Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Easter Weekend Premiership fixtures Part 1 (14th, 15th & 16th)

• 13-04-2006 11:32pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,589 ✭✭✭✭

Well I know it's only thursday night, but Man United and Sunderland get the ball rolling tomorrow night in a weekend that could decide the fate of many teams.
    Here's how they play out:

Friday 14th
    19.45 Manchester United vs. Sunderland PremPlus
    Home

Saturday 15th
    12.45 Bolton vs. Chelsea PremPlus
    Away
    15:00 Arsenal vs. West Brom
    Home
    15:00 Everton vs. Tottenham
    Away
    15:00 Fulham vs. Charlton
    Home
    15:00 Newcastle vs. Wigan
    Draw
    15:00 Portsmouth vs. Middlesbro
    Home
    15:00 West Ham vs. Man City
    Home

Sunday 16th
    12.00 Aston Villa vs. Birmingham SkySports1
    Draw
    14.30 Blackburn vs. Liverpool SkySports1
    Home

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,251 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

Jeez, it is very early to get this up and running and I think perhaps there should be separate threads for Saturday/Sunday's games and then the games on Monday and the rest of the week.

Here goes though:

Friday 14th
    Home

Saturday 15th
    Away
    Home
    Draw
    Home
    Draw
    Home
    Home

Sunday 16th
    Draw
    Away

A lot is going to be decided this weekend in the race for fourth. I reckon the best Blackburn can hope for is four points, if even that. I'm predicting them to get 1. I think Spurs will be lucky to come out with 3 but I'm predicting them to get 2, a draw at Everton followed by a draw with United. With Arsenal not playing two matches, they could be a possible seven points ahead with three games left by the end of next week.

Like I said on an earlier thread though, at this stage of the season anything can happen, and I'm sure that there'll be more than one shock result this weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,010 ✭✭✭besty

Is the United game on any channel bar Prem Plus?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

Friday 14th
    Utd

Saturday 15th
    Bolton( I pray, let me pray :))
    Draw (ballsy I know, but Arsenal still havn't recovered from losing to Utd, and will have their minds on midweek. West Brom are fighting for everything)
    Spurs
    Chalrton
    Newcastle
    Portsmouth
    Draw

Sunday 16th
    Brum
    Blackburn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,003 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

Friday 14th
    Home

Saturday 15th
    Draw
    Home
    Away
    Draw
    Home
    Home
    Away

Sunday 16th
    Draw
    Draw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,589 ✭✭✭✭Necronomicon

besty wrote:
    Is the United game on any channel bar Prem Plus?
    No don't think so, I'd say the only other option is one of the live streams.

Edit: I edited the original post, since people are predicting saturday and sunday fixtures only. It probably is easier alright to predict them after seeing the first round of fixtures.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,800 ✭✭✭county

Friday 14th
    Home

Saturday 15th
    draw
    Home
    Draw
    Home
    Draw
    draw
    Home

Sunday 16th
    Draw
    Away

Home

Saturday 15th
    Draw
    Home
    Away
    Draw
    Draw
    Home
    Home

Sunday 16th
    Away
    Draw

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

United

Saturday 15th
    Bolton
    Arsenal
    Draw
    Fulham
    Newcastle
    Portsmouth
    West Ham

Sunday 16th
    Birmingham
    Blackburn

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,891 ✭✭✭Jammer

Was at Stamford Bridge for Chelsea V Bolton earlier in the season. Bolton took an early lead, then chelsea came out at half time and stuffed them 5-1. Keep praying PHB.

The Bolton goalkeeper was brutal that day, kept palming the ball to chelsea strikers! He's improved since then in my opinion....Come on the bolton!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,149 ✭✭✭BFassassin

good to see a lot of people think united will win and chelsea will lose or draw. im with you PHB im hoping as well:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,482 ✭✭✭RE*AC*TOR

Friday 14th
    19.45 ManYoo vs. Sunderland
    Home

Saturday 15th
    12.45 Bolton vs. Chelski
    Away
    Home
    Draw
    Draw
    Away
    15:00 Portsmouth vs. Middlesbro----Away
    Home

Sunday 16th
    12.00 Aston Villa vs. Birmingham
    Home
    14.30 Blackburn vs. Liverpool
    Away

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,836 ✭✭✭Vokes

Friday 14th

19.45 Manchester United vs. Sunderland
    Home

Saturday 15th

12.45 Bolton vs. Chelsea
    Away
    Home
    Home
    Draw
    Draw
    Home
    Draw

Sunday 16th

12.00 Aston Villa vs. Birmingham
    Draw
    14.30 Blackburn vs. Liverpool
    Away

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,494 ✭✭✭ronbyrne2005

isnt there a full set of games on bank holiday monday too? important weekend at both ends of table.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Friday 14th
    19.45 Manchester United vs. Sunderland Home

Saturday 15th
    12.45 Bolton vs. Chelsea Draw
    15:00 Arsenal vs. West Brom Home
    15:00 Everton vs. Tottenham Away
    15:00 Fulham vs. Charlton Home
    15:00 Newcastle vs. Wigan Home
    15:00 Portsmouth vs. Middlesbro Draw
    15:00 West Ham vs. Man City Home

Sunday 16th
    12.00 Aston Villa vs. Birmingham Draw
    14.30 Blackburn vs. Liverpool Draw

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

oh everton have half their team out.
    nice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,188 ✭✭✭growler

does everyone REALLY believe that Bolton will beat or draw with Chelsea ?

Bolton are 4/1 to win this !

5/2 for a draw.

I do hope ye don't bet with ye're hearts too lads. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,432 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

Friday 14th
    Home

Saturday 15th
    Away
    Home
    Home
    Draw
    Draw
    Home
    Home

Sunday 16th
    Away
    Away

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,621 ✭✭✭Blackjack

seems to be a huge amount of people think that Everton will beat the spurs - for the record, Everton have only taken 4 points in 4 years in their Games with Spurs, can't see them taking anything from this one either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 631 ✭✭✭andrewie

Solskjaer and heinze on the bench for United.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

official line up from match tracker on man utd.com

van der sar
    nev----rio----vidic---silvy
    park----oshea---giggs---richardson
    --rooney
    RVN---

howard, heinze,ronaldo,saha,brown---bench

putting out more or less a full team, going all out for the high score here.

thats not the team..

United team:

Van Der Sar, Neville, Ferdinand, Brown, Evra, Ronaldo, O'Shea, Giggs, Park, Rooney Van Nistelrooy.

Subs: Howard, Heinze, Silvestre, Fortune, Solskjaer.

thats from MUTV

BBC have it the same as yours andrewie. Interesting to see a few players rested.

I'd really love to see Solsjkaer get a run out at the end.

Come on Sunderland, hold on.

Lemlin wrote:
    Come on Sunderland, hold on.

There's probably going to be about a half an hour extra time.

Lol - commentary from Football 365 has the following:

90 mins: Four minutes of added time have come from nowhere

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,432 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

What A Result! Lol!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,198 ✭✭✭kensutz

Well done Sunderland, we always have a good rep with the club and have an unofficial cup to play for next season between the 2. See y'all next season

• Closed Accounts Posts: 958 ✭✭✭Mark

Man Uniteds grand fightback collapsed by a draw at home to the worst team in Premiership history. You have to laugh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,677 ✭✭✭Chong

Thats it , season over. I am so gutted right now. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,399 ✭✭✭✭Thanx 4 The Fish

Great result for Sunderland. Looks like the battle for first place is as good as finished. Wayne rooney with 8 attempts and only one on target. Fair play to Sunderland, gave as good as they got and held the second best team in the premiership to a goalless draw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,916 ✭✭✭Brian017

Sunderland best performance of the season sends them down.

Congratulations Chelsea.

United will have to improve before they play Spurs monday! Can't believe we couldn't beat Sunderland!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,350 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

Man Uniteds grand fightback collapsed by a draw at home to the worst team in Premiership history. You have to laugh.

United seem to find it harder to beat the rubbish teams than the top teams this season.
    32 shots for United.

Dont make a blind bit of difference now does it. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,391 ✭✭✭arbeitsscheuer

Oh...
    My...
    God...

That lot beat us and within 6 days drew with the worst team I've ever seen in the Premiership? This reflects badly on us Gunners, methinks.

Can't believe those fcukers couldn't even beat the poxy black cats, I mean jesus... I'm really gutted by this, that's how much I hate Chelsea at this point.

Oh well. Moneybags win Back to back titles. Depressing as anything.

I dont think anyone at this wants Chelsea to win at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,003 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

How frustrating was that?

Great result for Sunderland. Looks like the battle for first place is as good as finished. Wayne rooney with 8 attempts and only one on target. Fair play to Sunderland, gave as good as they got and held the second best team in the premiership to a goalless draw.

For a supposedly top drawer striker, Rooney's finishing can be very suspect at times.
    United will have to improve before they play Spurs monday! Can't believe we couldn't beat Sunderland!!

If I was a Spurs fan I would of preffered to see United win tonight. There could be a big backlash from their players on Monday now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,164 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

SebtheBum wrote:
    That lot beat us and within 6 days drew with the worst team I've ever seen in the Premiership? This reflects badly on us Gunners, methinks.

Also shows the difference in United's play when Rooney turns up and when he doesn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,915 ✭✭✭✭astrofool

Was always gonna happen at some stage. Real football never plays out the same as CM.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,731 ✭✭✭el rabitos

shocking(ly funny) result, and at old trafford too. the race for second might still be on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,019 ✭✭✭✭adox

el rabitos wrote:
    shocking(ly funny) result, and at old trafford too. the race for second might still be on.

Dream on!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,916 ✭✭✭Brian017

adox wrote:
    Dream on!
    I bet you'd have said that about Sunderland getting a draw too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,589 ✭✭✭✭Necronomicon

**** :(
    Well, it was nice to have a bit of hope for a couple of weeks anyway...I'm certainly not gonna tear into the team after the run they've been on, but what a disaster. They probably all thought they could go out and roll over Sunderland. Unless Bolton get something off Chelsea tomorrow, it's over.

Brian017 wrote:
    I bet you'd have said that about Sunderland getting a draw too.

Oh yeah,ok sorry Liverpool will now finish second:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,467 ✭✭✭smemon

it's hardly disastrous, we weren't 2 points behind chelsea neck and neck for the title.

utd were all over them 2nd half and did everything but score. sunderland were deliberately time wasting and gave away a huge number of free kicks. (mind you, would you blame them having seen ronaldo's shots today?)

keeper was motm, says it all really. you get them matches. it's a pity it effectively kills utd's late title rally but im the most important thing to achieve in these types of games is clean sheets. if you can't score, its important not to concede as that's where points are lost over a season.

too late for this season obviously but next year things are looking good. an injury-free utd will definately be challenging chelsea.

**** :(
    Well, it was nice to have a bit of hope for a couple of weeks anyway...I'm certainly not gonna tear into the team after the run they've been on, but what a disaster. They probably all thought they could go out and roll over Sunderland. Unless Bolton get something off Chelsea tomorrow, it's over.

To be fair I think what little hope United did have is well and truely gone now.

Dream on!

oh wait, i know this one.

now i say why i think liverpool will come second...then you dissagree, and THEN i say liverpool have more cups than united, then u say we won the treble...then i say something sarcastic, then u say ole is a legend, then lemlin says liverpool suck, followed by a couple of bannings and the thread is locked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,800 ✭✭✭county

total disgrace please someone pass me the oxegen:eek:

what happened to saha, injured or something?