Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Most over rated footballers ever

124»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭Juan Pablo

In CM 01/02 I had Kim Kallstrom, Elmander and Backy as young players.

Maxim Tsigalko, Sergei Nikiforenko, Vitlay Aleshenko and To Maderia tbh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,235 ✭✭✭iregk

CM 00/01 for me was the legend that is Kennedy Backircioglu and Mathew Etherington!! Also Goran Vlaiovic banging them in for me up front.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

Kingp35 wrote:
    Lets be honest here lads. There was a time when Cisse was banging them in for fun in the French league when he was rated quite highly and a few clubs were looking at him. Its simply a case of the Liverpool syndrome where a striker just does rubbish for them. He has been awful for Liverpool but he was the top striker in France for a few years.

Thank God someone pointed it out in the end.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,963 ✭✭✭SpAcEd OuT

Stekelly wrote:
    Why do people keep mentioning Ciise. NOBODY rates him full stop. He will never get near to being over-rated.

Hes overrated in the sense that he starts for a premiership team.....even if it is Liverpool

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,342 ✭✭✭Ardent

Kingp35 wrote:
    Lets be honest here lads. There was a time when Cisse was banging them in for fun in the French league when he was rated quite highly and a few clubs were looking at him. Its simply a case of the Liverpool syndrome where a striker just does rubbish for them. He has been awful for Liverpool but he was the top striker in France for a few years.

What are you blathering on about? Honestly? What's this Liverpool syndrome you speak of where strikers 'do rubbish' for them? Like Fowler, Owen, Rush, Keegan et al?

Let's just face up to the reality that Cisse is simply a rubbish footballer, period. The French league is nothing to write home about, it only serves to somehow show donkies like Cisse and Drogba as world class players.

Yes, there was a time when Cisse was one of the most over rated players ever. And he quite possibly still is.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,294 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kingp35

Ardent wrote:
    What are you blathering on about? Honestly? What's this Liverpool syndrome you speak of where strikers 'do rubbish' for them? Like Fowler, Owen, Rush, Keegan et al?

Let's just face up to the reality that Cisse is simply a rubbish footballer, period. The French league is nothing to write home about, it only serves to somehow show donkies like Cisse and Drogba as world class players.

What are you blathering on about? Obviously I meant recently when every striker who signs for Liverpool does rubbish for them. And you are slightly deluded if you think Cisse was not rated before he joined Liverpool. he did have a career before then you know!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 622 ✭✭✭Garret

Juan Pablo wrote:
    Maxim Tsigalko, Sergei Nikiforenko, Vitlay Aleshenko and To Maderia tbh

To Maderia was non existant in fact

a researcher just put himself in the game

he was found out after people on the official forum decided to call the club to see what the craic was, cos nobody could be that good. Lo and behold they never had anyone with that name on their books, or his real name.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 622 ✭✭✭Garret

Ardent wrote:

Yes, there was a time when Cisse was one of the most over rated players ever. And he quite possibly still is.

liverpool sydrome applies to strikers(can be in other positions) proven elsewhere, but when bought, often expensively, do poorly at Liverpool.

baros (top scorer at euro 2004 was he not or there abouts anyway)
    morientes (a very good striker, couldn't hit a donkey's arse with a banjo at liverpool)
    kewell (okay not a striker but until recently rubbish)
    Cisse (trust me, if you saw him play with Auxerre you would know that he is better than his Liverpool performances)
    xabi alonso (well its just that he cant really show what he can do while Gerrard is in the team)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,915 ✭✭✭✭astrofool

Ardent wrote:

Same happened to Morientes at Liverpool, Collymore, Heskey, Kewell. Has there ever been a big name player in the last ten years go to Liverpool and live up to his reputation? Liverpool are brilliant at bringing players through (carra, gerrard, fowler, macca, owen), but never seem to gel properly with their signings. Back in the day it was babb, scales, dicks (funnily enough, he had a good rep), Litmanen, off the top of my head. Maybe the problem isn't with those players.

As was pointed out in another thread, they always have the 'next' guy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

Seaneh wrote:
    Got a clip?

FOUND IT !

http://x1200.putfile.com/videos/b6-7712480129.wmv

Everyone should check this out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,432 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

what a funny video! LOL

The first clip was so lol! lol :D:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

what a funny video! LOL

The first clip was so lol! lol :D:D:D:D

More of the same so!

http://youtube.com/watch?v=96w05g9rEgw

This celebration is going to catch on, just you wait and see!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,432 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

lol, that is also so lol :) i would never get sick of seeing that celebration :D