Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Wigan vs. Man United

• 06-03-2006 8:59pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,589 ✭✭✭✭

The big news of the night, Fergie sticks to the same team as the one that beat Wigan in the cup final, which means Van Nistelrooy is again on the bench! Another 4-0 win or are Wigan due a change in fortune?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭KdjaCL

Who was booing during the minutes silence?

kdjac

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,356 ✭✭✭NeVeR

does anyone know a place online where you can listen to it ?

radio 5 just shuts off..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,800 ✭✭✭county

KdjaC wrote:
    Who was booing during the minutes silence?

kdjac

you always get a few idiots,

see utd winning 3-1 or 3-2

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭KdjaCL

county wrote:
    you always get a few idiots,

Was quite a lot of them actually, the lad who died ws in Iraq.Would be more than the amount fo Utd fans who were there anyway who booed.

Wigan seem up for it.

kdjac

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,003 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

Wigan are playing well. Ruud on the bench again, Rumours that he is not 100% fit but you would have to wonder if there is more to him being dropped for the last few matches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

NeVeR wrote:
    does anyone know a place online where you can listen to it ?

radio 5 just shuts off..
    www.newstalk106.ie

they have the 5live coverage.
    106fm on radio

• Registered Users Posts: 799 ✭✭✭dirkey_wynne

There's a rumour Giggs is playing central midfield tonight. I say rumour because I haven't yet seen him. No, that's a lie. I've seen him pop up from time to time to give the ball away. Himself and O'Shea need to improve if Utd are to get anything. They were getting walked over in the first half and Wigan were by far the better side. Can't see it lasting much more than 20 mins of 2nd half like that before Ruud is brought on.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,294 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kingp35

Wigan clearly the better side in the first half although Man U are defending well and restricting Wigan to mostly long shots. Utd are pretty poor attacking wise so far and if this continues I can see the introduction of RVN pretty soon. Wigan looking good so far but they need just that little bit extra up front to break the Man U defence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,589 ✭✭✭✭Necronomicon

Slightly relieved to hear the half-time whistle if I'm honest! Wigan just came into the ascendancy in the latter stage of the half, some good chances. Better than the cup final I think, better tempo, more of an edge. Paul Jewell must wish that they played like this last sunday. Not another 4-0 methinks!

• Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 9,048 Mod ✭✭✭✭Aquos76

Wigan 1 Man U 0

Fair play to Wigan thus far. They've deserved it. I'm surprised Ruud isn't yet stripped off. Where are all those who feel Ruud should be dropped? Proof tonight that Saha while a good player isn't good enough. Can't hold onto the ball at all.

Ruud on for Park.

Ronaldo make it 1-1

1-1 :d

2-1 yesss..

OG lol.. ah well i'll take it :)

how the hell did we win that one

OG ,, lol ah well i'll take it :)

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,294 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kingp35

That was just cruel. Wigan did not deserve that!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,731 ✭✭✭el rabitos

well done utd...*clap*........................*clap*........*tumbleweed*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

I'm nearly as pissed off as a Wigan fan.

from bbc
    United equalised when shock substitute Ruud van Nistelrooy's mis-hit shot accidentally set up Cristiano Ronaldo.

And at the death, Louis Saha's deflected shot hit the bar and Chimbonda diverted into his own net.

http://www.apostrophedesign.com/images/package_full_jam.jpg

Mike.

What a game!

Even the most hardened United fan would have to feel sorry for Wigan in that one, it was such a well contested match that there really didn't deserve a loser, especially in that manner...but hell, I'll take it.
    Ironically I thought Wigan's goal came about after they lost their zip and good tempo of the first half, came from a corner after a mistake from Brown (who, to be fair, was otherwise impecible). Ronaldo didn't have his most sparkling game, and once again encurred the wrath of thousands of home fans, but don't discount his part in the goal. Made a good break, found the right pass and still had to make an instinctive finish from a miss-hit Van Nistelrooy shot.
    Wigan were excellent, and were a threat all night up front. The combined pace and strength of Camara and Roberts was always causing problems, Rio looked troubled a lot of the time and on one or two occasions needed Brown to bail him out.
    I think a draw would have been a fair reflection of the game, but you have to make the most of your luck at that level, the rub of the green just went United's way tonight. Back in 2nd, not sure who the other game in hand is against but I'm sure it won't be as tough as Wigan at the JJB.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,845 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

Great win for utd, but they were very poor tonight. No midfield watsoever. Giggs and O Shea just dont cut it there. Ronaldo played okay, was prob the only thorn in wigans side. We really need to quality midfielders. One to pick out passes, another to protect the back 4. Id take Veron back at this stage. We lack a spine, but if we win like that every game til end of season I'll be happy enough!

• Registered Users Posts: 688 ✭✭✭merlinsmerryman

Back in 2nd, not sure who the other game in hand is against but I'm sure it won't be as tough as Wigan at the JJB.

Next 3 games are Newcastle, WBA and Birmingham not sure if any of these are the game in hand. Poor performance from Utd no midfield at all Ronaldo will be the only one coming out with any credit due to his goal. Every win counts at this stage of the season though and if we win every game between now and May playing like that I won't care one bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,545 ✭✭✭Green_Martian

Wow that was close tonight.....
    yeah have to agree feel a bit sorry for Wigan, but that is the way the football goes.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭Jimi-Spandex

Good game. I'd feel a bit more sorry for wigan if it wasn't for a couple of cynical tackles on Ronaldo. The definitely deserved something out of the game. Giggs and O'Shea were pretty horrible in the center. I thought Wes and Ronaldo had good games.

Forgot what those jammy wins were like. I miss them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,467 ✭✭✭smemon

the better side won :p

that was like robbing wigan and it felt great. good to see utd's trademark late goal once again, albeit an ugly own goal.

i must praise myself though for my argument in the other wigan/utd thread after the league cup. i claimed utd just upped the effort because it was a cup final, and any other day the scoreline wouldnt have been so flattering.

i said everyone was working hard, working together. where did that go tonight? a bit of mental complacency me thinks.

smemon wrote:
    i said everyone was working hard, working together. where did that go tonight? a bit of mental complacency me thinks.
    I think they were just taken aback by Wigan. Wigan were a shadow of themselves in Cardiff, really took it to them tonight. Have to credit them for not giving United the same space or time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,312 ✭✭✭mr_angry

I think I'll leave my response up to Football365...
    F365 wrote:
    Poor Wigan were really unlucky to lose 2-1 to Man Yoo after going ahead and dominating the game. But Ronaldo equalised and an injury-time Chimbonda own goal allowed Fergie's men to leapfrog Liverpool into second spot. Pity about the Champs League though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,116 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

It's ok, we will be able to say the same after yous beat Benfica 2-1 at home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,010 ✭✭✭besty

Every win counts.
    Still, you have to feel for Wigan. I really respect what they have done this year and have performed - for the most part - brilliantly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,013 ✭✭✭✭eirebhoy

How did Kavanagh do? It seems O'Shea wasn't great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,220 ✭✭✭20 Times 20 Times

eirebhoy wrote:
    How did Kavanagh do? It seems O'Shea wasn't great.

Kavanagh was on song again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,937 ✭✭✭fade2black

Look at all my fellow Man United fans feeling sorry for Wigan...do you think the Liverpool fans would do the same? Haha...not at all...they'd be praising "God" here and there and talking their usual crap. We won, simple as that and we're above Liverpool, where we're going to stay for the rest of the season.

"WE won"...."WE'RE above liverpool".......Ruud? is that you?

el rabitos wrote:
    great comfort to be taken in the fact that we're winning games like this, but scoring the killer goal is clearly a major problem, and it could be the problem that ends the champions league run next week : /

but the building blocks for great success over the next few years is certainly there, complacency is being stamped out.
    el rabitos wrote:
    we? because you yourself have any influence on results anywhere other than the phoenix park if ur lucky?

Oops...being hypocritical again...
    el rabitos wrote:
    well i for one am full of faith that pool will win this one. a loss here would make us look like we deserve to be competing for 3rd or 4th, but i think we're better than that, so i'm going for 2 - 0 pool
    el rabitos wrote:
    well to be honest, with the prices liverpool are being quoted for players these days, we should be getting decent amounts for all of them.

any amount cisse will be sold for will come as a dissapointment i reckon, compared to the 14 million payed for him, we'll probably be paying for him long after he's gone : /

I won't bother carrying on. Just shut up.

sorry man, but to me theres a huge differance in saying...for example "we're doing well this season and i hope we buy this player soon" to saying ..."we won! and we're going to destroy the oppostion and your never going to beat us again! rabble rabble!"

your post sounded like someone that was venting alot after just watching his team get schooled by a team they hammered 4 - 0 a week ago....oh wait...

I really don't see the difference to be honest.

Man U beat wigan 2-1 and 4-0...Liverpool beat Wigan 1-0 and 3-0...yada yada yada...what's your point?

i'm well aware of the results, i made my point already and we dont agree. a first for the soccer forum, no doubt

Eh, did I miss somethign in here, or are you two quoting posts from other threads? Please take the argument elsewhere, stay on topic of Wigan-Utd match last night.

someone further up along said there deserved to be no loser. There did, and it was Utd. We were appalling. Midfield was atrocious. Only time Giggs popped up was to give the ball away and foul. O'Shea at least made a couple of interceptions.

Still, we'll take the 3 points.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Forgot what those jammy wins were like. I miss them.
    Feckin right. :)

By the way, I thought O'Shea had a good game and United only started playing when Ruud was brought on and Giggs was moved out to the left wing. Giggs looked lost in midfield. Rooney started to open Wigan up when he moved back to midfield, he put in some great tackles too! Rooney should definately play that position until Scholes returns.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,057 ✭✭✭TheMonster

PORNAPSTER wrote:
    Feckin right. :)

By the way, I thought O'Shea had a good game and United only started playing when Ruud was brought on and Giggs was moved out to the left wing. Giggs looked lost in midfield. Rooney started to open Wigan up when he moved back to midfield, he put in some great tackles too! Rooney should definately play that position until Scholes returns.

Agree - didn't think O'Shea was that bad-he will play there for the rest of the season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,003 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

fade2black wrote:

My sentiments exactly.

I did fell sorry for the defender that scored the own Goal but Ruud was nicely positioned to scored have scored had he not.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

not a great performance but we will take it, 2 points ahead of the old enemy, 10 goal difference, game in hand, ours to lose really, but I am sure that they will try and mess it up some how!!!

Thought O'shea was mediocre, Wigan were a dirty shower, tried kicking United around the place but a nice bit of pox got us the win.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,709 ✭✭✭BolBill

United were poxed !!!! and Sir Alex jumping around like they'd won the league, oh how important it is to finish ahead of the Champions of Europe it must be

BolBill wrote:
    United were poxed !!!! and Sir Alex jumping around like they'd won the league, oh how important it is to finish ahead of the Champions of Europe it must be

poxed?

BolBill wrote:
    Yeah, what was Sir Alex at, celebrating a last minute winning goal. :rolleyes:

Finishing above the current champions of europe isn't all that important to us. We've done that all bar once for the past 12 odd years.

Finishing 2nd, in a world cup year however, is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,987 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

I felt sick for wigan, but sometimes you win games, you shouldn't

Kav had a good game i though, a lot to be said for Wigan feeling hard done by against United, considering they were a Championship team last year, shows the leaps they've made.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

fade2black wrote:

Sometimes I do wonder tbqh...Can't help but take a dig at the fans ffs.

tbqh eh? oooh.