Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boy Racer Stereotype

• 14-04-2006 2:21pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 17

Only put the bodykit on my astra the other day and already I’m getting grief from small minded foke. I live in limerick in a nice quite estate all the children playing and that. Never fly around the estate or anything. Always drive slowly as the last thing I wand if to hit a child. Anyway was driving in last night around half 8 and there were two cars in front of me being towed. I had my windows down and could hear this family who were walking around with a pram and kids giving out stink that they hadn't there hazard lights on in the car. (the car was moving around 2miles an hour) then I pulled up outside my own house to collect two of my friends and had my "neighbours" mouthing off to me in both windows of my car that I was parked on the footpad etc etc etc. They had room either side of the car to go around and if I was on the road I would have been causeing an obstruction. I was only there for 20 seconds tops. What really get me if it that was an elderly gentleman of lady who pulled up would they have started giving them grief in the windows. Most certainly they would not have. After listening to the grief I drove off maybe with a little bit too much trottle no kids anywhere at this stage only to see them out with there phones supposedly calling the guards calling out my reg at the top of there voice. I know I shouldn't have done that but I just can't stand the small minded ways of some people. I see the same neighbours everyday of the week in a rush flying out of the estate because there late for work but that’s ok... Let me know your opinions on this guys.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,398 ✭✭✭ando

its hard to get the jist of the story from that...? You pulled up at your own house and they started mouthing off to you even though they had room to get around you? That’s a bit rich of them, although technically if the gards came along they could charge you for parking on a footpath

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 DJBozo

The footpath in this estate is not a typical one, it does not have kerbs and is the same level as the road. Behind the footpath is where all the cars park. sorry now i know it's hard to understand

• Registered Users Posts: 4,471 ✭✭✭elexes

you could go and talk to them some day about what happened . these people im guessing have lived there for some time.

perhaps ask them if there was ever any call to the local council to fix the footpath and make parking spaces clear.

ye but on the other hand your going to get people like that everywhere . just ignore it in future .

also it would be worth getting the local guarda stations phone number and putting it in you phone

is it one of them old estates that has roads so narrow cars can only park on one side of the road ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 researchgal

hi i'm doing a study in college with some friends, looking to talk to people about the stereotype of 'boy racers' and people who go out to street race/etc. does anyone have any opinions or stories? looking for contacts. cheers

• Registered Users Posts: 1,917 ✭✭✭B00MSTICK

I've driven around town (Galway) alot at night and not one seen a street race or anything like it. They all meet in Tesco car park and have a nice chat.
    The term "boy-racer" is pretty much now given to any young person who has a modified car regardless whether they have illegal street races or are very careful drivers like in the OP's situation

• Registered Users Posts: 230 ✭✭BarryM3

I drive a BMW M3 and a X5 Jeep. The M3 is a performance car so looks a certain way and sounds a it louder than your average car.

I can and do drive the jeep around all day everyday at twice the speed I do in the M3 (especially locally) and the same people who shake their heads and fists at me wave politely when I pass them at a much faster speed in the jeep.

My advice to the OP is make the effort to drive extremely slow and as quiet as possible in your own estate/area. Its wrong that you have to allow for peoples ignorance but at end of the day its in your own best interest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 415 ✭✭AsphaltRisin'

Similar story to the OP's predicament:

A couple of months ago i was out drivin with a buddy of mine in my previous car, which was a grey sierra 4 door. We got a call from some friends saying they were going to the cinema and asking if we'd come, so we drove over with the intention of waitng around for the others to arrive, all's goin well so far, until i pulled into the carpark , slowly, not making a fuss or over revving the car or anything, in fact i drove extra slow because of the amount of people around, then a security guard stepped out in friont of me so i stopped, he came to my window then said to me kinda forcefully "get out of here lads, i dont want to see any of you bloody drift merchants hanging around here putting people in danger".
    First off i said "what? we're goin to a film" and insisted we should get out or he was callin the gards, i ignored him at first and drove about 50 feet more and parked, then he came over again , banged on the boot and shouted get the F out of here now and repeated what he said about the gards.
    I asked him what his problem was and he said we were obviously in to do donuts and otherwise mess around because as he said "i know well you dirft boys use sierras and i'm not havin ye in here".
    We left and parked in a different area and walked back.
    Now i'm not saying i'm a perfect driver, or that i dont sometimes like to get a car sideways, but on that occasion i was behaving and being careful.
    Moral of the story is that your man decided based on what car i was driving that we were trouble, not based on how we were behaving.

had to edit some damn typos there, sorry about that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,956 ✭✭✭layke

Park the car, tell him to call the cops then. When they arrive tell them straight up you've done nothing wrong.

If he makes anything up ask him to show the car park cameras (assuming they have them) so they 'can get the dangerous boy racer off the road'. He will the go GULP and sudenly start to sweat.

I would also make a formal complaint to his supervisor to his face also, threaten legal action just so he gets a right bollocking.

Never ever give in to peopels prejudace, you did nothing wrong.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,977 ✭✭✭johnny_adidas

fair enough they shouldn't be picking on you like that, but in fairness (and im surprised im the only one who has mentioned this) you gave them exactly what they needed by throttling off down the road. (gratifying as it may be:D )

• Registered Users Posts: 4,184 ✭✭✭Fey!

A friend of mine installs car alarms and stereos. He was outside his garage one day talking to a customer when my 520 pulls up outside (bodykit, alloys and tint, all washed and shiny). The customer started to mouth off about "bloody boy racers" and all that, pointing at the 520.

My friend said the guys jaw just droped when the drivers door opened and my father got out (60 years old, dressed in a suit!!!).

My friend just fell around the place laughing!

layke wrote:
    Park the car, tell him to call the cops then. When they arrive tell them straight up you've done nothing wrong.

If he makes anything up ask him to show the car park cameras (assuming they have them) so they 'can get the dangerous boy racer off the road'. He will the go GULP and sudenly start to sweat.

I would also make a formal complaint to his supervisor to his face also, threaten legal action just so he gets a right bollocking.

Never ever give in to peopels prejudace, you did nothing wrong.

Ah at that stage it wasnt worth doin that at all. We just wanted to head in to the cinema and i couldnt be bothered arguin with him because he was gettin thick with me and was bein very aggressive so rather than get into a incident with him i just went up around the back and parked in another area where he couldnt see.
    I just find it very annoying that he'd pick on us because i drove into the place in a car he didnt like the looks of. It's not even like that car was done up to the nines it was just lowered with some escort cosworth alloys on it, i'd hate to see what he'd have been like if he met some poor lad in a supra or a levin or somethin more flash...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,401 ✭✭✭✭Anti

Fcuk 'em i say. Stereotypical Geebags. When i was leavign my drive way id often light up the rear wheels and pull out of my row sideways. Never when kids were around though. Had quite a few run ins with the neighbors over the car being to loud ( blame blitz nur spec exhausts and hks cams :p ) But not once did i complain when they had all night parties. And i was to be up at 6am to do a 12 hour day. But id often get a note in the letter box when i got home saying i was very loud in the morning. Or a very angry neighbour banging on my door at 9pm screaming abuse at me.

Fcuk em all. Moany bastards.

• Registered Users Posts: 254 ✭✭theAwakening

Honestly I am much more concerned about 80 year old grannys & grandads who are on the road with 86 Lada's, who are half deaf and cant see 6 feet in front of them, Ive once or twice been caught behind them and it's clear to see that they have generally no sense of reaction when they may need it. Nothing personal against the elderly obviously! But they are dodgey!

I drive a 96 civic myself, modified engine, aftermarket exhaust etc. I do not speed nor am I wreckless driver. The last thing I want is to be in, or be the cause of, an accident of any sort, nor do I want to be stopped by Gardai for any reason. It just isn't worth it for the sake of a few extra mph....

• Registered Users Posts: 7,398 ✭✭✭fletch

Had an incident on the Walkinstown Roundabout with a post van. Going around it, indicate to move off the roundabout (I was in the 2nd lane)...post van drops back to let me go (him in the 2nd lane also)...I move(fairly quickly but nothin excessive) into to the gap and then off the roundabout. At which point he jumps on the horn and starts flashin his lights...traffic came to a halt at which he hung out the window and started shouting obscenities at me and how I should slow down.....and slow down I did...I crawled for the next few hundred metres in 1st gear (feet off the accelerator completely) with him shoutin and beepin behind me....
    Really enjoyed crawling down the road because that was the last thing he expected me to do :D
    I don't drive your typical boy racer car but I have got tinted windows.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭OldmanMondeo

anti wrote:
    When i was leavign my drive way id often light up the rear wheels and pull out of my row sideways.

Not having a go or anything, by why "light up your rear wheels" and pull out sideways? All you doing is fkin you tyres up. All it takes ios for someone to leave oil on the road where you usually put the car sideways and you could be spinning more than you want, probably take a wall out and well fk up you motor.

I have no problem with anyone that modifies a car, it's your cash go for it.

As for the sterotyping, there is a number of mod cars driven by gob****es that is getting everyone the bad name.

• Registered Users Posts: 65 ✭✭Red05

Similar story to the OP's predicament:

A couple of months ago i was out drivin with a buddy of mine in my previous car, which was a grey sierra 4 door. We got a call from some friends saying they were going to the cinema and asking if we'd come, so we drove over with the intention of waitng around for the others to arrive, all's goin well so far, until i pulled into the carpark , slowly, not making a fuss or over revving the car or anything, in fact i drove extra slow because of the amount of people around, then a security guard stepped out in friont of me so i stopped, he came to my window then said to me kinda forcefully "get out of here lads, i dont want to see any of you bloody drift merchants hanging around here putting people in danger".
    First off i said "what? we're goin to a film" and insisted we should get out or he was callin the gards, i ignored him at first and drove about 50 feet more and parked, then he came over again , banged on the boot and shouted get the F out of here now and repeated what he said about the gards.
    I asked him what his problem was and he said we were obviously in to do donuts and otherwise mess around because as he said "i know well you dirft boys use sierras and i'm not havin ye in here".
    We left and parked in a different area and walked back.
    Now i'm not saying i'm a perfect driver, or that i dont sometimes like to get a car sideways, but on that occasion i was behaving and being careful.
    Moral of the story is that your man decided based on what car i was driving that we were trouble, not based on how we were behaving.

Shouldnt have moved your car to another area.