Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Guns & Roses and Motley Crue

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,742 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Its going to be hard to get tickets for this one, that is for sure. I'm definately going to try to get a ticket. Motley Crue should be class!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭Rockshandy

The Crue will be awsome, and G and R will rock man, Brain on drums, Axl and company! what more do you want.

its so good to finally see some promoters billing big rock acts as opposed to indie tripe that is usually bille din this country, think back, when was the last big rock show you saw/heard of in dublin, i dont mean the strokes ect where they look at their shoes and jump around like busted, apart from Steve Vai Iron Maiden and what i felt to be a lacklustre performance by the darkness in the past 4 years its been pretty slow!! David lee roth is the only one that comes to mind for an AWSOME show but was in such a small venue!!

i say roll on JUNE!!! GIRLS GIRLS GIRLS!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 58 ✭✭paulmartin

ta2kev wrote:
    Can anyone tell me what the line up of the band is now, last I heard it was Axl, Izzy and that weird geezer Buckethead.

Izzy hasn't been in the band since 1991 except a couple of gigs in 1993. Buckethead left in 2004.

Axl on vocals, Dizzy Reed and Chris Pittman on keyboards, Robin Finck (ex-NIN) and Richard Fortus play guitar, Tommy Stinson on bass, and Brain (ex-Primus) on drums. They're were 3 guitarists in 2002 tour and no-one has replaced Buckethead, so a lot of people think a 3rd guitarist will be announced. Rumoured to be Slash, but that's BS!

It's on top of Metallica tickets that's its Download Festival, so this seems to be the Irish Download, except tickets are sold seperately for each day here. Metallica are headlining Sat in Donington and Sun in RDS. G n' R on Fri in RDS and Sun in Donington. So whoever headlines Fri in Donington is probably headlining Sat over here.

I remember a couple of weeks ago, someone high up said it would be Metallica, Gn'R and AC/DC playing Download. Of course everyone said it was rubbish. But he was proven right about Metallica and GnR so i bet AC/DC will be playing Fri in Donington and hence Sat 10th June in Dublin - what a weekend!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭DOD Crew

I wouldn't mind checking out the new GNR if they had a good support band, it would have been worth the admission but motley crue! I think I'll keep my money until deftones come to Ireland!!!biggrin.gif

Listen to the first two albums and bring your ears up to speed man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 105 ✭✭ta2kev

paulmartin wrote:
    Izzy hasn't been in the band since 1991 except a couple of gigs in 1993.

I meant Dizzy, got a bit confused.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 536 ✭✭✭Evil Sausage

paulmartin wrote:
    I remember a couple of weeks ago, someone high up said it would be Metallica, Gn'R and AC/DC playing Download. Of course everyone said it was rubbish. But he was proven right about Metallica and GnR so i bet AC/DC will be playing Fri in Donington and hence Sat 10th June in Dublin - what a weekend!

Heart stopped there for a few seconds! AC/DC playing is a huge rumour and eventhough Id fuppin love it, I cant see it happening.

The smart money is on Alice in Chains to headline Saturday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,847 ✭✭✭s8n

Thats not even funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,743 ✭✭✭Rockee

:confused: Yeah, with Nirvana, Lynyrd Skynyrd,The Doors and The Hendrix Experience bringing the support....

s8n wrote:
    Thats not even funny.

Serious. Efestivals Just do a search for Alice in Chains

They played a benefit gig for Tsunami victims there a while back. Cantrell did most of the vocals but they had a few guests sing some of the acoustic stuff, think it was yer man from Tool.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,655 ✭✭✭Ph3n0m

s8n wrote:
    Thats not even funny.

actually it is funny, since they have reformed

http://www.roadrunnerrecords.com/blabbermouth.net/news.aspx?mode=Article&newsitemID=48669

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,073 ✭✭✭Nea

OMG, Alice in Chains - Deadly, would love to see them again.

Jaysus it look like June will be a big one for gigs.
    I saw the Crue in Wembley last June and they were great and would definately go see them again, the ball is out on GnR tho!

What happens if the Queens come over to Ireland following their gig in Hyde Park in June???

Time to start doin the lotto............................

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,550 ✭✭✭NIBBS

I don't think they'll worry too much about other gigs being on the Sat night, it I remember correctly that's the night that's sold out for the Eagles ???
    if that's the case it doesn't really affect it at all, only problem would be the police, the last time Metallica played the RDS they moved the day cause Ireland were playing in Landsdowne on the original date, but gigs are different, the 9th is the same night Robbie Williams is on in Croke Park so that isn't a concern either ?????

we'll see, would be great if they've someone on the Sat too.......

Anyone else fancy joining me in the queue at the Credit Union to afford the amount of gigs coming up?? Just reading my local 'Fingal Independent' this morning...theres 4 potential gigs also being planned for Ardgillan Castle. Smashed already!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,550 ✭✭✭NIBBS

Any rumours who's on at Ardgillan ???
    interesting venue....

would love to know who's playing the Friday night at Download.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

This is great news!!!! I really hope it's not cancelled...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,450 ✭✭✭dimerocks

i am so happy i could ****!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,585 ✭✭✭honru

Brilliant stuff. Guns N' Roses and Mötley Crue. Looks like we're getting some of the rarer live bands this summer besides the usual suspects. I be gettin' tickets to this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,124 ✭✭✭Jonny Arson

I feel sorry for anyone who's going to waste their hard earned money on Axl's fake little Guns N' Roses(tm) franchise take 2.

TBH you're seeing Axl Rose play and not Guns N' Roses.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭herobear

i really couldnt give a s*** about G'n'R(even back when Slash & Duff were in them), im going just for the Crue :D

hopefully AC/DC gets confirmed for the night after too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 lizzyrocker

I can't wait, one of my favourite bands ever, even if its only Axl Rose of the original band. The new stuffs not half bad (whats been leaked anyway). Just to hear Paradise City at full blast tho ... it'll be nuts!!

Its going to be a brilliant weekend, already have tickets Metallica on the Sunday (and they do say "Download Presents" on them so it is the Irish download festival.). And by that reckoning its highly likely that whoever is headlining the Friday at Download UK in Donnigton, will be playing the RDS here on the Saturday. If its AC/DC as rumoured, I'll be over the moon - that'd be the best lineup of any festival - EVER!! :D

I can't wait, one of my favourite bands ever, even if its only Axel Rose of the original band. The new stuffs not half bad (whats been leeked anyway). Just to hear Paradise City at full blast tho ... it'll be nuts!!

Yeah, exactly! Its like me with The Who at Oxegen, Id prefer if Keith and John were alive to play it, but once Baba O'Riley blasts out, happy days! Ill be at Download and Oxegen for sure! Gnr,The Crue, The Who, Metallica...talk about Christmas' coming together!!!:D :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,450 ✭✭✭dimerocks

the cure........where??i am actualy so excited. i never thought i'd get to see guns in any shape or form
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QLPix4dHtt4&search=guns%20n%27%20roses
    just to show us what we may be in for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭run_Forrest_run

NIBBS wrote:
    definitely outdoor......

holds around 40,000.........June 9th.....if there's good weather this will be great (of course the sound will be dodgy as always in the RDS)....

Spot on NIBBS...I was at Metallica there a few years back (the time they didn't do whiskey in the jar) and the sound was fairly ****e in parts...the drums were coming across muffled every minute or so...I was on the pitch bang in the centre and it was still poor....

I was at the GNR Slane gig at the age of 15 and is still one of my best memories in life! Was my first gig!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 990 ✭✭✭mickymg2003

Cool. I'll go for GnR. Not the crue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,382 ✭✭✭Motley Crue

Could you imagine what would happen if Alice in Chains was the third band, that would ****ing rule!!!!! OMG im seriously in the happiest mood ive ever been in, this is like the coolest ****ing gig in the world

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,382 ✭✭✭Motley Crue

I was at the GNR Slane gig at the age of 15 and is still one of my best memories in life! Was my first gig!

Can I just say you're one of the luckiest ****ers in the world!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

I too was at Slane to see GNR and FNM :) My mates uncle was head of security, so we got right up the front, I was able to make eye contact with slash loads! ok so its not a big deal but it meant a lot to me. And also when AIC supported...eh...M I met Jerry Cantrell out the front of the point -really really nice guy

tbh wrote:
    I too was at Slane to see GNR and FNM :) My mates uncle was head of security, so we got right up the front, I was able to make eye contact with slash loads! ok so its not a big deal but it meant a lot to me. And also when AIC supported...eh...M I met Jerry Cantrell out the front of the point -really really nice guy

However, IMO on that very day FNM completely outshone G N R - guess most of the crowd were sick of waiting for Axel to arrrive - hence the human towers that were built and the constant barrage of crap being thrown at the stage :)

Although Mike Patton did seem to appreciate the Chomp bar someone flung at him :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

Ph3n0m wrote:
    However, IMO on that very day FNM completely outshone G N R - guess most of the crowd were sick of waiting for Axel to arrrive - hence the human towers that were built and the constant barrage of crap being thrown at the stage :)
    true - and thats the reason I won't be queueing for GNR tickets this time around
    Although Mike Patton did seem to appreciate the Chomp bar someone flung at him :)

ha ha yeah, I'd forgotten about that! My main memory of the gigs are getting sunburned during FNM, and then freezing waiting for GNR.

edit: I just loaded Appetite for Destruction. Screw what I said before, I'm goin!!

yeah, the human towers were hilarious! especially watching the poor dude at the top come plummeting down to earth at a rapid rate! Remember My Little Funhouse who opened for them? Decent band but sadly never made the big time...you still see the singer doing a few gigs in Kilkenny...and they own a few night spots around the city also I think...

they were hilarious - "this next song goes out to Bishop Casey...ya bollix"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 420 ✭✭Doolittle51

I was there too - I was only 11 years old and couldn't see very much. The bouncers wouldn't let me sit on my dads shoulders, so a female journalist (i think) took pity on me and arranged for the bouncers to lift me up onto the sound desk thing in the middle of the crowd. So I got a birds eye view of all the action.

It was my first and best gig ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 230 ✭✭robz150

The Promoters reckon this will sellout very quick (they would say that wouldn't they) what does everyone think. I was at Slane (2nd Gig experiencing the "friendly" Pantera crowd was the first) I don't remember that being a sellout and when I seen them (Him) in London you were able to buy tickets at the door.

Just wondering am I gonna wake up at 1 oclock on Sat to find it sold out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭lodgepole

robz150 wrote:
    The Promoters reckon this will sellout very quick (they would say that wouldn't they) what does everyone think. I was at Slane (2nd Gig experiencing the "friendly" Pantera crowd was the first) I don't remember that being a sellout and when I seen them (Him) in London you were able to buy tickets at the door.

Just wondering am I gonna wake up at 1 oclock on Sat to find it sold out?

Ireland has a tendency to sell out ridiculously fast, it's been going that way the last few years. Not only the touts, but people go credit card crazy and buy up as many tickets as they can. I'm hoping the fact that this is one of several gigs around that time slows down the selling somewhat since people may not have the cash right now. Even so, i'm leaving nothing to chance. I'll be online bright and early Saturday morning to get my two tickets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 230 ✭✭robz150

Lodgepole wrote:
    Ireland has a tendency to sell out ridiculously fast, it's been going that way the last few years. Not only the touts, but people go credit card crazy and buy up as many tickets as they can. I'm hoping the fact that this is one of several gigs around that time slows down the selling somewhat since people may not have the cash right now. Even so, i'm leaving nothing to chance. I'll be online bright and early Saturday morning to get my two tickets.

Cheers, Reckon I'll set the Alarm clock to be safe.

well my ticket has been put aside, the day off work has been booked - I'm going to get slaughtered :) (and see Crue and GnR)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 105 ✭✭ta2kev

I was just sent this link http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QLPix4dHtt4&search=guns%20n%27%20roses check it out, it sounds fuppin deadly. Roll on June.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 244 ✭✭confetti

Lodgepole wrote:

do you reckon most people will queue up for 9am or wait to do it online??

i dont wanna be online and have the website jammers and miss out while people who queued are getting them, and obviously i dont wanna waiting outside a shop if i dont have to

so do yee reckon it will be safe to do it online at 9am???

I doubt this'll sell out on the day.

Looks like it's part of the Download thing aswell, according to Aiken.

They should have just pouched the whole festival over here.

ta2kev wrote:
    I was just sent this link http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QLPix4dHtt4&search=guns%20n%27%20roses check it out, it sounds fuppin deadly. Roll on June.

...ah I dunno! Something not right about it all! If slash & co aint there then it just doesn't feel right...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭lodgepole

confetti wrote:
    do you reckon most people will queue up for 9am or wait to do it online??

i dont wanna be online and have the website jammers and miss out while people who queued are getting them, and obviously i dont wanna waiting outside a shop if i dont have to

so do yee reckon it will be safe to do it online at 9am???

I dunno, I reckon it'll be alright online. It can be tricky when the site starts to go haywire... When I got my David Bowie tickets online I managed to get two sets (the first set that was reserved timed out for some reason so I had to get it again). And there were only 8000 tickets on sale for that, the RDS is what 40,000? With the weather in Dublin like it is i'm not queuing anywhere. I think i'll be alright with online.

Hmm... Aiken have now removed any mention of Mötley Crüe on their site regarding this gig... hope it's not intentional.

Hmm... Aiken have now removed any mention of Mötley Crue on their site regarding this gig... hope it's not intentional.

Shiiiiiiite. Maybe Axel had them removed!!

http://www.roadrunnerrecords.com/blabbermouth.net/news.aspx?mode=Article&newsitemID=48750
    Linky^^^^

Aparently nobody in the Motley camp knew about the gig!!!

Jesus. What the hell were Aiken doing?

Good thing I didn't buy my ticket thinking that Mötley Crüe would be playing. Now I'm not all that pushed at €65 a standing ticket...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭herobear

who wants to bet Axl'l get someone like 50 cent to support :v:

herobear wrote:
    who wants to bet Axl'l get someone like 50 cent to support :v:
    I'm holding out for McFly and Son Of Dork!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 58 ✭✭paulmartin

Anyone hear is there any chance of a presale for this tomorrow

dimerocks wrote:
    the cure........where??
    The Crue.

Ph3n0m wrote:
    If I was Mike Patton so would I! MMmmm...Chomp. Are they still available?