Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

My Circumcision Story

• Registered Users Posts: 865 ✭✭✭MajorMax

I got cut when I was 18, very glad I did. I would reccomend this to everyone, not just for aestetic or hygiene reasons. I work in an office on a team with 2 guys and 1 girl all the guys are cut and the girl says she prefers cut guys (Not the weirdest conversation we've had in work)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 4skin

MajorMax wrote: »
    I got cut when I was 18, very glad I did. I would reccomend this to everyone, not just for aestetic or hygiene reasons. I work in an office on a team with 2 guys and 1 girl all the guys are cut and the girl says she prefers cut guys (Not the weirdest conversation we've had in work)

/Awaits telling off from Wibbs...:p

• Registered Users Posts: 112 ✭✭Nip The Tip

I work in an office on a team with 2 guys and 1 girl all the guys are cut and the girl says she prefers cut guys (Not the weirdest conversation we've had in work)

Please tell me you 3 gangbanged her after she said this....

• Registered Users Posts: 233 ✭✭Iderown

I got cut when I was 18, very glad I did. I would recommend this to everyone, not just for aesthetic or hygiene reasons. I work in an office on a team with 2 guys and 1 girl all the guys are cut and the girl says she prefers cut guys (Not the weirdest conversation we've had in work)

I would fit in well there - have the necessary qualification. Are there any openings? I should mention that I prefer my women to have been circumcised.

Seriously, do women who prefer cut guys go on the have their new-born sons circumcised? Would that be allowed in the Ireland of today?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 249 ✭✭Stu

Cock cheese doesn't taste that bad. I just want to re-iterate that this is what i was told :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 bin_the_skin

Quick question guys.

For years I could never see my glans at all and thought this was completely normal until I came across information to the contrary online about 2 years ago.

Gradually I started stretching and saw slow progress. After about a year of on and off stretching I could fully retract my foreskin when flaccid. Six months later I could retract it fully when erect.

In this state the foreskin rests just under the bottom of my glans but it always comes back up again; it never stays retracted. It's an effort to get the foreskin in this position when erect and it never lasts. Also the thick band of foreskin in this position makes it difficult to get a condom on, and the movement of the condom is always slightly irritating on the band of foreskin, not sure, but enough to disrupt the pleasure of intercourse and make me lose my erection.

Despite being able to retract my foreskin fully, do I need a circumcision? its as if I just have too much foreskin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

Lads let's maintain our standards - general chat is grand but it's not really a banter thread.

• Registered Users Posts: 73 ✭✭westskipper

OK lads, here's one for ye:
    Having been 'done' over 4 months ago, very successful in every way i might add, the only gripe i have at this stage is that the circ has ended up a little looser that i had hoped for - at flaccid, the glans is about 1/2 covered by the remaining foreskin and i would much prefer if this wasnt the case. I would rather the glans was completely uncovered and that at full erection the skin was pulled tighter, as there is still some 'play' in the skin no matter how hard.

As i am a 'grower', i suppose the doc didnt want to chance taking too much off initially in case it ended up too short and caused problems then with not enough foreskin to handle a full erection, but he did say that i could come back after a few months and have it tightened if i thought it was too loose.

I am thinking of getting that done soon, but want to ask if others have the same issue - if they are growers who go from small to large and have exposed glans when small yet enough foreskin to handle a full erection, even if it is stretched fairly tight? I suppose these is a very fine line between between having too much or too little foreskin in such cases, with perhaps an inch making all the difference either way ?

Has anyone ended up with the circ being too tight when fully erect ?

At least the benefit of having been cut already is that i know what to expect and also can indicate where and how much I want removed this time.
    So long as it isnt too tight to cause problems when fully erect, a tight cut is the only way to go i reckon, i am not a fan of a medium or loose cut.

Quick question guys.

For years I could never see my glans at all and thought this was completely normal until I came across information to the contrary online about 2 years ago.

Gradually I started stretching and saw slow progress. After about a year of on and off stretching I could fully retract my foreskin when flaccid. Six months later I could retract it fully when erect.

In this state the foreskin rests just under the bottom of my glans but it always comes back up again; it never stays retracted. It's an effort to get the foreskin in this position when erect and it never lasts. Also the thick band of foreskin in this position makes it difficult to get a condom on, and the movement of the condom is always slightly irritating on the band of foreskin, not sure, but enough to disrupt the pleasure of intercourse and make me lose my erection.

Despite being able to retract my foreskin fully, do I need a circumcision? its as if I just have too much foreskin.

Best to talk to a doctor about it..
    OK lads, here's one for ye:
    Having been 'done' over 4 months ago, very successful in every way i might add, the only gripe i have at this stage is that the circ has ended up a little looser that i had hoped for - at flaccid, the glans is about 1/2 covered by the remaining foreskin and i would much prefer if this wasnt the case. I would rather the glans was completely uncovered and that at full erection the skin was pulled tighter, as there is still some 'play' in the skin no matter how hard.

As i am a 'grower', i suppose the doc didnt want to chance taking too much off initially in case it ended up too short and caused problems then with not enough foreskin to handle a full erection, but he did say that i could come back after a few months and have it tightened if i thought it was too loose.

I am thinking of getting that done soon, but want to ask if others have the same issue - if they are growers who go from small to large and have exposed glans when small yet enough foreskin to handle a full erection, even if it is stretched fairly tight? I suppose these is a very fine line between between having too much or too little foreskin in such cases, with perhaps an inch making all the difference either way ?

At least the benefit of having been cut already is that i know what to expect and also can indicate where and how much I want removed this time.
    So long as it isnt too tight to cause problems when fully erect, a tight cut is the only way to go i reckon, i am not a fan of a medium or loose cut.

Yeah same here WS, mine's a tad on the loose side when erect for my liking, but going through the risks of a procedure and all the healing time and blue balls and making excuses for family & friends again, for a tweak? No thanks.
    Before (with foreskin) it was well worth the work, but not now for a little cherry on top.

I know what you mean by the glans getting a bit too covered up when flaccid, but I think for me it's mainly due to the cold weather :rolleyes: my glans kind of retreats back in as far as possible the last few months, but in warmer environments it's grand... just a tad too much skin though (for my liking).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 329 ✭✭!!!

Anybody else **** too early and lose the stitches? :(

!!! wrote: »
    Anybody else **** too early and lose the stitches? :(

Nearly. It was like day 5 I think, it was a stupid idea and i stopped halfway through, as hard as that was. Doesn't bother me as much now though, when that happened I honestly was bursting for release(pun intended), but now, on day 11 it doesn't bother me at all. (Still looking forward to one though:D)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 bin_the_skin

Best to talk to a doctor about it..

Being a medical student I know there's not much a doctor can tell me except ask what I think is best for me.

I was looking for opinions of people who might've been in a similar situation - any thoughts welcome!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

Being a medical student I know there's not much a doctor can tell me except ask what I think is best for me.

I was looking for opinions of people who might've been in a similar situation - any thoughts welcome!

I think the point is, tho, that the doctor will be able to tell you what your options are. Personally, it shouldn't be going you any trouble, and if it is, you should genit sorted. However a doc could tell you if you need creams or an op or whatever, and you'll have to weigh up if the benefit is worth the risk. But yeah, if you're asking should I learn to live with it or should I get an op, personally, I'd go for the op

BTS, i was in same situation as you until a few months ago. Thick and short tight frenulum, coupled with long tight foreskin. problems skinning it back, even to wash behind it - frequent mild bleeding, esp after sex from the inner foreskin where it got streched so badly. the streching and tearing caused two other complications: 1. mild skin infections at the site of tearing/bleeding, which would result in intense itching and subsequent swelling and oozing of foul pus. 2. gradual of a phimotic ring of scar tissue which was even less elastic than the thinner skin it was replacing, resulting in the problem getting worse with time - vicious circle really.

I decided to book myself into private clinic last november and have a circ. result was almost instantaneous - not one infection since, everything stays clean and sweet, really easy to wash, no nasty odours and most importantly no disappointments during sex. All positive, i have been raving about the benefits ever since.

based on my experience, i would suggest you may need to consider the same route - i doubt you will regret it, i certainly dont and i'm not sorry i got it done for one second. Circumcision can be highly beneficial in such circumstances, i doubt any amount of stretching will help - esp with the frenulum problem.

My only regret is that i didnt get a tighter cut - mine is a little loose - medium cut i suppose, and i would prefer if it was tighter now. I also asked for a high cut, and i am happy i did, since i still have a lot of sensitivity from all of the formerly inner foreskin that was retained - only outer foreskin was removed.

I am no medic, but your case sounds a lot like mine and based on my experience i would say look into circumcision as the best option.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,054 ✭✭✭Zipppy

Well guys me again..... Strectching did no real good .. so I'm booked in again for 5/5 and going through with it this time... My ONLY worry at this stage is that like the poster below, I'm a grower and am concerned that doc wont leave enough skin and that erection will be tight and uncomfortable... Should I make new appointment with doc before op (on 5/5) to explain my fears and expectations ???

• Registered Users Posts: 12 username_

Hi there, tomorrow Ill be 4 weeks post chop. Have a few questions for the guys who are passed my stage if they can help!

The lad seems to be healling well now but I didnt take stiches out as I was told to leave em dissolve and there is kinda a ripple on one side near the top of my dick where the scar line begins. Question did you guys leave in the stiches? if yes, did any of yea get these ripples and did they go away.

Finally am managing to have a good Tug and enjoy it!!!! thank God!!!:D:D But havent tried sex with my wife yet which is driving me crazy (if I dont soon she will probably divorce me as well!:pac:). Although I seem to be well healed as in along the scar line is Im a little afraid of what happend to you nip ? So am just wondering when you all were able to sex? :confused:

Also a bit different currently when Im having a tug I need loads of lube which I never needed before as I guess I use to have a foreskin !!! Either way am enjoying a bit of a different sensation. Just wondering how have the rest of you got on with using condoms and having sex and advice for the first time back at it ( If anyone repplies its like riding a bike you never forget ill kill ya)
    Cheers for any help;)

Zipppy wrote: »
    ...Should I make new appointment with doc before op (on 5/5) to explain my fears and expectations ???

Yes! It'd be interesting to know how they know where to cut and how much to take etc, like do they inject you with viagra when you're out cold or what?? :D

username_ wrote: »
    Although I seem to be well healed as in along the scar line is Im a little afraid of what happend to you nip ? So am just wondering when you all were able to sex? :confused:

Also a bit different currently when Im having a tug I need loads of lube which I never needed before as I guess I use to have a foreskin !!! Either way am enjoying a bit of a different sensation. Just wondering how have the rest of you got on with using condoms and having sex and advice for the first time back at it ( If anyone repplies its like riding a bike you never forget ill kill ya)
    Cheers for any help;)

That all sounds the same as what I had. The ripply bits smooth out over time. I did it (very gently) with some vazeline on the scar and a condom after 3 weeks, but then 2 days later I got a bit over eager in sex and made myself bleed :eek: so left it another 5 days or a week or something and then gently went at it again with vazeline and a condom.
    Also yes the first few tugs I had I needed loads of lube too and a loose grip (boy this is getting graphic) as the scar was bumpy and tender.
    But now, since maybe 2 months or so post op I can do it without any lube.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 1984Louise

My boyfriend has this problem now after his circumcision almost 7 weeks ago - the whole thing has been a disaster from start to finish- loss of sexual desire, too tight when erect, hates how it looks, stitches stuck underneath the skin, still swollen and many other problems

1984Louise wrote: »

My boyfriend has this problem now after his circumcision almost 7 weeks ago - the whole thing has been a disaster from start to finish- loss of sexual desire, too tight when erect, hates how it looks, stitches stuck underneath the skin, still swollen and many other problems

If it helps, things do improve drastically with time and perhaps it takes longer in some cases than others. The skin will stretch a bit and any ridges,wrinkles etc pull out smooth after a while and the colouration starts to blend, as does the scar, after month 3-4. It will improve, eventually he and you will hardly notice. The sexual desire comes back too - strong as ever - dont worry....

hope your right, when he mentioned this to his GP he was prescribed viagra - which obviously isnt a solution to this problem!

• Registered Users Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Hey guys,

i went for my appointment with the urologist after the GP(without even looking at the foreskin) said that from what i was telling him a circumcision was needed.

My situation is that ive never been able to pull back the foreskin over the head, didnt really know for years i was meant to do it, im in my mid-20's now.

anyway i got to the urologist and he told me to whip it out, he asked how far i could pull back and i sort of held the skin back creating a little opening, he then put his hand on it and in one swoop pulled it all the way back, didnt hurt me at all. turns out it was my own inhibitions of what felt right and wrong, and the years of not knowing what i was doing(really highlights that there should be more general info available on this.)

he said i was fine and that usually there is irritation but for me there isnt, i went home and was able to pull it back while flaccid no bother, while erect it was a bit more difficult but i could get it all the way back over the head too. i did have difficulty trying to get the foreskin back over the head(any advice here welcome)

now what i am worried about is getting used to this situation, i had always thought i would be getting a circumcision so would naturally get used to the new sensations, but the head is really inflamed looking and really really sensitive to touch, i was thinking after the circ the head would de-sensitize itself due to generally being exposed. The foreskin also goes right back behind the head and stays there until i force it back up, is this meant to happen? i had assumed from reading this thread people pulled the foreskin over and back over the head with ease to masterbate?

hope your right, when he mentioned this to his GP he was prescribed viagra - which obviously isnt a solution to this problem!

I Found that my desires didnt start coming back until after 6 weeks, even then it was probably 10-12 weeks before i had a normal level of hornyness...:D and i'm sure this will vary from one individual to another. My surgeon told me to expect that, it was the body's reaction to the damage that had been done and the healing that was necessary - and he was spot on.

BY about 5 months the scar line has thinned and the colour on both sides is blending very well, and the finished result is looking like it was always like that, difficult to notice the scar at all unless examined closely.

Time will heal all, everything will work as good as it ever did eventually, just have patience....

How's that working out for you?

eh iv asked him not to take it - he's only young and i know its not the solution to his problem!

can sell it to u if you like :D:D:D:D:D (JOKE before i get kicked off the site!)

• Registered Users Posts: 43 scared_silly

I met with the Urologist today. Fortunately she was more older and more pregnant than the pics i had seen of her so no boner when she was inspecting my penis :cool: (it also helped i had a good few **** this morning also!! :o).

Anyway she recommended a full cicrumcision.

I asked about alternatives like the dorsal slit. She said its not as aesthetically pleasing and there is no drastic difference in recovery.

I asked about how much you take off (like is was getting a haircut or something) she said it was upto me, as she would remove everthing that was tight. Did i want to forskin to cover some of the head or none of the head? i said i'd like to keep as much foreskin as possible because i have read about people having too much taken off and erections were uncomfortable because they are tight.

On the stretching front, not much progress in the last couple of weeks since the inital progress so i'm accepting my faith.

The Circumcision is arranged to happened in a month's time. She described the procedure as they will injected a numbing shot into the skin just above the penis and i will be awake as they chop me up...kinda terrified of that!!

Anybody else have their circumcision while they are concious? Any tips how not to freak out? I'm thinking of bringing my ipod and putting a hat large enough to pull over my eyes for the duration of the OP or something.

I met with the Urologist today. Fortunately she was more older and more pregnant than the pics i had seen of her so no boner when she was inspecting my penis :cool: (it also helped i had a good few **** this morning also!! :o).

Anyway she recommended a full cicrumcision.

I asked about alternatives like the dorsal slit. She said its not as aesthetically pleasing and there is no drastic difference in recovery.

I asked about how much you take off (like is was getting a haircut or something) she said it was upto me, as she would remove everthing that was tight. Did i want to forskin to cover some of the head or none of the head? i said i'd like to keep as much foreskin as possible because i have read about people having too much taken off and erections were uncomfortable because they are tight.

On the stretching front, not much progress in the last couple of weeks since the inital progress so i'm accepting my faith.

The Circumcision is arranged to happened in a month's time. She described the procedure as they will injected a numbing shot into the skin just above the penis and i will be awake as they chop me up...kinda terrified of that!!

Anybody else have their circumcision while they are concious? Any tips how not to freak out? I'm thinking of bringing my ipod and putting a hat large enough to pull over my eyes for the duration of the OP or something.

I had mine done under local anaesthetic also. Its fine, you can feel nothing, your are lying down or reclined, so you see nothing, you can close your eyes or stare at the ceiling, or chat to the doc, Its all fine, and you can walk away with none of the affects of a general.

my personal advice re style is get the cut fairly high and fairly tight - too low and you lose some sensation, too loose and it will annoy you as it will sag and half cover your glans when soft, which is neither one thing or another. You dont have to get a dramatic tight cut, but if you are getting circumcised you might as well get it done properly rather than partially, otherwise you may end up getting it redone to tighten it up in a few months....

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,161 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

my personal advice re style is get the cut fairly high and fairly tight - too low and you lose some sensation, too loose and it will annoy you as it will sag and half cover your glans when soft, which is neither one thing or another. You dont have to get a dramatic tight cut, but if you are getting circumcised you might as well get it done properly rather than partially, otherwise you may end up getting it redone to tighten it up in a few months....
    Eh a normal, healthy, fully functioning penis has a foreskin that covers the glans, keeping said glans sensitive and moist and retracts comfortably when required for sex. This is a fact. No if's buts or maybes. Circumcision may be for cultural reasons, but medically surely it's done to relieve a condition and to preserve as much of the natural function as possible? It's hardly "one thing or another" as seems to be the perception of a few on this thread. :confused:

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,161 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

ask her about this, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Preputioplasty you get to keep your bits with all the function and sod all aesthetic change. That link suggests it requires more surgical skill than average(and more than the full snip that's for sure) so maybe that's why it's not given as an alternative?

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,054 ✭✭✭Zipppy

Wibbs wrote: »
    ask her about this, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Preputioplasty you get to keep your bits with all the function and sod all aesthetic change. That link suggests it requires more surgical skill than average(and more than the full snip that's for sure) so maybe that's why it's not given as an alternative?

Hmmm...interesting :) Many of these done in Ireland? Has anyone here had one done? if so by what surgeon??

Wibbs wrote: »
    Eh a normal, healthy, fully functioning penis has a foreskin that covers the glans, keeping said glans sensitive and moist and retracts comfortably when required for sex. This is a fact. No if's buts or maybes. Circumcision may be for cultural reasons, but medically surely it's done to relieve a condition and to preserve as much of the natural function as possible? It's hardly "one thing or another" as seems to be the perception of a few on this thread. :confused:

Here I know it's not good manners to talk back to moderators on boards but Wibbs will you ever give it a rest. We know you are against circumcision unless where absolutely necessary, but that's no reason to be condescending to people who prefer otherwise.

You've presented all the facts etc which is great, but I just really can't understand why you are so anti-circ. The vast majority of people here are very pleased with their decision, it's each to his own and if someone prefers a tight cut or whatever that's up to them, you seem to take personal insult when someone recommends one thing or another regarding a circ. Were you bullied by a circumcised child or what?:p

Anyway that's my contribution for the day.

/awaits ban