Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

ok nintendo has officially lost the plot..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

What exactly is the fuss? Nobody seems to mind that computers get shortened to Pee See. See? See what I did there? I made it look like PC has something to do with widdle. Anyone find it witty, funny or embarrassing? No? Odd, that. Do you complain that the shortened form of Playstation makes you sound like you're saying "Oh, by the way" completely out of context?

Maybe I'm just not down with you crazy kids of today, but I fail to see how that new name has led to Irish gaming being "***Ked up the ass".

I suppose I just don't "get it".

/me goes back to caring about entertaining games

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 861 ✭✭✭yawnstretch

If you dont see the fuss you're obviously not a gamer.

Consider going into the shop and asking for one.

It's not funny when your hobby is suddenly mass marketed as piss

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,503 ✭✭✭Makaveli

Considering you'll be buying it in a game shop they'll already know the name of the console. Some people here are really getting a bit too caught up in the name. What difference does it make what they call it.
    So the choice of name is poor, will it stop you playing it? Will it stop you enjoying the games? Are you that fickle?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,901 ✭✭✭✭K.O.Kiki

Hahahahaha look at all the whiners! :D
    Big clue: Wii isn't marketed at "gamers", it's marketed at all those other people. You know, the ones who don't like games (yet). And outnumber "gamers" by, oohh, maybe 1000-to-1 at least?

Go pre-order/buy your overpriced Pee Ess Threes and Ecks Box Three Sixties instead, unless you can look past a name and wait to see what the games will be like!
    You know, games? The things a gamer should really care about??

Fvck, this thread will be retarded by next week!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,225 ✭✭✭Ciaran500

K.O.Kiki wrote:
    Go pre-order/buy your overpriced Pee Ess Threes and Ecks Box Three Sixties instead, unless you can look past a name and wait to see what the games will be like!
    You know, games? The things a gamer should really care about??

Fvck, this thread will be retarded by next week!
    I don't think anyone here will avoid buying this console just because of the name, but its still a crappy name.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,333 ✭✭✭Cake Fiend

Well, whatever they end up calling it, I'm sure it will Wii all over the competition :D

/me gets coat...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 292 ✭✭Sgt. Politeness

But will it be a case of Wii will wock you??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,304 ✭✭✭✭koneko

I just... I just still don't like it. I'm picturing myself walking into Game saying "I'd like to pre-order a Nintendo Wee, please". It just doesn't work for me. I don't like it :(

K.O. Kikki, not sure what you're on about. Just because we don't like the name, doesn't mean we won't buy the console, or won't care about the games. Still doesn't mean we can't express what a dumb name it is. Just because we think the name is stupid doesn't mean we're going to avoid the console :rolleyes:
    Well

Gaming in Ireland is officially ****ed up the ass now.

Nice one nintendo - when this ****ing thing comes out I wont be ever able to mention my hobby again

THANKS A ****ING LOT

Um. Yeah I didn't like the name at all, but you're officially overreacting now...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 603 ✭✭✭shatners basoon

Its a bit of a silly name alright, makes the Gizmondo sound halfway decent, ill still be getting one though, it still sounds better than the X-Box provided you dont pronounce it weeeeeeeeee,

If its really small it'll make sense too, a nice scottish console.
    So ye're getting a wee bit too mellow dramatic fellas!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,717 ✭✭✭Praetorian

Even the Ninetendo fan boys can't defend this one :D Ha Ha Ha, stupid stupid Nintendo

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 52,897 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

Had a bit of a chuckle at this. It's a bloody awful name.

Xbox sounds too macho
    Playstation is a bit risque
    Wii is just plain embarassing. I think I'll be wearing the trench coat and sunglasses when I order this and carry it of the shop in a brown paper bag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 980 ✭✭✭hairball

Maybe it's just a publicity stunt, and they'll have picked a non-retarded name by E3? One can only hope...

I doubt it...it looks like they've already sunk a bit of money into the marketing for this...as flogen said, this was probably devised by a marketing team in Japan where the name 'wi' doesn't generate the hysteria it seems to have in the west...i say hysteria because that's what it is...the name isn't intended to mean 'piss' or anything else urine related it's only people here who can't seem to hack it, and as someone else said it's the games people should be concerned about, if you're buying a console on the strength of it's name alone then maybe you shouldn't bother at all...tbh i'm sick of all the 'street cultchah' style marketing and crap rapper based games that sony have embraced....bring it on nintendo...hopefully it really will be something different and new.
    Wii'll have to wait and see

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭madrab

cregser wrote:
    All your base are belong to wii
    rofl

its kinda growing on me, or should i say its kinda growing on wii.....no...wait...i shouldnt

hairball wrote:
    Ited it's only people here who can't seem to hack it, and as someone else said it's the games people should be concerned about, if you're buying a console on the strength of it's name alone then maybe you shouldn't bother at all...

Again, where do you people get this from? Just because we don't like the name doesn't mean we won't buy the console, and that we aren't interested in the games. You're just making things up now.
    It's still a stupid stupid name though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭Jimi-Spandex

Nintendo Go Wii?

Animal Crossing Wii/Wee!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,817 ✭✭✭✭po0k

Shower of eejits.

It will be the first console I buy within the first year of launch.
    It will be the first console I pre-order.
    It will be the first console I buy for my mom.

Wii is the perfect name for it.

/me joins koneko in chorus

Weeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭shroomfox

Well, look at it this way: it's probably the fastest that a console name has spread from word-of-mouth. Great marketing.

damn those zombie pirate marketeers!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 741 ✭✭✭Chumpski

Come on, does it really make a difference what its called?? Ill have no problems buying it anyway. Just say can i have the new Nintendo in game if your that bothered...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 861 ✭✭✭yawnstretch

Yeah, hopefully it's not a big deal but you have to admit they've got balls to call their product excrement :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,817 ✭✭✭✭po0k

koneko wrote:
    Again, where do you people get this from? Just because we don't like the name doesn't mean we won't buy the console, and that we aren't interested in the games. You're just making things up now.
    It's still a stupid stupid name though.

what other conclusions am i supposed to draw for some of the comments posted here, i also never said people weren't going to buy the console , my point was to lighten up about it...as i said earlier it's only a name ,and dumb as it, and the whole 'we are united' bull**** marketing campaign is, that's all it is....another marketing campaign

hairball wrote:
    what other conclusions am i supposed to draw for some of the comments posted here

You don't need to draw any extra conclusions. If someone says "I think the name is crap" you can accept the conclusion as being "they think the name is crap", no more, no less. Doesn't mean anything about not caring about the games, being any less of "a gamer", or that they buy the console on name only, it means nothing like that. It doesn't even mean it's a big deal. It just means "they think the name is crap".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,488 ✭✭✭Goodshape

Actually.. it's been a day.. I've thought about it, rolled it around in my head... it's not really that bad :)

Wii.

Say it with me.

Wii.

It's silly - but silly isn't necessarally all that bad. It's short, simple, memorable, fun (Weeeee!)... and it might be good enough craic, for a while, telling your mates your heading for a Wii. It'll be alike a little (or a 'wee') in-joke. Oh the hilarity.

And it has gotten people talking... haven't seen this much buzz over Nintendo in a long time (not just because of the name obviously, although that seems to have boosted it ten fold in the last 24 hours). Rumours going around now that they might be launching in July for $199 or maybe they'll even be ready to launch at E3, although I'll believe that when I see it.

Silly name or not, I can't bloody wait.

Were all going to heaven lads, wiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiii

And it has gotten people talking...

That is true, plenty of discussions/publicity.

I suspect it'll launch at a low enough price point, it's the sort of market Nintendo aim for, get the casuals in aswell as the hardcore fans. The Xbox360 and the PS3 (in particular) are or will be expensive, so if the "Wii"/Rev is cheaper that'll definitely help.

Weeeee. I still don't like it (the name) :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,716 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

Sometimes (just sometimes) I think Nintendo top brass (that's the guys in Japan) don't seek input on big decisions from their American and European counterparts. And this is what happens.

Until they start seeing themselves as a global company Nintendo will remain firmly in third/second place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,836 ✭✭✭Vokes

Silly name.

But what do Americans think of it? Does "Wee" have the same sort of meaning there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,901 ✭✭✭✭K.O.Kiki

NOA VP of corporate affairs defends Wii name
    And it's pronounced "We", not "Wee"; it's slightly unfortunate that it has turned into such a childish internet meme...

In other news, I like the cheesyness! LOVE IT!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,422 ✭✭✭Doodee

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,767 ✭✭✭Hugh Hefner

I keep picturing a news anchor doing one of those rare "videogame" reports about either the technology industry or "new studies showing the true effects of video games on our children." I keep hearing the anchor say, "Xbox 360," then, "Playstation 3," and then, "Nintendo Wii." I never sounds right.

I do believe the name will grow on me but for now it doesn't make me smile.

Whatever happens, this is going to be the most expensive Wii I'll ever have.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭thelordofcheese

madrab wrote:
    Were all going to heaven lads, wiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiii

I keep imagining Gir from Invader Zim as he runs about the place, giggling insanely

WIIIIIHEHEHEEHE! WIIIIIIIIIIHEHEHEHE!

those who havn't seen invader zim, for shame, for shame

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 286 ✭✭Brerrabbit

oK I've nothing further to add to this discussion that has not already been mentioned Except. that to those folks who reckon that the new name was made by the Japanese shower of nintendo execs alone. one must consider; in the Japanese language there is no "wee" sound. This move will probably just confuse (and frustrate) folks in japan... I remain baffled about all this.

still, once the games are cool I'm in but I reckon nintendo are still shooting themselves in the foot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,585 ✭✭✭honru

They're certainly going against the norm. Game consoles are generally called something literal. This is definetly something more akin to iPod or those devices. Marketing themselves away from Sony and Microsoft, it seems.

Companies make the name. In a year the lavatorial connotations will be forgotten about... if Nintendo markets it correctly.

Either way, I think at the start I was a little surprised because the name just wasn't typical. I disliked "Revolution" because it was too literal, and boring. I'm starting to get used to Wii though, I'm just interested in seeing how Nintendo will handle this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 262 ✭✭Malafus

Brerrabbit wrote:
    oK I've nothing further to add to this discussion that has not already been mentioned Except. that to those folks who reckon that the new name was made by the Japanese shower of nintendo execs alone. one must consider; in the Japanese language there is no "wee" sound. This move will probably just confuse (and frustrate) folks in japan... I remain baffled about all this.

Um, there is a "Wi" sound(There *was* a katakana character for it(ヰ), but they eliminated it years ago), they use "Ui" (ウィ) when they want that effect. Plus, in japanese, "ii" means "good".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 286 ✭✭Brerrabbit

er... I stand corrected :(

that sounds about right; I often hear Japanese people say OK "ii desu ka" (It is good?) which before now I used to think was "iie desu ka" (It is no?) makes a pile more sense that way.
    In my defence though I'm in a part of Japan that is nefarious for it's thick accent (to me this "accent" is really just a mumble).

Back to the linguistic humble pie for me :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,698 ✭✭✭✭BlitzKrieg

hmmm

i can picture the french advertising campaign already.

koneko wrote:
    You don't need to draw any extra conclusions. If someone says "I think the name is crap" you can accept the conclusion as being "they think the name is crap", no more, no less. Doesn't mean anything about not caring about the games, being any less of "a gamer", or that they buy the console on name only, it means nothing like that. It doesn't even mean it's a big deal. It just means "they think the name is crap".

ok...once again, my point was that some people were placing an awful lot on just the name of a console...i didn't say they were less of a gamer, i didn't say they didn't care about games, and yeh you're right it's not a big deal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 999 ✭✭✭cregser

Doodee: wrote:
    SyxPak: wrote:
    Fanboys always cry the hardest :p
    lol, "symmetry ... conjoining" "building human bonds of shared kinship" "metaphysical and philosophical connotations of self and being", after all that work the Japanese marketing team put into Wii, it's hard not to imagine the initial phone conversation to the west.

Nintendo: We so proud of new name. We spend million dolla on it. We cawl it Wii
    U.S.: What, as in to urinate?
    Nintendo: ... ah crap... You americans every word is urinate.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭flogen

Thinking about it I think 'wee' as in to urinate is more of a British (and as a result Irish) thing... wee is the polite slang for urine/urinate, the one that kids are thought to say (wee-wee)... in the US that's usually pee, pee-pee etc.; of course they use wee, but (and judging totally by US TV imports), not as much. Let's not forget that the sound 'we' or 'wee' is also French for yes, which is quite a positive word, and as has been pointed out, the Scottish term for small; both of these versions are very well known too...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,346 ✭✭✭RobertFoster

flogen wrote:
    Thinking about it I think 'wee' as in to urinate is more of a British (and as a result Irish) thing... wee is the polite slang for urine/urinate, the one that kids are thought to say (wee-wee)... in the US that's usually pee, pee-pee etc.; of course they use wee, but (and judging totally by US TV imports), not as much. Let's not forget that the sound 'we' or 'wee' is also French for yes, which is quite a positive word, and as has been pointed out, the Scottish term for small; both of these versions are very well known too...
    Joystiq posted something about the meaning of Wii in different languages. Apparently, "wee wee" is a childs term for penis in the US. Also, the French forums don't seem too interested in having a console called the Nintendo Yes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 OptimusMime

*facepalm*
    *sigh*
    *hiss*
    What a ****ing stupid name. Way to shoot yourselves in the foot AGAIN, Nintendo. Seriously, this is getting ****ing ridiculous at this stage. Revolution was a perfectly good name, ULTRA64 was a perfectly good name, Dolphin was a perfectly good name, why bother changing; I mean it has hardly helped the N64 or GC sell more has it? HAS IT?? What next, I bet the next console's dev name will be "Slick" or "Deadly" then the real console name will be The Nintendo "I have a small cock and am gay and hate myself and eceryone knows it"?? Eh? *

Even some of the other codenames (N5 anyone?) were better...

Quoted, then amended for added pith.

/get credit card out to preorder /o\

*You heard it here first!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 OptimusMime

Earthhorse wrote:
    Sometimes (just sometimes) I think Nintendo top brass (that's the guys in Japan) don't seek input on big decisions from their American and European counterparts.

Understatment of the millenium?

Earthhorse wrote:
    Until they start seeing themselves as a global company Nintendo will remain firmly in third/second place.

Dunno about this, they are the largest global games company after all. Not counting companies who produe multimedia machines that also happen to play games, of course.

Also, how long have they been treating Europe with almost complete disdain, yet Europe is still a massive market for them. Even though they make a ****load of profit outside of Japan, it's almost as if they couldn't give a **** about us, this is nothing new, it always has been that way.

Still, the last Japanese games company to depart from their norm and embrace western marketing ways went bust quite soon after. Robbie Williams songs in your pretentious adverts, anybody?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,716 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

They're still in second/third place in the console market. I'm not saying they'll go bust or anything. As you say this is nothing new.

But with marketing decisions like that it's hard to see them taking first place in the next round of console boxing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,225 ✭✭✭Ciaran500

http://www.1up.com/do/newsStory?cId=3150098
    "Nintendo hasn't registered a trademark for its Nintendo Wii."

There's still hope :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,596 ✭✭✭✭Dont be at yourself

Yeah, rumour has it that it's all a big joke on everyone. Which kind of makes sense - I mean, it's hard to think up of a worse name for it, isn't it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,333 ✭✭✭Cake Fiend

Brerrabbit wrote:
    in the Japanese language there is no "wee" sound

Yes, there is, it's just not used very often (they even used to have kana symbols for it). It would now normally be written in katakana as 'ウィ'.

Edit: oops, beaten to it

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭flogen

Yeah, rumour has it that it's all a big joke on everyone. Which kind of makes sense - I mean, it's hard to think up of a worse name for it, isn't it?

I'm not bothered about the name, but people are saying it's a marketting disaster, the only bigger disaster (on the issue of the name) that I can imagine is if they come out now and re-rename it, especially after their American VP's have come out and defended it, and literally said "deal with it"... after all of that, to turn around and say "fooled you!!!" would be a mistake IMO... bigger than wee, or even calling it Nintendo Ballbag.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 52,897 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

I only wish it was called the Nintendo moc-a-moc