Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Bra size

• 02-05-2006 10:58pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 689 ✭✭✭esperanza

I've put on a bit too much weight recently but NOT around my breasts. Nevertheless I can also see my body shape is changing (more curvy than before), and to cut a long story short, my bras (bra size 34 B) no longer fit me anymore. I guess I will have to get myself measured professionally for the right size.

Does this happen to any other women out there (in their late twenties)?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 317 ✭✭rainglow

Do you mean you've put it on around your ribs but not in your cup size? That could easily happen - pear shaped women tend to gain weight from the bottom up so your chest may yet have to catch up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 781 ✭✭✭Rogueish

Your bra size will change numerous times throughout your lifetime as your body shape and weight change.

I have been a 32DD but this can change depending on what brand of Bra I am buying. I have put on about 7-9lbs in the last while and my bras aren't as comfortable as they once were so I'm off to get remeasured. I think myself that I'll probably go up to about a 34D to 34DD.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 372 ✭✭catspring

rogueish said it all basically. any substantial amount of weight gain/loss is very likely to affect your bra size. get measured and then get some lovely new undies ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 689 ✭✭✭esperanza

rainglow wrote:
    Do you mean you've put it on around your ribs but not in your cup size? That could easily happen - pear shaped women tend to gain weight from the bottom up so your chest may yet have to catch up!

Yep, that's it!

Scary stuff though... had the same bra size for nearly 10 years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 219 ✭✭lisaloo

why dont you loose some weigh! problem solved.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭dundalk cailin

im a 34B for the past few years, even though my weight has fluctuated..tho not dramatically

lisaloo wrote:

Great idea - it sounds so simple!!! Have you ever tried to exercise with your boobs jumping out of your bra?? It is THE most uncomfortable thing in the world. In the mean time while you are trying to lose weight and wearing an ill fitting bra you go around with double boobs or if you are really ingenious you double side tape your boobs into a bra and feel them sliding under the underwire (been there done that :o).

I have a physical job that brings me into close contact with a lot of people if I'm not wearing the right fit of a bra and I feel boobs trying to liberate themselves I can't say - 'just hold on a minute til I relocate my boobs into their rightful place. Right now where were we......?'

Even if you are trying to lose weight you need one or two well fitting bras. If nothing else just for a confidence boost. If you are falling out of your intimates all the time it is VERY hard to feel good about yourself. Hence why I'm off to get remeasured.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 162 ✭✭Bluebells

Ok, heres how you do it (I think its right anyways!)

1) Measure (using inches) tightly under your breasts, with the measuring tape aroung your back. If the number is odd, add five, if the number is even, add four. This will give you your strap size.

2) To confirm your strap size loosley measure above the breasts, with the measureing tape under the arms and around the back. This should show your strap size also.

3) Measure around the chest where they 'stick out' the most, with the measureing tape around the back at the same height as it is at the front.
    With each inch up from your strap size it is a cup size. For example my strap size is 32'', and the measurements around my chest is 33'', so I am a 32A.

Cup measurements are diffucult to tell from this and best judged by a shop assistant, they can usually just look at you and give you a better idea of your cup size. Trying on different sizes close to what you get is good aswell.

Buy the bra when it fits at the last notch at the back, as bra's tend to loosen over time, so you can tighten it as needed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭snickerpuss

I usually just go to marks and sparks they have someone who measures you.
    Although last time they told me i was a 42DD which was so so wrong its not even funny.

Ok, Please bear with me I'm gonna have a wee bit of a rant.

As I said in my previous post I was off to get remeasured 'cos my bras just were not fitting properly. At work I'd bend over and lo and behold I stood up with 'double boob syndrome'.

Well I was in Dublin today and went into Arnotts. A lovely lady measured and fitted me and guess what!!! I measured in at a 30E or a 32DD (only if the bra is small fitting!!!).

I know that there are loads of women out there that would love to have a larger chest size but do you know how difficult it is to get a NICE 30E bra????? Even a 32DD that doesn't look like a bloody harness. I am not impressed whats worse is that my bf thinks it's hilarious. No sympathy there.

There is no question whether the lady measured me right. She was right on the ball. You could feel the difference straight away as soon as you put on a bra of the proper fit.

Anyway rant over. If you need to get professionally fitted/measured I highly recommend Arnotts lingerie department. The lady who measured me was very professional and very nice into the bargain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,347 ✭✭✭daiixi

I usually just go to marks and sparks they have someone who measures you.
    Although last time they told me i was a 42DD which was so so wrong its not even funny.

I got measured at M&S and the lady there got it soooo wrong as well. I actually called her in and asked her if she seriously thought that she was correct in her measurement because she was two sizes out! (two too small - ouchie!) EDIT/ she still maintained that her original sizing was correct!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 482 ✭✭Innervision

Seems like M&S isn't the place to go...any other opinions on places to get measured?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

Arrnots and Roches stores on Henry st have the sercive as well.

And yes getting a bra when you are outside of the so called 'normal' range
    of sizes that does not look like it was a desgined by a structual engineer and
    then rivetted to gether is blood hard. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,114 ✭✭✭doctor evil

Its annoying thats its harder to get. If your brave you could try the internet, I haven`t as I`m really finnicky about the cut and the feel of the material.

I find it very frustrating that I can`t find pretty bras (I call them scaffolding) that gives decent support in bigger cup sizes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 843 ✭✭✭PrettyInPunk

Some of La Senzas nice bras go up to quite high Es and so on.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 5,555 ✭✭✭tSubh Dearg

Rogueish wrote:
    I know that there are loads of women out there that would love to have a larger chest size but do you know how difficult it is to get a NICE 30E bra????? Even a 32DD that doesn't look like a bloody harness. I am not impressed whats worse is that my bf thinks it's hilarious. No sympathy there.
    This is a favourite rant of mine so I know exactly how you feel. I have the problem of having a very broad back so I've always had to try and find bras in a 38. I used to be a C cup and now I'm up to a DD. (I'm fairly sure that this is thanks to the Pill)

I've always had problems finding nice/pretty bras that weren't white (what is the story with any bra that's over a certain size only seeming to come in white??) in my size even when I was just a C cup. It's very frustrating.

RE: M&S sizing; they are always measuring wrong in there. I used to work in another lingerie shop and we'd get ladies in all the time telling us they'd been measured as such and such by M&S and we'd just tell them no, sorry you're not. One woman told us they'd measured her as a 34 EE, there is no such size! It just boggled us completely.

Both Knickerbox and La Senza aren't so bad for the larger sizes and can have quite pretty ranges. Knickerbox launched an Every Woman range that's supposed to go from 30AA-40F.

I've only bought 2 bras from the internet and they've both fit quite well. The one from figleaves.com was definately better though. They have a good range.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 317 ✭✭rainglow

My friend is a 34HH - I'm not kidding. She can only get bras in very specialist lingerie stores, and they only seem to make super-lacy bras in that size. And I mean bras that most girls would only wear as sexy underwear, not everyday underwear. There's no such thing as a t-shirt bra in 34HH. It's an absolute nightmare for her and she's considered a reduction many times.

Another shop that does a large range is that new shop at the bottom of Grafton St near Oasis; I think it's called "Change". It stocks A-H cups if anybody is looking for larger sizes :)

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,440 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

lisaloo wrote:

Now why didn't you think of that OP??

Her post wasn't titled "Help my bras don't fit me anymore, I need to loose weight"

Shes looking for advice on where to get nice underwear.. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 484 ✭✭Shewhomustbe...

Its annoying thats its harder to get. If your brave you could try the internet, I haven`t as I`m really finnicky about the cut and the feel of the material.

www.bravissimo.com
    www.figleaves.com

These two sites are great, they have a huge collection of pretty and practical bras (I prefer bravissimo as I like their selection and they also have more clothes to suit the fuller busted lady!)
    I started shopping online as no shops near where I live had a decent selection of bras in larger sizes, I've never had any problems with them and you can also return the bra should you find it ill-fitting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭snickerpuss

This is a favourite rant of mine so I know exactly how you feel. I have the problem of having a very broad back so I've always had to try and find bras in a 38. I used to be a C cup and now I'm up to a DD. (I'm fairly sure that this is thanks to the Pill)

I'm about a 40C and i've no idea where to get bras, whenever i do find ones that are 40 they always start at a D cup or are 'minimiser' bras. Not what i want at all. I usually just wear a 38 and get chest pain.
    I can't buy em on the internet (no credit card) and i really couldn't afford super fancy la senza €50/60 bras cos i'm poor. :(
    Is there any shop i could go to or should i just start saving?

Actually i just checked the bravissimo website and they only do up to 38 on most and 40 starts at D. Drat, its not just real life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 119 ✭✭Manolo Blahnik

I can't buy em on the internet (no credit card)

I was the exact same my parents wouldn't let me use their credit card and then last month I discovered 3v

https://www.3v.ie/

You apply
    They send you a card in like 2 days
    You go to your local shop and hand them, say, 100 plus that card
    Then you get a visa number off them worth 100

Then you can shop anywhere online!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

This thread reminds me that I need to go bra shopping some time soon! I've been wearing cheap sports bras for way too long, just because they're uber-comfy. I'm not small either... about a 36D/DD but I'd like to get measured. Must check out Arnotts then.

OH MY GOD :eek:

I got properly measured in BT today and I'm ....

A 32 E!!!

:mad: Who the hell is a 32e it means I'm skinny with big boobs which look completely out of proportion. The 32 was slightly too big but they didn't do 30s.

I was shocked when a double d didn't fit. I'd love to be a c cup.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 184 ✭✭DubNside

A 32 E!!!

:mad: Who the hell is a 32e it means I'm skinny with big boobs which look completely out of proportion. The 32 was slightly too big but they didn't do 30s.

ermmm thats terrrible! :p

why dont ya be happy with this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,247 ✭✭✭✭6th

Walk in shop for nice bras - La Senza
    Online or by catalogue - Bravissimo

Cant beat them.

A 32 E!!!

I feel your pain and shock. I'm was measured last week a 30E. A 'b' or a 'c' cup is just a pretty dream (sigh!). Hence I am determined to start a 'Boob Relocation Fund' for when my boobs refuse to defy gravity (hopefully many years hence). My boyfriend thinks that it is hilarious :rolleyes: I also blame my expanding chest size on the pill.

In the meantime check out www.figleaves.com they have some nice bras in the 30 - 32E range. I've ordered two and I'll let you know how I get on. Arnotts have a selection in the 30E sizes (not the sexiest but at least they fit)

I wonder if I should get properly measured actually, I have the odd feeling sometimes a C isn't enough

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 4,732 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tree

I'm about a 40C and i've no idea where to get bras, whenever i do find ones that are 40 they always start at a D cup or are 'minimiser' bras. Not what i want at all. I usually just wear a 38 and get chest pain.
    I can't buy em on the internet (no credit card) and i really couldn't afford super fancy la senza €50/60 bras cos i'm poor. :(

Actually i just checked the bravissimo website and they only do up to 38 on most and 40 starts at D. Drat, its not just real life.
    marks and sparks are great for big backs, you can just walk in and pick up things over 38 not bother, inc c's.

aslo, you can buy a 38D for yourself and put on a bra extender to make a 40C. you can get them in la senza or marks for cheap enough.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 5,555 ✭✭✭tSubh Dearg

bluewolf wrote:
    I wonder if I should get properly measured actually, I have the odd feeling sometimes a C isn't enough

If you're feeling that then it's a very good idea to go and get measured or have a go at it yourself. There's no point in wearing a bra that doesn't fit properly as it isn't giving you the proper support that you need. The difference between a good fitting bra and an ill fitting bra is amazing.

I've seen 40Cs in Knickerbox and Ann Summers. There is also a trick that sometimes works with some people of going up a cup size but down a back size. You might find something in a 38D.

La Senza isn't that expensive I think €28 is the most expensive bra I've seen from them. Are you maybe thinking of La Perla? They have VERY expensive underwear. There's a La Senze concession in Roches Stores on Henry St or they have a store on Grafton St. There are others but I'm not sure where.
    DubNside wrote:
    ermmm thats terrrible! :p

why dont ya be happy with this?

There may be several reasons she's unhappy with this for one it's quite a weight to be carrying around with you for a start and can cause back pain. She also said herself that she feels out of proportion. That would make anyone feel self conscious.

But the main lament in this thread is that if you are a bigger than average size (which is really anything over a 36 in the back and probably about a D cup) then it is very difficult to find underwear that is pretty and not just a piece of construction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 337 ✭✭blue banana

What I find really annoying is the amount of padded bra's, if you're bigger busted the last thing you want is extra padding and I think a lot of the nice bras are padded. Must go get measured too, that's something for this weekend.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 4,732 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tree

What I find really annoying is the amount of padded bra's, if you're bigger busted the last thing you want is extra padding and I think a lot of the nice bras are padded. Must go get measured too, that's something for this weekend.
    or made out of stupid thin lacy stuff and the lovely cotton ones are reserved for the smaller evil ppl!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 299 ✭✭Oobie

Speaking of bra sizes, does anyone know where to get a bikini where the bra is measured in bra sizes rather than size 8, 10, 12 etc and also where you can buy the bra and knickers seperately?

I've tried Dunnes but there's feck all support in them. I'm an 8-10 on the bottom and a 34DD on top so it's impossible to get a bikini to fit both top and bottom unless they're sold seperately. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 *Super*Star*

Rogueish wrote:
    Great idea - it sounds so simple!!! Have you ever tried to exercise with your boobs jumping out of your bra?? It is THE most uncomfortable thing in the world. In the mean time while you are trying to lose weight and wearing an ill fitting bra you go around with double boobs or if you are really ingenious you double side tape your boobs into a bra and feel them sliding under the underwire (been there done that :o).

Ha ha, read this and had to laugh out loud, I know EXACTLY what you mean! I was in the gym last week with two of my mates, both of who have fairly average sized chests. All was going well until I decided to up the anti and start jogging on the thread mill! My friend almost fell right off the machine she was laughing so hard, and a group of young lads infront of us where wetting themselves.:D

Still, despite all that I wouldn't swap my chest for a smaller one so I shouldn't complain ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 *Super*Star*

Oobie wrote:
    Speaking of bra sizes, does anyone know where to get a bikini where the bra is measured in bra sizes rather than size 8, 10, 12 etc and also where you can buy the bra and knickers seperately?

I've tried Dunnes but there's feck all support in them. I'm an 8-10 on the bottom and a 34DD on top so it's impossible to get a bikini to fit both top and bottom unless they're sold seperately. :(

Try Monsoon, i got 2 bikini's there last year and they both had cup sizes on them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 337 ✭✭blue banana

Oobie wrote:

Debenhams and M&S both do cup sizes in their bikinis, you can normally buy the tops seperate from the bottoms, which is really handy for those of us who are bigger on top than on the bottom, or vice versa.

M&S used to be much better a few years ago, they have gone down hill more recently and are a little more old fashioned, but you will nearly always find a good staple black bikini there.

new look are doin separates too. as are evans and i presume dorothy perkins

• Closed Accounts Posts: 299 ✭✭Oobie

I find M&S to be a bit old fashioned. Nothing in Evans would fit me and Dorothy Perkins sizes are huge!! The size 10 there is like a large size 12 everywhere else!

Ha ha, read this and had to laugh out loud, I know EXACTLY what you mean! I was in the gym last week with two of my mates, both of who have fairly average sized chests. All was going well until I decided to up the anti and start jogging on the thread mill! My friend almost fell right off the machine she was laughing so hard, and a group of young lads infront of us where wetting themselves.:D

Yep been there and done that! I solved it a number of years ago. I got a nike 'bra'. It actually more like a support top (no cup or band size etc) but it holds everything where it should without a wobble. The more recent ones just don't have the same level of support. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 184 ✭✭DubNside

What man would have known picking out one small piece of clothing would be so difficult!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,314 ✭✭✭Talliesin

DubNside wrote:
    What man would have known picking out one small piece of clothing would be so difficult!
    Plenty. Let's stop with the all-men-are-a-bit-thick routine. We aren't in a television advert for frozen foods or household cleaning products.

• Registered Users Posts: 484 ✭✭Shewhomustbe...

A 32 E!!!

Eh, I'm a 32E :o , and yes it was also a bit of a shock when I found out.
    I think we all get a bit confused giving ourselves bigger back sizes than is necessary, I used to think I was a 36 :confused: .
    Got the shock of my life when I heard Jordan was a 29back :eek: .

God thats small :eek:

I was wearing size 34 d all the time