Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Where can a girl meet a good guy in Limerick????

• 16-04-2006 3:45pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 17

Okay. I'm a girl (ish - late 20s actually), single and living in Limerick. My problem is this (thread title may have given this away) I'm having no success in the meeting guys department for the last year or 2.

It's not that I haven't had offers just not from anyone that I fancy (apart from one guy about 6 or 7 months back who let me down badly but that's a whole nuther story). I'm too long in the tooth for the whole picking a guy up at a club and wondering if he'll ever ring thing (was coerced into going to Icon last night and am now surer than ever that this definitely isn't the way to go) and anyone I meet through friends is either unavailable or more friendship material than boyfriend material (or gay).

In case I'm sounding too fussy here (don't think I am but a girl has to have standards) all I'm really looking for is someone who's emotionally mature, kind, similar sense of humour and reasonably attractive. And I'm not one of these cynics who doesn't believe there's anyone out there, just don't seem to be able to find him!

Would appreciate any advice on where I may be going wrong here. Or if anyone knows where all the good guys in Limerick hang out, please tell me!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 385 ✭✭radioman

yeah clubs are always a bad place to go looking, full of people in for a one-nighter

I would say hold out and he'll come along when you least expect it. As for places to go in Limerick, I'm not sure. Maybe join some club or society you might have an interest in and you may meet people through that. Or if you're into live music go to some gigs, they're always a lot more sociable than clubs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 Siobhan*

Cheers Radioman. You're dead right about the club scene, seems to be full of guys (and girls) looking for one nighters. Comes a point in life where that's just plain boring.

It's not so much of a socialising issue though - I don't have a huge circle of friends but have about 4 or 5 really close friends and another few who I'll go for drinks/whatever with - I'm happy with this, it's more important to me to have a few sincere people in my life than loads of 'friends' who are really just drinking buddies.

I've been going to gigs in Dolans, done the whole sporting clubs thing, been open to trying new things etc. And just for the record, while I'm doing all this I'm mindful of not coming accross as desperate (there's nothing worse & anyway I'd only end up being disappointed in myself) but am open to whatever may happen.

All that said, you probably have a valid point about the whole wait and he'll come along thing, that's exactly what I'd say to someone else in the same boat.

Just that I worry sometimes (hey, I'm a woman, that's my perogative!!!) that I'm going wrong somewhere here.

Thanks again for your thoughts, will keep you posted on any progress I may make.:cool:

• Registered Users Posts: 8,676 ✭✭✭Chong

U mind me asking what u work as? Is there maybe someone at work that can set up with someone.

Thanks Willem D but for obvious reasons I'd rather not say where I work. It's a reasonably small company about 50% male, 50% female. They're a really good bunch and I'm really happy at work, just not that comfortable about spilling my guts about this whole issue (ironic, I know, given that I'm happy to do so with a bunch of strangers here - suppose it's that 'anonimity' thing).

My work brings me into contact with people from every walk of life, something that I really enjoy, just that there's that whole 'being professional' thing to contend with.

Appreciate your thoughts though, please keep the suggestions coming!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 8,676 ✭✭✭Chong

Cool Cool

I hope u find what u looking for.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,717 ✭✭✭ARGINITE

Bah limerick's the problem!
    Move to Galway plenty of single men here:D

I have the same problem, but I'm not really looking I know ill find the right woman or more like she will find me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Amazotheamazing

Think it's really hard to meet people outside the usual pubs/clubs, generally it's either pubs or friends of friends.

What are you interested in? passtimes, hobbies, vices etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 51,239 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

ARGINITE wrote:
    Bah limerick's the problem!
    Move to Galway plenty of single men here:D

Makes you wonder why that is. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭billy the squid

whilst im getting a little ticked off with this Limerick V Galway bull****, argente has a point. why narrow down your search to people from Limerick. I mean there are loads of dating websites out there lime www.woo.ie and www.evillage.ie why not fill out one of them profiles and see what happens.

if that dont work them my phone number is 061 ******

• Registered Users Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Try taking up a sport or some sort of social hobby. This way you'll find someone that shares your interests, a major part of a relationship. A friend of mine found her partner recently doing a business course, and she had been looking for two years...
    Anyway, good luck!

Ah jaysus, how did this start a Limerick vs Galway debate? (just saw the new thread) :confused:

Thanks to the rest of you though for your good wishes! ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

as someone who got dumped by my girlfriend of three years a few weeks ago i now find myself in the same problem,but trying to meet a girl of course,now ive been out doing the single clubbing thing but i havent met anyone,im not interested in grabbing the first drunken slut that wanders my way in trinity rooms,but everyone seems to think that ill get over my ex a lot faster if i just even shift (god i hate that term!) someone. ive always prefered to meet people outside of a club environment,i find it much easier to just talk to someone and get to know them a bit then ask them for a drink,not grab someone on a dancefloor who can barely stand up like most men seem to want to do on a saturday night,but hey if anyones interested im 24,have black hair,brown eyes,love movies and music and live in town

• Registered Users Posts: 4,306 ✭✭✭blahblah06

come to dublin siobhan

• Registered Users Posts: 2,717 ✭✭✭ARGINITE

Oops I didnt mean that their was anything wrong with limerick, I wouldnt mind living their myself better rugby:)
    This was more my point:
    why narrow down your search to people from Limerick.

• Registered Users Posts: 153 ✭✭Vodka Junkie

Yeah the night club is a definate no the hell way as for as i'm concerned, atleast at a house party or something similar you can actually hold a conversation with someone without screaming at them and if you or a friend holds the party there's always that confidence boost that comes with being in a familiar environment. Good Hunting!!! :)

• Registered Users Posts: 27 thedesigner

have you tried anything group:P, something different, if you are interested, pm me, i can give you some advices, result guaranteed....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭limerick_man

mass!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,199 ✭✭✭muppetkiller

I think it's unfair to say you wont anyone in a club..I agree late 20's you probably wont but for those late teens etc it's not a bad option. most people our age drink as much as they can in a place like the Icon so we can forget we're there in the first place lol

I'm late 20's (eeek 29 tomorrow) and am in the same boat.
    I've moved from Limerick back home to Galway for career reasons but really miss limerick. For one thing i find the women in Limerick much more easy going and much more attractive too :D .

Our problem is that the pool of people to meet these days is getting less and less as more of our buddies hook up and get married etc..

Like you I am in no way desperate ..in fact completely the opposite. Thats why i'm single. I'm not going to go out with just anyone. but I am begining to worry that maybe i'm being too fussy ...but then I cop on and realize about the long term side of things and how important it is to be fussy in the first place.

Anyhoo if any of you limerick ladies/gents are up for a bit of craic tonight Muppetkiller is in Limerick for one night only for some divilment hehe small claws at 9:30 then somewhere with a bit of life in it...( I may have distroyed my post with the last paragraph hehe)..

Either way don't worry good things come to those who wait..:D