Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Man Utd vs. Arsenal

124»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,057 ✭✭✭TheMonster

Lemlin wrote:
    He's being sarcastic. At the start of this thread, a Liverpool supporter, el rabitos, came on here and said that United were not the second best team in the league, Liverpool are. If you read the entire thread, you'll see it.
    thanks Lemlin - saved me the bother

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,842 ✭✭✭s8n

BolBill wrote:
    i.
    Change your sig to Gary Neville is an arsehole, he hates scousers because they are more successful than Man U .....

hahaha.....seriously...NO

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭Ruskie4Rent

I think saha's presence allows other players to perform better. His coming deep lats the midfielders go ahead of him which suits giggs, rooney, and ronaldo as they can only stay behind RVN. When saha plays, I think, the team looks far more likely the score.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

RasTa wrote:
    Sir, you are oh so very wrong

When ruud and ronney are playing their best, saha has no chance of starting instead of them, United are probably the biggest club in the world so they really need 3 strikers who can challenge each other

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,003 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

When ruud and ronney are playing their best, saha has no chance of starting instead of them,

Ruud and Rooney have both been available of late and yet Saha has started his fair share of games. Given your statement above how do you explain that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,966 ✭✭✭Jivin Turkey

Saha is not as good as Van Nistelrooy or Rooney but he is still a class player, and definitely a keeper IMO. When there was talk that he may be surplus to requirements I would have loved if Liverpool made a bid for him.

It's a squad game, and Saha more than fits the bill, and would do for any Premiership team.

The Muppet wrote:
    Ruud and Rooney have both been available of late and yet Saha has started his fair share of games. Given your statement above how do you explain that.

Ruud is in bad form at the mo, thats why Saha is getting his chance ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

i can never see him challenging rooney or ruud for their spot
    Ruud is in bad form at the mo, thats why Saha is getting his chance

Can you not see why people are slightly bemused by your comments??

• Registered Users Posts: 2,731 ✭✭✭el rabitos

He's being sarcastic. At the start of this thread, a Liverpool supporter, el rabitos, came on here and said that United were not the second best team in the league, Liverpool are. If you read the entire thread, you'll see it.

you say i said all that, i say your full of u know what.

i told u to read what i actually said, u refused. therefore u are again talking through ur hole, ur usual contribution.

MrJoeSoap wrote:
    Can you not see why people are slightly bemused by your comments??

its easy to challenge another player if he is playing bad, but at a club like United they really need 3 strikers that can compete when all are playing at their best

• Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 9,048 Mod ✭✭✭✭Aquos76

I actually read through the thread and what you actually said was
    .and liverpool, as runners up in the world club championship, are the second best team in the world, better than united, chelsea, milan, barca etc?
    i never said they werent the 2nd best team! i said, based on the teams performances throughout the season, in MY opinion, they are not the second best team, personally (me) i think arsenal and liverpool have a better package, squad and mangers-wise.

and by the way you also said
    think arsenal will beat united handly enough, thats just my opinion, i could be wrong, if i am i'm sure there will be plenty of people to let me know

I guess you were wrong.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,731 ✭✭✭el rabitos

I guess you were wrong.

yeah i know, united played really well and deserved to win
    .and liverpool, as runners up in the world club championship, are the second best team in the world, better than united, chelsea, milan, barca etc?

yep, i said that, if u read what i said that in response to and if u have any sense for picking up on sarcasm you will be able to decipher my "flaming"
    i never said they werent the 2nd best team! i said, based on the teams performances throughout the season, in MY opinion, they are not the second best team, personally (me) i think arsenal and liverpool have a better package, squad and mangers-wise.

yep, i think liverpool AND arsenal have better packages right now in terms of challenging chelsea next season and maybe the season after that. i'm sure alot of man u fans think it will be man u and aresenal that challenge, so whats your problem with my opinion exactly?

• Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 9,048 Mod ✭✭✭✭Aquos76

I have no problems with your opinions. I was just quoting some of your posts.

The league table is a very accurate way as to how a team plays over the whole season. Lets see how it looks come May and we will therefore know the best teams in the country. My guess is it will read something like this

1 Chelsea FC
    2 Manchester United
    3 Liverpool FC
    4 Spurs.

Hopefully I will be wrong about the 1st and 2nd positions and they will be the opposite way around:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,800 ✭✭✭county

PHB wrote:
    Big challenge for United and we overcame it.

MOM: Vidic / Slyvestre

vidic yes he had a great game,very solid performence,but how the hell you think slyvestre played well is behond me,bad first touch and could`nt pass a ball to save his life,fergie must get rid in the summer,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

bad first touch and could`nt pass a ball to save his life

Did you watch the game? Do you remember Rooney's first goal?
    Do you remember the assist he got last week?

Granted he has been ****e this year, but since Christmas, he is really getting back to the defender he used to be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,800 ✭✭✭county

PHB wrote:
    Did you watch the game? Do you remember Rooney's first goal?
    Do you remember the assist he got last week?

Granted he has been ****e this year, but since Christmas, he is really getting back to the defender he used to be.

i was at the game and about 10 thousand people beside me thought the same,he`s such a week link in the defence its scary

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

I thought Silvestre had quite a good game, but there were a number of occasions where I was shouting "make your feckin mind up" at him. He was great going forward, but he lapses concentration and sometimes he gets caught in two minds. Park, IMO was United's worst player on the day. He stood off his man far too much.

Ruud is in bad form at the mo, thats why Saha is getting his chance ;)
    At the mo? This has been a pretty long mo because it's been a long time since he's been at his best. People have to stop assuming that he will return to the player he was two seasons ago or so. I believe he can, because despite poor form he can still score goals, but at the "mo" saha is the better player.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,660 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

At the mo? This has been a pretty long mo because it's been a long time since he's been at his best. People have to stop assuming that he will return to the player he was two seasons ago or so. I believe he can, because despite poor form he can still score goals, .
    since David left for Real

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

In fairness lads 21 goals in the Premiership alone so far this season is not bad at all. Especially as he has missed a number of games since Saha had his run in the team.

In fact apart from the Liverpool cup game, Ruud was in superb form which is why everyone questioned SAF for leaving him out of the Carling Cup final. But he hasn't looked the same since then. I reckon that he will be sold in the summer, he is getting to the age where his value will only go down. £25 million to one of the big clubs in Europe would be my guess.

Rossi and Solskjaer will be the support strikers next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46,399 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

county wrote:
    PHB wrote:

vidic yes he had a great game,very solid performence,but how the hell you think slyvestre played well is behond me,bad first touch and could`nt pass a ball to save his life,fergie must get rid in the summer,
    did you see the times gave Vidic a rating of 4!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,589 ✭✭✭✭Necronomicon

Tauren wrote:
    did you see the times gave Vidic a rating of 4!!!
    Out of 5 I hope!

since David left for Real
    wouldn't they be completely undrelated due to the FACT beckham made a massive contribution of 3 assists for ruud in his final season.

Out of 5 I hope!
    your hope would be misplaced! i could not believe it!

0,,287202,00.jpg

the times is a gooner rag so i wouldn't expect much else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

It's not since Becks left, its because Scholes no longer provides the defense splitting passes he used to

since david left for Real
    Ruud was also sharper and had a better return of goals from the amout of attempts he had. He hasn't been as good since then IMO.
    PORNAPSTER wrote:
    In fairness lads 21 goals in the Premiership alone so far this season is not bad at all. Especially as he has missed a number of games since Saha had his run in the team.

In fact apart from the Liverpool cup game, Ruud was in superb form which is why everyone questioned SAF for leaving him out of the Carling Cup final. But he hasn't looked the same since then. I reckon that he will be sold in the summer, he is getting to the age where his value will only go down. £25 million to one of the big clubs in Europe would be my guess.

Rossi and Solskjaer will be the support strikers next year.
    You're right 21 is not bad. Brilliant in fact. No matter how much a complain about ruud, he always scores. I would also say that he never makes his own golas and that they are usually tap ins but you still have to be there to put it in the back of the net.

hopefully he will be off to inter in the summer with adrianho coming the other way - i think that would certainly put an end to the best strikeforce debates!

NNNNNNNNEEEEEEEEEEEVER gonna happen though! lol.

I still think ruud can be a valuable member of the squad, but at the moment saha is the more valuable player in the first team role thanks to his pace and movement (and the fact he is better in the air). I think Rooney and Saha are a better partnership then rooney and ruud because their natural games suit better, saha dropping deep allows rooney to push further forward where as ruud is normally the furthest forward, as far forward as he could be, so rooney doesn't have the area to run in to.

However, the games against Bolton and Wigan (where we won with the own goal?) show where ruud can come in - when fast free flowing football won't work, against the sides that dig in, a war horse (absolutely no pun intended) like ruud can be invaluable as there is no one better then ruud at getting in amongst players and getting a chance out of nothing in the box.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,473 ✭✭✭Roddy23

I've seen some funny stuff on here, put this one takes the biscuit:
    the times is a gooner rag so i wouldn't expect much else.

Talk about paranoid.

i'm talking about the english version, sorry, which is CERTAINLY a gooner rag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭Nunu

county wrote:
    PHB wrote:

?????????????????
    Silvestre was my man of the match. Up and down the left flank all game and made countless interceptions. Took loads of chances to bomb forward, which is the last vital ingredient in an attacking team. I love this willingness to create in a full back. But then again I have a soft spot for full backs who do the job properly.

I believe playing full back is the most important and hardest job in an attacking team, if they do their job right. On the other hand in defensive minded teams full back is the least important and easiest position. Basically sit or at a stretch provide cover for one of your centre halfs on occasion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,915 ✭✭✭✭astrofool

Is the '??' beside Pires in that image because they didn't notice him playing the game?

i can only assume so, or that he played so poorly he didn't deserve any recognition at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,312 ✭✭✭mr_angry

Tauren wrote:
    i'm talking about the english version, sorry, which is CERTAINLY a gooner rag.
    Are you referring to the "Gooner rag" that Mr. Gary Neville writes for?