Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

My Circumcision Story

• Registered Users Posts: 112 ✭✭Nip The Tip

Ha ha.

Just reading back through the thread and noticed the way you can see now what the lads were talking about, only a couple of days ago it was all hypothetical to me.

Hopefully pretty soon I'll be able to say what difference it makes to d'aul sex life (or lack thereof :pac:) as I'll be one of the few who can say what it's like with and without a foreskin.

Don't know if I can PM but if anyone has any questions I'd be happy to help.

Day 3

Ok so 72hrs since op.

Slept better last night than previous night, woke up once or twice (always close enough to normal wake up time) due to the involuntary rodding but today it was no biggie. Perhaps because I know what's going on now.
    Yesterday morning I woke up in a bit of a panic, even though I was expecting it, I guess you just need to experience it yourself to be totally ok with it.
    However 1st morning was grand, no boners, I'd say the brain was on high alert not to go there. But the 2nd & 3rd (today) mornings I was on the horn.

Small bit of bleeding again overnight, nothing really just like I knocked a small scab off.
    Dressing I put on last night came off overnight though.
    Still no need to take painkillers - I'd say if you don't need them the first night then you're laughing (well, ok not actually laughing).

I also got in contact with the surgeon yesterday about the bad bruising on the right side, he said it's just a pool of blood under the skin from a
    vessel that leaked a bit after being sewn up, it will gradually disperse over a couple of weeks. No biggie.
    I'm not surpised as I had a big triumphant bastard of a vein on that side. I just hope it does clear up and I don't need a mini-op to remove the
    blood in future so my lad doesn't resemble Mikhail Gorbachev.

Observations;
    • I had it lying out unbandaged for several hours in total yesterday, I think this really helps the recovery
    • Personally I could walk to the shops at any stage since the op, albeit at a relaxed pace and feet a little wider than normal. You feel fairly safe when it's got a gauze on it and nice tight jocks to keep it nestled safely against your abdomen (or in my case, chest :pac:). I went for a wander around town today, back walking normally :)
    • Wound looks like it has healed a bit today, as it also did yesterday. Throat is also much improved this morning.

• Registered Users Posts: 315 ✭✭Mister R

I have been lurking around this thread for probably the best part of a year now, anyway I'm 19 and have known for quite a while that there is a problem down there and then discovered it was full phimosis (and its defiantly full) anyway I have been putting of the inevitable and really feel like I have to just bite the bullet and go to a GP. I am actually sh*tting it but this thread has been quite informative.

btw thanks for the day by day updates.

That video on daily motion kinda freaked me out a bit but I think I just have to get this sorted out at this stage, its not doing wonders for my confidence and I just need it not to be a problem any more.

• Registered Users Posts: 279 ✭✭apope8

Mister R wrote: »
    I have been lurking around this thread for probably the best part of a year now, anyway I'm 19 and have known for quite a while that there is a problem down there and then discovered it was full phimosis (and its defiantly full) anyway I have been putting of the inevitable and really feel like I have to just bite the bullet and go to a GP. I am actually sh*tting it but this thread has been quite informative.

btw thanks for the day by day updates.

That video on daily motion kinda freaked me out a bit but I think I just have to get this sorted out at this stage, its not doing wonders for my confidence and I just need it not to be a problem any more.
    Hey Mr R. I know how you feel I put it off for years before I had the courage to go to a gp.
    It literally took two mins for him to have a look and give me a referral for a urologist. Was kicking myself that I put it off so long. So I would highly recommend just going down to your doc ul be in and out in a flash and feel so much better!

Day 4

96hrs since op.

Not too much to report today, other than despite getting a rake of persistent boners around 6 this morning the wound seems to be healing nicely.

The haematoma/bubble bruise has almost completely disappeared, only a kind of redness of the skin now, like you're after rodgering the daylights out of the missus.

No blood spilled last night despite the battalion of boners but there is a bit of dead skin coming off around the wound, probably due to the vazeline I dawbed on it last night - vazeline has a tendency to do bring the dead skin off my lip so this is no surprise.

Obsevations:
    • Last night, instead of putting vazeline on a strip of gauze (gets a bit messy) I just put little dollicks of vazeline around the cut and a little bit on the head with fingertip, then applied the strip of gauze. This was less messy vazeline-wise and seemed to make a noticeable difference overnight in terms of healing rate.
    • My throat is back to normal.

For circumcisions Blue Peter says;
    > Few packs of "gauze swabs" (woven type best for air free-flow), 5 per pack, about 50c a pack (looks like a 10-slice pack of ham)
    > Roll of surgical style tape, about €1
    > Big tub of vazeline (i got the huge one, was too much!
    > Scissors (get help from a grown-up)
    > Pint glass or a jug for pouring
    > Bottle of salt
    > Soft towel

Day 5

Well lads

Noticeably closer to normal colour again today, head is the finest, wound is healing nicely. I think this dawbing on vazeline around the cut etc going to bed is genius. Boners during night were just a bit uncomfortable, no more stinging around the cut.

However I have noticed a hard bump like a bit of a ridge on the left and right sides of the lad up near the head. It's not the stitches, I made sure of that. It's something else.

Anybody else have anything like this following the circ?
    I'm sure the missus will enjoy it but I'm a bit concerned.

It's not really sore or anything, plus it's on both sides and not one, but I'm wondering if the surgeon went a bit too deep with the blade and injured the penile shaft itself, under the skin :confused:
    I'll give him a shout on Monday, see what the story is.

As usual give us a shout if ya have any q's about the job.

Observations:
    • vazeline directly on the cut itself is good
    • leaving it hang loose with the air at is good

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

How far back do they cut out of curiosity? Is it just to the start of the head, or the skin before that?

I'm no surgeon but they started about 7mm back from the top ridge of the head on me, and then this kind of tapered off down the sides so that they joined the remaining shaft skin up to just short of where the frenulum/banjo used to be.

They need a little bit of the inner foreskin left over to sew the shaft skin to.

I don't know how much skin they removed but it appears to be all of the inner foreskin (bar that 7mm) and a bit from the outer skin (looks like normal skin) from me as that was required under the reason I had to get circumcised.

I really wondered myself how they know how much skin to take as every man is different in terms of length. You can't tell at all as your lad is all shriveled up in anticipation when you're on the operating table.
    Unless they inject you with viagra too so they can see your rod and how much skin etc :pac:

You don't want to end up with too little skin left or it will be stretched when in erection. Conversely, too much left over is ok considering you can always remove more.
    I got myself on a "full" rod today to see does it still work, the erections don't hurt anymore now (5 days since op) but I couldn't get a full erection.
    It stopped about 1" short of normal (so it only rose to about 14" today :pac:). I think one of the lads on here said that his erection post-op was smaller than before too. The head didn't enlarge really at all either so I'm guessing it's a healing thing and takes time to erect to full size again :confused:
    I mean it's only been 5 days.

Hmmm. I hope this doesn't sound like a stupid question (you may lol if it is!) but is it possible that they could remove a section of the penile shaft itself during circumcision??

I'm getting paranoid over what this bumpy ridge around my lad is, about 15mm before the head, maybe it's a load of stitches?
    I mean my rod was considerably shorter today than it was before.... :(
    seriously I'm getting paranoid now... did they remove too much skin and then they had to remove some shaft to compensate?? aaaaaaaaaaargh I'm not gonna sleep tonight :(

Day 6

Well not much changed since yesterday, except that I've been walking around town etc with no gauze etc on, just me jocks. (and other clothes, obviously)
    The head is getting used to its new environment pretty quickly, it was never that uncomfortable but now it's touching/rubbing off stuff & I don't even notice until I see it touching whatever. :cool:

Back to work tomorrow, which means a lot of walking, but I'm going to try it with just jocks and no bandage. I'll bring a gauze & vazeline along to be on stand-by though.

I also think the stitches are dissolving the last few days. It appears as though I'm healing quicker than most, especially that haematoma blood bubble disappeared in only a couple days.:)

It'll be a week tomorrow since the op, seems like a few weeks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 gvictory

Day 5

However I have noticed a hard bump like a bit of a ridge on the left and right sides of the lad up near the head. It's not the stitches, I made sure of that. It's something else.

Anybody else have anything like this following the circ?

[/LIST]

I have a slight bump close to the head as well. In my case I think this is where they closed off the vain that originally ran through the foreskin over my penis. I'd say they had to tie a knot in it (or suture it) which is the bump I see.

I'd still talk to your surgeon though if you're worried. Better safe than sorry!

Glad things are going well for you.

I'm on day 21 now and it's healing up nicely.

• Registered Users Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Hi all, goin un regged here.

I'm 36 and always had a tight foreskin. When i was around 28 i finally plucked up the courage to mention it to my doc who then referred me too a specialist. He said the a circumsition would be the best option but because i am overweight i would need to lose a few stone before he would carry out the procedure. He also told me to keep pulling back the foreskin to try and stretch it whenever i was in the shower or toilet.

Anyways being a man i never lost the weight and never went back.....

For some reason or another about a month ago i remembered what he said about pulling back in the shower and started to do it.....to give you an idea of how tight it was....i could just about see my.....dunno what the proper name is.....japs eye!

Last Monday it happened....i managed to pull it back all the way over the head.....for the first time in my life i could see my head.... and for the first time in my life i felt and looked....NORMAL....and petrified cos for a moment, which felt like a lifetime, i couldnt get it back down!!!

But it did in the end and now i can pull it back anytime when flacid....not when fully erect yet but even when erect it comes down way more than it ever did.

So guys.....get playing with yourselves....what happened to me could happen to you!

Day 7

One week since op today.

Back to work today, left the lad hangin' loose & full of juice (but not ready for use/abuse) in me jocks all day, hardly noticed it at all. The odd time though, one of the half-dissolved stitches that sticks out like a broken nail getting caught in everything, got caught in the jocks seam or something and reminded me that I'm still healing :rolleyes:

Nowhere near attempting an act of self lovage or missus lovage yet though.

The topside is healing really well but the underside, still has a little scab on it and the side still have barb-like stitches poking out. But that's ok as I read some online blurb about circumcisions and they said that the frenulum area takes longer to heal than the topside.

I'll still vazeline & gauze it going to bed though, not that brave yet.

gvictory wrote: »
    I have a slight bump close to the head as well. In my case I think this is where they closed off the vain that originally ran through the foreskin over my penis. I'd say they had to tie a knot in it (or suture it) which is the bump I see.

I'd still talk to your surgeon though if you're worried. Better safe than sorry!

Glad things are going well for you.

I'm on day 21 now and it's healing up nicely.

Good to hear you're getting on well.

I don't think it's the veins with me though, the ridges seem to be under the skin and not in it. Having said that I did have quite a triumphant bastard of a vein on the right side, but higher up than where the ridge is.
    Didn't call the doc today though, was too busy at work. Think the ridge has gone down a bit in size so I'll see tomorrow if it improves or not & decide to call doc or not after that. Thanks.

• Registered Users Posts: 26 MirLou

Admire you guys that have all being so open. Hope all the pain is well away and others can get the needed courage from your helpful tips etc. Thanks to each one who wrote here as I have got lots of help also.

Good health, pleasure and wealth to you all.

Day 8

Well more of the same as yesterday, spent the whole day at work with no bandage, don't notice the head moving about in me jocks at all, but the stitches were a real bastid today.
    They're all dissolved at one end so the rest springs up and points out, the wound looks like the top of a prison wall with barbed wire on it now :rolleyes:
    But the little buggers catch now and again and give you an unwelcome dart in the old wound.

Still didn't call the doc about the lump on side of lad (feckin busy) but I'll have to make it a priority tomorrow as the skin over this ridge thing went a bit swelled and rubbery looking, like it got infected or something.. so it's worrying now. The ridge was going down very gradually before.

Observations:
    • Be prepared with a nail clippers to clip off the excess barbs of sutures, unless you like getting them caught in your jocks!

The slight lumps or ridges as some people call them are where veins have been cut and tied off in a knot to seal them up. They are like little lumps for a few months afterwards, but for the most part will disappear.

I'm over a year done and feel the weight off my shoulders so if your having an issue get it sorted, simplist easiet thing int he world, although it doesnt feel like that now, it will when youve gone thorugh it.

Day 9

Again healing appears to be coming along well, after clipping off the stray bits of redundant stitches last night today was much less eventful in terms of catching etc.

Kinda getting impatient with the healing up etc at times because m'lady needs a good rodgering. But I suppose in the scheme of things it's a short time.

BTW the aul erections appear to be getting back to normal size etc, still not sure that the length is what it used to be, I think the mental thing and the stitches/healing wound etc is preventing me getting the full 9 yards (literally :pac:).

Called the surgeon's secretary too, she didn't seem too bothered about my bump/ridge on side of lad and more or less said meh it will do next Wednesday at your check-up appointment unless it starts hurting or getting bigger etc. So I wasn't too impressed with that but then again I was worried over the haematoma and that disappeared in no time.

I'm still throwing on blobs of vazeline and a single layer gauze at night to mind the remaining stitches, think the vaz helps well with the healing. I think once the last stitch is out I'll give up the gauze. Missus got some weird & wonderful creams etc from her various sources, I better give them a go or I'll be shown the back of the hand :)

Day 10

Yep, I *am* still writing these updates everyday :D

Ok so more of the same really, lad rolling around jocks all day and I don't even notice. Stitches didn't give me any grief today so I'd say they're on their last legs. Wound is healing up nicely, getting smoother etc as the days go by.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,476 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

Well done. :)

Day 14

2 weeks since op.

Only a few bits of stitches hanging in there now, as usual the last bit is always the hardest/slowest. The bits that are left are on top of the skin, so I guess they won't dissolve at normal rate unless they are submerged in skin.
    Have the 2 week check up on Wednesday (Monday now) so I think the surgeon may remove the last few bits, or he could say "meh, leave them be".

Anyway, I was worried before about the erection being shorter than before. I measured it yesterday and it is definitely almost 2cm shorter than before :(
    what's that about.
    I think the bump on the side is (like your man said on here before) the knotted up end of the vein that had to be cut in line with the removed skin. Now that the swelling is gone I can see it better. It looks like that vein used to connect into the end of my dinkle just before the head.
    In that case it would supply blood to the end third of my tool - so if it was blanked off, my little dude wouldn't extend quite as far as normal.......... which is exactly the symptom I'm getting.
    The surgeon has a lot to answer for on Wednesday. I think he'll just say "meh, it's only your imagination" or something.
    It ain't my imagination. I measured it before and after. It's 2cm shorter, not 2mm. :mad: I have pictures... PICTURES!!
    So not a happy chappy at the mo.

The missus says the blood will find another way down as it heals, but I think she's just trying to reassure me :rolleyes:

Yeah so basically I'm saying I think circumcision has shortened my langer.
    I don't want to perpetrate a false myth or anything, so I'm just stating the facts as they occur.

On the plus side, I'm wandering around as usual with lad in jocks and I don't even notice anymore. It's got so comfortable that I've stopped using gauze etc at night for "just in case" protection.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,925 ✭✭✭Otis Driftwood

Day 14

The missus says the blood will find another way down as it heals, but I think she's just trying to reassure me :rolleyes:

She probably is right you know.Still,no harm to mention it at your check up.

• Registered Users Posts: 102 ✭✭RolfHarris

Great updates. I'm really enjoying your posts and they bring back a lot of memories for me.

As for length, I thought mine was smaller after the cut, but I can tell you that it doesn't make a difference at all.

As tbh once said on this thread - if you cut the sleeves off your jumper, it doesn't make your arms any shorter ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

Day 16

2 weeks & 2 days since op
    2-week post-op checkup with surgeon

Ok so I went into your man today and he reckons it's healing up great. The stitches, what's left of them, are but mere dried up things like bits of old skin ready to fall off and reveal the fresh new skin underneath. He said leave them be, same as you should leave a scab to fall off naturally and not pick it.

He said the lump things I have under the skin way down there just short of the head are the veins which used to supply the foreskin with blood, and were tied closed in the op. Apparently they will gradually wither down (the lumps) over time.

Now, the whole 2cm shorter issue. He didn't say it was my imagination or anything, just said that having suffered such trauma to a sensitive area only 2 weeks ago, it will be several weeks before I'll be completely healed. At that point the length should be back to what it was, along with erection stiffness and all the other variables.
    So sounds like the missus was right about the thing taking time to return to normal.

I'm keeping an eye (and a measuring tape :pac:) on it though....

Still haven't partaken in intercourse with m'lady since 5 minutes before the op. Feeling like I'm ready now but that could be the hormones talking.
    So the plan is to hold on until all trace of stitching is gone, throw a condom on for a bit of protection (she doesn't like gauze :pac:) and take it veeeeeeeery easy :D

Hi all, going unreg for this. I'm scheduled for a full circumcision in a few weeks. I've read all of this thread and found it very informative (thanks to all - particularly tbh who started the ball rolling). Thought I'd keep the thread going for the next few weeks and tell my story as it happens.

One thing I'd like to point out in advance. I'm in my late 30's and never really had an issue until the last couple of years. In my case the tightness in the foreskin is caused by BXo (more details here http://emedicine.medscape.com/article/1074054-overview). I just want to re-iterate what previous posters have said. If you have issues retracting your foreskin go to your doctor and get a referral. If your case involves BXo it can get really nasty if untreated to the point where a circumcision will be the least of your worries. Get this seen to early!

In my case I can just about retract it when flaccid but not a hope when it's ready for action :). Even if I do retract it getting it back into place is painful to the point that my consultant advised me not to bother. He said I'd have a serious risk of an emergency circumcision so best to avoid that!

Anyways, I am nervous about the op as I have never been under the knife but apart from that I'm glad that I'm going to get this sorted. If anyone has any questions feel free to ask and I'll do my best to respond.

Day 18

Back having spousal intercourse.

Well it's Day 19 now, but last night was Day 18. So by now there are only 1 or 2 bits of dried up skin/dead skin/semi scabby/stitch remains left, so I threw a dollick of vazeline on the bit of a stitch by the frenubanjolum and then an easy-on over the lot, and proceeded to engage in intimacy with the long-awaiting Mrs. Nip The Tip :D

Needless to say it was a great feeling to be back at it and 5 mins later I knew it all works ok still after the 3 weeks :rolleyes:

The wound seemed a bit on the red side after, especially around the stitches so I won't be giving her the seeing-to of her life anytime soon.

But it's good to be back.

Day 21 - 3 weeks since op
    But it's good to be back.
    Famous last words :rolleyes:

I partook in relations with Mrs. Nip The Tip last night again (rested him Saturday night) with a jonny on for a bit of protection to the cut.
    I felt a few sharpish darts of pain in the frenubanjolum area and also on top just behind the head. So I look down and lo behold the jonny has a load of blood in it :eek:
    Turns out something under the new manufactured frenulum started bleeding, quite a bit, but stopped once I stopped, the fact the rod dropped like a rock when I saw the blood probably contributed too.

So looks like I'm back to abstaining for another couple of weeks :(
    Mrs. NTP feels really bad about it.
    At least the last of the stitches fell off yesterday - 3 weeks it took.

During washing it after, I also noticed the bit on top behind the head was gone swollen and real pale. It's gone since but at the time I was worried. I guess it is just the last bit of the inner foreskin, which was never exposed to such conditions before.
    I'm worried I've upset the same thing that was bleeding bad when I was in the ward too.

Ah well. Roll on December :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,689 ✭✭✭orangerooster

Guess I'm the latest to join this club. Don't post much about here anymore so **** it I'll post about it.

Went in this morning around 8 ish and was bounced around the place for a while till they came for me at around one in the afternoon. Knocked out and localled but came to with a start (scared the **** out of the nurse beside me) with no pain.

Wheeled back up and drank a rake of water since I had been fasting or whatever. Nurse came and checked said it was grand. No pain apart from a little bit of discomfort here and there (local was probably still doing its thing). Ate a bit then was told I could go if I could piss.

This took ****ing ages and I went through a few sets of dressings before I eventually did it. Went all over the place but it didn't sting. Nurse noticed a bit of bruising while putting the bandage back on but said it was fine.

Bandage promptly fell off as soon as I got home but was told to do the salt thing first thing in the morning and not to reapply to get rid of it anyway so it's no biggy.

It's starting to get a little sore now and looks absolutely atrocious but this thread has led me to believe it's normal. Am pissing normally again and feeling pretty decent about the whole thing.

Wearing loose boxers but rubbing hasn't been a huge issue. Terrified of going to sleep in case I get a rager but I guess I'll have to just risk it at some point. If anything I described here sounds fishy to any of the veterans please tell me.

• Registered Users Posts: 279 ✭✭apope8

Knocked out and localled but came to with a start (scared the **** out of the nurse beside me) with no pain.

Did you say you woke up during the op?