Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Departed pets;

• Registered Users Posts: 6,841 ✭✭✭CrowdedHouse

I'm glad when there's no new posts in this

Seven Worlds will Collide

• Registered Users Posts: 651 ✭✭✭falabo

I'm glad when there's no new posts in this

so am I but its nice for people to have the option to talk about their grief ....

• Registered Users Posts: 37,299 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

66E866D37588472485BDE9DB0AD685BA-0000324027-0002073695-00800L-BBF6A6FCCF80465ABF8F6B2BF22F2877.jpg
    RIP "Holly" 1996-2011 - Just a few days shy of 15 years old. Died peacefully but quickly :'( Good health and a good friend till the very end :)

• Registered Users Posts: 596 ✭✭✭35notout

Hi guys,

I lost my beautiful and very much loved Kerry Blue Terrier in an accident on Friday :(

I was not with him at the time and came home from work to the dreadful news. I was going to go to the vets on Saturday and say my goodbyes, but could not face seeing him. I'm glad now I didn't, as I want to remember him as the active and loving dog he was.

The house is so empty and quiet without him - he was my best buddy and I miss him terribly. I know it is early days, but I really am devastated with the loss. He went everywhere with me - even sleeping at the foot of my bed.

RIP Caesar - I'll miss you my furry friend, I hope doggie heaven is looking after you xxx

B311EB3C2B4740F0B4E83284C148529C-0000344748-0002433027-00240L-00000000000000000000000000000000.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭Puddleduck

Today I lost my baby Chloe. She was 9. I sent her down the vets to get an operation on her ear and she had a bad reaction to the anaesthetic. I keep wishing I hadn't sent her down. I didn't get a proper goodbye. Just thought I'd see her later. I miss her so much already. The house is so horribly quiet without her.

Love and miss you Chloe xx

• Registered Users Posts: 1,023 ✭✭✭hairyfairy00

Today after 15 years of loyalty and companionship we said goodbye to our beautiful Amber, my house and heart is a much lonelier and sadder place without her. R.I.P 1996-2011
    3839137252a5513145279l.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 599 ✭✭✭PurplePrincess

Wobbles came into our lives a week ago, she was found in a pitiful state, infested with maggots, starving and with a leg so badly damaged the only option was amputation. Despite all this she was just the most friendliest loving little kitten who was flying around the place on 3 legs, playing with her toys and discovering the joys of catnip. She loved cuddles and would happily curl up in my arms every chance she got.
    Unfortunately she took sick yesterday and despite the best efforts of the vet she just wasn't strong enough to fight off the infection and she died this morning.

RIP little Wobbles, you might have only been here a short time but you were loved by everyone and we'll miss you. x

mini-picture732.jpg

mini-picture680.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 155 ✭✭Adventure Pout

Rip little Wobble.. Sorry to hear about your kitten..she is gorgeous.. At least she got some beautiful time with you and been loved as she deserved. All the Best..

• Registered Users Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Chorcai

Suzy was rescued from the Collon animal sanctuary she was about 2yrs old at the time, in 2000. She came home to my families home in Co. Cork. She became a member of our family, much loved by both my grandmother and grandfather.

She used to watch over him potting around the garden, and would walk with my grandmother to the washing line and back. When my grandfather died, he was waked at our home, she came into the kitchen and stood for a few moments to say her goodbyes, this year. She was much more than a pet but a loving member of our family who touched us all.

She hated the rain and wouldn't budge from her kennel all day until it stopped!

My neice and nephew adored her, both of whom are 2 and 1yrs old now, each morning she got her little treat from Zara, and in the evening Dylan would give her one as well. They both helped me give her a wash and brush, and they gave her the last few treats in her box. Lots of hugz and petting. I was in bits but got some photos to cherrish.

I myself will dearly miss the welcome I got from her each time I went down home to visit. The leaps and bounds as I walked up the drive way, always put a huge smile on my face. She sat by my side many a night at the fire into the wee hours.

The whole family will miss her as she was much loved and adored over.

About 3yrs ago her gut twisted and that knocked a lot out of her, the vet at time said she wouldn't make it through the night let alone the evening. My mother and I were by her side all that night. To much delight she pulled through but was weak from then on.

Yesterday the vet confirmed what I thought was wrong which she had delveoped a heart condition. She really only had a few more days. To save her from any pain, I had to call our vet and ask that she be put to sleep. At a fine age of 14+, we buried her at the top of our garden, where she used to look over my grandad and father, while lazying out in the sun shine.

Thanks for reading my little tribute to our amazing pet Suzy.

A2A2D4B2838947C3B30B184653CDE66A.jpg

78ABD4466DF1430CA85949EC5743B280-0000327405-0002503274-00800L-D686326485244F2195127BBCFDFA0C3D.jpg

B1FA0B5E0FC84139ABEAD99436E790C7-0000327405-0002503275-00800L-88C973CBD4274BB9BFC44452AAFB0987.jpg

B1D4504BD67F43E3A2378CD92C6228D9-0000327405-0002503273-00800L-7B4269FBAEEF4A32A8B90A9570D27586.jpg

18EAB333644E486F819E72759B824E45-0000327405-0002503272-00800L-675D8F2EBF7647929A930123B12E4DD0.jpg

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 246 ✭✭mrbrown69

Well technically not our cat, one of a number of feral cats we feed out back found dead in a field across the road ...dunno if he was hit by a car or what, had a plank of wood on top of him :mad:.......needed to share it somewhere as most laugh it off as only a cat, wasn't a pet but still we're probably the only ones showed it some care and attention.....felt like a small dagger to the heart tbh, anyway

• Registered Users Posts: 26,899 ✭✭✭✭BBDBB

If it meant something to you, then you have every right to feel grief

Im sorry for your loss:(

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 92 ✭✭missyb

Our family dog had to be put down last night, our vet said there was no hope and she only would have been in more and more pain, it wouldnt have been fair. We had her for 12 years and she was there for it all, new partners, marriages, babies, she even went on holidays a good few times with us. She lived with my parents and seeing her every time I went home for the past 12 years was a constant I really loved,when things always seem to always change or move too fast. She was such a good kind dog, my nieces and nephews loved her. I know its just a dog to many, but rightly or wrongly, we considered her a part of our family, and she gave back tenfold what we gave her. If you can afford to care for and look after a pet properly it really really adds to family life. So glad I know the value of a pet. Tis a sad day.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭Damokc

Never knew about this thread. Great idea.
    Rolo is dead nearly 6 days now and its still no easier to do anything around the house without being reminded of him. There's still paw marks on the window sills where he would sit watching the cars go by, his lead hanging in the kitchen, his toys in the grass, still hair in the house as the fecker was a terror for shedding(I'd give anything to be picking up balls of hair around the place). Woke up this morning to crows running around on and pecking at the roof, first time in 19months we've had that. He had so much character for a young dog, he had us wrapped around his little paw pads! I'd give anything to have him back again.RIP Rolo:(
    6143877421_4a0c5426e5_z.jpg
    Rolo & birds by Damien Casey, on Flickr

• Registered Users Posts: 171 ✭✭JKM

Our dear little Lucy passed away this evening at only 2 years, 3 days after being rushed to the vets. We're not sure what happened her. She turned up badly wounded just after 5am Monday morning. We're still not sure what woke us up but we are glad we found her when we did so she didn't have to suffer too much. I got to see her this evening. I didn't know it would be the last time, if I did I would have given her just one more cuddle.

She was such a sweetheart but as independent as anything. She always had silent meows for me and my OH. The only one of our cats who did that. If only she wasn't so misserable being confined she might still be with us. She just loved being out, always came home filthy.

We will miss her so much. She was so loving and very much loved.

Lucy:
    lucy_reduced.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 1,919 ✭✭✭ziggy23

My beloved Ziggy passed away today after 17 years. She had her ears removed a few years ago due to skin cancer. Going to miss her so much but she had a good long life.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,600 ✭✭✭Cutie18Ireland

My dog George died on Saturday. He was almost 15.
    We rescued him a few months back, his owner had died and the neighbours had left him into the vets to be put to sleep. So I took him home with us.

He coped great being with a hyper pup, even though he had been an only dog all his life.
    He attached himself to me right away, would follow me everywhere.

He had a few minor things since we got him and each time I was convinced he was going to have to be put to sleep but he kept pulling through.
    We woke up on saturday to find him dead in his bed. I am devastated that I never got to say goodbye but am glad that he went in his sleep.

He started off my whole rescuing/fostering animals. He taught me alot in the short time we had him.

I am finding it very tough without him here.. I keep looking to my feet hoping to see him there, waiting to feel him nudge me with his nose..
    Every morning I wake up and hope it was all a bad dream. I would give anything for just one more day with him...

RIP My George, I love you xxx

312270_10150413992992715_837172714_10849004_6155528_n.jpg

314078_10150421700437715_837172714_10923474_2689637_n.jpg

298393_10150426157747715_837172714_10964949_3910283_n.jpg

320050_10150489732832715_837172714_11373074_1170018651_n.jpg

320860_10150508356762715_837172714_11484732_421929409_n.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,879 ✭✭✭Kya1976

I had to put my dog Kya down today, not an easy day :(:(:(

401357_10150608721934700_768109699_9029444_39600733_n.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭deisedave

Kya1976 wrote: »

401357_10150608721934700_768109699_9029444_39600733_n.jpg

Ah what happened to her, she is so cute :o

• Registered Users Posts: 206 ✭✭teacherspet

Those days are always hard. Had to do it my self a few times, due to ill health. Remember you loved her and she felt loved by you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,429 ✭✭✭✭star-pants

Kya1976 wrote: »

*hugs* hun, Kya will be missed by all of you, I wish it hadn't had to happen :(

• Registered Users Posts: 358 ✭✭carleigh

Our beloved Golden Cocker Jake passed away last night after a long illness. He came into our lives 13 years ago and gave us so much love and changed our lives. He was such a great dog and everybody loved him, almost as much as we do :) He has left a massive hole in our lives, we miss him so much already. We knew the time had come to let him go, and we are thankful that we have such a supportive vet who has helped us keep him happy and healthy for as long as we could. Run free at the Bridge Jake, we love you tonnes xxx

holidays08028.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 14,038 ✭✭✭✭tk123

Aww poor Jake!! :( I loved seeing pics of him that you posted from time to time and hearing about him - he always looked so happy that you'd never know he was sick! :(

• Registered Users Posts: 358 ✭✭carleigh

Its tough :( He was on medication for the past 16 months, a very frequent patient at the vet! We knew it was coming as he had a visit to the vet on Saturday and we crossed our fingers that he would pull throug and brought him home to rest, but at lunchtime yesterday we had to make the hard decision to free him from his illness. It wont be the same without him as our lives really revolved around him, but we have great memories and we know he loved us as much as we did him.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,576 ✭✭✭Coeurdepirate

We adopted Freya when he was 10 weeks old from the local vet, he had been handed in that morning to be put down. We got him vaccinated and gave him so much love and attention, he was truly spoilt! But it was worth it because he was so affectionate and loving. When we first got him we were told he was female, and we thought this up until we brought Freya to get spayed at 7 months and it turned out that in fact he had to get neutered! :p

He was actually my best friend, he either slept on my bed or in my drawer on top of my t-shirts every night, and most mornings when I'd wake up he'd be right beside me on my pillow, or sometimes even on my neck! He was so content to just sit with me and purr, and whenever I got home he'd be sleeping on my bed, when I'd open the door he'd wake up, stretch himself and roll over onto his back so I'd rub his belly :) He would be 2 years old in August, and I loved him a lot.

Sadly, he was hit by a car last night and was killed instantly. I cried a lot, but today we buried him in the garden, made a little grave and a cross, and although I'm an atheist I'm feeling a bit better about it since we buried him. I'll never forget him and I'm sad he had to die so young, but I'll always cherish every day I got to spend with him.

162628_150740861641677_5925987_n.jpg

71999_150744411641322_100001172917507_248452_3460666_n.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 2 keithkenmare

My lovely cocker spaniel was poisoned this week and sadly died.
    How do other people cope when this happens ?
    It'a common occurence in Kerry as farmers still put down rat poison hereabouts to kill foxes and eagles.(even though its illegal)
    keith

• Registered Users Posts: 2,138 ✭✭✭orchidsrpretty

My beautiful little cat was killed on Saturday on the road outside my house. I don't understand how it happened as just before my house there is a large ramp so the car could not of been going too fast. The same thing happened to another cat of mine 3 years ago.
    Dubh was a such a lovely cat, she was very assured of herself and had no problem walking by a dog she didn't know with her head up high as the other cats scurried to find a hiding place. She was a scruffy little thing, prefering to lounge around rather than clean herself, she also love to rub her back under dirty cars so always had a big black stripe down her back.
    She was also a liitle indesicive, would meow to get out and as soon as i would reach the door she would roll on her back for some cuddles.
    When I got her from the rescuse the Vet told me that she "probably had FIV"as she was a sickly little kitten, I was told it would be best to get her put down but I already fallen in love with her and it wasn't going to happen.
    She really was one of the best cats I have ever had the pleasure of "being owned by". I love you little Dubh, RIPxxxxxxx 2008-2012
    [IMG][/img]10hj686.jpg

iqette.jpg

352ptoi.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 5,317 ✭✭✭gavmcg92

So hard to read all of these comments when something similar has happened at home.

My first dog Blackie (Collie X) passed away on the 7th of March of this year. He got very old looking in the last 6 months of his life and seemed to go down hill quite rapidly. On the 6th he collapsed out in the garden when I put him out before bringing him to bed. I had to pick him up and put him in his bed like the baby he was :o

That night I knew it was the end. Stayed by his side in the darkness, rubbing his paw, feeling his chest go up and down with his laboured breathing. On one hand I wasn't ready to let him go. He was my first dog and I was fearful of a world without him, he was always there for me. Yet I knew it was his time to go. He was 12 years old when he past away.

I still remember today the morning of the 7th. I had college to go to. My dad came up to me and asked if the dog was with me in bed. Told him that he should be in his bed. Turned out that he had manoeuvred his way in behind the couch to finally go. A peaceful dark place where he felt truly save.

That morning wasn't easy. Took off the first few lectures but had to go in for my final lecture as it was extremely important. I will still remember the moment when I got a notification on my phone from facebook that I had been tagged in a picture. It was my sister posting a heartfelt rest in peace message to our family pet. I knew it was too soon to go into college... I had to leave the lecture early, tears streaming down my face.

I will miss him dearly. He was a great dog who loved me just as much as I loved him. Have pictures all around my bedroom that I can see as I write this post.

This is the picture my sister uploaded that day with the simple message "Sweet dreams muffin, I'll miss you. RIP"

37509475.jpg

Blackie (Our lil' muffin) 2000-2012

• Registered Users Posts: 1,498 ✭✭✭Tipperary animal lover

gavmcg92 wrote: »
    So hard to read all of these comments when something similar has happened at home.
    Blackie (Our lil' muffin) 2000-2012

So sorry to here about muffin, my heart goes out to you and muffin, god bless

• Registered Users Posts: 2,137 ✭✭✭artyeva

not sure why i'm so cut up about this today - i suppose it's cause even though he was my sister's dog he was such a big part of all our lives for over 13 years but... RIP Smokie, the cutest wee pom/terrier cross with an amazing personality, passed away last night in my brother-in-law's arms. loved his visiting and went everywhere with them. have fun barking at the birds at rainbow bridge, Smokers. xxx :(

• Registered Users Posts: 2,949 ✭✭✭IrishHomer

Here is my companion Jerry, we lost him at the young age of 3yrs he was a gem of a dog and we had a great life pity you are gone but will never ever be forgotten, hole in my heart forever for you...

img9736.jpg

img9682.th.jpg

img0880hs.th.jpg