Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dump valves only for turbos?

• 21-02-2006 11:26pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,670 ✭✭✭

• Registered Users Posts: 6,421 ✭✭✭weemcd

oh god...

• Registered Users Posts: 6,421 ✭✭✭weemcd

oh god...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,217 ✭✭✭FX Meister

Yeah you can get a thing that just makes the noise for you. It's for losers only though. Try the motors section, we all had a good laugh at the yoke a year or so ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,670 ✭✭✭NiSmO

• Registered Users Posts: 10,210 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

NiSmO wrote:

Buy a foghorn.

To answer your question, No. A Dump valver can only be fitted to a turbo car as it releases pressure which was created by the turbo.

If you want to hear your 'whisshh' noise in a field, buy a turbo car and fit a dump valve.

Do NOT buy one of those fake dump valve noise simulators or I will personally cut your wrists

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,670 ✭✭✭NiSmO

• Closed Accounts Posts: 168 ✭✭Progen

You could take the dump valve from a Nissan Punto GTE. If you can find one like. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 220 ✭✭esskay

Buy yourself a supercharged car like a Corrado G60
    http://www.matey-matey.com/corrado-g60-article.shtml

It makes a very pleasing sound when changing gear after pushing past 3000 revs :-)

Plus it's a 1.8L engine but has only 20hp less than the 2.9L VR6 version and the supercharger doesn't affect the insurance cause its factory fitted and not classed as a modification. A feckin class car to drive!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 361 ✭✭Con9903

This 16 year old is asking how to get his 1.3 ****box to make cool noises and you're suggesting that he buys a G60 corrado??!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 168 ✭✭Progen

Con9903 wrote:
    This 16 year old is asking how to get his 1.3 ****box to make cool noises and you're suggesting that he buys a G60 corrado??!

He could go away and bag himself a nice second hand Ferrari... I heard theres some fierce grunt from those...

• Registered Users Posts: 10,210 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

Evo 8 :)

• Registered Users Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

an exhaust with a nice noise should keep you happy for awhile till your old enough to afford a proper sports car