Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How to get rid of van?

• 27-03-2006 3:58pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 143 ✭✭

I bought a car about a year ago - this meant my 1995 Ford Escort Van (160k miles on the clock) was not needed. There was no point trading it in as my little sister suggested she'd use it as a starter car - then she got stuck up, as did a brother in law of mine who showed interest in it.

The van has been parked on my road for the past year or so and is looking in a sorry state. The guards rang on Saturday to say I have to move it by today or else. I know I was taking the piss by leaving it on the road - so I have no issues there.

Anyway - what is the best way for me to get rid of the van? I'm really p*ssed off as two seperate guys approached me about buying it for a few hundered € - they did them up and sold them on etc., but my little Sis said she'd "probably" take it at the time. Have lost those guys numbers....

Does anyone know of a lad that does them up or deals in parts that would pick up the van and take it away?

Or any better ideas?

Any help would be great.

• Registered Users Posts: 178 ✭✭Lemo

Ring the Council. We got a car taken away for nothing a few years ago (or else it was a very small fee). Times have changed since then so maybe they don't do it any more.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,505 ✭✭✭daymobrew

AFAIK the council will dump the van for e50. The Environment section is the one to talk to.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,545 ✭✭✭Green_Martian

My sisters fella got rid of his Ford van, i think it may have been the same model as yours...........

These 2 guys came out and said the same thing, that they fix them up and sell them on.......think they gave him money can't remember..

If i can i will get the number for you and send it as a PM

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 39,752 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

stick it in the buy and sell for free!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,245 ✭✭✭drdre

yeah look in the buy and sell and call the numbers usually in it. they might even pay you abit to take it or the other option is ring the council and they will talke it for around 50euro.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,210 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

Drive it into the woods

Take the reg plates off it

Grind the chassis number off it and anything else that could identify it

Go wild :D

• Registered Users Posts: 22,306 ✭✭✭✭Esel

I heard that if a vehicle is on a public thoroughfare and does not have any registration plates, the local Council will remove it for free. ;) - especially if they get a call from a 'concerned citizen'. ;);)

Need a pair of jockey's bollix if the cops come back though!

Not your ornery onager

• Closed Accounts Posts: 143 ✭✭delboy159

Thanks lads. I'm sure one of these options will sort me out.

I popped into the cop shop yesterday evening to eat humble pie and tell them I was going to have it gone by the end of the week - just to keep on the right side of them.

The guard at the desk said they had no log of a call to my home and no report on the vehicle. He was 90% sure it was a neighbour pretending to be a guard - which is much more illegal than parking a banger of a van on the side of a raod for 6 months.

He said I should try and get rid anyway as the neighbour will probably report it soon enough and then it's a €60 a day fine.

I'd love to find out which neighbour it was and scare the sh*te out of them for "impersonating a guard".