Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why vote Sinn Fein?

• 13-02-2006 12:05pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 230 ✭✭

I've been reading some other posts and I'm really shocked by the strong support Sinn Fein has. How can any right minded southern Irish person vote for a party that has links with gangsters, get so much support. It seems the main reason is that they 'give a sh!t'. Maybe some local Sinn Fein politicans do. But come on! imagine this party in government. they dont believe in the state, their members have supported the murder of gardai, their members have murdered Irish people (nearly as many catholics as prodestants). and if its about the old reunification question, well it aint gonna happen. in nearly every poll taken on the issue in the north, only about 50% of catholics would support this. so an overall vote, in the north, would come to about 25% in favour of a united ireland. imagine what the vote in the south would be like? more like 5%! Vote No - economy goes on as is (hopefully!), closer ties with the north, peace, etc, etc. Vote yes - economy bust, violance, bombs in dublin, debt and death .its not going to happen!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,301 ✭✭✭Snickers Man

If you want to see what Sinn Fein will be like in 10-15 years time then have a look at Fianna Fail now.

After all, FF did what SF is trying to do, only they did it seventy years ago.

Remember that when they won the election in 1932, many of the newly elected FF TDs carried guns into the chamber because they feared that the outgoing government would not hand over power to a bunch of recalctitrant republicans who had less than 10 years previously been involved in a campaing of fratricidal murder against the democratic majority who had negotiated a legally binding treaty with Britain.

The fact that the transfer of power was effected peacefully is to the great credit of the new state and helped set the tone for the democratic if socially imperfect country we have today.

FF came to power as a populist nationalist party that was going to right all the wrongs of the pro-Treaty west brits who had merely stepped into the shoes of the British and had done little with the freedom that had been so hard earned. Not for the FFers of the day the easy riches and cushy status quo of the landed gentry who voted for Cumann na nGaedhal.

Hell no. We were all in this together, we would all suffer equally, there would be no bloated plutocrats looking down on the common people of Ireland whose votes had brought Dev to power. From now on it was going to be comely maidens and dancing at the crossroads after a hard day's making the fields bright with industry.

Where did this lead us? Charvet ****ing shirts for the squire, brown envelopes for the foot soldiers of the party, tightened belts and the emigrant boat for many of the rest of us.

But at least it was our own lads and not them feckin Anglo Irish who were coining it. So that was OK then.

It will be the same with the Provos. Rich bastards are to be decried and held up as enemies of the people, unless they're our rich bastards like Phil Flynn who made it to the boards of various banks before getting too evidently close to dodgy people. Or indeed the property developer Mr McFeely who is doing quite well for himself in the building game. Just 0ver 25 years ago he was close to starving himself to death in H-block.

Fianna Fail in waiting, that's all the provos are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,115 ✭✭✭Pal

ivan087 wrote:
    I'm really shocked by the strong support Sinn Fein has.

me too.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,452 ✭✭✭Time Magazine

Snickers Man, you're talking sh*t.

Anti-Treatities did not sit in the Dáil for five years, the first five years of the State.

Sinn Féin have been at this lark for time eternal. And in a completely different political landscape. FF were formed after a war and foundation of the State, and were warring with the other side of the House. The political spectrum has completely shifted since then, and to suggest anything other is farcical. The two are not comparable.

Sinn Féin are scum. They're not freedom fighters, or a legitimate party in the making. They're scum. If I ever found out that my party had any of the crap going on that the Shinners have, I'd hand in my resignation that day. The Shinners do not deserve respect, they don't give it yet; and for God's sake their recent history doesn't deserve it.

Snickers Man, you're talking sh*t.

No I'm not.
    Anti-Treatities did not sit in the Dáil for five years, the first five years of the State.

This contradicts the facts I stated, how?

It is a matter of record that having won the election in 1932 (ten years after the foundation of the state) several Fianna Fail TDs turned up with guns because they feared, incorrectly as it turned out, that the mandate of the people would not be respected by the outgoing government.

It was.

That was the moment the new state truly came of age.
    If I ever found out that my party had any of the crap going on that the Shinners have, I'd hand in my resignation that day.

(Assuming you're an FFer) But **** like Haughey threatening a bank to whom he owed millions that he 'could be a very troublesome adversary"; the same man taking a hand at running guns to the nascent provos in 1970; the wholesale corruption of the planning process; illegal tappings of journalists and colleagues' phones; urging the populace at large to 'tighten our belts' while he was living high on the hog on money that wasn't his.......

..that's all right, I suppose?

And all the time claiming to be the party of the common man fighting oppression and remaining true to principal.

Neil Blaney (another man not a stranger to huge wealth) said it in a sentence when they refused to back his hare-brained scheme for invading Northern Ireland: 'I;m not leaving them. They're leaving me'

FF are filth. IMHO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,207 ✭✭✭meditraitor

FF are filth. IMHO.

Agreed

so are Sinn Fein

They are both alike, most likely bed fellows after the next election.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 230 ✭✭ivan087

No FF arent filth, they are a lot of things and ive never felt the urge to vote from them. But the difference is that FF's current generation are not members of any illegal army, they support the real army, they support this state, they support our gardai, they urge catholics in the north to report crimes to the PSNI, they want a united Ireland in a democratic way, they do not bomb or kill people to achieve their aims. thats the difference. and as much as i dislike FF+PDs they, as parties, are not scum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 986 ✭✭✭ateam

ivan087 wrote:
    I've been reading some other posts and I'm really shocked by the strong support Sinn Fein has. How can any right minded southern Irish person vote for a party that has links with gangsters, get so much support. It seems the main reason is that they 'give a sh!t'. Maybe some local Sinn Fein politicans do. But come on! imagine this party in government. they dont believe in the state, their members have supported the murder of gardai, their members have murdered Irish people (nearly as many catholics as prodestants). and if its about the old reunification question, well it aint gonna happen. in nearly every poll taken on the issue in the north, only about 50% of catholics would support this. so an overall vote, in the north, would come to about 25% in favour of a united ireland. imagine what the vote in the south would be like? more like 5%! Vote No - economy goes on as is (hopefully!), closer ties with the north, peace, etc, etc. Vote yes - economy bust, violance, bombs in dublin, debt and death .its not going to happen!!!

Although i am FF supporter, i would have to say that there is a sense of disillusionment surrounding the current government at the moment. Some in Ireland feel left out. Sinn Fein are definitely trying to capitalise on this.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 449 ✭✭Airblazer

ivan087 wrote:
    No FF arent filth, they are a lot of things and ive never felt the urge to vote from them. But the difference is that FF's current generation are not members of any illegal army, they support the real army, they support this state, they support our gardai, they urge catholics in the north to report crimes to the PSNI, they want a united Ireland in a democratic way, they do not bomb or kill people to achieve their aims. thats the difference. and as much as i dislike FF+PDs they, as parties, are not scum.

very well said..

• Registered Users Posts: 261 ✭✭Diorraing

ivan087 wrote:
    No FF arent filth, they are a lot of things and ive never felt the urge to vote from them. But the difference is that FF's current generation are not members of any illegal army, they support the real army, they support this state, they support our gardai, they urge catholics in the north to report crimes to the PSNI, they want a united Ireland in a democratic way, they do not bomb or kill people to achieve their aims.
    FF did bomb and kill people to achieve their aims during the civil war. They were accepted into mainstream politics 10 years later (and yes it was the generation that were members of an illegal army). As I've said many times before on Boards it is Sinn Féin's 30% Corporation Tax policy that is insane. The IRA are gone (according to the IMC only a few thugs are active and not on the orders of the IRA). It is also apparent that SF want a "united Ireland in a democratic" otherwise they wouldn't have given away their guns.
    It is so easy to attack SF on their economic policies, why do you persist on using this washed-up, pointless argument that "Sinn Fein are all thugs"? They are clearly exteremly clever political masterminds that thrive on stupid arguments like yours!

ivan087 wrote:
    FF's current generation are not members of any illegal army, they support the real army, they support this state, they support our gardai, they urge catholics in the north to report crimes to the PSNI, they want a united Ireland in a democratic way, they do not bomb or kill people to achieve their aims. .

All this is true. But they still like to retain the faint vestigial whiff of the populist revolutionary movement, out to help the common man throw off the yoke of outside oppression.

It's great for the street cred. But a consequence is a tendency to see the law as something alien, an outside force that can be undermined and ignored if it is in one's own interests to do so. That's called corruption and FF are innately bound up in that. They still haven't shaken it off after 70 years.

This is the same journey that SF is making now, 70 + years after FF started it. They are going to have to reconcile millionaires like McFeeley and Flynn, bourgeois lecturers in business strategy like Mary Lou Big Mac along with the ascetic died-in-the-wool non materialists who will demand rigid ideological purity at all costs. "Coz that's what we went on hunger strike for"

SF are trying very hard to be the new Fianna Fail. Populist with just a little bit of macho danger. And they will still have some very familiar skeletons rattling around in their closet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 986 ✭✭✭ateam

Diorraing wrote:
    FF did bomb and kill people to achieve their aims during the civil war. They were accepted into mainstream politics 10 years later (and yes it was the generation that were members of an illegal army). As I've said many times before on Boards it is Sinn Féin's 30% Corporation Tax policy that is insane. The IRA are gone (according to the IMC only a few thugs are active and not on the orders of the IRA). It is also apparent that SF want a "united Ireland in a democratic" otherwise they wouldn't have given away their guns.
    It is so easy to attack SF on their economic policies, why do you persist on using this washed-up, pointless argument that "Sinn Fein are all thugs"? They are clearly exteremly clever political masterminds that thrive on stupid arguments like yours!

The 1920s and 30s were a different era and in a completely different context to present day Ireland.

What has Sinn Fein got to offer that other Socialist parties don't have??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,553 ✭✭✭Demetrius

If Sinn Fein ever gets into power as they are now, this country will go down the tubes.

:v: Northen Ireland is propped up by the rest of the UK and if the republic was saddled with it, itll drag us down economically like the German reunification(not that Im drawing comparisons between a divided Germany and a "divided" Ireland. NI is British because the majority there consider themselves British)

:v: Sinn Fein as a nationalist party would want Ireland not to be so involved in Europe, when in reality the EU and the oppurtunities it offers has done so much for Ireland.

:v: Id rather have sticky fingered incompetants in power rather than a bunch of gun-runners

:v: I expect and tolerate politicians that talk out of both sides of their mouths, but again not those with links to a criminal organisation

• Closed Accounts Posts: 218 ✭✭Cronus333

ateam wrote:
    The 1920s and 30s were a different era and in a completely different context to present day Ireland.

What has Sinn Fein got to offer that other Socialist parties don't have??
    Nationalism. Socialists are not normall patriots but SF are. And no, I am not a socialist or really even a patriot. I would never vote for Sinn Fein.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 230 ✭✭ivan087

Diorraing wrote:
    It is so easy to attack SF on their economic policies, why do you persist on using this washed-up, pointless argument that "Sinn Fein are all thugs"?

yeah their economic policies are comical, but i'm afraid i cant get past the 'pointless argument that Sinn Fein are all thugs'. to see convicted criminals in the dail is really sad. some day these very same people could be leading this state, a state they dont support. to attack them on their economic policies would be treating them like a real party. im not ready to do that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

ivan087 wrote:
    I've been reading some other posts and I'm really shocked by the strong support Sinn Fein has.

me too .......................................
    or at least I would be if it were true!

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 3,816 Mod ✭✭✭✭LFCFan

have you ever checked out the Sinn Fein online shop? There are loads of goods supporting the IRA while at the same time Sinn Fein try to distance themselves from the IRA. How anyone can vote for a party that openly sells, 'IRA - Undefeated Army' T-Shirts and 'Keep Brits Out - Keep Eire Tidy' T-Shirts, is either a) deluding themselves that Sinn Fein are a trustworthy party or b) fully support terrorism.

(Assuming you're an FFer)
    No I'm not. I'm actually a Blueshirt. But I still have the common sense to see FF > SF.

Ivan087 put it quite well.

I have very few problems with Bertie as a man. I don't agree with the way he's running the country, but by and large he's doing a decent enough job (relative to murdering people) - and he's not scum. Ditto Brian Cowan. Ditto Mary McAleese. Ditto Trevor Sergeant. Ditto Pat Rabbitte. Ditto everyone else on the political spectrum except one group. The only group who, within the last twelve months, refused to say killing Irish people was wrong. If FG are still getting slack about the Blueshirts, SF/IRA/HIV/AIDS deserve a much, much longer time in the sin-bin.
    Diorrang wrote:
    The Civil War was 80 years ago. Even I accept FF are a completely different party. I do not accept that SF/IRA/HIV/AIDS are a completely different party from this time last year when Mitchell McLoughlin refused to say murder was wrong, when the IRA are still knee-capping people in Dublin, when they're still running prostitution rackets, when SF/IRA/HIV/AIDS members are regularly found with subversive items/materials etc., when SF/IRA/HIV/AIDS members intimidate other parties in certain areas (anecdote of friend told FG were "not welcome to canvass here"), when they post round emails encouraging hate-mailing Margaret Thatcher signing off with "We'll get the bitch yet" to members and when they refuse to fully accept the democratic mandate of the people by saying **** like "the Dublin government". It's the Irish fu*king government you bunch of wankstains. These are why I say SF are thugs, let alone their ridiculous policies on economics/agriculture/labour markets/foreign affairs/etc. ad infinitum aka the reasons I'd never vote for them.

And to dispell the myth that they're smart, no they're not. They're the most inarticulate gimps I've come across in political discourse, defending all of their policies only relative to other wrongs and none per se and showing complete contempt for common logic and empirical research.

RAWR!

</rant>

• Registered Users Posts: 12,588 ✭✭✭✭Sand

Base tribalism and bigotry usually expressed in bought-the-t-shirt-nationalism, some sort of sexual fetish for nationalistic violence, a "stop-the-world-i-want-to-get-off" grasp of economics - I mean you could be here all day theorising on why people vote for terrorists, organised crime and morally deviant monsters whilst railing about relatively minor (in comparison) corruption or incompetence. Why did millions of seemingly normal, ordinary, law abiding Germans vote for Hitler? Some questions will never be properly answered, but basically the sort of people who vote SFIRA are the sort of people who drunkenly chant "SFIRA let the free bird fly" whenever the Fields of Athenry is played. Idiots.

As for FF, they demonstrated their credentials as a legitimate political party when they ruthlessly crushed the old IRA south of the border with internment and executions. As already noted, SFIRA cant even bring themselves to state murder is wrong, let alone move decisively to end subversive gangs. When SFIRA are willing and able to do so, well then there will be solid grounds for re-evaluation. They failed the McCartney case.

No I'm not. I'm actually a Blueshirt. But I still have the common sense to see FF > SF.

Ivan087 put it quite well.

I have very few problems with Bertie as a man. I don't agree with the way he's running the country, but by and large he's doing a decent enough job (relative to murdering people) - and he's not scum. Ditto Brian Cowan. Ditto Mary McAleese. Ditto Trevor Sergeant. Ditto Pat Rabbitte. Ditto everyone else on the political spectrum except one group. The only group who, within the last twelve months, refused to say killing Irish people was wrong. If FG are still getting slack about the Blueshirts, SF/IRA/HIV/AIDS deserve a much, much longer time in the sin-bin.

The Civil War was 80 years ago. Even I accept FF are a completely different party. I do not accept that SF/IRA/HIV/AIDS are a completely different party from this time last year when Mitchell McLoughlin refused to say murder was wrong, when the IRA are still knee-capping people in Dublin, when they're still running prostitution rackets, when SF/IRA/HIV/AIDS members are regularly found with subversive items/materials etc., when SF/IRA/HIV/AIDS members intimidate other parties in certain areas (anecdote of friend told FG were "not welcome to canvass here"), when they post round emails encouraging hate-mailing Margaret Thatcher signing off with "We'll get the bitch yet" to members and when they refuse to fully accept the democratic mandate of the people by saying **** like "the Dublin government". It's the Irish fu*king government you bunch of wankstains. These are why I say SF are thugs, let alone their ridiculous policies on economics/agriculture/labour markets/foreign affairs/etc. ad infinitum aka the reasons I'd never vote for them.

And to dispell the myth that they're smart, no they're not. They're the most inarticulate gimps I've come across in political discourse, defending all of their policies only relative to other wrongs and none per se and showing complete contempt for common logic and empirical research.
    Gerry Adams is the most intelligent politician on this island whether you like it or not. Sinn Fein are an electoral ultra-machine and you don't get that with "inarticulate gimps". In fact that just highlights my point that people who criticise Sinn Fein go about it in the wrong way.

Yes the civil war was 80 years ago. So what? From the way you speak one would think that the IRA are directly ordering prostitution and drug-dealing. Please provide a link to prove so, if not rephrase your allegation like this:
    "former members of the IRA are involved in drugs etc. and are acting outside the authorisation of the IRA".
    I was really impressed though when you said:
    when they refuse to fully accept the democratic mandate of the people by saying **** like "the Dublin government". It's the Irish fu*king government you bunch of wankstains.
    In spite of this mind-blowing political analysis, I couldn't help asking myself: how does "dublin government" constitute non-recognition of the southern state?
    Agreed the whole IRA glorification t-shirts are a bit much, but you have to understand that people who lived in the north (particularly at the start of the troubles) viewed the IRA as their defenders and while you may not agree with that you have to respect other peoples views (especially as you live in Kildare and probably have no conception of what it was like for them).
    But I will accept that the T-shirts are offensive and should be done away with.

Diorraing wrote:
    Gerry Adams is the most intelligent politician on this island whether you like it or not. Sinn Fein are an electoral ultra-machine and you don't get that with "inarticulate gimps".

Dear oh dear Diorraing - sounds like you have been well and truly indoctrinated into the inner circle of the brotherhood.

You remind me of Ex SS men that were interviewed in the decades after the second World War (or the Emergency as some call it) those poor old Nazi's were also misguided & brainwashed and still praised Adolf and all his wonderful actions - and you sound just like them!

ArthurF wrote:
    Dear oh dear Diorraing - sounds like you have been well and truly indoctrinated into the inner circle of the brotherhood.

You remind me of Ex SS men that were interviewed in the decades after the second World War (or the Emergency as some call it) those poor old Nazi's were also misguided & brainwashed and still praised Adolf and all his wonderful actions - and you sound just like them!
    Usually when you make a post it has an actual meaning not just an insult. To compare me to ex-Nazis is not only deeply hurtful but shows complete ignorance on your behalf. That post adds absolutely nothing to our current debate. Because I defended SF on one issue (i.e they shouldn't be called thugs) I am now being accused of ex-SS like behaviour. Shows insecurity on your behalf

I did not call you a Nazi Dorraing - but the point I was making was that (like ex SS volunteers admired Hitler) you sound like you greatly admire Mr Adams and the Republican machine, and lets face it Dorraing, the Republican movement in all its many guises (IRA/INLA/PIRA) have been responsible for much death & destruction - am I wrong?

Demetrius wrote:
    If Sinn Fein ever gets into power as they are now, this country will go down the tubes.

I agree. It must never happen.

Diorraing wrote:
    I defended SF on one issue (i.e they shouldn't be called thugs)

how can you say that ? :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 13,878 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

ivan087 wrote:
    How can any right minded southern Irish person vote for a party that has links with gangsters, get so much support.

A lot of people would say the same thing about the more so-called mainstream parties.

Huge corruption which has been prevelant throughout them, their support for a mass murder like George Bush, a Taoiseach who signed blank cheques for his boss, handing themselves huge, unjustified payrises at our expense and a Minister for "Justice" who seems to have no regard for the workings of the law and is proud to leak information on political opponents to select members of the media.

Zebra3 wrote:
    A lot of people would say the same thing about the more so-called mainstream parties.
    They're not "so-called" mainstream. Their voter turnout proves their mainstream.
    Huge corruption which has been prevelant throughout them
    That's rich from someone supporting SF!
    their support for a mass murder like George Bush
    I don't George Bush can really be classified as a mass-murderer (or mass murder for that matter) without boards being shut down
    a Taoiseach who signed blank cheques for his boss
    Can you name any blank cheques the Taoiseach has signed, except perhaps for those to Sinn Féin? Get off it. If SF were to go into power with anyone it would be FF. Ye better watch it or we might call up these quotes ye be throwing about come election time and you're looking for a partner.
    handing themselves huge, unjustified payrises at our expense
    Could you please back up the unjustified element please? How could a job that involves media scrutiny, the worst job-security in Ireland and a constant barrage of abuse while all you're doing is running the country not deserve €80,000? It's maybe €2 per citizen to pay for them. Are they not worth that?
    and a Minister for "Justice" who seems to have no regard for the workings of the law
    I don't Michael McDowell one bit. But seriously, the only party who can say things that I don't agree with about him are the Shinners.
    and is proud to leak information on political opponents to select members of the media.
    Any problem with any non-Michael McDowell people?

ArthurF wrote:

A clear and straightfoward breach of one of the most important rules in the politics board charter has been committed here.
    You attacked the poster instead of just gunning for the post.
    You've been around long enough to know better and ergo you are getting a one week ban for this infraction.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,142 ✭✭✭ISAW

Diorraing wrote:
    FF did bomb and kill people to achieve their aims during the civil war.

No they did NOT!

FF didnt exist during the civil war! They were formed in 1928 (i think) when Dev took the constitutional Republicans and left SF. SF remained in the "dont recognise the state" mould at least until 1985.
    They were accepted into mainstream politics 10 years later (and yes it was the generation that were members of an illegal army).

No it wasnt! FF had SPLIT from SF and the IRA in 1928 and (i think) got an overall majority ( possibly with the help of Lab in 1932.
    As I've said many times before on Boards it is Sinn Féin's 30% Corporation Tax policy that is insane. The IRA are gone (according to the IMC only a few thugs are active and not on the orders of the IRA).
    SF seem to have no economic policies and also have the lefty Marxist element which FF do not have. I believe SF also disassociated with the IMC report but that depends to which IMC you refer.
    It is also apparent that SF want a "united Ireland in a democratic" otherwise they wouldn't have given away their guns.

So you believe SF and the IRA are one and the same? Everyone else wants a democratic united Ireland so why favour SF over any other party?
    It is so easy to attack SF on their economic policies,
    No it isnt! Because it is so difficult to ascertain what those policeis are!
    why do you persist on using this washed-up, pointless argument that "Sinn Fein are all thugs"? They are clearly exteremly clever political masterminds that thrive on stupid arguments like yours!

I think he means to say "SF are linked to the IRA many of which are thugs" It isn't a washed up argument as families in Belfast and Dublin can attest to. The code of silence and threats that eminat4ed from some recent activities is ample evidence of this.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,142 ✭✭✭ISAW

Diorraing wrote:
    Gerry Adams is the most intelligent politician on this island whether you like it or not.
    a completly bald assertion! Where is your evidence to back this up? there are plenty of much more qualified politiicians but as to intelligent how do you rate that? Does avoiding beinfg convicted of IRA membership count as being intelligent?
    Sinn Fein are an electoral ultra-machine and you don't get that with "inarticulate gimps". In fact that just highlights my point that people who criticise Sinn Fein go about it in the wrong way.

In some areas they have a machine that rivals the best in the constituency. In others they get 3 per cent of the vote. Hardly "ultra". saying "I am not approved to state my opinion" or whatever your one Ferris said on the Late Late is hardly an ultra articulate reply is it?

Yes the civil war was 80 years ago. So what?

I think he already explained so what. You can not anachronistically judge based on those times. Ireland has changed. Opinion on homosexuality, women divorce other races (all things about which SF sometimes rant ) have changed.
    From the way you speak one would think that the IRA are directly ordering prostitution and drug-dealing. Please provide a link to prove so, if not rephrase your allegation like this:
    "former members of the IRA are involved in drugs etc. and are acting outside the authorisation of the IRA".

But current members of the IRA killed someone in Belfast and got all the locals to shut up and only after months and months of sustained pressure did SF begin to distance themselves from them.
    In spite of this mind-blowing political analysis, I couldn't help asking myself: how does "dublin government" constitute non-recognition of the southern state?

SF agreed to changing Articles 2 and 3 and canvessed for people to do it. This removed the claim on northern Ireland and that a 32 county republic actually exists but the Dublin government just presently cant enforce the claim. SF have also failed to recognise Leinster House until they won seats in it. If the IRA recognise the Constitution then they MUST disband and not take direction from an Army Council but from the Oireachtas since the Constitution recognised only one Parliament and one Army.

Agreed the whole IRA glorification t-shirts are a bit much, but you have to understand that people who lived in the north (particularly at the start of the troubles) viewed the IRA as their defenders and while you may not agree with that you have to respect other peoples views (especially as you live in Kildare and probably have no conception of what it was like for them).
    But I will accept that the T-shirts are offensive and should be done away with.

If SF condemn T-Shirts with racist slogans do they have to understand that people in the areas the wearers came from may well be racist thugs but the locals see them as protectors and defenders of their area?

• Registered Users Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Oh no, not this again