Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Software Engineer Salary Question

Options
  • 13-02-2006 2:53pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 11

Hey up!

I gotta question for ye all. I'm a software engineer for the past 5.5 years. I gotta 1.1 degree and loads of Java, UML, systems analysis skills. I am on 40K.

Can anyone give some comments on where this ranks in the pecking order?

Thanks.

Comments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 86 ✭✭toString

I think it might depend on where you are located as well

• Registered Users Posts: 995 ✭✭✭cousin_borat

It sounds like its on the lower end of the scale for somebody with over 5 years experience as a Java engineer. As toString points out, not enough details given on location, specific experience to give an accurate evaluation. Theres alot of exciting opportunities, especially in area of Web Services. Are you interested in going down the project management road?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 268 ✭✭UberNewb

Starkiller wrote:
    Hey up!

I gotta question for ye all. I'm a software engineer for the past 5.5 years. I gotta 1.1 degree and loads of Java, UML, systems analysis skills. I am on 40K.

Can anyone give some comments on where this ranks in the pecking order?

Thanks.

I'm a software engineer on 60k, it all depends on your employer. Same with programmers...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,758 ✭✭✭Peace

UberNewb wrote:
    I'm a software engineer on 60k, it all depends on your employer. Same with programmers...

Exactly... its all about who you work for.

I'm programming in .Net almost 2 years and previous 1.5 years in VB6. On 27k now.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,299 ✭✭✭irishguy