Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Getting insured after a ban for no tax, nct & ins.

• 26-04-2006 10:24pm
    Registered Users Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭

Anyone got any experience on getting insurance after being banned? I think I'm facing an up hill struggle!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭Santa Claus

There's a company called St Pauls Insurance who specialise in insuring high risk drivers i.e. people with conviction such as yourself who most other companies won't touch (think they're based in the harcourt centre on harcourt st in Dublin).

Don't expect a quote of under 5 grand though

• Registered Users Posts: 73,455 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

have you tried all the major companies?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭frobisher

colm_mcm wrote:
    have you tried all the major companies?

Yes, they said no.

• Registered Users Posts: 73,455 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

St Paul's travellers insurance may be the way to go.

How about being a named driver on someone elses policy?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,323 ✭✭✭Savman

frobisher wrote:
    Anyone got any experience on getting insurance after being banned? I think I'm facing an up hill struggle!

Ya reckon?!? Golden Pages, try everyone twice. You might have a hope as Tax isn't life threatening and NCT is not be all and end all. It's the driving without insurance that'll hurt ye, whatever happens be prepared to dig deep into yer pocket if you want to drive...legally ;)

edit: ps i hope u like fiat puntos :)

colm_mcm wrote:
    How about being a named driver on someone elses policy?

Most insurance companies won't let you name a driver who has a conviction on your policy either !

Hate to say it, but you're gonna have to pay the price for your sillyness.

I seem to remember that an insurance company has to quote you if you have been refused cover by X number of companies (not sure of exact number, i'm sure someone else can fill you in) but they will most likely give you whats commonly known as a fcuk off quote (i.e. a quote so ridiculously high that you'd never take it up).

Have you tried Quinn direct, they'll normally quote anyone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 121 ✭✭Puff Puff Pass

I seem to remember that an insurance company has to quote you if you have been refused cover by X number of companies (not sure of exact number, i'm sure someone else can fill you in) but they will most likely give you whats commonly known as a fcuk off quote (i.e. a quote so ridiculously high that you'd never take it up).
    The number is 5. After that you write to the insurance ombudsman and he will provide you with a quote

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,245 ✭✭✭drdre

frobisher wrote:

how long did you get banned for.i am up on 5th oct for dangerous driving so i will be the same i might get banned and if i do i wonot have insurance for around 5 years because they will just quote me outragous amounts as im only 21.:mad: im just hoping for the best

• Registered Users Posts: 14,339 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

frobisher wrote:

I can understand being penalised fora drink driving ban but surely a nct/tax/insurance based ban does not make you an insurance liability. I think you need to find a good broker rather than try the companies directly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,476 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

Thing is if he was banned for no insurance it usually means it's not his first no insurance conviction, people are usually not banned the first time. Maybe this is the reason?

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 39,752 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Methinks it may have been cheaper to pay the insurance & tax back then compared to now!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,033 ✭✭✭Mc-BigE

kbannon wrote:
    Methinks it may have been cheaper to pay the insurance & tax back then compared to now!

Very Good Point!, and if i may say so, if you were willing/Bold enough to drive around without insurance/nct/tax before, why would a Ban stop you now?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,280 ✭✭✭commited

drdre wrote:
    how long did you get banned for.i am up on 5th oct for dangerous driving so i will be the same i might get banned and if i do i wonot have insurance for around 5 years because they will just quote me outragous amounts as im only 21.:mad: im just hoping for the best
    You're possibly going to get banned, yet on other threads you are tlking about buying a Golf GTI? That makes very very little sense ;)

For the OP - Try every single broker in the golden pages. You might be looking at 10k+

commited wrote:
    You're possibly going to get banned, yet on other threads you are tlking about buying a Golf GTI? That makes very very little sense ;)

For the OP - Try every single broker in the golden pages. You might be looking at 10k+
    yeah i know but if i donot get banned then i will get a gti in jan.but it all depends on the court case.but we will leave that topic for another date:confused: . But i donot think i will get banned as the guards lied and im taking action against that.;)

• Registered Users Posts: 9,788 ✭✭✭MrPudding

But you were acting the prick, no?

MrP

• Registered Users Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

I can understand being penalised fora drink driving ban but surely a nct/tax/insurance based ban does not make you an insurance liability.

I think the reasoning is that if you're prepared to break one law then you may well break another.

drdre wrote:
    But i donot think i will get banned as the guards lied and im taking action against that.;)

Funny that, most of the lads in Mountjoy claim the same thing :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 314 ✭✭cargrouch

Remember dre, whatever about the guards, santa's list is ALWAYS right. You're in the clear if you call him as an expert witness to declare "Yes your honour, I can confirm that the good doctor has been a very good boy this year, in fact I'm bringing him a Golf GTi for Christmas".;)

I think I've been at work for far too long...

*ps, sorry santaman, you must be sick of santa related jokes.

no but this is true.i am not a scumbag that will or wants to go to the joy.i am a person who wants to prove my point as i am RIGHT.and i will make sure that i prove my point infront of the judge as i have a hearing with on oct 5th and the the guard the caught me will be there.
    i will make sure i only get penalty for what i did and not for what the asshole thinks i did.;)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,857 ✭✭✭Bogger77

drdre wrote:
    no but this is true.i am not a scumbag

Ya see, that's subjective, what you may or may not class yourself as has no bearing on what we, or the judge or society as a whole, may class you as.

and as for proving your point, you were caught, in a public place performing tricks and slides and doughnuts by the cops. In a car which you said you didn't own. On a provisional License, I believe?

So to be blunt, you were dangerously driving the car, and were not in full control of the vehicle, while being a danger to the public. You, and I hope indeed that I'm correct, screwed when you go before any judge.

drdre wrote:
    no but this is true.i am not a scumbag that will or wants to go to the joy.i am a person who wants to prove my point as i am RIGHT.and i will make sure that i prove my point infront of the judge as i have a hearing with on oct 5th and the the guard the caught me will be there.
    i will make sure i only get penalty for what i did and not for what the asshole thinks i did.;)

Sadly Dre, judge will see a 21 year old lad and a Garda...who do you think he'll believe unless you have proof to show the garda is lying !?!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭optiplexgx270

drdre wrote:
    Those who challenge the guards in court rarely come out on top. It comes back to the old your word against his scenario. And trust me your word carries feck all weight in a courtroom.

Bogger77 wrote:
    Ya see, that's subjective, what you may or may not class yourself as has no bearing on what we, or the judge or society as a whole, may class you as.

and as for proving your point, you were caught, in a public place performing tricks and slides and doughnuts by the cops. In a car which you said you didn't own. On a provisional License, I believe?

So to be blunt, you were dangerously driving the car, and were not in full control of the vehicle, while being a danger to the public. You, and I hope indeed that I'm correct, screwed when you go before any judge.

what the hell are you talkin about.
    1) i donot have a provisional licence
    2)when did i say its not my car.
    3)im pleading guilty but i didnot do handbrake turns beside people thats what the guards are saying.

please keep you wring comments to yourself and stop thread spoiling as this is someone elses thread.

in answer to the OP,
    there's 2 companies, St Pauls and one other whose name escapes me, who will quote the unquotable.
    The other company will only ensure you through a broker, so head to broker and ask them to the searching for you.

one thing to note, stay with these companies for only as long as it takes for the endorsement to go from your license and keep trying to get a quote with one of the main stream insurers. Perhaps, calling into the office of Axa, or whoever, might result in a better outcome.

drdre wrote:
    3)im pleading guilty but i didnot do handbrake turns beside people thats what the guards are saying.

please keep you wring comments to yourself and stop thread spoiling as this is someone elses thread.

I'm too busy in work to go drag up you posts, but I will as soon as I can.
    1) you won't have any for too long, october 5th is it?
    2) I'll check.
    3) You're scr*wed, you got credible witness to take the stand and back you up?

I've found the original thread, here, but I see I was wrong, it was your own Golf you were doing the 360 spins in, oh well. I still say your scr*wed.

as for spoiling the thread, I think it's a good idea to show the OP the history of person advising him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,476 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

Bogger77 wrote:
    in answer to the OP,
    there's 2 companies, St Pauls and one other whose name escapes me, who will quote the unquotable.
    The other company will only ensure you through a broker, so head to broker and ask them to the searching for you.

one thing to note, stay with these companies for only as long as it takes for the endorsement to go from your license and keep trying to get a quote with one of the main stream insurers. Perhaps, calling into the office of Axa, or whoever, might result in a better outcome.
    The problem is that endorsements and convictions will haunt you long after they come off the licence. I think that you have to declare them for at least 5 years.

drdre wrote:

Bottom line Dre, you're pleading guilty to a driving offence therefore you'll most likely get a conviction and an endorsement on your licence which you have to declare for insurance and then you'll be in a similar boat to the OP !

OP,
    Send me a PM if you'd like me to find out the name of the insurance company for you, but like I said, they only deal with brokers

Bogger77 wrote:
    I'm too busy in work to go drag up you posts, but I will as soon as I can.
    1) you won't have any for too long, october 5th is it?
    2) I'll check.
    3) You're scr*wed, you got credible witness to take the stand and back you up?

I've found the original thread, here, but I see I was wrong, it was your own Golf you were doing the 360 spins in, oh well. I still say your scr*wed.

as for spoiling the thread, I think it's a good idea to show the OP the history of person advising him

yes i do have a witness thats going to tell the truth tot he judge.also you can pull up comments from old thread if you wish.but thats up to yourself as its off the point and im not bothered about it.start up a new thread if you want:cool:

but thanks for the comments

Bottom line Dre, you're pleading guilty to a driving offence therefore you'll most likely get a conviction and an endorsement on your licence which you have to declare for insurance and then you'll be in a similar boat to the OP !
    yes you are right i am pleading gulity for a reason as i did do it and im not lying about it.thats what annoys me about the guards as they are lying.