Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gay Soccer Star Story in The Sun....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,541 ✭✭✭Davei141

As was already pointed out, did anyone want to get sick that the "journalist" was starting a campaign to out 2 gay footballers then finish off his article saying, the only openly gay footballer commited suicide? What a c*nt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,235 ✭✭✭iregk

Yes we all know there are gay footballers, its well known Freddi Lunchbox is and Guti from madrid as well (don't know if ive broken any rules there, appologies if i have and feel free to delete post) amongst plenty of others but so what.

Do they play great football, yes. Do they provide hours of enjoyment as well? yes. So who cares. Do we still live in such a homophobic and paranoid world that we are still suspicious of gay people!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,690 ✭✭✭The Rooster

Stekelly wrote:
    Why do people care about anyones love life, is it suddenly sacred because they are gay. Anyway, I think Robble made it very public on the pitch who he thought was gay :D
    But Robbie made it clear in his book that he knows Le Saux is not gay, but he knew it would wind him up and wanted to get some retaliation in because Le Saux had "done him" 3 times in the game. Batty and LeSaux had had an on-pitch fight because Batty called LeSaux a puff. As Fowler said in his book, its not uncommon for working class blokes to call intellectuals, who like reading books and stuff, puffs!

Still trying to think of a rebel on and off the pitch who plays with a London club.... :cool: :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,800 ✭✭✭county

iregk wrote:
    Yes we all know there are gay footballers, its well known Freddi Lunchbox is and Guti from madrid as well (don't know if ive broken any rules there, appologies if i have and feel free to delete post) amongst plenty of others but so what.

thats news to me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,613 ✭✭✭Big Nelly

http://www.thesun.co.uk/article/0,,2-2006070111,00.html

So do you guys believe this or is it just another case of paper doesnt refuse ink.

People who post this crap should be given a one weeks ban. If you can't post anything decent then don't post

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

Cue Response: "But thats censorship, that makes us Nazi's"

To which I say: "No, thats called a conscience, and The Sun contributes nothing positive to soccer anyway. Ban away!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

Willem D wrote:
    I just hope it aint a Man United player, we have enough troubles.
    What a completely retarded thing to say. :rolleyes:

Why anybody continues to link stories attributed to the likes of the Sun I'll never know. They're rags intent on ruining lives for the sake of a salacious story.

As has been pointed out, when a journalist (and I use that term 'very' losely) is intent on 'outing' a couple of players and then finishes the piece with
    Ex-Nottingham Forest striker Justin Fashanu was Britain’s first openly gay star.

He committed suicide in 1998.
    How can they be taken seriously?

I would never call for a ban on linking to tabloids, but I would almost make an exception in this case, however, what I would say is that the next time somebody links to tripe like this a good old :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: would be more than sufficient rather than a full scale debate.

As Fowler said in his book, its not uncommon for working class blokes to call intellectuals, who like reading books and stuff, puffs!
    Exactly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,479 ✭✭✭wheres me jumpa

Right I started this mess, and I would just like to say that I proposed a ban. i.e. I put it up for discussion. I wasnt forcing censhorship on anybody. I actually thought it was something we would all agree on.

We havent so Im not going to argue the point any further.

What we can all agree on is that the Sun cannot be taken seriously. There are times when its funny to see the stories they come out with. But in this case they really are running the risk of ruining peoples careers and lives and it pis**s me off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 223 ✭✭Chris P Duck

Big Nelly wrote:
    People who post this crap should be given a one weeks ban. If you can't post anything decent then don't post
    So looking for peoples opinion is a banning offence, then ban me. I was only asking a question on a topic that was been published all over the world. If I was to ask on what peoples opinions were on the cartoons about mohammed which the danish paper printed would I be banned for that too.

I think that any footballer or celebrity's private life should be kept private. But you cannot deny that this could very well turn into a big story, because people like to gossip and speculate who it could be and how it would effect there team mates.

So looking for peoples opinion is a banning offence, then ban me. I was only asking a question on a topic that was been published all over the world. If I was to ask on what peoples opinions were on the cartoons about mohammed which the danish paper printed would I be banned for that too.

I think that any footballer or celebrity's private life should be kept private. But you cannot deny that this could very well turn into a big story, because people like to gossip and speculate who it could be and how it would effect there team mates.

What you talking about Mohammeds pic for?

If you look up at the top and when you browse to this forum it says SOCCER, simple enough word. Now this forum is to post about soccer topic, not the private lives of the players. Especially when your source for this story is the Sun. Isn't it strange this "story" has been released a few days after the whole Sol Campbell saga and all the bulls**t that was published by rags like the Sun.

You talk about keeping a footballer/celebritys private life private but then you post this c**p here and talk about it being a "big story". Its because of you thinking and reading these stories that the Sun keeps publishing and making a profit.

Again if you don't have a decent story/topic to post about I wouldn't bother posting. You will come to find(look back thru the 3 pages) that a story in the Sun and posting a link doesn't hold up to much on this forum. Most people on here know the paper is a rag and will publish any kind of crap to sell to the public(you) who don't know any better!

Big Nelly wrote:
    What you talking about Mohammeds pic for?

If you look up at the top and when you browse to this forum it says SOCCER, simple enough word.

I was using this as an example. I was only looking for an opinion on the topic. If I posted it in the wrong forum, im sorry. Just thought that since it was about 2 soccer players, this might be the place to put it. Was kinda hoping for some open minded opinions on the whole situation, but all it seems to have started is a race to who can shoot the messenger first.
    Big Nelly wrote:
    Its because of you thinking and reading these stories that the Sun keeps publishing and making a profit.

The Sun doesnt make any profit from me. I never buy it. I read about this on another soccer forum, so I posted here to see what you guys think. If i had known my head would be called for I would not have done so. I dont believe anything I read in tabloids, because they mostly full of gossip. As I said, paper doesnt refuse ink.
    Big Nelly wrote:
    Most people on here know the paper is a rag and will publish any kind of crap to sell to the public(you) who don't know any better!

I think you'll find that I do know better. As I said, I (the public) never buys the Sun. I never buy any tabloid paper.

I was using this as an example. I was only looking for an opinion on the topic
    And you got an opinion. The opinion that the the Sun is a Rag and the story is a load of Bóllóx.
    Was kinda hoping for some open minded opinions on the whole situation,
    You were looking for some open-minded discussion on a rumour printed in a Tabloid newspaper? Are you having a laugh?
    I dont believe anything I read in tabloids, because they mostly full of gossip.
    But yet you want a discussion on something you don't believe in and know is gossip. :confused: And you're surprised that people are having a go?
    I (the public) never buys the Sun. I never buy any tabloid paper.
    But yet you feel the need to propogate their lies? Hmmmm....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,937 ✭✭✭fade2black

Would you all get off your high horses. This subject is being discussed on just about every soccer and sporting forum on both sides of the pond. The OP just started a thread asking for people's opinions on the matter. If he wouldn't have, someone else would've. Saying he should be banned is just a load of pretentious crap.

Thanks fade2black. You seem to be the only one that has realised what I was asking.

Listen lads, sorry for posting this on here. What I wanted to know was if you thought it was true or not, and would it effect the concerned players carrers, thats all. I didnt think my head would be called for.

Aplogies if I offended anybody.

You're not the one who should be apologising.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,479 ✭✭✭wheres me jumpa

Thanks fade2black. You seem to be the only one that has realised what I was asking.

Listen lads, sorry for posting this on here. What I wanted to know was if you thought it was true or not, and would it effect the concerned players carrers, thats all. I didnt think my head would be called for.

Aplogies if I offended anybody.

I wasnt calling for your head at any stage Chris. My beef is with the Sun.

fade2black wrote:
    Would you all get off your high horses. This subject is being discussed on just about every soccer and sporting forum on both sides of the pond. The OP just started a thread asking for people's opinions on the matter. If he wouldn't have, someone else would've. Saying he should be banned is just a load of pretentious crap.
    Sorry, you're right. Of course it's valid to post it if everybody else is discussing it. :rolleyes:
    Listen lads, sorry for posting this on here. What I wanted to know was if you thought it was true or not
    I dont believe anything I read in tabloids
    No need to be sorry, but can you not make up your own mind?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,115 ✭✭✭Pal

fade2black wrote:
    You're not the one who should be apologising.

well said Mr. Mod.

some folks hereabouts are just pathetic with their nanny state attitude.
    You know who you are....

back to the gay footballers please

I was using this as an example. I was only looking for an opinion on the topic. If I posted it in the wrong forum, im sorry. Just thought that since it was about 2 soccer players, this might be the place to put it. Was kinda hoping for some open minded opinions on the whole situation, but all it seems to have started is a race to who can shoot the messenger first.

The Sun doesnt make any profit from me. I never buy it. I read about this on another soccer forum, so I posted here to see what you guys think. If i had known my head would be called for I would not have done so. I dont believe anything I read in tabloids, because they mostly full of gossip. As I said, paper doesnt refuse ink.

I think you'll find that I do know better. As I said, I (the public) never buys the Sun. I never buy any tabloid paper.

Frist off its not in the wrong forum, this type of cr*p shouldn't be posted anywhere. I am sure the mods of all the forums on here don't want to have this "story" been published in there forum to be "discussed" by "open minded" people. Open minded???? your having a laugh, you call people that think it is ok to talk about somebodies personal life and publish lies about players in the press open minded?? I know one thing the world would be a sad place if everyone was "open minded" like you seem to be

A players personal life has nothing to do with how they play football, so what if a player is gay? next you will start going on about black players should not be allowed to play cause they are coloured! I think you will find that the "story" you are refer could be seen as racist.

You don't believe anythign you read in the tabloids but still decide to start a thread about it here to discuss???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,115 ✭✭✭Pal

It just seems that nobdoy here appreciates a link to the Sun.

I do

I don't care much for the sun but surely if someone wants to talk about allegations about soccer players in any newspaper, he should be able to do so here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,951 ✭✭✭✭Villain

Jesus lads you'd swear the editor of the SUN was posting here. A story got printed by a rag paper, is it true or not? I haven't a clue, will it affect the players at the center of the scandal if they are named?

I reckon so and therefore it merits debate IMO, there is no pointing arguing whether or not it should have been printed, it has been printed so unless you a have a time machine and a direct link to the Editor of the SUN, move on and discuss the possible impact on the players career.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Big Nelly wrote:
    Frist off its not in the wrong forum, this type of cr*p shouldn't be posted anywhere. I am sure the mods of all the forums on here don't want to have this "story" been published in there forum to be "discussed" by "open minded" people. Open minded???? your having a laugh, you call people that think it is ok to talk about somebodies personal life and publish lies about players in the press open minded?? I know one thing the world would be a sad place if everyone was "open minded" like you seem to be

A players personal life has nothing to do with how they play football, so what if a player is gay? next you will start going on about black players should not be allowed to play cause they are coloured! I think you will find that the "story" you are refer could be seen as racist.

You don't believe anythign you read in the tabloids but still decide to start a thread about it here to discuss???

Whats the difference between this and say the Rebecca Loos/Beckham thing? Surely the fact that its a story about gay footballers shouldnt make a difference? The only ones making an issue of this over any other hetero rumours are the "oh my god, stop victimisng them for being gay" brigade, when the fact is, they are fair game just as much as anyone else.

Also I thought the quote from Peter Osgood was very funny.

The S*n writes a lot of lies. But it doesnt mean everything it writes is lies. So this story might be true, and it might be lie - everyone is welcome to their opinion.

I do think there is a genuine discussion that could be had over gay players and the effect it might have on their team. Would players have a problem sharing communal showers or baths with gay players? Would you? Would it be homophobic to make an issue of it?

I'm sure some players would have a major problem with it - which would be bound to affect spirit in the camp.

Big Nelly wrote:
    next you will start going on about black players should not be allowed to play cause they are coloured!

Now hold on, that is totaly out of line. I never said they should not be let play. Why would I? There was nothing racist about any of my posts. I was only highlighting a story that I seen on another soccer forum. It is been discussed on alot of different soccer forums. I just wanted to know what the opinions of people on boards.ie was. Ive never even given my own opinion which is:

I dunno wether or not this story is true, but if it is true, it could effect the team they play for because it only takes one homophobic player in the squad to upset morale in the team.

Stekelly wrote:
    Whats the difference between this and say the Rebecca Loos/Beckham thing? Surely the fact that its a story about gay footballers shouldnt make a difference? The only ones making an issue of this over any other hetero rumours are the "oh my god, stop victimisng them for being gay" brigade, when the fact is, they are fair game just as much as anyone else.

There is no difference but you will find I don't comment post on that "story". Again a players personal life has got nothing to do with us or the papers. We should only worry about there performances.

Big Nelly wrote:

LOl Ok so you reckon that a players personal life has nothing to do with how they Play football???

You ever hear of a small time football player called Sol Campbell :rolleyes:

Seriously like?

irish1 wrote:
    LOl Ok so you reckon that a players personal life has nothing to do with how they Play football???

You ever hear of a small time football player called Sol Campbell :rolleyes:

Seriously like?

No I reckon that a players personal life has nothing got to do with you/me/papers. We should only worry comment about there performances on the pitch.

Its a sad day when everyone is talking about what a player does in his own home.

Also as mentioned before isn't it very handy this story was released soon after the Campbell/Freddie story which was also published on here but mods had the cop on to close it.

I'm only looking to discuss the impact this could have the players careers and tehir teammates. I couldn't care less where they stuck a mobile phone. The story has been printed, so get over it and move on to discussing the soccer side of it.

Oh and you did say
    A players personal life has nothing to do with how they play football

Glad to see you changed your opinion to
    No I reckon that a players personal life has nothing got to do with you/me/papers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,144 ✭✭✭gracehopper

Lads,
    It must be a slow day on the forum. Its obvously a slow day for news too, perhaps thats why the Sun has printed this tripe.
    My stance on this is that while i dont have any interest in this S**t myself i wouldnt stand in the way of anyone else reading or discussing it.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,300 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kingp35

Lads,
    It must be a slow day on the forum. Its obvously a slow day for news too, perhaps thats why the Sun has printed this tripe.
    My stance on this is that while i dont have any interest in this S**t myself i wouldnt stand in the way of anyone else reading or discussing it.

I agree. I cant see what the problem is discussing it and calling for a ban on tabloid links is a bit much. I dont read the tabloids myself, never had, but that doesnt mean that others cant discuss it. The OP is getting a hard time when he doesnt deserve it.

Oh and Nelly of course a players personal life can affect his performances on the pitch. If you want to talk about performances and a player is playing badly shouldnt you discuss the reasons why? Nobody was giving out when people said that the reasons behind Ronaldo playing badly was because of the death of his father. Why werent people giving out then that people were posting about a players personal life?

it could effect the team they play for because it only takes one homophobic player in the squad to upset morale in the team.
    While thats certainly true, some players who are not homophobic might not be willing to get changed and share showers/baths with gay people.

Or would that make them homophobic? I dont know.

Is it much different to a woman refusing to share a communal shower/bath with a man? Wouldnt make her a lezzer, but she'd be uncomfortable sharing with a bloke who may or may not find her attractive. I know of course there's big differences, but would it be unreasonable for a man to feel uncomfotable in the same way about sharing facilities with a gay footballer?

While thats certainly true, some players who are not homophobic might not be willing to get changed and share showers/baths with gay people.

Or would that make them homophobic? I dont know.

Is it much different to a woman refusing to share a communal shower/bath with a man? Wouldnt make her a lezzer, but she'd be uncomfortable sharing with a bloke who may or may not find her attractive. I know of course there's big differences, but would it be unreasonable for a man to feel uncomfotable in the same way about sharing facilities with a gay footballer?
    Yeah I agree with you Rooster.

Even if there team mates come out in support of these players if they are named, you can bet some of them will be uncomfortable showering and getting changed with them. That has to have some effect on the team overall. If the world was perfect it would not be this way, but as we know its not.

God.... the ignorance on this thread is unbelieveable.

BaZmO* wrote:

Ive given up with it, people always amaze me, most of the time not for the right reasons

Big Nelly wrote:
    Ive given up with it
    WooHoo!! No more preaching from The Reverend Sr Nelly on this thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 355 ✭✭SCULLY

Big Nelly wrote:
    Originally Posted by BaZmO*

Ive given up with it, people always amaze me, most of the time not for the right reasons

Funny....I was thinking the same thing when I read your post "so what if a player is gay? next you will start going on about black players should not be allowed to play cause they are coloured".

Some people had entrenched views on the Sun (and please don't take this as a cue to give a sermon about the Sun and football) which of course is fine. What is not fine however is that many seem to think its ok to take the moral highground over those who don't share these particular view.

As per the story in question - as a previous poster noted, of course problems in a players personal life (and been outed against your will counts as a big personal problem) can affect their on-pitch performances (both positivley and negativley) so it perfectly valid to post a query relating to it in a soccer forum.

Banning people for linking to a newspaper? - get real...

SCULLY wrote:
    Funny....I was thinking the same thing when I read your post "so what if a player is gay? next you will start going on about black players should not be allowed to play cause they are coloured".

Some people had entrenched views on the Sun (and please don't take this as a cue to give a sermon about the Sun and football) which of course is fine. What is not fine however is that many seem to think its ok to take the moral highground over those who don't share these particular view.

As per the story in question - as a previous poster noted, of course problems in a players personal life (and been outed against your will counts as a big personal problem) can affect their on-pitch performances (both positivley and negativley) so it perfectly valid to post a query relating to it in a soccer forum.

Banning people for linking to a newspaper? - get real...
    I take it the reason why I was quoted in your post was becuase of Nelly's reply? Cos I never said that I thought someone should be banned for linking to the Sun, on the contrary.

My biggest problem with quoting something in Sun is, as I've said earlier on.....

when a journalist (and I use that term 'very' losely) is intent on 'outing' a couple of players and then finishes the piece with
    Ex-Nottingham Forest striker Justin Fashanu was Britain’s first openly gay star.

He committed suicide in 1998.
    How can they be taken seriously?

Hardly as case for being respected.

Nobody would disagree with that Bazmo. Doesnt mean that gay players and the affect they might have on the team when outed is not a legitimate discussion topic though.

After myself, Chris, Kingp35, Irish1, Sr.Nelly posted (not sure which one of us you were replying to) you said "the ignorance on this thread is unbelievable" - to whom or what do you refer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭LostinBlanch

Baz,

that last quote from the Sun comprises of two factual statements. JF was Britains first openly gay footballer and he did commit suicide in 1998. I have no reason in defending the Sun or other tabloids (including the Herald - very tabloidy these days).

But as far as I remember the reason he commited suicide wasn't that he was gay but that there was a US arrest warrant for him on child molestation charges.

Anyway to get back to the original topic there are plenty of names flying around the place, if anyone wants to find them I'm sure they can easily enough. But apparently Sky have lost out on the bidding to ITV for a TV splash based on NOTW reports. Well we'll soon find out how true this is.

As for players being gay, well I wouldn't be surprised I don't think it'll be a big thing except for the crap they'll get from the terraces! Which may adversely affect their performances. bad for them and their team, good for supporters of other teams. Still this could very well turn out to be a case of people in glasshouses.

Baz,

that last quote from the Sun comprises of two factual statements. JF was Britains first openly gay footballer and he did commit suicide in 1998. I have no reason in defending the Sun or other tabloids (including the Herald - very tabloidy these days).

But as far as I remember the reason he commited suicide wasn't that he was gay but that there was a US arrest warrant for him on child molestation charges.
    Well you've just proved my point. Juxtaposing those two pieces was a cynical attempt to link them and it only goes to illustrate the poor quality of journalism that the Sun exhibits. The Sun always goes after the lowest common denominator and once again they have proved this to be true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

It's just like gays in the army, and just like blacks in the army, and just like all descrimination, it'll pass, things move on, everytually people will accept it.
    Until then, I'm sure the Sun will get sued, and I'll enjoy it when they do. One of these days they will go too far, someday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,451 ✭✭✭blastman

Wow, there are some very tightly-wound people out there...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭KdjaCL

Stopped being a Soccer thread about 2 pages ago.

Locking it if anyone wants to continue it After Hours possibly the best place for it.

kdjac