyes:

What facts are those? Have you got them? And what is wrong with employing people from Eastern Europe? Are you saying they are turning down Irish applicants in their favour?

it's a myth to suggest Ryanair are ALWAYS cheaper

The only person I seem to see suggesting that they are "ALWAYS" cheaper, is you, oddly enough.

mobpd wrote:

Aer Lingus charge €5 per passenger per return journey which is exactly the same as Ryanair.

jonny68 wrote:

In all my time of flying Ryanair, I haven't paid more than 80 euro return. I've often paid under 50 euro to get to London. Ryanair are *usually* cheaper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,107 ✭✭✭John R

penexpers wrote:
    In all my time of flying Ryanair, I haven't paid more than 80 euro return. I've often paid under 50 euro to get to London. Ryanair are *usually* cheaper.

Out of the last 10 times I have gone to London Ryanair have been cheapest 6 times.

Of those 6 times only once have they been sufficiently cheaper to be good value, remember Stansted to London is at least €30 return while Heathrow is within the travelcard area so is for me anyway no extra cost.

John R wrote:
    Out of the last 10 times I have gone to London Ryanair have been cheapest 6 times.

Of those 6 times only once have they been sufficiently cheaper to be good value, remember Stansted to London is at least €30 return while Heathrow is within the travelcard area so is for me anyway no extra cost.

Yeah, point taken.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,357 ✭✭✭secret_squirrel

Here's an interesting site :

http://www.skyscanner.net/gbp/month/dub/lond/mar/mar/cheap-flights.html

It compares the prices DUB-LON for the month of march and picks the 2 cheapest flights a day.

If you look at single journeys its pretty much neck and neck between Ryanair and Aerlingus.

Looking at return journeys its ryanair all the way since I believe the significantly discount the fare if you buy a return. Having said all the the cost of travelling to and from the less central airports isnt factored in.