Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

soccer or rugby - the greatest

13»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,963 ✭✭✭SpAcEd OuT

"All soccer players wear shin guards. Some hurlers wear helmets"

whats wrong with wearing shin pads how does it make someone less of a man because they want to prevent being kicked in the shins and possibly get injured? not wearing a helmet while playing hurling is not brave or tough it is stupid why should they be commerated for that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 72 ✭✭klash

You just can't compare the Croke Park and Tallaght Stadium situations.

Why not ? I didn't want Soccer or Rugby in Croke park but anytime i ever say that all i get is the usual crap about being anti-soccer/rugby.

You frankly don't know what the Croke Park situation is or was or how much effort the GAA has gone to get it availible for the Rugby and Soccer lads. You don't know that its not just a matter of floodlights, the fans have to segregated which Croke park does not have the facilities for and what benefit are the floodlights to us ? Have you ever tried playing a game of hurling under floodlights ? If its done right some people think its ok but a lot of people don't. I find it impossible to play hurling under lights.
    Croke Park will play host to four or five football games at most,

And you don't think thats good enough ?
    the GAA (by their own admission) want Tallaght Stadium for their own.

Source ?
    David Kennedy of Thomas Davis (one of the six clubs trying to muscle in on the stadium) said it himself: "We need a Parnell Park-like facility on the south side of the city." The GAA may be under going the pretence of 'sharing' but their rhetoric about being "the last man standing" shows exactly what their motives are.

Isn't it funny how the GAA is going to share its world class stadium and you won't even share a club ground. Pathetic.
    For Tallaght Stadium to accomodate GAA, the existing stand would have to be knocked down and the capacity would be severly curtailed. I don't know how to make it any simpler for you - THERE ISN'T ROOM.

Then make room.
    Yes, Tallaght will be a municipal stadium, for the use of the community (my community as a Tallaght native) but what about other municipal stadiums in Ireland? Morton Stadium, Irishtown Stadium, the RSC in Waterford, the Mardyke in Cork not a single one of them of them have GAA pitches, and the reason is simple. THERE ISN'T ROOM.

So Tallaght among other municipal stadiums are for the use of the whole community. Apart from the GAA community of course who are only bigots who won't let the soccer/rugby lads use their stadiums.

So basically your saying that all these municipal community stadiums were built to accomodate soccer and thats why the GAA aren't allowed in.

Funny but last time i checked Croke park was built to accomodate GAA. Why are you allowed in ?
    As I've said before the GAA's reasons for trying to delay the stadium are purely cynical

Well after opening the doors of Croke Park to ye is it wrong to expect something back ?
    - they see how under-represented football is in Tallaght and know that with such a huge market there, Rovers would be a huge success and would take potential players and supporters away from the GAA.

Yes i'm sure the GAA are afraid of Shamrock Rovers FC. :rolleyes:

SpAcEd OuT wrote:
    whats wrong with wearing shin pads how does it make someone less of a man because they want to prevent being kicked in the shins and possibly get injured? not wearing a helmet while playing hurling is not brave or tough it is stupid why should they be commerated for that?

Soccer and injured in the same sentence ? Yes those soccer injuries we see everynight are fair bad. Jesus i don't know how those lads can live in a dangerous atmosphere like a soccer game.

Sher some of those soccer players have jedi powers, i seen one guy swing an arm at thin air, and a guy 3 feet away went to the ground holding his face and rolling on the ground for a good 3 minutes. Amazing the skills of that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,676 ✭✭✭✭smashey

thebaz wrote:
    European football without English teams is boring , best finals and matches have involved English team , e.g. last years and '99 Champions league final . Maybe it is the contrasting styles. Even in World Cup , love the English games , never want them to win outright, but get to final will do . They bring something to the mix , passion . But there rugby is dour, club or international , it it a complete turn off.

What about AC Milan vs Barcelona in the 1994 final? In my opinion, that Milan team was the best ever and put on a great display of attacking football that night. Lose your English tinted glasses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

klash wrote:
    Then make room.

And there we have it in a nutshell. The GAA's attitude summed up in one succinct line. Ignore all the arguments. Ignore the fact that the existing stand will have to be demolished, ignore the fact the building costs will spiral, ignore the fact that the plans will have to be redrawn from scratch, ignore the fact that the capacity will be drastically cut in order to accommodate the much larger GAA pitch. Because we're the GAA and you better do as we want. Exactly how do you propose room is made?

For too long the GAA have had things their own way – huge sums of government money and huge chunks of land all because they're the GAA. And the minute that it looks like they might lose out on a small 8,000 seater stadium, they create holy war. They're not called the Grab All Association for nothing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭padi89

Sleepy wrote:
    Though a GAA fan first and foremost, I prefer the sport of football to the sport of rugby. That said, I'd watch a rugby game over a soccer game any day of the week nowadays. Professional soccer players are pampered little twats more concerned with their haircuts than the jersey they're playing for.

MOST Hurlers wear helmets nowadays,its nothing like the way it used to be(obviously you havent watched hurling since the eighties).You obviously know nothing about hurling if you think a hurler wearing a helmet is a wuss.If you were on a pitch with 30 men swinging pieces of ash im sure you would be partial to a helmet unless you are welcoming the risk of brain damage.
    As for shin guards ,a fully grown man slide tackling into me with studs up,jesus of course you would wear them.They are not there just to protect from cuts and scrapes they are there to also protect from broken bones.
    Rugby players are bandaged and tapped up to the last going out on a pitch ,wearing scrum caps, gum shields and god knows what else under thier jerseys but its for the good of their health and protection from injury,doesnt make them any less of a man.Please next time come up with a better argument than playschool talk.

Sleepy wrote:

God aren't they fierce men altogether. Sure it's not a sport at all unless a fellow is missing a few front teeth and all his fingers point in different directions. And it's a great example to set the kids too. All this mincing around must kill a tough man like yourself. Next thing they'll be insisting that fellows in rally cars wear safety belts and that'll be the end of civilisation as we know it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,744 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

smashey wrote:
    What about AC Milan vs Barcelona in the 1994 final? In my opinion, that Milan team was the best ever and put on a great display of attacking football that night. Lose your English tinted glasses.

If i had English tinted glasses I would actually want them to win the footy WC outright, and be praising there Worcl Cup rugby champions . do me a favour.

klash wrote:
    Soccer and injured in the same sentence ? Yes those soccer injuries we see everynight are fair bad. Jesus i don't know how those lads can live in a dangerous atmosphere like a soccer game.

Yeah, a real injury is 10 fat guys sitting on someone with a broken back at the bottom of a scrum. That's really natural, the way it should be, great game alright.

Incidentally, can anyone explain Flannery falling over against England? Looked a lot like the cheating that they complain about in soccer to me. I'd give it another 5 or 10 years of professionalism and they'll all be doing a Flannery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

smashey wrote:

Lose your attitude, in the last 10 years, we've seen two of the most dramatic games of football ever, both in CL finals, both involving English clubs.

Thats a fact.

Be careful of that high horse you are on. You might fall off. Who do you think you are telling me to lose the attitude? The post in question said that European games were boring without English involvement. I just pointed out a great game that happened without any English teams.

And there we have it in a nutshell. The GAA's attitude summed up in one succinct line. Ignore all the arguments. Ignore the fact that the existing stand will have to be demolished, ignore the fact the building costs will spiral, ignore the fact that the plans will have to be redrawn from scratch, ignore the fact that the capacity will be drastically cut in order to accommodate the much larger GAA pitch. Because we're the GAA and you better do as we want. Exactly how do you propose room is made?

A bit like ye ignored the arguments for not allowing Soccer/Rugby into Croker ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

God aren't they fierce men altogether. Sure it's not a sport at all unless a fellow is missing a few front teeth and all his fingers point in different directions. And it's a great example to set the kids too. All this mincing around must kill a tough man like yourself. Next thing they'll be insisting that fellows in rally cars wear safety belts and that'll be the end of civilisation as we know it...
    FFS lads, it's a throw-away line... no need to throw a hissy fit about it. But, hey, isn't that what soccer players are best at these days?

smashey wrote:
    Who do you think you are telling me to lose the attitude?

If you can tell someone to lose the English tinted glasses you should be well able to take it.

MrJoeSoap wrote:
    If you can tell someone to lose the English tinted glasses you should be well able to take it.

I can take it. The post about the glasses wasn't directed at you, it was to thebaz and he gave a good reply. On the other hand, you just stuck your nose where it wasn't wanted.

Its a public forum, the idea is that if I want to object to something I am free to do so. And I did.

MrJoeSoap wrote:
    Its a public forum, the idea is that if I want to object to something I am free to do so. And I did.

It sure is. However, telling me to lose the attitude is not an objection.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,953 ✭✭✭blu_sonic

klash wrote:
    blu_sonic wrote:
    not my point, i don't expect the Gaa to take em in fo free, but you shouldn't make it seem lik they are, you'd swear by the tone of your post that the GAA are doing it out of the goodness of their heart

By the tone of your voice, you'd swear that the GAA was doing nothing but what was expected of them.
    no i think the GAA were being very progressive, when "allowing soccer and rugby" in was proposed i was some what sceptic of the idea, but thet are being payed well, so they don't have that moral high ground anymore.

klash wrote:
    blusonic wrote:
    You have the stadium for more reasons than the popularity of your sport mostly the funding from the Dail

Oh and Shamrock Rovers are building the Tallaght stadium on their own are they ? How much money is the government giving to Landsowne ?

Shamrock Rovers started to build Tallaght then we had money troubles, thankfully Tallaght county council saved the day, but in comparasion to the GAA our funding is tiny, to parraphrase the Minister for sport (in reference to the GAA "don't bite the hand that feeds you", your talking to the wrong person about Lansdowne it don't really care about it
    klash wrote:
    blusonic wrote:
    i guess you don't sknow much about the Eircom League so I won't get into that with you. Shamrock Rovers are playing in Tolka Stadium, as far as I know thats nothing to do with the GAA. There wasn't a GAA intrest in Tallaght when the plans were drawn up thats why we can't let you in

And what soccer or rugby interest was there in Croke park when the plans were drawn up ?

do you not understand that we would have to rip the stadium down to accomadate the GAA?

what stand in crocker is being leveled for Soccer or Rugby?
    klash wrote:
    blusonic wrote:
    you'll find most GAA fans are soccer fans (in the citys anyway) and Vica Versa, your thug statment is a little out of date isn't it?

Thats my point. You can get people who follow a variety of sports but you can also get tossers who only have time for soccer only. I've never met a gaa fan who only followed GAA and who didn't watch other sports.

i never met a soccer fan who didn't watch other sports.
    i have met GAA fans in Kerrry who hate soccer and are very insular and sceptic of other sports!

Not aimed at you klash:
    hurling isn't the oldest sport in the world, it was devised from foclore and myth, ie chu-cullan, but they were just stories. Association Football isn't either, my guss is chess it was around in China when it was used for war stragies

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭padi89

Sleepy wrote:
    FFS lads, it's a throw-away line... no need to throw a hissy fit about it. But, hey, isn't that what soccer players are best at these days?
    Well Sleepy there is no need to basically say then that protective gear in sports is for wusses.What do you think Rugby Tech is all about?Im sure most top rugby players like other top sports men would not go out and play their matches without the inclusion of physios,team doctors,protective gear etc backing them up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,953 ✭✭✭blu_sonic

just think its not a case of which sport is better, all sports are great, but most of the bodies controling the sports are Aholes, all sports can co-exist happily

Sleepy wrote:

Hey maybe I fell over too easily but you did stick a gloved hand into my face. So it's red for you and yellow for me...;) :p

http://newsimg.bbc.co.uk/media/images/41302000/jpg/_41302386_reina203.jpg