Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Oral - get any "sticky" questions?

13»

• Registered Users Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭OctavarIan

Meh, I'm in 5th year..but some of my friends got asked what the pay in Intel is like (Intel being in Leixlip, ja) and how msn works...

That would have been me. I also had to explain the advantages of shopping on ebay and why I don't think Alien films are scary. And to think, after all those ballsy questions, the examiner goes and asks me about my family as the last question! Maybe she felt bad?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,130 ✭✭✭Azureus

i got asked what are the advantages and disadvantages of london eye as a tourist attraction after saying that id never even seen it despite being in london... weird.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 636 ✭✭✭NADA

My Irish oral examiner asked me about bebo. But I was talking about computers so she was bound to ask!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 622 ✭✭✭Garret

everyone in my school was asked about death on the roads and all that craic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 259 ✭✭OTliddy

Se&#225 wrote: »
    if the bus drops me to the gates of the school how do i get to the door (NO F'IN JOKE!!!)

what i will do when i leave the room
    ROFL!! wierd examiner. You're all idiots for letting them pose the questions in the first place, just yap on for 10 minutes about pre-learned stuff, never shutup.

• Registered Users Posts: 950 ✭✭✭Feral Mutant

I had my french oral today. Everything was going fine until I forgot the word for car in mid-sentence. I think I did ok though.

I got asked what I'd do if I was principal. I'd memorised loads of stuff on that topic for Irish (whick i was never asked btw) but hadn't expected anything like it in french. Still I'm ok in french so I just went through the stuff I had for irish (but in french).

• Registered Users Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭Wez

I've got mine tomorrow.. Apparently he's grand like, everyone seemed to sail through. My mock oral and ones in class etc are going alright-ish now, hopefully it'll go as good, if not better tomorrow! I'm gonna have to get over the nervousness though, always get mad shy talking to them, even to my teachers! I've not prepared anything to 'dazzle' them yet, but maybe that'll come to me tomorrow! He's an old guy that talks pretty slow apparently, and he said that if there's a gap, doesn't mean I have to fill it, he's just thinking of another question to hit you with. Although I'd imagine he'll allow a bit of babbling on about pre-learned stuff.

Fingers crossed anyway! I'll try 'report back' tomorrow afterwards.. Gonna go out after school to kill a few braincells I think! And I'm off at 12 on Friday! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 190 ✭✭shane0312

I did my french today. It went grand, but right at the end he asked me how to use chopsticks!!! It was a bit weird but I just bluffed my way through it. Im pretty happy the way it went. Its a big weight lifted off my shoulders!!

Se&#225 wrote: »
    Pre-learned? I had nothing pre-learned! Hence the all irish ness...

he only asked the room one to put in a future tense at the end of the conversation. the other question was stupid and like any questions he did ask me left no room for elaboration. the worst examiner i have ever seen.. and he had CRAP irish. didnt know what a portfolio was in irish... idiot.

how many irish examiners have you seen?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭Wez

Garret wrote:
    how many irish examiners have you seen?

One.. Therefore the worst, and also the best and so on..

• Registered Users Posts: 3,467 ✭✭✭smemon

had my irish 2day, went ok.

d examiner dictated d whole conversation and kept cuttin me off after ech question, she wudnt allow me link into netin! :mad: in d end i just ignored her and kept talkin and branchin off into different subjects!

asked me how do i celebrate my birthday, the education system, and completely ignored my specialist subject- technology, despite me saying im doing a course in it and have an interest in it. it was rapid fire questions d whole way through with every tense possible thrown in. nasty stuff.

she also asked me what did i think of the roy keane/ mc carthy ting which i thought was unfair as i'd simply mentioned i supported manu. i wriggled my way through it though and did fairly well.

didnt get a chance to show off though which was disappointing, the questions were too specific imo. god help someone with not much irish, they'd be flucked if they got the same questions i did. :p

the reason the cut you off is because they don't want to hear something that is totally learned off.

your brilliant "links" can be very irritating to an examiner. Its important not to come across a nob but as a friendly person. sub-consciosly it makes a difference

I was asked about my opinions of Roy Keane's Old Trafford departure when i said i supported united but i thought it was fair.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,383 ✭✭✭Aoibheann

yeah, they hate reams of stuff learned off. I was pleased with mine, it was quite conversational. I mentioned doing a writing course, and that I was writing a book, she asked what it was about. And of course, I'm an idiot, I forgot the word for witch, so I made up this big spiel about the main character being a ghost, but not knowing that she is, so there's loads of problems etc. God I love bluffing! Went grand otherwise, I felt comfortable, she was lovely. Could've been better, but could've been a lot worse. :)

smemon wrote:
    had my irish 2day, went ok.

d examiner dictated d whole conversation and kept cuttin me off after ech question, she wudnt allow me link into netin! :mad: in d end i just ignored her and kept talkin and branchin off into different subjects!

asked me how do i celebrate my birthday, the education system, and completely ignored my specialist subject- technology, despite me saying im doing a course in it and have an interest in it. it was rapid fire questions d whole way through with every tense possible thrown in. nasty stuff.

she also asked me what did i think of the roy keane/ mc carthy ting which i thought was unfair as i'd simply mentioned i supported manu. i wriggled my way through it though and did fairly well.

didnt get a chance to show off though which was disappointing, the questions were too specific imo. god help someone with not much irish, they'd be flucked if they got the same questions i did. :p

i'm being honest here

i'm glad..

your "foolproof" plan showed you up.

i on the other hand. had a blinder, no learned off stuff, i spoke irish, isntead of memorizing it. She said i was the best person she had examined which was pretty impressive seeing as i'm doing pass and she had 4/5 honours students before me.

She said i was the best person she had examined

lol, dey say dat 2 every1. my examiner sed she was impressed and i'd a good standard of irish. tbh, if you'd no problems its likely you'll get a poor mark as u weren't challenged.

all d pass lads in my year came out delighted, saying they aced it. being stuck in the middle of a few fluent speakers, i probably got a rough deal, timing wise as i'd a few hard acts to follow.

i didnt fail r anything, dont get me wrong :D it's a toss up between a low A or high B, however had i been let off the handbrake i would have undoubtably got an A. and dats what annoyed me :mad:

smemon wrote:
    lol, dey say dat 2 every1. my examiner sed she was impressed and i'd a good standard of irish. tbh, if you'd no problems its likely you'll get a poor mark as u weren't challenged.

all d pass lads in my year came out delighted, saying they aced it. being stuck in the middle of a few fluent speakers, i probably got a rough deal, timing wise as i'd a few hard acts to follow.

i didnt fail r anything, dont get me wrong :D it's a toss up between a low A or high B, however had i been let off the handbrake i would have undoubtably got an A. and dats what annoyed me :mad:

wow, you're brilliant

can i be your friend?

Smemon: Dude, yourself, a, hole, digging, into, you're.

Rearrange those in a logical sentence. (Y)

ah ha ha :D its great having so much energy aimed towards me!

i can feel the love guys ;) i sincerely thank you from the bottom of my huge heart, for showering me with praise and love.

in all fairness, i tink im near the south pole at dis stage with that hole aoibheann :p

Ok so, just as long as we've cleared that up. *nods* ;)

smemon wrote:

well. no. she didn't. she said it to me..

Nobody else..

and you with all your experience know that "they" "always" say it, this not your first time no?

I dropped to pass as i did not want to learn off essays for the leaving cert, last summer i got a A in my Oral and Aural (honours)...
    The stress of learning essay's off meant i don't do honours, doesn't mean i'm not capable of it..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 887 ✭✭✭Rockerette

what????

you dont learn essays off for honours...
    you build up vocab, NOT learn off essays.

or maybe im in the minority it that i dont see the big deal with the essays??

i would never ever learn one off.

we all have a mind of our own that we should surely be able to put to good use in an exam no?

and please noone give me that **** of the "pressure" or the exams meaning you mightny be able to function, so its good to have a backup..
    pfft!

put your memory to good use, like learnign physics definitions, which actually have to be learnt, is what i say :)

• Registered Users Posts: 354 ✭✭RefulgentGnomon

The title in this thread looks quite dirty, tbh. :eek:

Rockerette wrote:
    what????

we all have a mind of our own that we should surely be able to put to good use in an exam no?

and please noone give me that **** of the "pressure" or the exams meaning you mightny be able to function, so its good to have a backup..
    pfft!

put your memory to good use, like learnign physics definitions, which actually have to be learnt, is what i say :)

if you wanna go to the bother of finding it there's a thread i started about this problem earlier in the year, when i was told to leave the class...

and you with all your experience know that "they" "always" say it, this not your first time no?

I dropped to pass as i did not want to learn off essays for the leaving cert, last summer i got a A in my Oral and Aural (honours)...
    The stress of learning essay's off meant i don't do honours, doesn't mean i'm not capable of it..

firstly, it's common sense you get some sort of positive comment no matter how well you do. the examiner isnt go to say, u did average, mucked up a few tenses and hadn't a clue of the mo choniallach. of course they're going to take the positives out of it or give you a general comment like u did well.bla bla bla.

think about it. if an examiner told you, you did brutal, then you'd neglect the subject as you'd be demoralised and focus on picking up points elsewhere.

learning essays off is stupid. simple as. if you cant create your own material from about 14 years of work, then you must ask yourself some questions. :D good luck wit d ordinary paper!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 636 ✭✭✭NADA

Learning essays off is a complete load of balls. But then so is the leaving cert It is a memory test. I can't stand people who call other people brainy for getting six hundred. It's just a matter of learning ****e off. No intelligence involved!

NADA wrote:
    Learning essays off is a complete load of balls. But then so is the leaving cert It is a memory test. I can't stand people who call other people brainy for getting six hundred. It's just a matter of learning ****e off. No intelligence involved!

100% right NADA. the problem is those 'textperts' (:D u like?!) are the ones that get grinds and every book under the sun to learn off. they'll spend 10hrs a day studying and the rest thinking about studying.

i hate textperts who dont have the balls to go into an exam loaded with a pen and a clear mind. they fail to create their own work and fail to put their ideas across because they have none.

an english exam should consist of 1 question - the essay. the essay should be something like, 'a day in the life of me...' and it would have to be factual, any incorrect statistics or hints of learning off material and the exam should be marked 'failed'.

smemon wrote:
    and it would have to be factual, any incorrect statistics or hints of learning off material and the exam should be marked 'failed'.

surely any correct statistics would have had to be learned off at some stage?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭abercrombie

Rockerette wrote:
    what????

pfft!

i agree with you! you shouldn't learn off essays if you're doing honours irish..you're kidding yourself if you do. I find the essay bit the easiest part of the whole exam...it's the tape that i always go down in. stupid tape!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 183 ✭✭TX123

someone in my school got asked " what is your opinion on the economic crisis in Bangkok?" he just stared at her with his mouth touching the floor. She then turned around and started to laugh saying " im only joking with ya" then she asked him about hobbies. Shows that they do have a personality and are not all stiff arses