Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland Vs England "The decider?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,698 ✭✭✭✭BlitzKrieg

is it a new record beating england 3 in a row?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭evilhomer

yep, the one down-side of winning the game.

If the IRFU have any sense they will sweep Eddie under the rug before the summer tour!

The team showed glimpses of what it could do today, but again poor decisions (i.e going for the corner when we could have three points in front of the posts) had England in the game until the end. I'm convinced this is due to Eddie's instructions pre-game.

Great to see the team do the hattrick over England, but say farewell Eddie, you have brought us as far as you ever will.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 knox1664

So did Paul O Connel get motm or woh??

Goode should have been taken out back at half time and shot in the back of the head. truely awful. Flannery's a legend so's O Connel so's Dricco an horgan.. Not to mention the other 11 or so players... :d

Well done lads!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 938 ✭✭✭chicken_food

fraid ya cant say it was eddies decisions that cost us a bigger lead. Sure he must'v given instructions and prepared the team for the game.but in the end it comes down to BOD and the forwards.Do they have enough in them to reach the line or should they go for the points. BOD made some decisions very fast to keep the momentum going which in hindsight wasnt the smartest thing. I think we played extremely well considering the windy conditions which upsetted our usual kicking style. We showed great determination, the team of last year would've given up in the 75th minute trailing by 3. I hope eddie stays with the team atleast for another year. Hes good with them,well respected and the team play well with him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

fraid ya cant say it was eddies decisions that cost us a bigger lead. Sure he must'v given instructions and prepared the team for the game.but in the end it comes down to BOD and the forwards.Do they have enough in them to reach the line or should they go for the points. BOD made some decisions very fast to keep the momentum going which in hindsight wasnt the smartest thing. I think we played extremely well considering the windy conditions which upsetted our usual kicking style. We showed great determination, the team of last year would've given up in the 75th minute trailing by 3. I hope eddie stays with the team atleast for another year. Hes good with them,well respected and the team play well with him.

disagree. The team have played **** with him. Who picks the captian sure? EOS does. we won today due to 3 poor ref/lineman decisions. We got the very very lucky. That wont last.

Stringer was brutal, hes been very poor for a long long time. What was he playing in the first half when he took a quick tap? His decision making has been below standard for a long time. Its a year and half to the World cup, we should of used this 6 nations as a chance to give some other players a chance. Even a sub appearance is the last 20 minutes. EOS is far to conservative for my liking.

we gave away 11 points straight from kickoff/restarts. 6 of those right after we scored ourselves.

THere alot of flaws in the team, and i cant ever see this team ever winning the championship.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭evilhomer

THere alot of flaws in the team, and i cant ever see this team ever winning the championship.

Can't see this team winning, or can't see them winning with Eddie in charge?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,474 ✭✭✭YeatsCounty

Congrats to the boys! I didn't get to see the game because the only places showing it here were Irish pubs downtown, and I wasn't feeling well enough for a 20 minute bus/metro journey. :(

Are there any medium quality highlights of this match online? I've tried the BBC and RTE but the quality on both sites is quite poor.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 938 ✭✭✭chicken_food

technically we drew the championship, but lost it on points difference. I dont think you can argue with 4 wins out of 5. We started extremely poor in most of our games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,800 ✭✭✭county

only seen the last half hour,pretty gripping stuff and i dont even follow the game,fair play to the irish:rolleyes: ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 151 ✭✭KeithMur

Can't believe Meatloaf won man of the match!!!

Meatloaf
    andy_goode_dragons_203x152.jpg

Andy Goode
    meatloaf.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,252 ✭✭✭Funkstard

disagree. The team have played **** with him. Who picks the captian sure? EOS does. we won today due to 3 poor ref/lineman decisions. We got the very very lucky. That wont last.

Stringer was brutal, hes been very poor for a long long time. What was he playing in the first half when he took a quick tap? His decision making has been below standard for a long time. Its a year and half to the World cup, we should of used this 6 nations as a chance to give some other players a chance. Even a sub appearance is the last 20 minutes. EOS is far to conservative for my liking.

we gave away 11 points straight from kickoff/restarts. 6 of those right after we scored ourselves.

Are you serious? You would have brought on subs in that mother of all nail-biting last 20 minutes? You must be off your head.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 647 ✭✭✭My name is Mud

Have to say, im not much of a rugby follower, but went to the pub with the lads to watch the game and FAIR PLAY! Great night!

Gwan the video ref!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,786 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

Fantasitic win, but it's amazing how perspective changes one's view of a match.
    If you have Sky News go to interactive/sports, there are 27 items.
    Can you guess what the 27th item is?

*True at 11:00 Sunday, will probably change.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,057 ✭✭✭Wacker

Seriously, hats off to Ronan O'Gara for nailing that conversion at the end. It was about as hard a conversion as possible; right by the touchline, wrong side of the pitch for a right-footed kicker, big wind. That conversion meant Ireland could not be caught by a drop goal or penalty, which would have been a definate possibility in the last minute.

It amazes me how fickle a game rugby is sometimes. Think back to the Autumn internationals and how much of a low point it was, now look at this. We were in the doldrums there for a few months, now it's an unbelievable high point.

I swear to god that last try is a complete blur. I remember thinking back trying to think of who made the break, and all have is a vision of someone streaking away making the break, and the whole pub going absolutely insane. One of my friends started crying, my voice is shattered and......oh jesus, just incredible

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,985 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

Funkstard wrote:
    It amazes me how fickle a game rugby is sometimes. Think back to the Autumn internationals and how much of a low point it was, now look at this. We were in the doldrums there for a few months, now it's an unbelievable high point.
    I would have easily sarificed this years triple crown if it meant blooding new players, and having at least some options on the pitch.

If anyone saw the Ireland A demolition of England A, you'd be wondering why some of those players could not have been given 4-5 test games to see what they are like. The only one given that was Tommy Bowe, and it was plainly obvious he's not upto the level yet.

Players such as Kearney, Heaslip, Dowling and O'Leary should have been brought in to at least give us options.

What exactly have we learned player wise this campaign ?

The one star being Flannery, who was amazing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 412 ✭✭An Tarbh

We would not have won that game unless JOC had gotton as much time on the pitch as he did, when he came on, he did the proper work of an openside and it also proved that Wallace for his ball carrying should be no. 8 but since we've won 4 on the spin that backrow that started will start in Hamilton and get the **** kicked out of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

An Tarbh wrote:
    We would not have won that game unless JOC had gotton as much time on the pitch as he did, when he came on, he did the proper work of an openside and it also proved that Wallace for his ball carrying should be no. 8 but since we've won 4 on the spin that backrow that started will start in Hamilton and get the **** kicked out of it.

...the same JOC who gave a way an absolutely moronic penalty three mins from the end that should have cost ireland the match?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,012 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Yeah O'Connor came on as a blood replacement for Wallace and conceded a penalty immediately for coming in from the side!! He needs to control his discipline.

O'Gara's goal-kicking was the low point for me, otherwise I havent got the energy to explain how I felt after Horgan's try at the end. I thought for a minute I was going to cry! All heads turn to 2 weeks from now. HC quarter finals!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,483 ✭✭✭✭daveirl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

daveirl wrote:

i feel the same way...we should be aiming to win the championships, not just triple crowns

Scotland are woefully weak outside Murrayfield, Wales are a rable and england are an underprepared, confused shambles.

On the other hand hopefully the provinces will be able to regain their momentum on the back of the feelgood factor of wining an actual trophy for once

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Amazotheamazing

Wacker wrote:
    Seriously, hats off to Ronan O'Gara for nailing that conversion at the end. It was about as hard a conversion as possible; right by the touchline, wrong side of the pitch for a right-footed kicker, big wind. That conversion meant Ireland could not be caught by a drop goal or penalty, which would have been a definate possibility in the last minute.

Pity he had been pretty poor for the previous 77 minutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,301 ✭✭✭Snickers Man

BlitzKrieg wrote:
    is it a new record beating england 3 in a row?

How old are you sonny?

We beat them five times in a row in the 1970s. I remember it well.

1972 - Twickenham. Two weeks after bloody Sunday. Last minute try by Kevin Flynn gives the game to Ireland 16-12. That was our second away victory that season but Wales and Scotland wouldn't come to Dublin thereby robbing us of a CERTAIN Grand Slam.

1973- England DO come to Dublin and get a standing ovation. We're the better side and win 18-9

1974 - Twickenham. Classic match. Mike Gibson in scintillating form. Scores two tries as we win 26-21. Until yesterday our record points total against England

1975 Dour match. A late try by portly Ulster out half Billy McCombe, recalled to the team after an absence seven years gives us a 12-9 victory.

1976 Twickenham Another portly out half recalled to the team Barry 'Fat Boy' McGann behaves completely out of character to make a blind side break and set up a scoring pass for Tom Grace to clinch a victory by a single point.

And the match that stopped the rot for England---1977 After years in the doldrums England put together a reasonably successful side stringing a few victories together using classic 'up the jumper' tactics. Built around Roger Uttley, this match was a typical example of the genre. They won 4-0 with a late try. Oh well. At least we could watch the grass grow.

I sense another five in a row (at least) coming on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Note to Snickers Man, I follow Ireland in rugby. Nothing I said was incorrect. :)

Mike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,483 ✭✭✭✭daveirl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 550 ✭✭✭Teg Veece

Have to disagree with you on your criticism of Stringer. He had a good championship and I thought he had his best game in years against Scotland. He was unlucky not to get man of the match. I reckon he's been the best passer of the ball in Ireland for quite a few years now.
    In an ideal world you'd have a scrum half who could also make breaks but at the moment, Stringer is the best option.

I agree with you that EOS is far too conservative and he needs to blood new players but bringing on a sub in the last 20 minutes of Ireland's most important game for a year just to give him some time on a rugby pitch is diriculous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Amazotheamazing

It's funny, O'Gara carried Stringer for ages, dealing with bad ball and playing really well. Now Stringer is playing really well and O'Gara is having his worst Ireland form in years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

Great game! Was fantastic drama to clinch the triple crown!! One of the best 6N matches I've ever experienced as a Irish fan..up there with paris in 2001, scotland in 2004 when we won the triple crown, England game in 2004 when we were the first side to rock the world champions and in their own back yard aswell...but let's not get carried away...devil's advocate:

This is another year as "nearly men" when if we had perfromed to our ability we would have won a grande slam...something that seems to be beyond us, despite a handfull of recent tournaments when we were the best side in the competition...we also put in poor performances against Italy, France and Scotland and lest we forget when we were tested against "real" oposition in the Autumn, we were humiliated as badly as I can remember any Irish side since the early 90's.

Clearly the standard of rugby in this 6N is the worst I've ever seen it, and yet we still couldn't win it! The world cup is next year and the southern hempisphere will be very encouraged by what they've seen in this years six nations.

The reason I'm making this point is that Eddie O'Sullivan was today described as "Led with cunning and guile by a sharply dressed master-mind given to the occasional strategically placed aphorism"

Now he does have the most gifted Irish squad, possibly ever, and even our performances havn't matched our achievements...Grand slam thrown away in scotland in 2001, triple crown saved against a very poor welsh team with a last minute O'Gara drop goal...did our best to throw away a triple crown against the worst English team for decades and were humiliated by the worst French team for decades, such was their dominance, they lost interest and allowed us to play rugby.

Great day, I love to see the achievement, and the celebrations were mighty...but I still think we are underachieving and it frustrate me to see Eddie's skin saved by partial achievements and moral victories, when it was almost easier to win the 6Ns this year than lose it with the squad of players we have compared to the rest...

Next year I would love to see a grande slam 6N and semi finals of WC as that would be the next step of raising the bar...but with Eddie at the helm, I think the more realistic goals would be another triple crown and to get out of our group in the world cup. (France will be a complaetely different propostion in a WC game that they are hosting, and the proper French team will "show up" for every game...and Argentina have knocked us out of a WC and came within 2 points of doing it again last time around...)

daveirl wrote:

No. Actually that was the French. They came in 1972 (I know cause I was there) after we had already beaten them in Paris and we wupped them again. We could do that back in those days.

Pullin the English captain after the game in 73 made the famous comment during his after dinner speech. "We may not be much good, but we do turn up."

England were pretty crap in those days. It was the Welsh that everybody hated. They were brilliant but boy were they insufferable.

mike65 wrote:
    Note to Snickers Man, I follow Ireland in rugby. Nothing I said was incorrect. :)

Mike.

Of course not.

Just irrelevant :)

Would you retrospectively disallow GEoff Hurst's second goal in the World Cup Final of 1966?

Would you blow up Gareth Edwards' great try for the Barbarians against the All Blacks in 1973 because of the whoppingly obvious forward pass?

They were all examples of good luck. But as the French say, it takes a wise man to turn luck into fortune.

I thought we deserved the win. It was a really intense game and I thought we had the cooler heads, made less mistakes, defended better and looked more dangerous in attack.

The headless chicken lineout from which Leamy scored reminded me so much of the first Lions test in New Zealand. Up against it,under the cosh. You make mistakes if you're flustered. That try was a bit like Chris Jacks.

It's all Bad Karma.

I'm telling you.

I just watched that Barbarian try today. Ridiculously good stuff.

Funkstard wrote:
    I just watched that Barbarian try today. Ridiculously good stuff.

The best ever. Despite Quinnell's forward pass. I've seen it so often I can recite the commentary backwards.

A party piece I occasionally used to perform when drunk.

I have no friends.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

evilhomer wrote:
    Can't see this team winning, or can't see them winning with Eddie in charge?

Definitly not with EOS in charge. With a new coach we would have a much better chance. we'd still struggle in the scrum though.

Funkstard wrote:
    Are you serious? You would have brought on subs in that mother of all nail-biting last 20 minutes? You must be off your head.....
    Teg Veece wrote:
    but bringing on a sub in the last 20 minutes of Ireland's most important game for a year just to give him some time on a rugby pitch is diriculous.

haha. I didnt mean in the English match. during the italian and welesh match it would of been a perfect oppurtunity. We have to give the players some experience of internation rugby. THis year would of been a great chance.

Teg Veece wrote:
    Have to disagree with you on your criticism of Stringer. He had a good championship and I thought he had his best game in years against Scotland. He was unlucky not to get man of the match. I reckon he's been the best passer of the ball in Ireland for quite a few years now.
    In an ideal world you'd have a scrum half who could also make breaks but at the moment, Stringer is the best option.

His passing is good, the rest is poor. He cant make a break, he tried against england and ended up giving away a penalty. The quick tap in front of the posts will crazy. a few times he doesnt seem to look up and see which side is best to pass it too. Again, would be great to see another scrumhalf get on in the last 20 minutes to see how he does.
    looked more dangerous in attack.

No we didnt. Our tries came from 3 mistakes/poor ref decision. How many times did we put them under relentless pressure in their 22?

They were much better going forward, and looked the most likely to score tries.

Our tries came from 3 mistakes/poor ref decision. How many times did we put them under relentless pressure in their 22?

They were much better going forward, and looked the most likely to score tries.

Their best attack was the one that gave them their first try. Pace and agression making the breakthrough. Other than that it was just relentless recycling with little thought or invention. It made for a very committed and intense game, but if the defence is as committed as you are ,they will keep that sort of attack out all day. England got one try from it after the defence was impeded somewhat.

When we attacked we looked more dangerous, I thought. Especially in the first half.

And the mistakes by England, including that headless chicken throw in to the lineout? A lot of that was to do with the intensity at which the game was being played and the lack of experience of some of the English players. We had cooler heads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

Anyone have a link to highlights of the game??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭WallysWorld

:D :rolleyes: \remembers the last time we beat england in landsdowne singin that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 550 ✭✭✭Teg Veece

What exactly is the legal definition of "juggling the ball"?
    I mean, what's the difference between what Leamy did and someone receiving a pass a flicking it over an opponents head while juggling with it?
    Can a player can still be tackled while doing this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 123 ✭✭bobbly

Anybody know where i could get the video of Corry that was mentioned on the back of the star? Looks interesting.