Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

weird sayings...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 465 ✭✭Kermitt

Fu*k me pink with a whitewash brush

I would says she but the grass is wet

As tight as a camel's ar$e on a sandstorm

as mad as a brush (how mad are brushes?)

he wouldn't kick $hite off a wet hen (my dad's favourite watchin football)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,408 ✭✭✭Huggles

this is one I like.....

I'm so hungry I'd eat a childs ar$e throught the bars of his crib.....

I honestly think the Irish have the best turn of phrase in the world

• Closed Accounts Posts: 698 ✭✭✭meldrew

He's as odd as the two cheeks of me arse and all they see all day is sh*te

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,910 ✭✭✭✭RoundyMooney

[Father Ted Crilly] I don't beeellliiieeeeevvveee it! [/Father Ted Crilly]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

I'm so hungry I'd eat the arse of a low flying child.

I'm so hungry I'd eat a scabby dog.

As tight as a nuns cnut on sunday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 888 ✭✭✭themole

so hungry i could eat:
    the hind legs of the lamb of god.
    a small child and chips
    a scabby baby

reffering to a hot bird:
    i'd walk bare foot through broken glass to put a candle in her ****e

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Heard this once

"You couldn't score in a brothel with a fistful of fivers"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,437 ✭✭✭tintinr35

your as dry as hobby horses sh1t

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,269 ✭✭✭kc66

"may the crows never light on your spuds" - gratitude

"If i won a goldfish he would drown himself" - I have bad luck

"Im as tired as a crows elbow after a long flight" - bit stupid but I couldn't stop laughing when I heard it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭rsta

another one...

sure he's useless he couldnt organise a piss up in a brewery

:v: :v:

another one...

when watching football...

he couldnt kick snow off a rope!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 398 ✭✭Hydroquinone

Sure if it was raining soup, I'd be out with a fork = I'm unlucky
    As much use as tits on a bull = Useless
    As mad as a bag of jam - how mad would a bag of jam be, I wonder?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,708 ✭✭✭deisemum

about as useful as a chocolate teapot = useless

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭Plastic Scouser

Hagar wrote:
    As scarce as hobby horse's shyte

WTF Is a bobby horse? Have you had your hearing tested recently :D

No hearing test needed....they're bobby-horses where I come from! :D In my part of the world a hobby-horse is one of those horses heads on a stick, and a bobby-horse is a horse on a carousel!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 990 ✭✭✭mickymg2003

"The Finest woman to ever pi$$ through Hair" - Dont ask
    "The head on yer one and the price of turnips"
    "As rare as Rocking Horse Sh1te"
    "He'd ate the bollox of a low flying duck"
    "He Wouldnt score in a brothel" - Watching Football
    "Sour as Cats Pi$$"

Don't f*ck with a duck cos a duck don't f*ck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,227 ✭✭✭✭Sparky

"as usefull as a one legged man in an arse kicking contest"

"its 6 of one and half a dozen of the other"

"better looking at it, than for it"

"he so useless he couldnt organise a **** in a brothel"

"shes so ugly she has a face for radio"

Some funny ones from being on sites :D

"please be quiet", "OK ill use my rubber hammer and nails"

"Go to the hardwares and get a sky hook"

"Can ya grab me the bucket of Hawww for the window"

"Have you seen my Pudding bender"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

He's a heart the size of wren's bollix

ate leg of of the lamb of jaysus

does the pope kiss runways?
    does the pope **** in the woods?
    does the pope fall outta baths?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

as thick as two short planks. how thick are these planks?
    how are the balls of your feet?
    i'd eat chips out of her knickers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 688 ✭✭✭skye

A few more....

- He / she's not the height of two turf...

- I did'nt come up the Lough in a bubble ( my mums..)

- Not as green as you're cabbage looking

- any more dour and you'd need hinges ( nordies pronunce door like this )

- Like hens teeth - hard to find

- Wouldn't give you the skin off their arse

- My mouths as dry as an Arabs sandal

- I could sleep on a clothes-line

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭Plastic Scouser

Sure if it was raining soup, I'd be out with a fork

I love that one!

I think this must be the land of the funny sayings...since I moved over here I've heard a new one every day, and they never fail to make me laugh! Lovely stuff! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,391 ✭✭✭arbeitsscheuer

I'm goin' for a burst o the banjo = I'm going to the toilet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

i'd eat the scabs off a lepers arse - hungry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 951 ✭✭✭Eminem

SebtheBum wrote:
    I'm goin' for a burst o the banjo = I'm going to the toilet

I have never heard that one before you here something knew every day LMAO:D :p

I'll be back in two shakes of a lamb's tail = I'll be back soon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,584 ✭✭✭c - 13

Might have posted these before -

F*ucking Inverted Wh0remaster - when something goes wrong
    Sweating like a black lad on a rape charge in georgia
    so ugly the tide wouldnt take him/her out
    so ugly a sniper wouldnt take him/her out
    I wouldnt ride her into battle
    The only way id ride her is in the grand national
    I'm so hungry id eat the arse off a nun through a convent gate
    I'm so hungry id eat Jesus himself down off the cross

Her nose is so stuck up in the air it's up the arse of God - about snob

If someone says I think I've a turtle neck in my pants - means they're touching cloth and need to go cr*p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭dSTAR

I thought I'd throw in a few weird sayings from Australia into the mix. There are so many godamn aussies in Ireland so next time you are in a bar you can impress them with these classics...

Budgie smuggler - what an old geezer wears on the beach!

Feelin crook - sick

Dinkum, fair dinkum - true, real, genuine I'm a dinkum Aussie; is he fair dinkum?

Bludger - somebody on state handouts

Rip snorter - cool, excellent - it was a rip snorter of a party last night

Root (verb and noun) : synonym for f*ck in nearly all its senses: I feel rooted; this washing machine is rooted; she's a good root. A very useful word in fairly polite company.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,215 ✭✭✭FX Meister

"A strang woggler in the hand is worth two in gushberry"

going for a gypsy's kiss - female going for a pee
    going to shake hands with the devil - man going for a pee
    as mad as a whore in a honda - very cross
    hung like a donkey - very well built male extension :D:D :;) ;)

I've seen more hair on a cat sh*t under a bed. = Said about some guys 'beard'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,348 ✭✭✭KTRIC

"ah there ye are " - why do people say this, if I wasn't here were else would I be ?? think about it ;)

"up sh*t creek without a paddle"

kinda surprised nobody had already mentioned this tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 137 ✭✭wexhun

If I fell into a barrel full of diddies I'd come out sucking my thumb.:D
    About as useful as a handbrake on a canoe.:rolleyes:
    Up me hole picking daises (when someone asks u where something that you don't have is):p
    Kids are like farts you can just about stand your own.;)
    Shes all fur coat and no knickers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 640 ✭✭✭Kernel32

"I was talking to the organ grinder, not the monkey".

Great put down line that I like to use now and then.