Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Oblivion Guilds

• 28-03-2006 12:47pm
    Registered Users Posts: 1,023 ✭✭✭

Can some care to explain please?
    What guilds are there, found mage and fighters so far?
    Can you join them all? Can you level up in them all to leader or whatever of them?
    Where can you find the other guilds?

• Registered Users Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

Thieves guild, Dark brotherhood and arena are the others as far as I know. Not going to tell you how to join them as that would be too spoilerish for my liking

• Registered Users Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭Ri_Nollaig

dark brotherhood are assassins u really want to join them for some fun missions :D they r like the best parts of hitman and thef only thing i had agaisnt it was the fact that they ended :(

• Registered Users Posts: 1,023 ✭✭✭[CrimsonGhost]

OKay, one question remaining, I still will play to find 3 more guilds mentioned, But can become leader of all guilds without repurcussions in other guilds?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,889 ✭✭✭evad_lhorg

well the arena is just you battling away with the opposing team until oyu work your way to be the best. very easy tbh.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,023 ✭✭✭[CrimsonGhost]

Hmm, I've found the Arena, and worked my way up 2 ranks. Kinda time consuming, but good practice I suppose for levelling up blade and block skill.

Also found the thieves guild quest and the following happened which allowed me into the dark brotherhood almost simultaneously.
    Mede-wotsit got the book first so I went to her shack during the day when she was sleeping. Her friend was there so I killed her with a sneak attack and then stole the book back. Thereby completing thieves quest and getting contact with dark brotherhood when next I slept.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,889 ✭✭✭evad_lhorg

i got contact from the dark brotherhood
    in the arena. I went all the way through the arena in one sitting and about halfway that guy appeared after I slept.

also a real easy way to finish the arena and not actually have to worry aobout fighting the grand champion....
    talk to the grand champ and he will ask you to do a quest for him. it's simple to do so do it as your gain a nice bit of experience too. he finds out somethin and then just stands there in the final fight asking to be killed:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,808 ✭✭✭Dooom

The
    Blades are another guild you can join. After you escort Martin (who btw is Sean Bean!) to Cloud Ruler Temple, Jauffre will talk to you and you can join then.
    I didn't join straight away, as I'm having too much fun being evil at the moment. If you go back later, you can still join though.
    Whether they're classed as a guild or not, I'm not sure.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,136 ✭✭✭Pugsley

Spike wrote:
    Whether they're classed as a guild or not, I'm not sure.
    Their just the main story line, do them if you want, I have a second charecter who is a level 20 and hasnt even been to Kvatch yet, my main is 34 though and done the whole main quest, kind of hateful the way
    all the gates close, them sigil stones were so damn handy, the money is good too, but at 232000gold, money is a bit of a moot point at this stage

• Registered Users Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭Ri_Nollaig

if u complete the main quest does the game end? can u still continue on fininshing sub-quests and doing abit of exploring?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,136 ✭✭✭Pugsley

Ri_Nollaig wrote:
    if u complete the main quest does the game end? can u still continue on fininshing sub-quests and doing abit of exploring?
    Yes you can continue to run around and explore the dungeons, advance in the guilds and do quest of the locals, however
    the gates to oblivion close, so no more sigil stones

• Registered Users Posts: 2,372 ✭✭✭Illkillya

OKay, one question remaining, I still will play to find 3 more guilds mentioned, But can become leader of all guilds without repurcussions in other guilds?
    I was wondering the same thing. In Morrowind, there was a conflict between the Thieves guild and Fighters guild I think it was, where you had to choose between them. Hope thats not the case with Oblivion.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,685 ✭✭✭✭BlitzKrieg

i've heard grumbles
    that one of the characters you could kill in thieves guild mission could feck up the Mage's guild quest. Its supposable in the first quest by Grey Fox, if you kill one of the monks attacking you, you cant complete the mages guild. But i have only heard one or two complaints about such moment

• Registered Users Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Matt Simis

Yes, one of the Dark Brotherhood Quests (dont think it was Thieves) got me booted from Mages guild. All guilds operate a 2 boots then out system, I just had to get them 20 Vampire Dust and 20 Daedra hearts to get back in however.

Completed Arena, Thieves and Dark B. so far. Nearly half way through the Fighters quest but they seem very boring in comparison to the others. Level 26 Nightblade Vampire btw.

Matt

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 18,115 ✭✭✭✭ShiverinEskimo

I understood that you can't kill a quest related NPC until all related quests are completed.

Also - a question - if you join the Dark Brotherhood and go about as an assassin do you not end up being reported and going to jail a lot?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Matt Simis

Also - a question - if you join the Dark Brotherhood and go about as an assassin do you not end up being reported and going to jail a lot?

Oddly no, they seem to take care of that, in some cases the target isnt in the Cities and others they specifically state the guards are paid to look the other way. Sometimes however, you just arent meant to be seen/caught.

Of course if you go around murdering people at random, normal rules apply.

Matt