Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

new bike - accessories deal

• 04-05-2006 10:44pm
    Registered Users Posts: 835 ✭✭✭

Just curious, from yer own experience, if you bought a new bike, full price (round €2000 mark broadly speaking) what sort of discount would/should (if any) you be entitled to. I dont mean on the bike but lets say accessories in their shop i.e. lights locks clothing etc,
    Anybody get any great deals, lets say dublin city centre area?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Morgan

Well, you're not "entitled" to anything so any discount or deal you get is a bonus. 10% of the bike value in parts and accessories would be reasonable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 170 ✭✭godfather69er

nothing. and dont go mad when you are told you wont get one, seriously 'how much am i entitled to'?? are you for real?? e200 is not gunna get you a good bike they prob sell 5 or 6 of those cheap bikes a day you are not doing them a favor you just another ordinary customer.just because you buy a bike it doesnt mean they have to give a discount or free accesories i have said it before if they give you freebies you are paying for it in some way.if you spend e700+ then you can have a case of getting a discount or accesories.

• Registered Users Posts: 146 ✭✭ciaranr

if you spend e700+ then you can have a case of getting a discount or accesories.
    If you put the rage inside the cage, count to ten and re-read the gentleman's post, you will notice he is spending 2000.

If you were buying a car for this you would probably get a free tank of petrol so I'd say you could safely look for about 50 quids worth, say 2.5% of retail price. I think that is a reasonable figure, but have a go for more!;) "Ask and you shall receive" as it says in the Bible.

Also helps if you are young enough to pose as a poor student (or mature student) with an overdraft.:D

i stand corrected sorry:o

ye well then he should defo get somthing thrown in.
    its just that i ****ing hate when somebody buys a cheap **** bike, they feel they are entitled to money off,thinking they are doing you a favor when in fact they are being a pain in the hole coz they will be back next week with the bike in a heap coz they tried to use it off road or for jumps.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,946 ✭✭✭BeardyGit

i stand corrected sorry:o

ye well then he should defo get somthing thrown in.
    its just that i ****ing hate when somebody buys a cheap **** bike, they feel they are entitled to money off,thinking they are doing you a favor when in fact they are being a pain in the hole coz they will be back next week with the bike in a heap coz they tried to use it off road or for jumps.

Hmmmm. You remind me of someone I had the misfortune of engaging in a certain bike shop in Dublin today. I went in with 600 euro in my pocket to buy a set of wheels and a Deore groupset and all I got was attitude and a referal to said companies website. I had simply requested a price for a couple of smaller parts to begin with - A tester before I really got down to business.... I left with my pocket full of cash and went to another shop nearby where I'm pleased to write my request for pricing on a 'low value' product was met with excellent customer service and genuine interest. I immediately bought everything I had wanted there - 600 quids worth of kit and have ordered another 500 quids worth of parts (forks and brakes) for collection during the week as they were not in stock.

The point is bad attitude from the 'help' doesn't bring in customers, profit or loyalty. I paid more elsewhere rather than deal with a rude twat in one of the bigger Irish bike shops today. I'd actually encourage anyone who comes across this sort of treatment to complain to the manager/owner as it's usually some upstart with a chip on their shoulder who's costing a genuine dealer in lost business.

And as for the OP's question, if you're spending 2k in a shop, I'd say 10% would be easily attainable as a discount from anyone who has an interest in selling you a bike, instead of treating you with contempt for showing initiative and asking for a deal. Years back I worked in an outdoor sports shop in Dublin and we actually worked on the basis that a 10% discount would be applied for anyone that asked for it. If someone didn't ask it all went into the till instead of some staying in their arse pocket - That's still the basis for many specialist sports outlets exluding the UK chains who'll do nothing for you when it comes to price. That discount was applied on everything from an energy bar to a goretex jacket.

Incidentally, the parts I bought today were automatically discounted by 10% - I didn't even have to ask for the deal.

Gil_Dub wrote:
    Hmmmm. You remind me of someone I had the misfortune of engaging in a certain bike shop in Dublin today. I went in with 600 euro in my pocket to buy a set of wheels and a Deore groupset and all I got was attitude and a referal to said companies website. I had simply requested a price for a couple of smaller parts to begin with - A tester before I really got down to business.... I left with my pocket full of cash and went to another shop nearby where I'm pleased to write my request for pricing on a 'low value' product was met with excellent customer service and genuine interest. I immediately bought everything I had wanted there - 600 quids worth of kit and have ordered another 500 quids worth of parts (forks and brakes) for collection during the week as they were not in stock.

The point is bad attitude from the 'help' doesn't bring in customers, profit or loyalty. I paid more elsewhere rather than deal with a rude twat in one of the bigger Irish bike shops today. I'd actually encourage anyone who comes across this sort of treatment to complain to the manager/owner as it's usually some upstart with a chip on their shoulder who's costing a genuine dealer in lost business.

And as for the OP's question, if you're spending 2k in a shop, I'd say 10% would be easily attainable as a discount from anyone who has an interest in selling you a bike, instead of treating you with contempt for showing initiative and asking for a deal. Years back I worked in an outdoor sports shop in Dublin and we actually worked on the basis that a 10% discount would be applied for anyone that asked for it. If someone didn't ask it all went into the till instead of some staying in their arse pocket - That's still the basis for many specialist sports outlets exluding the UK chains who'll do nothing for you when it comes to price. That discount was applied on everything from an energy bar to a goretex jacket.

well i was off on saturday sorry that you didnt have the fortune to meet me ya snoby hole pricing a cheaper item seeing if they roll out the red carpet for you. and your entitled to go off and spend your money where you like, good luck, funny thing is you prob payed more, since you probably had the intelligence to go to the shop who was least expensive.and when you get 10% it prob added on to price of the bike or accesories and as you said if you ask you get if you dont then tough more profit for shop.

had prime example of a customer like you today...
    sat on a bike while on a stand, i told him to get off it politley and ill take it out for him
    he replies i was just testing you have no signs up telling me not to.
    this man had a child, i mean there is no sign up saying dont take a dump on the floor does that justify ****ting on the floor?? well in his book it did.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,946 ✭✭✭BeardyGit

well i was off on saturday sorry that you didnt have the fortune to meet me ya snoby hole pricing a cheaper item seeing if they roll out the red carpet for you. and your entitled to go off and spend your money where you like, good luck, funny thing is you prob payed more, since you probably had the intelligence to go to the shop who was least expensive.and when you get 10% it prob added on to price of the bike or accesories and as you said if you ask you get if you dont then tough more profit for shop.

had prime example of a customer like you today...
    sat on a bike while on a stand, i told him to get off it politley and ill take it out for him
    he replies i was just testing you have no signs up telling me not to.
    this man had a child, i mean there is no sign up saying dont take a dump on the floor does that justify ****ting on the floor?? well in his book it did.

Sure - I'm an idiot for expecting customer service. If price was the only criteria for selecting a supplier then we'd all be shopping online. I don't mind paying more to make sure local bike shops stay open - I'd just prefer to spend my cash in a place who are prepared to look after me instead of acting like a crowd of elitist morons who have to suffer the great unwashed masses for a living. I think we know which approach you take and I'd love to know which shop you work in so I can strike it off my list of preferred vendors....Guilt by association is good enough for me.

We're dealing with a high value product with high enough margins to allow a dealer cut a little when someone's chosen to do business with them. I don't care ultimately what the discount would be but if someone refuses to cut their profit from say €400 to €300 as a courtesy to me when I'd spend 2k with them, I'd chose to shop elsewhere. There's always someone out there who's prepared to respect you as a valuable customer - Even if the layabout behind the counter in one shop decides you're not worth the effort.

Ask for a discount - You're right to do so. Decide to buy or walk based on the response of the sales 'help' and if you're not impressed, make sure they know why. If enough of us did this when we're mistreated, they'd soon find themselves out of a job with only customer focused sales people left to handle our business.

BTW, I like dealing with the smaller shops, even if I pay more. They appreciate the business and treat me with respect as a result. They'll also usually beat any of the bigger shops when it comes to pricing for parts, bikes etc if you just give them the chance.

Godfather-whatyamacallit-99er, take it to PM if you want to pick a fight.

Cheers,

Gil

• Registered Users Posts: 174 ✭✭wahlrab

this guy either has anger problem or is an attention seeker, best bike store in dublin in my opinion is duffs in omni friendly and well stocked they'll order in things for you too, all the shops i visited in city center weren't interested in my custom and i was spending 500euro, which is a significant amount

hummm your 1st post is to stick up for the bloke previous i wonder if you have the same ip adress humm.
    and duffs strange you have goood service with them as the owner is a prick ...oh **** i think you might out it together so maybe nob face above can strike us off his list.

now can anybody read, i called him a snob because he went looking for a shop who would lick his arse to make his ego feel big, that is why he looked for a cheap part before looking for the "expensive" stuff.then in his next post says he doesnt shop online because he wants 'customer service'???more like he likes to pay to have his ass licked that and hes from south dublin(langer central)., this is why retail has changed my outlook on people. why oh why do people like him exist and have a interest in bikes????

as for your expectance of sombody to drop profit of e400 to e300 how much do you honestly think the independant retailer makes on bikes over e2000 its e200 absolute maximum. these people have to make a living and as i work in a bike shop from my experience people like you are no loss as the bike will sell anyway to sombody who will pay 100% of the marked price

• Registered Users Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Morgan

now can anybody read

I wonder :rolleyes: . You should lighten up kid, you're just going to frustrate yourself with that attitude. Remember, the customer is always right.

• Registered Users Posts: 146 ✭✭ciaranr

Just curious godfatherthingy, what would your boss think of your last few posts? Are these the opinions of the bike shop you say you work for or are they your own?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,939 ✭✭✭wingnut

For groupsets etc, oder online, you get great prices and customer service and no grief!! Better selection too. I have never seen an Irish shop to match the prices of sites like chainreactioncycles.com and bikedock.com. Chainreaction do postage free to Ireland.

Bricks and mortars are allright for full bikes ( as long as they are Konas!!!)

• Registered Users Posts: 174 ✭✭wahlrab

alright well that may have been my first post but i'm not the guy above,

godfather: by choosing that name i can already tell that you hold yourself in high esteem and that nothing anybody says here will ever change your opinion about anything as your always right, by that reasoning you would be female:D

but i dunno maybe the owner of duffs doesn't like you or i met him on a good day, but the rest of his staff are friendly.

I don't know why your so defensive about your ald customer service, if your working in a shop any shop you should go out of your way to make the customer feel welcome and his custom wanted, surely thats GOOD BUSINESS??????

Anyway you seem the angry type so i'll leave it at that

• Registered Users Posts: 14,330 ✭✭✭✭Amz

If people continue to be abusive and can't conduct themselves appropriately I will start handing out bans.

no i chose godfather coz its a piss take amongst my mates about wiggers.
    sure if you are a normal guy or girl who wants advice i will be the nicest bloke ,hell i even give 10% if they are nice(shock ..i know) but i can tell people like the bloke above from a mile away, i have no time for people who look down on me or expect me to drop everything and roll out the carpet for them if all they want is a wrist slap.
    and btw i have a kona too, they are savage bikes.
    my boss for the record shares some of my views but not all and i have never had anybody say anything bad about me, i have only had people compliment me.
    lads i am sorry i can listen to reason but when people cant see what yer man was doing it just pisses me off.