Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

More elections.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

Samos wrote:
    How about: forget the whole left/right bull**** and concentrate on what is relevant to the positions?
    It is relevant. How people deal with issues is different with left or right. Not only that but orgs like the SWP often say that a common socialist tactic is to infiltrate (their word) and subvert organisations, ie. take places in trade unions to manipulate their running

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,551 ✭✭✭panda100

Ive decided Im just gonna write on the newswire about this one cos tis not fair to annoy the other boardies with our political mumbo jumbo.Im not writing under my real name anymore in newswire cos I always get personally attacked over there so Il givya a tenner if anyone can find out my pseudoname??:)
    Just one little thing in relation to darragh.I have to admit he was without a doubt THE soundest person in labour youth UCD.He was always friendly to me along with him and chris,He even offered to teach me the uileann pipes-ahhh-so sweet!I think my neighbours eardrums were relieved when I declined that offer:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 801 ✭✭✭Vainglory

panda100 wrote:
    Il givya a tenner if anyone can find out my pseudoname??:)

Is it "ronan medic"? Lol.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,270 ✭✭✭singingstranger

Vainglory wrote:
    *chuckle*

A lot of people, incidentally, are poking me in the direction of the Business & Law PRO... no deal, folks, I'm going on Erasmus next year and very much looking forward to it. So just thought I'd clear that up.

Dónal O'Sullivan, incidentally, is a very active rep for 1st Commerce and very involved in Órla's operations this year as ILO. This isn't me electioneering, mind, I've a lot of time for Darragh too, but pretty*monster didn't know who he was so I thought I'd make that known.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,016 ✭✭✭Blush_01

I'm with Samos - who cares who you're politically affiliated to as long as you do the job to the best of your ability and benefit the widest number of students?

You can please all of the people some of the time. You can please some of the people all of the time. But you can't please all of the people all of the time. I'll settle for most of the people being pleased most of the time.

Chris, on your comment to Pythia re: running herself if she wasn't happy - Why do we elect people into these positions if we could all just do it ourselves? Most of us have other priorities and maybe aren't politically motivated, while we may have firm ideals and beliefs. We express these as we vote, by casting our vote for the person we most want to speak for us, when we can't feasibly speak individually for ourselves. That's the idea behind voting, isn't it? Some people, in choosing who they want to take a position, look at that person's personal political affiliations, as that gives said voter a picture of what the person they're voting for believes in. If Pythia is one of those people, as many are, then more power to her, she's entitled to it. Others don't care about someone's personal political affiliations, but rather about the promises they make both in manifestos and in person. If Pythia is more like that, then more power to her, she's entitled to that too. It's her decision, and telling her that her opinion isn't valid leaves others (and I say this from my own personal opinion) with a very narrow view of you. Maybe you should be less easily offended and focus more on getting your point out there than attempting to score petty points on someone who doesn't care? Fodder to chew on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,894 ✭✭✭Chinafoot

Samos wrote:
    How about: forget the whole left/right bull**** and concentrate on what is relevant to the positions?

Our survey says...*DING* *DING* *DING* *DING* [/les dennis]

If this descends into an anti-lefty/righty/socialist/communist/liberalist/whatever-ist mudfight I will lock it.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭dajaffa

Any word on the PROs. I'd say there's a pretty good chance that we'll be left with some with no-one running like Ag/Vet, Health Sci and Nursing, especially considering the relativley short notice to submit signatures when we're back in college.

I think these PRO's could well turn into being a bit of a sham, tbh. I've always been wary of creating positions for people who want positions.

Vainglory wrote:

Oh vainglory I forgot how witty you were-how Ive missed your light hearted amusing jokes around here!I hear comedy soc are looking for an auditor??Or since Enda has a lot of time free now maybe he can run-his manifesto was a laugh a minute so he's already got his foot in the door .....
    Quick run and tell enda,dermot,darren,darragh,chris and all the lefty boys(since theres only like 2 girls involved with ucd left) Im being mean but once again vainglory,YOU started it.Considering your the education officer and Im just a lowly student you should treat us students u represent with a bit more respect instead of calling pythia and the van 'pathetic'.Number one its very unladylike and two,your an elected union representative and thus should behave as one.

Thought this would intrest the boardies though.Anything the union passes at council from here on in is a joke to me.There are many people making descisions for us at council who arent even elected to begin with.I think its a disgarce that these 'class reps' have the sheer hypocrisy to propose a motion apparently on behalf of their class.
    I give you an example of Conor Mc Gowan who is the fourth year engineering rep who wasnt even elected by his class but yet still has the cheek to propse motions in there name.He admits himself he wasnt elected and in a direct quote from himself' I'm not that representative of my class, to say the least. ' It will come as no suprise that just one of the motions conor put forward was the union paying of 500 euro for an anti war demonstartors court fee's.I think it highly unfair that conor who is a self acclaimed non elected rep is allowed to put forward a motion on something.Yet when I also wanted to put forward a motion directly I couldnt.It just shows eveidently that the union is not about us students want and needs but is a platform for political hacks.

Council notes that UCDSU has an anti-deportation mandate. Council
    notes that as a result of this mandate, UCDSU established an
    Anti-Deportation Campaign.
    Council notes that at a peaceful ADC blockade at the Garda National
    Immigration Bureau against the mass deportation that took place on October 18th, 3rd Arts student Dara McHugh was arrested and is due in court on Thursday, October 27th.
    Council notes the duty of UCDSU to defend its members and the role
    of UCDSU in campaigning against deportations.
    Council mandates the payment of up to 500 euro towards Dara's legal costs and, if convicted, possible fine.
    Council mandates UCDSU members to attend court in solidarity with Dara under the UCDSU banner.

Proposed by Conor McGowan, 4th year Engineering (Mechanical).

Seconded by Darren Cogavin, 3rd Social Science.

Vainglory wrote:
    I think these PRO's could well turn into being a bit of a sham, tbh. I've always been wary of creating positions for people who want positions.
    Yeah we've already got the class rep system for that,jane......

panda100 wrote:
    Oh vainglory I forgot how witty you were-how Ive missed your light hearted amusing jokes around here!I hear comedy soc are looking for an auditor??Or since Enda has a lot of time free now maybe he can run-his manifesto was a laugh a minute so he's already got his foot in the door .....
    Quick run and tell enda,dermot,darren,darragh,chris and all the lefty boys(since theres only like 2 girls involved with ucd left) Im being mean but once again vainglory,YOU started it.Considering your the education officer and Im just a lowly student you should treat us students u represent with a bit more respect instead of calling pythia and the van 'pathetic'.Number one its very unladylike and two,your an elected union representative and thus should behave as one.

Wow, you got REALLY defensive there. I must have been right, then ;)

And as I've said before, being an elected officer doesn't mean I am suddenly devoid of opinions. People around here abuse me, my friends, and my opinions often enough, so I can give as good as I get, thanks so much.

Oh, and two girls involved in the UCD left? So ignorant of actual facts that it really is unbelievable.

Lord, protect me from being "unladylike".

Vainglory wrote:
    Wow, you got REALLY defensive there. I must have been right, then ;)

And as I've said before, being an elected officer doesn't mean I am suddenly devoid of opinions. People around here abuse me, my friends, and my opinions often enough, so I can give as good as I get, thanks so much.

Oh, and two girls involved in the UCD left? So ignorant of actual facts that it really is unbelievable.

Im not discussing things with you here anymore,its not fair on the rest of the bordies. if you want to say something to me then say it to me personally and dont send chris bond over to fight your battles for you or if not personally,then start a panda bashing thread on the ucd boards.Im sure all the left guys and the millions and millions of left girls:D will help you out with that one.
    Also saying somone is pathetic isnt an 'opinion' it a personal insult whereas an elected officer should show a bit more decorum,that is all.

panda100 wrote:
    Im not discussing things with you here anymore,its not fair on the rest of the bordies. if you want to say something to me then say it to me personally and dont send chris bond over to fight your battles for you or if not personally,then start a panda bashing thread on the ucd boards.Im sure all the left guys and the millions and millions of left girls:D will help you out with that one.
    Also saying somone is pathetic isnt an 'opinion' it a personal insult whereas an elected officer should show a bit more decorum,that is all.

Er? If it's my opinion that something is pathetic then that's my opinion. It would be different if I had called them fat. That is an insult.

I have never "sent chris bond" to fight any "battles" for me. You saying that does not make it true. I don't think anyone who knows me would ever think that I need other people to fight my battles for me.

I don't need to remind you Elisa, that you have never introduced yourself to me personally either, but have thrown dogs abuse at me on various websites instead.

I love how you don't justify your "only two girls" on the left comment either, but choose to make some sarcastic remark instead.

Vainglory wrote:
    I love how you don't justify your "only two girls" on the left comment either, but choose to make some sarcastic remark instead.
    I can only think of two high profile lefties of the female persuasion.

Name me two and I could name you twenty. But for reasons similar to Kate's, I don't want to go outing people's political persuasions without their permission.

How many left wing causes are you involved in? How many opportunities would you have to see how many girls are involved?

Edit: Scratch that.

You're both banned for the rest of the day.

I'll unban you when I get home.

You have had ample warning.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,437 ✭✭✭tintinr35

and its round two everybody, vainglory VS Panda...........*yawn*

its getting old girls, its clear ye dont seem to agree on anything so just maybe ignoring each other in future would be better!!!

Edit: Scratch that.

You're both banned for the rest of the day.

I'll unban you when I get home.

You have had ample warning.

Go peachypants!emot-fcukoff.gif
    you show them

Indeed.

Now can we get back on topic please?

Thanks.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

What was the topic? More elections? :rolleyes:

Anyone here know what this shower's supposed to do? Didn't bother voting in the last elections, and it wasn't apathy, I just feel that the amount of posturing and so on here is pathetic. What do you think you're playing at? Politics?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭dajaffa

The thread's who's going 4 exec (Irish, finance, Comm + IT Women's officers as well as the programme reps for arts(2), business + law, Ag + Vet, sci, eng + arch, health sci and finally nursing. I'd put money down that for at least one of the rep positions nobody will run, most likely ag/vet, health sci or nursing. I'm actually thinking of going for health sci, but I'm Physio so if somebody from med goes I wouldn't have a prayer cause nursing is seperate to health sci for the PROs.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭pretty*monster

Anyone here know what this shower's supposed to do? Didn't bother voting in the last elections, and it wasn't apathy, I just feel that the amount of posturing and so on here is pathetic. What do you think you're playing at? Politics?

The Finance Officer has the constitutional right to access all Students' Union accounts and reports to UnionExecutive and Union Council on financial matters, as well as drawing up the Union master budget with the Union President.

The Communications & Information Technology Officer is responsible for IT services of the Union. This includes email lists and the Union website. They are also responsible for the distribution of all Union publications and posters to all faculties.

The Irish Language Officer / Oifigeach na Gaeilge is responsible for the promotion of the Irish language within the Union, for the fostering of a bilingual culture within college and for the running of Seachtain na Gaeilge, the one-week celebration of Irish language and culture held after Christmas.

The Women's Officer works with the Welfare Vice President for the promotion of women's rights and to campaign on issues of specific concern to women, to organize the widespread availability of personal security alarms and to co-ordinate Women's Week after Christmas.

And the Programme Board Officers are... em... kind of a grey area. Co-ordinating class reps and being a point of contact I think. An extra layer of beurocracy maybe. I dunno, a whopping percentage of students voted in favour of them, maybe they could tell you.

Oh and, though I don't want to drag it up again, there are more than two women on ucd's "left". Lots more.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

Less of the lefty-righty sh1t. Can't we all just be ambi-dextrous for once?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 687 ✭✭✭scop

Yeah, sometimes theres so many girls Chris eyes dilate :D

Right, thats it.

THIS is the original post:
    Well the exec and programme officer elections are nearly upon us. Who's going for them + who's going to win?

If you want to discuss the position of women's officer then I suggest someone starts a separate thread.
    Why? I know what women want. I could give out the flour, the ovens, the rohypnol and arrange training classes so they can grow up well and find husbands

1: Attitudes like this are why there is still a womens' officer.

2: I don't care if you're joking. Do not push me today.

1: Attitudes like this are why there is still a womens' officer.

It was a joke
    2: I don't care if you're joking. Do not push me today

I apologise

• Registered Users Posts: 5,016 ✭✭✭Blush_01

panda100 wrote:

Thought this would intrest the boardies though.Anything the union passes at council from here on in is a joke to me.There are many people making descisions for us at council who arent even elected to begin with.I think its a disgarce that these 'class reps' have the sheer hypocrisy to propose a motion apparently on behalf of their class.
    I give you an example of Conor Mc Gowan who is the fourth year engineering rep who wasnt even elected by his class but yet still has the cheek to propse motions in there name.He admits himself he wasnt elected and in a direct quote from himself' I'm not that representative of my class, to say the least. ' It will come as no suprise that just one of the motions conor put forward was the union paying of 500 euro for an anti war demonstartors court fee's.I think it highly unfair that conor who is a self acclaimed non elected rep is allowed to put forward a motion on something.Yet when I also wanted to put forward a motion directly I couldnt.It just shows eveidently that the union is not about us students want and needs but is a platform for political hacks.

Council notes that UCDSU has an anti-deportation mandate. Council
    notes that as a result of this mandate, UCDSU established an
    Anti-Deportation Campaign.
    Council notes that at a peaceful ADC blockade at the Garda National
    Immigration Bureau against the mass deportation that took place on October 18th, 3rd Arts student Dara McHugh was arrested and is due in court on Thursday, October 27th.
    Council notes the duty of UCDSU to defend its members and the role
    of UCDSU in campaigning against deportations.
    Council mandates the payment of up to 500 euro towards Dara's legal costs and, if convicted, possible fine.
    Council mandates UCDSU members to attend court in solidarity with Dara under the UCDSU banner.

Proposed by Conor McGowan, 4th year Engineering (Mechanical).

Seconded by Darren Cogavin, 3rd Social Science.

Elisa, while what you're saying is interesting (and Dara's a big boy, if he can get himself arrested, he can sort himself out, ta very much SU!) it's nothing to do with the topic in hand. If you have such a big problem with issues like this and want them brought to light, then do so in another topic where the point of the one you're post in won't be lost and the point of what you're saying can be preserved. Just for the sake of our sanity.

On the Women's Officer thing - I can't see why a man couldn't run for it. And while I recognise what Pretty*Monster has to say has valid elements, I honestly don't believe that the reason women aren't on council is because they're inferior - it's because less women run. I think some of us are a little more enlightened (both male and female) than some people like to believe. Ok, so Firespinner is stirring things (Stephen, I WILL verbally slap you if you make me mad, so watch it.) by saying women are inferior - but then again, he knows it'll get a rise out of you. Plus he's big into annoying people for the sake of it.

Blush_01 wrote:
    Ok, so Firespinner is stirring things (Stephen, I WILL verbally slap you if you make me mad, so watch it.) by saying women are inferior - but then again, he knows it'll get a rise out of you. Plus he's big into annoying people for the sake of it.

Well I have already banned panda and vainglory today for off-topic nonsense and childish bickering, and I will have absolutely no problem banning firespinner for what is blatant trolling.

Get this thread back on-topic or its getting locked.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,437 ✭✭✭tintinr35

*makes sure its ok to come out from under table*

who is even running for these positions???