Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Most over rated footballers ever

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 942 ✭✭✭Bodhidharma

No i'm refering to Blu Sonic. We are in agreement of the skills of the great man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,235 ✭✭✭iregk

Well personally I think Hagi was pure class that said I would rate the troubled genius that was Stoichkov as the better player.

Oh a mate of mine was saying how he thinks Ibrahimovic is way way over rated. After I hit him I showed him this. A goal he scored while playing for Ajax in the eiridivision. One poor sod got turned 3 times!!! The camera man ever got dummied twice!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,315 ✭✭✭Jazzy

Hagi was FIFA's player of the 90s...
    and yeah, he was incredible. so was stoichkov. it puzzles me how either of their names got on an "over-rated" thread.

for me... Roberto Carlos. the poor mans branco

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,294 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kingp35

As said all ready I think both Frank Lampard and David Beckham are hugely over rated. But for me Denilson is the most over-rated ever. This man was the worlds most expensive player at one stage but he never did anything. Shocking stuff.

As for Stoichkov he was an absolute genius player! Hagi was excellent as well but I think Stoichkov was better.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

iregk wrote:
    Are you for real? Georgie Hagi was pure magic! Go back to the Arsenal -v- Galatasari uefa or cup winners cup final can't remember which and look at him. Over 30 on the decline with no pace left and he destroyed Arsenal. He was class.
    That match finished 0-0. Destroyed them indeed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,432 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

David Beckham is one of the best passers in the game! true, hes not much else, but hes known for his passing and crossing ability...so i think he can be really over-rated in that fact.

Stoichkov was unbelievable...Hagi was great too

Roberto Carlos, way over-rated

Paul Ince was way over-rated in my opinion aswell ( probbaly wont be popular either, but my opinion :) )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,251 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

I'd agree with Beckham. He's a fantastic player but at times the English media would have you believe he's the greatest thing since Maradona.

As for other mentions, I'd have to say Sergei Rebrov. A good season (or was it two?) with Kiev and everyone was raving about him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ziggy

• Registered Users Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭TonyD79

Paul scholes??--- el rabituos

So the opinion of nearly every manager and foreign player in the premiership and throughtout europe doesnt count?? scholes hasnt played well for a few years but back when he was at his peak he was rated as the best player in the premeirship ..not by pfa awards etc but by top class players throught europe!!! overrated?.........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,963 ✭✭✭SpAcEd OuT

the entire liverpool team

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

Christian Vieri.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

richardson
    cisse
    kewell
    drogba
    roberto carlos
    inzaghi
    boumsong

ziggy67 wrote:
    That is the way i feel about how Keane is treated by the Irish media.

Robbie or Roy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,966 ✭✭✭Jivin Turkey

Kingp35 wrote:
    But for me Denilson is the most over-rated ever. This man was the worlds most expensive player at one stage but he never did anything. Shocking stuff.
    We have a winner. He's got the transfer fee and the empty career to prove it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

We have a winner. He's got the transfer fee and the empty career to prove it.

...and a world cup winners medal. Poor fella, I pity him!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13,018 ✭✭✭✭jank

Cantona I totally agree with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

He pretty much singlehandedy dragged United to two premierships. How many players can say that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 961 ✭✭✭AthAnRi

Gary Doherty, Not only is he overrated (to say he's footballer is overrating him) but he is a conman as well. Worst player ever.

In regards to Comments about 'The King'. To say Cantona was overrated is unfair cause at the time he played in the premiership, premiership teams didn't generally perform well in Europe. If you look back to that time every premiership based player struggled in europe, not because they were poor players but because the teams were poorly manged for european competition. Even Alan Shearers performances in Europe for Blackburn and Newcastle were poor.

However Cantona retired before premiership teams and management strategies, largely thanks to foreign coaches, caught up with the rest of europe, hence he was never able to prove he could produce it in europe.

Also cantona was only ever rated as a player from people/players/managers who watched/played/managed in the premiership. He only won premiership related awards and never recieved recognition of his abiity from either fifa, uefa or from his national team. In conclusion he was neither overratted or uderrated. The credit(not to be confused with attention ;-P) he recieved I believe was just.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

Denilson's one...

That 'George Weah's cousin' guy...

For old school FM/Champo fans, Kennedy Backircioglu

I'll probably remember more.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,731 ✭✭✭el rabitos

ah here now. best right midfielder ever :D

*edit* how the hell is "Backircioglu" pronounced, puzzled me for years :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

That 'George Weah's cousin' guy...

Ali Dia. Over-rated by two people: Graeme Souness and himself.

Hero. One of my goals in life is to meet him. How do you know he's overrated though!??

I always thought - 'Bak-ir-ci-og-lu'

MrJoeSoap wrote:
    Ali Dia. Over-rated by two people: Graeme Souness and himself.

Hero. One of my goals in life is to meet him. How do you know he's overrated though!??

He wound up playing for someone like Iraklis...

Oh and he's everyone's Champo hero. Signed him for United in cm 01/02, didnt make the first team, was still Golden Boot at a World Cup. HERO.

el rabitos wrote:
    ah here now. best right midfielder ever :D

*edit* how the hell is "Backircioglu" pronounced, puzzled me for years :p

Ba-keer-see-og-loo

For me anyway.

In case anyone hasn't googled him before:

http://www.aanf.org/sports/images/kennedy_3.jpg

Seems to be playing for FC Twente these days.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,731 ✭✭✭el rabitos

Ba-keer-see-og-loo

For me anyway.

In case anyone hasn't googled him before:

http://www.aanf.org/sports/images/kennedy_3.jpg

why did i always assume he was black? Oo strange one

el rabitos wrote:
    why did i always assume he was black? Oo strange one

I saw a picture of him a few years back but up until that I had assumed that too! Weird alright. Zlatan was another obscure CM legend back in the day. They really got that one right!

In CM 01/02 I had Kim Kallstrom, Elmander and Backy as young players.

Kallstrom turned good enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,953 ✭✭✭blu_sonic

Freddy Guarin all the way legend in his life time.

what about Micheal Owen just after the goal in 1998? I think his hype is at the right level now and i thik hes a super goal scorer, but the brittish media had him set as Maradonna for awhile

http://img226.echo.cx/img226/111/guarinfm16eq.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,137 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

To name a few people who are over rated

Rio Ferdinand
    Michael Owen
    Frank Lampard
    Damien Duff
    Didiger Dirty Diveing Drogba
    Djibril Cisse

As for under rated which would be interesting
    Robert Huth
    Xabi Alonso
    Mikael Silvestre(gotten much better from when he first started)

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Andrea Pirlo and Gilardinho. Both are shíte, IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,587 ✭✭✭✭Dont be at yourself

Xabi Alonso

Who's under-rating Alonso? He's regarded by most as one of the best midfielders in the Premiership, and constantly linked with moves to Real Madrid etc.

PHB wrote:
    He pretty much singlehandedy dragged United to two premierships. How many players can say that?

How can you say that? United had players like Giggs, Schmeichel, Kanchelskis, Keane, Ince and Hughes during Cantona's era. All of those were top quality Premiership players.

Cantona was good but by no means did he drag United to anything. They had a very good team back then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

Yeh, and Cantona was the guy who dragged them. The season after he came back from his suspension he was just unreal. Anytime a big goal was needed, he would score it. WIthout him, United would not have won the premiership twice. Incredible player

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

PHB wrote:
    Anytime a big goal was needed, he would score it.

bar in Europe obviously. ;)

overated:

Gary Neville.
    Scholes.
    Rio.
    Drogba.
    Robben.

Lemlin wrote:
    How can you say that? United had players like Giggs, Schmeichel, Kanchelskis, Keane, Ince and Hughes during Cantona's era. All of those were top quality Premiership players.

Cantona was good but by no means did he drag United to anything. They had a very good team back then.

I have to agree, he by no means dragged united to the titles. I'm not saying he wasn't a good player but her most certainly does warrant the title of "The King" or as he was recently voted "Uniteds greatest ever player". Frankly I think thats an insult on United fans to vote him over the likes of Best, Charlton etc...

BolBill wrote:
    Hurrah !!!! At last someone who agrees witrh me. Bonner was muck ! One peno save and everyone thinks hes great, the pen had no pace on it at all, Timofte tapped it ! Remember Poland away, 3-1 up and crusing and then Palm it out Packie f**ks up twice and we draw, points that cost us qualifying in the end. Against Holland in USA '94 he had the clanger he was always capable of. Oh and in Italia '90 he should have punched Donadonis shot into row Z instead of palming it out to Toto.

As for he TV presenting abilities...... LEARN HOW TO SAY JUVENTUS you TWAT !!!

my exact sentiments

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,148 ✭✭✭✭Raskolnikov

Aleksander Hleb: I know he's still young, but from what I've seen so far, I don't think he can ever become more than a bit-part player on the Arsenal team.

Arjen Robben: Such a greedy, selfish player. For every goal he scores he wastes several decent chances. Has potential to be so much more of a player though.

Adrian Mutu: Arrogant, drug taking with a woeful finish. Currently bench warming at Juventus.

Shaun Wright Philips: Big fish in a small pond is really getting shown up for what he is, an average winger with a couple of tricks.

Fernando Morientes: Impressive record but he just does not have the fitness, pace or drive that he once had. Real did well to get £6.3M for him.

Arjen Robben: Such a greedy, selfish player. For every goal he scores he wastes several decent chances. Has potential to be so much more of a player though.

Shaun Wright Philips: Big fish in a small pond is really getting shown up for what he is, an average winger with a couple of tricks.

I have to agree with you here but I also question the SWP one. Was he really ever rated that brilliantly? I know a huge transfer value and that but when Chelsea are involved the transfer value become null and void I think. He is a lake fish playing in an ocean way too big for him.

Arjen Robben I do agree with you here altough he is still only 20 so give him time and I think we will see jose do a joe cole with him. Work out the annoying side of his game.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

PORNAPSTER wrote:
    Andrea Pirlo and Gilardinho. Both are shíte, IMO.

Yeah a 23 year old striker who has scored over 20 goals in Italy every full season of first team football he has gotten in Italy is extreamly over rated, and the best playmaker in the world has got to be over rated.

If anything both of them are under rated! Have you seen either of them play more than once? Do you have a brain?

By the way the name properly if you're going to comment on a payer, he's not brazilian.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 844 ✭✭✭casanova_kid

Pirlo is not the best playmaker in the world, he's not even the best playmaker at Milan. He's fairly average and as far as I an see, doesn't rise to the occasion in the big came.

I'm assuming your a permiership hype product that hasn't a notion about Italian football but its crap because sky says it is.

Pirlo is a world class player and without the best passer and dead ball taker in the world today. Everything Milan do goes through him, he dictates their play, their pace and their movement. So to say he is not even the best playmaker in Milan just shows ignorance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 622 ✭✭✭Garret

To name a few people who are over rated

Rio Ferdinand
    Michael Owen
    Frank Lampard
    Damien Duff
    Didiger Dirty Diveing Drogba
    Djibril Cisse

As for under rated which would be interesting
    Robert Huth
    Xabi Alonso
    Mikael Silvestre(gotten much better from when he first started)

rio ferdinand can be quality. Don't forget that before he got banned Man Utd had the best defence in the league. We all know what happened after that

Djibril Cisse is suffering what i call the liverpool syndrome. Their ability to buy good players and make them rubbish. Kewell is only recently recovering (still cant take him seriously though while he has that hair)

Only Jose thinks Drogba and more then half decent

Sylvestre can be too comfortable on the ball and loses it in possession. He does have a great slide tackle on him.

Xabi another L'pool Syndrome casuality IMO

• Closed Accounts Posts: 844 ✭✭✭casanova_kid

iregk wrote:
    I'm assuming your a permiership hype product that hasn't a notion about Italian football but its crap because sky says it is.

Pirlo is a world class player and without the best passer and dead ball taker in the world today. Everything Milan do goes through him, he dictates their play, their pace and their movement. So to say he is not even the best playmaker in Milan just shows ignorance.
    Read my other posts and you'll find i'm fairly critical of the premiership though. Saying Pirlo is the best playmaker in the world is simply proposterous. Have you forgotten about Xavi, Fabregas, Riquelme. Pirlo is one of the main reasons why Ac aren't winning Seria A and why they won't win the champions league, he's mediocre at best.
    PS: I don't have sky.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

When the reputation of a Milan boy is threatened, Captain Seaneh to the rescue!
    Seaneh wrote:
    the best playmaker in the world has got to be over rated.

If anything both of them are under rated!
    Made me smile :)

Nah but seriously I agree, there's no way they are overrated. Gilardino is class and will lead the line for Italy for many years to come, and is a decent bet for the WC Golden Boot this summer. Pirlo is class also and is certainly underrated, at least by the British media. Though I suppose every midfielder in the world is underrated by the British media, bar Frank Lampard, Steven Gerrard, Cesc Fabregas, and Ronaldinho, when they decide to consider him a midfielder instead of a striker / winger / left back / goalkeeper / kit man / part-time superhero.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 942 ✭✭✭Bodhidharma

To those of you claiming Fabregas is some sort of great midfield player, i have two words for you Grow Up, the guy has played a half a dozen good games.

He's undoubtedly a potential talent but no more. Come back to me in two seasons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Why do people keep mentioning Ciise. NOBODY rates him full stop. He will never get near to being over-rated.

Stekelly wrote:
    Why do people keep mentioning Ciise. NOBODY rates him full stop. He will never get near to being over-rated.

Thats what ive been saying!!! Someone on another threat, biggest talent wasters ever, put him in teh mix. As I said, how can he be a talent waster, he doesn't have any to waste!!!

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Seaneh wrote:
    Yeah a 23 year old striker who has scored over 20 goals in Italy every full season of first team football he has gotten in Italy is extreamly over rated, and the best playmaker in the world has got to be over rated.

If anything both of them are under rated! Have you seen either of them play more than once? Do you have a brain?

By the way the name properly if you're going to comment on a payer, he's not brazilian.
    Okay... If you are going to nit pick, spell extremely properly.

I said that it was my opinion that they were both shíte. I watch alot of Italian football on Bravissimo :) and it still does not change my opinion of them. Pirlo at times reminds me of United's own Darren Fletcher, except he pays far more attention to his hair on the pitch than Fletcher.

Gilardino has a serious lack of pace to be a top striker, this has been shown in the CL this season where he has no goals in eight appearances.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,294 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kingp35

iregk wrote:
    Thats what ive been saying!!! Someone on another threat, biggest talent wasters ever, put him in teh mix. As I said, how can he be a talent waster, he doesn't have any to waste!!!

Lets be honest here lads. There was a time when Cisse was banging them in for fun in the French league when he was rated quite highly and a few clubs were looking at him. Its simply a case of the Liverpool syndrome where a striker just does rubbish for them. He has been awful for Liverpool but he was the top striker in France for a few years.