Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Provo Criminality

• 10-04-2006 7:35pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 88,978 ✭✭✭✭

Jasus lads you'd think they'd have a bit of wit esp right now in the aftermath of Donaldson and the latest (yawn) attempt to revive normal politics in Norn Iron.
    RTÉ News has learned that one of the men arrested by gardaí in connection with the hijacking of a vehicle in Co Meath was released under the terms of the Good Friday agreement in 1998.

At that time he was serving a six-year sentence for possession of explosives.

A total of three men were arrested in Co Westmeath in connection with the incident and it is understood at least two of the men are former members of the IRA.

The truck, which was carrying €300,000 worth of vodka, was hijacked on the Dublin side of Dunshaughlin.

It was later discovered by gardaí near Delvin in Co Westmeath, and the driver of the truck was found to be uninjured.

Just can't keep thier sticky fingers out of other peoples tills eh?

Mike.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,924 ✭✭✭Cork

Not another thread on Provo Criminality? On these boards I think we have had many discussions on this topic. But 8 years after the Good Friday Agreement this report on the RTE website is disturbing.

How many crates of Vodka is the Peace Process worth?

Man held over hijacking*had been*freed in 1998
    10 April 2006 17:57

RTÉ News has learned that one of the men arrested by gardaí in connection with the hijacking of a vehicle in Co Meath was released under the terms of the Good Friday agreement in 1998.

At that time he was serving a six-year sentence for possession of explosives.

A total of three men were arrested in Co Westmeath in connection with the incident and it is understood at least two of the men are former members of the IRA.

The truck, which was carrying €300,000 worth of vodka, was hijacked on the Dublin side of Dunshaughlin.

The IRA is believed to have perfected the recipe for Smirnoff Red Label vodka, among other spirits, and has a well-developed distribution network for its counterfeit products in pubs and clubs which it controls, particularly in Belfast.

Raids on illegal distilleries, mainly in border areas, have uncovered bottling and capping machinery and high- quality copies of brand labels. Many of the products are designed for use in pub optics.

But what are the SF doing about this?

No member of the IRA can be a criminal, Sinn Féin President Gerry Adams claimed today.

Mr Adams said there could be no link whatsoever between republican activism and criminality.

Irish Examiner December 13, 2004*

What is so annoying is the DUP have plenty of excuses not to restart NI insitutions. They have been handed these on a plate by SF.

Ian Paisley must be having a right laugh at SF. I personally feel betrayed by continued Provo criminality and the lack of political progress in NI.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,486 ✭✭✭miju

i'm just going to put forward an observation on this and fully expect the wrath of boards for it too LOL but:

the IRA is being disbanded (slowly)and put (most if not all) arms beyond use, therefore would it not stand to reason that certain criminals inside the IRA have taken up what they do best as a career choice as it will be difficult for the IRA leadership to control them seeing as how they've no longer a war to wage and discipline begins to further break down

so therefore just because someone commits a crime was a previous member it doesnt neccesarily mean it's the IRA kicking back into life planning a new campaign there's such a thing as indisciplin / stupidy among some of the ex members, dont forget the guys arrested could be CIRA , RIRA as well

just find people are always quick to jump the gun (if you pardon the pun)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,011 ✭✭✭joebhoy1916

Quote:
    The IRA is believed to have perfected the recipe for Smirnoff Red Label vodka, among other spirits, and has a well-developed distribution network for its counterfeit products in pubs and clubs which it controls, particularly in Belfast.

Raids on illegal distilleries, mainly in border areas, have uncovered bottling and capping machinery and high- quality copies of brand labels. Many of the products are designed for use in pub optics.

But what are the SF doing about this?

If the IRA have the perfect recipe for Vodka why would they steal a truck load of it. :rolleyes: ;):D

• Registered Users Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Shouldn't the name of this thread be "Suspected crimes by (what's understood as) former members of the IRA"?

Nothing "suspected" about being caught in the act...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 25,234 ✭✭✭✭Sponge Bob

Earthman wrote:
    Nothing "suspected" about being caught in the act...

Don't assume that all ex IRA members are cuurently into villainy , quite a lot of the border mob are but lots of them have simply retired and got a job ....which is what they are supposed to have done after the GFA

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,978 ✭✭✭✭mike65

At what point does a Provo become an ex member - is it before, during or after the robbery?

Mike.

The volunteer stops being a member of the organisation when he/she is thrown out or retired. Or the organisation is stood down, as in this case.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

They're issued a statement today...
    http://www.noticias.info/asp/aspComunicados.asp?nid=167027&src=0
    "This Easter marks the 90th anniversary of the 1916 Rising, a turning point in the history of Ireland.

Irish republicans remember with pride those who gave their lives that extraordinary Easter and the leaders executed in the weeks that followed.

The leadership of Óglaigh na hÉireann extends solidarity to the families of all of our patriot dead from every generation and in particular those from this phase of struggle.

We send solidarity greetings to our imprisoned comrades and their families.

This year we also commemorate the valiant prison Hunger Strike of 1981. Ten brave men - freedom fighters and patriots - died. Their legacy and that of Frank Stagg and Michael Gaughan, lives on and their fortitude and courage continues to inspire.

Following our statement of July 28 last year, IRA Volunteers have adhered, in the spirit and the letter, to the decisions and instructions outlined by the leadership.

We commend the discipline of our Volunteers and salute their commitment.

The IRA has no responsibility for the tiny number of former republicans who have embraced criminal activity. They do so for self-gain. We repudiate this activity and denounce those involved.

The IRA remains committed to the peace process. Our decisions and actions of last July and September are proof of that.

The leadership of Óglaigh na hÉireann believes that it is possible to achieve the republican goal of a united Ireland through the alternative route of purely peaceful and democratic means.

We know that many republicans are frustrated and angry at the positions taken up by the two governments over the last year. However, in our view, the will of the people is to see advances in the political process.

The onus is on the two governments and the political parties to ensure that this happens. The Irish Government in particular has a duty to see beyond the current phase of the process. Its responsibility is to promote an end to partition and to create the conditions for the unity and independence of Ireland.

The IRA is fully committed to the ideals and principles of the Proclamation of Easter 1916.

We urge maximum unity in the time ahead.

Beirigí bua."

Make what you like of that...

Well there is only one Óglaigh na hÉireann and it is not the IRA.

8 years after the Good Friday Agreement - you'd think they'd cop onto this.
    The IRA has no responsibility for the tiny number of former republicans

Unacceptable cop out.

How does this organisation finance itself?

They never point this out in their bland and pointless statements.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,201 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

Cork wrote:

Unacceptable cop out.

Do you think that organisations should always be held responsible for people who once were members? Is their a time limit? 5 months? 5 years? 50 years?

• Registered Users Posts: 347 ✭✭Concannon7

Cork wrote:
    Well there is only one Óglaigh na hÉireann and it is not the IRA.

8 years after the Good Friday Agreement - you'd think they'd cop onto this.

Unacceptable cop out.

How does this organisation finance itself?

They never point this out in their bland and pointless statements.

How is it unacceptable? If its true that these are former members how can you blame the PIRA? The PIRA would no longer be responsible for what these men do. I dont know whats so hard to understand about that.

PIRA are an unaccountable secret organisation.
    People are being asked to trust the word of an organisation that murdered and maimed for decades with impunity and with a complete disregard for the views of the people of Ireland.
    The fact that people wont believe what they say,now that is understandable.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

Cork wrote:

Unacceptable cop out.

So what exactly is the IRA to do about a small number of its ex-members who do embrace criminality? Discipline them themselves, if they did you'd be whinging about that, all they can do is let the guards handle the matter, which they are already doing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,577 ✭✭✭Heinrich

Criminality is not exclusive to members or ex-members of the IRA! We have some pretty expensive tribunals investigating Fianna Fail politicians' misdeeds, notably one C. J. Haughey. There is quite a long list....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,082 ✭✭✭lostexpectation

I wonder if all these operations to nab fuel smugglers is about stopping 'criminality' or something else?

I'd rather all criminality is chased by the Gardaí and I'm glad when I hear of any case being investigated.They're only doing their job after all.
    Are you suggesting that theres some kind of political interference in the Gardaí? or what are you suggesting?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,082 ✭✭✭lostexpectation

that resources are being distributed by whats politicaly useful for certain somebody?

Unless you can come up with something more concrete than that lost expectation,I have to ask you not to post opinion as fact.

FTA69 wrote:
    So what exactly is the IRA to do about a small number of its ex-members who do embrace criminality?

The defence forces have been combating Provo Criminality for years.

What legitimate funding arrangements do the Provoshave to fund themselves?

Small number?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,011 ✭✭✭joebhoy1916

Well that aint true they get alot of support from groups from
    America and all over the world. Im not saying there totally innocent
    sure who is? Let me guess your going to say Liam Lawler? :rolleyes:

Nobody is perfect. Sure what do you care how they get there
    money. Did they ever steal from you? Did they ever do anything
    bad to ya?

• Registered Users Posts: 24,924 ✭✭✭✭BuffyBot

Nobody is perfect. Sure what do you care how they get there
    bad to ya?

Oh dear...do we even have to answer that, or can you figure out what is wrong with that statement on your own?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,486 ✭✭✭miju

Cork wrote:
    The defence forces have been combating Provo Criminality for years.

What legitimate funding arrangements do the Provoshave to fund themselves?

Small number?

yes but significantly LESS since they stood down,

on a quick personal note, i always find people are too quick to jump down the throat of the provo's, give them a chance I'm sure it takes a while to effect an "attitude change" which is apparent not only inside the provo's but in the mindsets of alot of people in this country

Sure what do you care how they get there
    bad to ya?

Well Provo criminality has cost the excheqer of this country.

Money that could be spent on health, education & social welfare.

give them a chance I'm sure it takes a while to effect an "attitude change" which is apparent not only inside the provo's but in the mindsets of alot of people in this country

It has been 8 years since the signing of the Good Friday Agreement.

The Provos and their supporters may not be too bright but I think after 8 years of an international agreement - their is no excuse for breaking the laws of this country.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 25,234 ✭✭✭✭Sponge Bob

Cork wrote:
    The Provos and their supporters may not be too bright but I think after 8 years of an international agreement - their is no excuse for breaking the laws of this country.

Look, 15000 people were lifted for provo activity during the troubles, at least 14000 are leading normal lives with jobs mortgages and kids now. Being an ex provo is not a crime .

Dont overlay the present with uneccesary artefacts from the past Cork, most of these people have moved on and so should teh rest of us. If you decide that the 14000 are still crims then remember that our jails can only hold 3000 so start building !!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 78,420 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Sponge Bob wrote:
    Dont overlay the present with uneccesary artefacts from the past Cork, most of these people have moved on and so should teh rest of us. If you decide that the 14000 are still crims then remember that our jails can only hold 3000 so start building !!!!!
    They are!

http://www.irishprisons.ie/newsItem.asp?newsID=34

Cork wrote:
    I don't agree with that generalisation. Particularly after reading the book "Inside the Maze".

"The vast majority of the Loyalists would have ended up in prison for one crime or another but everyone understood that very few indeed of the Republicans would ever have seen the inside of a prison if it hadn't been for the troubles."
    One former governor of the Kesh to Belfast journalist and author Chris Ryder.

And it's "there", not "their"...

• Registered Users Posts: 12,588 ✭✭✭✭Sand

I don't agree with that generalisation. Particularly after reading the book "Inside the Maze".

"The vast majority of the Loyalists would have ended up in prison for one crime or another but everyone understood that very few indeed of the Republicans would ever have seen the inside of a prison if it hadn't been for the troubles."
    One former governor of the Kesh to Belfast journalist and author Chris Ryder.

And it's "there", not "their"...

So youre saying IRA men are not criminally minded, hence its safe to assume that 3 Provos found engaged in criminality must be doing so under direction? Fair enough.
    on a quick personal note, i always find people are too quick to jump down the throat of the provo's

Bless the poor dears.
    So what exactly is the IRA to do about a small number of its ex-members who do embrace criminality? Discipline them themselves, if they did you'd be whinging about that, all they can do is let the guards handle the matter, which they are already doing.

They could co-operate by revealing to Gardai (and the PSNI, seeing as the war is over...) exactly what schemes were being pulled to fund the Provos life of luxury for the past 30 years, demonstrate that they have been completely shut down and volunteer information to any investigation of ex-Provos who besmirch the good name of their "movement" by engaging in criminality?

Or they could publish their membership list, clearly identifying who is and who isnt a member so no one will get confused by the way Provos suddenly become ex-Provos as soon as theyre caught. Sure it would be in their interest to make completely clear whose actions reflect on them.

Actions speak louder than words, SFIRA have a lot of talk about criminality but they dont back it up. Its even hard to understand wtf they mean by criminality. What is criminality in provo speak these days?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,500 ✭✭✭Mercury_Tilt

• Registered Users Posts: 6,539 ✭✭✭ghostdancer

Cork wrote:

just aswell that no Provos were involved in this robbery isn't it?

although i see all the usuals choose to ignore the "former" part of the description in favour of the usual republican bashing.

don't mind the fact that neither the Minister for Justice, nor the Gardai believe the IRA to be involved, sure any oul excuse to label all republicans as criminals is good enough.

glad to see the patheticness of the anti-Republican board members is going strong.