Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do You have a Posh Accent

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,252 ✭✭✭Funkstard

I suppose I have a bit of a 'D4' accent. I've grown up in Killiney and go to a private school so it can't be helped though. I'm not anywhere near the "oh my god, roysh" scale of things, but now and then i come out with a few howlers which the rest of my family rip it out of me for.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Hmm, I think I just have a generic Irish accent. I have been told I have no accent a good few times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 735 ✭✭✭BlueSpiral

Apparently. But it might be because I pronounce my Ts at the end of "what". People in my school are convinced if you speak well, then you think you're better then them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭snickerpuss

I'm well spoken, as in i pronounce things properly but i'm from coolock so i got to endure years of being called "posh". I do use coolock euphemisms though, but there ain't nothing wrong with that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

I have no accent. I am the one against whom all accents are compared. The question should be

Do you have a posh accent compared with nipplenut's?;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,480 ✭✭✭projectmayhem

i don't have a posh accent, i don't have a scummer accent. it's a car, not a cor, or a keeeer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭jrey1981

what about "ceeyaaar"...?!

• My accent literally changes depending on who I'm talking to and I'd rather it didn't to be honest. I went to primary school in England with kids from all over Britain, America and the Middle East, back then I normally had a Manchester type accent but it changed if I was talking to an American, even at the age of 7. I went to secondary school in N. Ireland so had a Northern Irish accent most of the time, my mum is from there and I had spent loads of time there so I picked it up after about 3 days. Out of necessity as well, nobody could understand my English accent, the intonation differences are *huge*. Went to college in Dublin so ended up with a quite posh Southside type accent, not the 'roysh' kind but pretty posh. Most people assume I always lived in Dublin although there is some English there as well. To English people I now sound 'Irish', even when I'm talking to other English people but when I talk to my NI friends I sound Northern Irish and with my American friends I sound American :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

I've lived in the wonderland of Dublin 24 for 17 years, so I do have a bit of a Dublin accent, though it's not as strong as most people around here. I had no accent until I went to secondary school, then managed to get quite a thick Dublin accent which I never fully lost despite changing school when I started 3rd year in secondary and then going to UCD. I get called posh by skangers, and I get D4s looking down their nose at me. I don't really care though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 218 ✭✭Cronus333

lol, a friend of mine from Cavan (Virginia) also has a posh upper-class english accent
    So did my mum. I have no accent, no one can place me, except for the person who thought that talked like an Illianer from the Wheel of time ('I do be going now' kinda thing).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 262 ✭✭Vinnie69

I am confused ! I have lived all my life in Dublin (d3, d16, and now d6) and people always say I have a Protestant or West brit accent. The fact (that my father traced the family history back to Norman the Conqueror's sister who came to Ireland 10?? b.c. while he went to England), that my da came from Derry and my ma from Clare, should be enough for me to be thought as Irish. But even to this day people call me a blowin because of my accent:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,335 ✭✭✭rugbug86

I tend to take on the accent of my surroundings.

I'm from Drumcondra and don't have a thick dublin accent. Most people can't place my accent!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 518 ✭✭✭Bartronilic

I actually don't know... Seriously the area I come from is a hotbag of accents (made that word up i mean there is lots of accents floating around) and my school was half "SCHWER" and half "Oh my gawd dyont tawk to me about that hord question ahum yes". My road/parents/family is full of hardcore culchies.

This one time back in 6th year this poshie said "I think we should get a tea room fellows and ladies ahum yawsh" and this girl was all like "eh shu' up ya fa' bitch".

So yeah that's it yeah (absolutely pointless story).

Actually, I've noticed that I pick up accents reeeeeeally easily. I cam back after a school exchange in America and I was sidewalking & trash canning all over the place with a twang, and when I had Australians over for just 2 nights I ended up like, speaking my sentences as if they were questions? Ending my words with a high intonation? And going "Aw yeh?". Two days like. If I ever go abroad for a summer I will get ridiculed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 906 ✭✭✭FuzzyWuzzyWazza

Funkstard wrote:
    Actually, I've noticed that I pick up accents reeeeeeally easily. I cam back after a school exchange in America and I was sidewalking & trash canning all over the place with a twang, and when I had Australians over for just 2 nights I ended up like, speaking my sentences as if they were questions? Ending my words with a high intonation? And going "Aw yeh?". Two days like. If I ever go abroad for a summer I will get ridiculed

I'm the exact same........ spent 4 days with some lads from Cork, and when I got back to Dub, everyone was lookin at me strange..........weird

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Personally ,I hate it when people who try to speak properly ,like myself, are ridiculed.
    Who wants a skanger "League of Ireland Manager" accent....bastardising the English language and talking in cliches.

My advise to the "done and seen" brigade is "F0ck off and sleep with your own fleas and don't try to influence people who have some pride in themselves you whankurrs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭Siogfinsceal

I live in kildare but my accent doesnt sound kildare or dublin!. Loads of people tell me it sounds like a northern Ireland accent which is just wierd.
    Ive a wierd problem though - without meaning to I take on the accent of who-ever Im talking to. If im talking to an english person I start speaking in an english accent etc. Its terrible people always think im taking the p*ss out o fthem - my dad does it to though

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,326 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kingp35

Well im a Dalkey boy so some people might think I have a slightly posh accent but I dont think I do. My girlfriend and her family are from Roscommon and they say i have a bit of a posh accent but they could be taking the p1ss.

In fcat no i dont think I have a posh accent, I have an average one:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Eh, mix Wexford, Bray, Dublin and Galway and you'd get some idea of what I sound like!

I do tend to pick up hints of the accent of whomever I'm talking to though. I saw a Scottish girl for about 2 months and over a year later I still say 'Aye' more than I'd say 'yes'!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 148 ✭✭Ragazza

Mother from Dublin, Father from London grew up in Kildare, lived in Waterford for six years and I have a very neutral accent untill I meet someone from or go to Cork!!

I lived with a girl from Cork for two years, if I get upset or excited at all I sound like I was born and bred there.
    I pick up the Cork accent again in seconds. People often think I am taking the piss.