Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Eircom High Ping

• 31-03-2006 12:14pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 313 ✭✭

I have been using eircom Home plus package for a few months now and have been happy with the service up until about a month ago. I play games online quite regularly and over the past month or so every night between the times of 8pm to 10pm my ping will shoot up from a constant 30ms to about 900ms.
    I have rang Eircom repeatadly about it and they have been next to no help. They told me to ping google running cmd (start-run-cmd-ping -t www.google.com) and I have beeen getting the same ping from them so I know its not the game or the server I have been playing on.
    I have run AV scans and Anti Spyware scans with just about every program I know (Avast, Windows Defender, Stinger, Ad-Aware, Spybot). So I was just wondering if anyone else has this problem or could help me in anyway. I live in the Wicklow Town area.
    P.S. Go easy on me I'm new here :)

Comments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 Abc1

Are you connected directly to a modem or router (with a cable) or are you using a wireless router?

ABC.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 313 ✭✭Ho-Hum

I use the bundled bog standard Netopia router and have the WEP key configured on it.
    EDIT: Yep I'm connected through a cable to the router.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭KerranJast