Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

merc e220 cabriolet

• 25-03-2006 12:15pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6

hi guys.. just bought a merc 220 cab but roof isnt working... anyone have any advice ????????...waza

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,025 ✭✭✭zod

no .. what year / price you pay ? any pics?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,978 ✭✭✭✭mike65

*cough* How much did you spend on this fine machine?

Your best bet is not to seek technical advice here but to get in touch with the garage that sold it to you or if private, a Merc specialist. Dublin has a few who may be able to help. Some of the lads here know the names.

Mike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,579 ✭✭✭junkyard

Check and see if the up/down switch has been disconnected, if it has theres a good chance that the mechanism for controlling the hood has worked loose and no longer works properly. I had a similar problem with my SL, but if you figure out how it works its not too bad to fix (3 or 4 hours).

• Registered Users Posts: 51,243 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

waza wrote:
    hi guys.. just bought a merc 220 cab but roof isnt working... anyone have any advice ????????...waza

If you bought it from a garage then you should have got some sort of warranty with it? Bring it back to them to sort out.

If you bought it privately as already mentioned you need to seek out a Merc or cabrio specialist. It may be a simple motor or electrical part that has blown. As it is an E Class cabrio and not the CLK I presume it is a early or mid 1990s model so it is not too unusual for motorised parts to pack it in at this stage.

PS. Little consolation now but it is always a good idea to check that all these things work properly before handing over the money.

• Registered Users Posts: 73,455 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Are you sure it's not a coupe?

(hahaha)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 waza

hi folks ... anybody know about the roof motors on the mercedes e220 cabriolet ? just bought one in from the uk and roof is stuck .... not much fun with thew summer on the way ...waza

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,559 ✭✭✭Tipsy Mac

Might be something as simple as a fuse, check the fusebox, if needs be check each fuse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,978 ✭✭✭✭mike65

waza are you suffering memory lapses? You already posted about this. Threads merged.

Mike.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,031 ✭✭✭lomb

probably the roof ecu blown, common problem on the sl, expect a bill of 3000 euros. some ecus can be repaired but not all. do a google search. theres a few repairers in the uk

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 waza

Roof worked fine when bought... only when it touched Irish soil it all packed in!!
    V funny NO its not a coupe lol....lol
    With the current run of form Im sure it will turn out to be the € 3,000 option ,,,, will let you all know how its go's
    But jesus what a car i love it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,579 ✭✭✭junkyard

Its a coupe now.:D

• Registered Users Posts: 73,455 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

those body computers are a pain, had to replace an aircon computer on an E class, over a grand.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,269 ✭✭✭MercMad

Thorncastle Street
    Fishermans Warf
    Ringsend,
    Dublin 4
    Phone: 01-6674500

Dave works on these W/C124 Mercs and owns a Cabriolet himself ! He'll sort it for you !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 230 ✭✭phoenix_nights

MercMad....would you recommend this guy. Want to get a full service on a w124
    MercMad wrote:
    Thorncastle Street
    Fishermans Warf
    Ringsend,
    Dublin 4
    Phone: 01-6674500

Dave works on these W/C124 Mercs and owns a Cabriolet himself ! He'll sort it for you !

• Registered Users Posts: 4,269 ✭✭✭MercMad

Yes !

I havent used him myself but I know plenty who have and I've met him numerous times !

Also Sean Murphy at Greenmount Motors is great on these cars !