Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Giant Gerry Ryan Mega Thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

they had to kill a sheep with a stone in a sock to get something to eat

No, they PRETENDED that they did that in order to look "hard" and it backfired with a huge controversy, after which they admitted that it never happened, after which admission they looked like a completely pathetic bunch of idiots (even more so than beforehand).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

I love Gerry Ryans show. I was one of the "lost listeners" since I finished college and got a job. Now I'ved to endure that insufferable idiot Ray D'arcy all morning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

Each to their own, Nightwish, but I'd personally switch jobs if the place I worked in had Gerry Ryan on every morning.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,827 ✭✭✭fred funk }{

People slag aule Ger off all the time but I know you all secretly listen to him :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 156 ✭✭MemEmee

he's just a fat headed dirty old man. Just listen to him. Every day is a mix of sex, facelifts, pets (usually he asks if they're having sex) and food and wine for the monster himself.

He's past it.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,563 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Liam Byrne wrote:
    No, they PRETENDED that they did that in order to look "hard" and it backfired with a huge controversy
    The farmer that owned the sheep shot it.

Could have done us all a big favour if he had better aim ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,494 ✭✭✭ronbyrne2005

Was cycling along coast road in clontarf yesterday when i saw a handwritten signs prominently displayed in a garden saying "Gerry Ryan, stop knocking on my door, You know I fear for my life" "no trespassing , dogs on loose". This house is near clontarf Garda station and near to Gerrys house too. A guy who I presume wrote it was talking to two ladies who were stopped at the entrance to the garden, he seemed rather animated. Wonder was it a joke or if the guy is mentally unwell. Gerry drives by there in his big car most days. Hope the guy is not too unwell as I can't imagine Gerry knocking on the guys door.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,753 ✭✭✭sudzs

Get a photo!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 602 ✭✭✭mickd

Liam Byrne wrote:
    IMHO, D'Arcy beats Ryan hands down, and with plenty to spare....

Gerry Ryan is well passed his sell by date for over 10-15 years now. But having a bunch of people who would snigger and laugh at a hole in a biscuit isn't any better. The Den was also 10-15 years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭frash

Was cycling along coast road in clontarf yesterday when i saw a handwritten signs prominently displayed in a garden saying "Gerry Ryan, stop knocking on my door, You know I fear for my life" "no trespassing , dogs on loose". This house is near clontarf Garda station and near to Gerrys house too. A guy who I presume wrote it was talking to two ladies who were stopped at the entrance to the garden, he seemed rather animated. Wonder was it a joke or if the guy is mentally unwell. Gerry drives by there in his big car most days. Hope the guy is not too unwell as I can't imagine Gerry knocking on the guys door.

Does anyone know what this sign is all about?
    I'm very curious since I seen it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,753 ✭✭✭sudzs

My nose is hanging off waiting for the full story!!! :D

I heard it has something to do with his mothers death...

Anyone????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 241 ✭✭wildsaffy

I like Gerry. Sometimes he's intelligent, sometimes you want to throw something at him. At least he elicits a response.

Gets me through 9am - 12pm.
    Saves me buying the papers.

Then silence/classical music from 12 till Live Line.

The audio tapes of books until 4.30 p.m. when one must watch Judge
    Judy.

I am working during this time, mind!

It's been nice to share.:D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18 Gauguin_Ghost

It's just over 7 years now since Gerry left us... time really does fly. Had he not left this mortal coil, Gerry would have turned 60 earlier this month. Considering the amount of time that has passed and the current state of Irish radio today... do you miss Gerry Ryan and The Gerry Ryan Show? If he was still broadcasting today, where do you think he would be? Would he still be enjoying the same level of success in the Ireland of today?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

No, he'd be sat in a comfortable gig, getting close to or over half a million quid per year.
    One of my pet peeves is people eating while presenting on tv/radio and I don't mean taste segments.
    To me it shows how comfortable they think they are that they can eat and drink away and mumble through segments.

Strangely that was the straw that broke the camels back for me with Gerry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,170 ✭✭✭Tow

Could RTE still afford him today...
    I remember hearing the amazement in the voices of a couple of BBC5 presenters when they were discussing his death and saw is salary.

When is the money (including lost growth) Michael Noonan took in the Pension Levy going to be paid back?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

Not in the slightest. He never appealed to me in any way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 346 ✭✭Ayuntamiento

I downloaded a podcast app recently that allows me to listen to all kinds of radio podcasts. I'm generally a newstalk listener and would consider the line-up to be ok, verging on good. I hate sports so 'off the ball' having 10hrs plus of weekend coverage is unbearable for me.

I decided to listen to a Marian Finucan podcast as I cleaned my house at the weekend. I heard she gets something crazy like 500k per anum for presenting a couple of hours of radio at the weekend (along with taking the entire summer off) so I presumed she must be of some great intellect or wit.

Instead I ended up listening to a podcast where she brought in 3 'travel editors' to educate us listeners on the joy of holidaying in the Canaries and the Costa del Sol....Jesus wept.

I could barely hear the contributors over the heavy gasps of Marian's breathing in the background (I'm going to presume she's been smoking 40 a day for the past 40yrs or else she needs a check-up for heart failure). Aside from her death gasps in the background, she knew **** all about any of the destinations discussed. She couldn't even frame an interesting or engaging question.

My short journey into the horrors of rte radio confirmed why i only listen to newstalk and also why i will ensure that I am in no way liable to obtain an RTE licence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,101 ✭✭✭Max Headroom

Why did he leave..???

Still too soon...????:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

I don't miss him at all. I just could not abide him on Radio or TV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 836 ✭✭✭miketv

Regardless of his salery for a moment, I do miss him. If he was still on I would tune in, he was a one off and I doubt we will see another like him ever.

Why did he leave..???

Never liked him as a broadcaster so feel no sorrow that he's off the airwaves.

I'm sad for him that he could find no higher purpose for himself other than drugs. Feel sad for his children that they have to live with the consequences of his poor decisions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,857 ✭✭✭TheQuietFella

He had his own unique style and approach for radio.
    I did think he had his head up his own arse but I do miss him from the radio.
    Ryan and Ray will never come close in any shape or form!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 596 ✭✭✭Conservative

I would say yes. He did get on my nerves sometimes but overall I was a big fan of his show and his rare talent for radio.

Like everyone else I never liked looking at his fat punchable head on tv.

I don't have an issue with what he or others are paid if they pull in the audience and ads to warrant it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 596 ✭✭✭Conservative

I would say yes. He did get on my nerves sometimes but overall I was a big fan of his show and his rare talent for radio.

I don't have an issue with what he or others are paid if they pull in the audience and ads to warrant it.

They obviously do NOT pull in the audience or revenue to justify their salaries.
    Why else is RTE selling off substantial portions of their land otherwise?
    Selling land is a sign of desperation from such long established organisations in my opinion.

It's interesting to hear such high quality broadcasting from Newstalk considering that they can't avail of any of the TV licence funding.

The only semi-decent broadcaster from RTE was Pat Kenny and look where he is now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,671 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Never liked him, and never understood the whole "he was revolutionary in his work", or "changed radio in Ireland" nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,605 ✭✭✭✭blade1

When you see what the likes of Ray Darcy earns,it makes what Gerry Ryan got seem like a great deal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,852 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

It's interesting to hear such high quality broadcasting from Newstalk considering that they can't avail of any of the TV licence funding.

They can and they do.

blade1 wrote: »
    When you see what the likes of Ray Darcy earns,it makes what Gerry Ryan got seem like a great deal.

No it doesn't.

Ray D'arcy is hugely overpaid. And so was Gerry Ryan.

They can and they do.

What are they entitled to compared to RTE? I'm genuinely curious.

Still convinced I get no value out of RTE and I will ensure that I continue to arrange my affairs such that I'm not liable for a tv licence.

I already pay over 50% PAYE, I've no interest in subsiding the poor example that rte considers suitable.
    I thoroughly enjoy the american tv that I pay for and I'm dammed if rte get a cut just because they exist?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,945 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Don't miss him. Rarely if ever think about him.

He often was laziness personified on his show.

Now and again he would do a decent "emotional" type interview.

But Sometimes exploitative of the caller's problem (be it grief, poverty, depression etc).

Grossly over paid and over rated. Part of the golden circle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,852 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

What are they entitled to compared to RTE? I'm genuinely curious.

If you're genuinely curious you can look it up.

blade1 wrote: »

Agree. Absolutely scandalous what darcy earns. Ryan is a genius compared to darcy. Shockingly awful.

If you're genuinely curious you can look it up.

No thanks. That would be as pointless a use of my precious time as actually watching RTE produced tripe.

Don't miss him. Rarely if ever think about him.

He often was laziness personified on his show.

Now and again he would do a decent "emotional" type interview.

But Sometimes exploitative of the caller's problem (be it grief, poverty, depression etc).

Grossly over paid and over rated. Part of the golden circle.

You sure that's not Joe Duffy you're talking about.

NIMAN wrote: »
    You sure that's not Joe Duffy you're talking about.

Good point. They obviously went to the same training course! "Chapter 3. Milk the tears"

Had stopped listening to him long before he died. Felt really sorry for his girlfriend. She was the only one that didn't know about the drugs.

I already pay over 50% PAYE
    No you don't. It's mathematically impossible. Check your payslip and divide your tax contribution by your salary x 100.

The average earner (37k) pays about 20% between all income taxes and PRSI.

I know that's off-topic, sorry, but it's an often-seen exaggeration.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,058 ✭✭✭✭anewme

My Mum had a bad accident and was out of work( unfortunately was not able to go back) She got herself very down and at one point did not want to get up out of bed in the mornings.

She said 2 things got her through.

1. The dogs, she had to get up and feed them.
    2. Gerry Ryan on the radio. She loved his interviews and wit.

She remembers the last show, where he did not turn in and it was obvious something was up. She was gutted to hear of his death, said it was like speaking to a friend every day, even though she never met him. She recalls some of his interviews very fondly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,168 ✭✭✭Ursus Horribilis

He wasn't really my cup of tea and I was usually in work when he was on the air. But, he had a certain something that made a lot of people connect with him. Perhaps it was the larger than life personality and the naughty schoolboy puerile streak, combined with all the anecdotes and the insights into his own life. I'm not sure there are many presenters on radio now who listeners would connect to in the same way. I mean, does anyone out there tune into Ryan Tubridy because of his personality? Gerry Ryan had his flaws but he was a better radio presenter than many of the people who have come along in his wake. Al Porter anyone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,057 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

I didn't like him, but sort of really liked him too, despite myself. He grated, he ate on air, he thought a lot of himself, he acted the dumbo (like Joe Duffy), he asked questions he knew the answer to in a way to get the best answer.

I listened to him when I could (in the car going to meetings, otherwise I couldn't) and I met him a few times as I lived close to him. Very pleasant and engaging.

I miss him. He was good at what he did and he was incredibly clever (business law I think). I also think is early demise is sad. He seemed to love people and company but he died alone and unexpectedly which is tragic for his family, friends, loved ones and his girlfriend.

His renewed personal isolation in his apartment may have led to unchecked eating, drinking and other obvious bad habits that family or other members may have tried to control.

I'd say it was a wake up call to the many celtic tiger dads when he died. Dreadful unhealthy lifestyle for such a clever man.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,665 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

When he started his show in '88 there was nothing like him. The alternative was Gaybo and by that year Gaybo was well out of steam and relevance.

Ryan was energetic, fun and irreverent. It was a good and very different type of show by RTE standards (and pirate radio of the time too).

By 2000 he had ran out of steam and relevance and (like Gaybo) he believed too much in his own worth. But that's still after putting in a good 10years+ of a 3 hour show. His grandiose and self worth ate away at the soul of his original show and that's kinda sad.
    His last 10 years on the radio was of him smelling and appreciating his own farts.

But I miss him. A bit. Occasionally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 797 ✭✭✭rustynutz

I think irish radio is worse for his passing, he wasn't particularly likeable, and he came across as over confident and arrogant but I still always listened to his show when I could. Nobody else has come close to filling that slot on 2fm since. Having said that he was brutal on tv, and whoever came up with the idea for him to host operation transformation should have been shot, he was fatter than most on the show

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

Wasn't it Chris Evans who singled out & praised Gerry Ryan for giving him the courage to get back into broadcast Radio, after an extended absence from the airwaves?

LordSutch wrote: »
    Wasn't it Chris Evans who singled out & praised Gerry Ryan for giving him the courage to get back into broadcast Radio, after an extended absence from the airwaves?

Correct.

rustynutz wrote: »
    Having said that he was brutal on tv, and whoever came up with the idea for him to host operation transformation should have been shot, he was fatter than most on the show

Agreed. Being a good radio presenter does not mean your talents will extend to TV. I thought that TV series where he interviewed people was better. Perhaps that's because it was basically his radio show translated to TV.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,665 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

rustynutz wrote: »
    I think irish radio is worse for his passing, he wasn't particularly likeable, and he came across as over confident and arrogant but I still always listened to his show when I could. Nobody else has come close to filling that slot on 2fm since. Having said that he was brutal on tv, and whoever came up with the idea for him to host operation transformation should have been shot, he was fatter than most on the show

Yeah but this is the Radio Forum. He was brutal on TV but so is/was Pat Kenny. (and this isn't the PK thread either:))

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18 Gauguin_Ghost

Would he still be on 2FM?

I think he would, seeing as they've not axed Larry Gogan or Dave Fanning. Unless his listenership figures had taken a nosedive in the meantime, which I doubt. He wasn't everybody's cup of tea but he was one of radio's biggest names.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,645 ✭✭✭California Dreamer

Yay another let's "celebrate the life of a drug addict" thread about Gerry Ryan!!