Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

FA Cup Final - Liverpool v West Ham (everything)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,937 ✭✭✭fade2black

Why are Liverpool fans on Boards on FA Cup day? Isn't there more exciting places you could be?

• Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 9,049 Mod ✭✭✭✭Aquos76

fade2black wrote:
    Why are Liverpool fans on Boards on FA Cup day? Isn't there more exciting places you could be?

Was actually thinging the same myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,399 ✭✭✭✭Thanx 4 The Fish

Some have to work, some have families some cannot afford to go out. You got a problem with it ? Perhaps you should speak to each in pm individually and come back with your results.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

fade2black wrote:
    Gotta feel sorry for West Ham. That really is no way to win a final.

Its a way to loose a final, it happens.

Sheer relief is my own emotion, I can't say I enjoyed the match - too much worry.

Way back last summer I said if we won a cup and finished well in the table I'd be happy, so I'm happy! :)

Mike.

Some have to work, some have families some cannot afford to go out. You got a problem with it ? Perhaps you should speak to each in pm individually and come back with your results.

So whats Mike's excuse.;) ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,647 ✭✭✭impr0v

As I said, PM and ask and then tabulate and come back with the results. TBH I could not care less why fans are able to share their relief and ebullience with other fans, just glad that they feel that they can without having their loyalties questioned by fans of other teams.

Awww fade, the mickey mouse cup not good enough for you, must have missed the aggression, I asked a simple question ?? How do those grapes taste son ?

Perhaps you should crawl back into your box and stop being so aggresive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

fade2black wrote:

Perhaps there's just a lot of Liverpool supporters on Boards (hense a good few around even at match time)? The wiki supporters page seems to indicate so at least http://www.boards.ie/wiki/index.php/Soccer_Teams_Supported

Personally I'm just neutral wrt to these 2 teams.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,116 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

Just back from the pub, good atmosphere, I laugh at the wasters who watched it at home alone.
    I am also devestated for West Ham, Pool didnt deserve it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭Ruskie4Rent

What a game! But did it have to end like that? That's two years in a row that the wrong team one it by peno's IMO. What a shame.

I was in front of the telly - note my posts are only during half-time and after the game.

Mike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

RasTa wrote:
    Just back from the pub, good atmosphere, I laugh at the wasters who watched it at home alone.

Ok, what's the big issue with folks watching it at home?

Can people focus on the bigger issue ie. Liverpool being FA Cup champs 2006.

I laught at the wasters who spent money on beer that they culd be saving towards a mortgage and some nature of better life but heh, people have different priorities it seems, getting p*ssed up seems to be yours, watching the game here with my family is mine and saving a few quid for upcoming events is mine.

mike65 wrote:
    I was in front of the telly - note my posts are only during half-time and after the game.

Mike.

I know Mike, I was only having a laugh. Do take it to heart.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,147 ✭✭✭Ronan|Raven

Some of us dont have the luxury of the pub at 5am in the morning ;)

****ING GET IN. Makes up for the dire final last year ;)

Have to stop being generous to teams though and giving them head starts :)

Was defintely one of the best cups I've seen in recent years. West Ham probably edged it but you really have to look in awe at how Liverpool crawl themselves back from the dead. For that alone they deserve acclaim and respect out of the day. Tis a pity it has to end the way it did, a replay would have been better I think. When it comes to penalties the when there are underdogs they rarely come out on top. Same happened up in Scotland. Still though, Gretna and West Ham in Europe next season, an awful lot to be proud of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭evilhomer

I laught at the wasters who spent money on beer that they culd be saving towards a mortgage and some nature of better life but heh, people have different priorities it seems, getting p*ssed up seems to be yours, watching the game here with my family is mine and saving a few quid for upcoming events is mine.

It was only a joke Thanx 4 The Fish. Get off your high horse!
    You are supposed to be a mod, show a little decorum!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,116 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

Its called socialising and you should try it some day, esp for footy matches. and I didnt spend a penny I just sat there and soaked up the atmosphere. All be it the worst team won

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,137 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

i love how people here post updates, as if everyone here isnt watching the match =D

I think yet again this proved how liverpool are a one man show, no one doing anything except gerrard who single handedly pulled them to the top, no one did anything, sissoko,crouch,morientes,cisse,alonso,kewell, nothing, gerrard drags them up.

I really think cisse should spend less time on tattoos and hair and boots and more time on training, he is utter pathetic like seriously...

I was rooting for west ham, I felt liverpool were awful first half and didnt do much second half really, as a team they were inept for most of the game, it looked as if they were pilling on pressure when in fact it was just west ham tired sitting back, and pool didnt even threaten.

Best FA cup i have seen in a long time and i feel sorry for west ham, as a team i tohought they deserved it.

And i was wondering to myself how that benjyun fella can run after over 110 minutes of football, stil ltaken people on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,325 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

Best team lost today, cracking match though with 3 fantastic Liverpool goals.

Some of us dont have the luxury of the pub at 5am in the morning ;)

****ING GET IN. Makes up for the dire final last year ;)

Have to stop being generous to teams though and giving them head starts :)
    Have to stop not beating teams and then annoying everybody else though with talk of "being champions". At least if all the medals were all melted down and one big huge one given to gerrard, might be some justice, but that's football for ye.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

No it wasn't, it was an insult, because he was upset at Liverpool winning the FA Cup.

Ask yourself this question, the fact that some people aren't out in a pub watching the game, or the fact that you think feel the compulsion to insult them about it. Who do you think it says more about?

---

As for the match, same old same old with liverpool it would seem.
    Gerrard is just unreal, Cometh the hour eh

• Registered Users Posts: 340 ✭✭Trizo

Feel sorry for West Ham they totally deserved it today , put up much more of a fight then I thought they would and should really have won it,
    Another cup final mugging by Liverpool and victory for anti football ah well congrats to the pool enjoy it while it lasts! :P

• Registered Users Posts: 547 ✭✭✭Devious

Yea those couple of pints down the boozer have really scuppered my mortgage plans now :rolleyes:

Anyway, congratulations to Liverpool.

I take it those comments about posting updates refer to me. Well maybe people are at work and cant get to a TV. This is the norm for a saturday afternoon on here. Sure if you are not happy about it why not report my posts. I believe there is a whole lot of reporting going on in the mod forum atm.

FFS people grow up and stop acting like children and reporting each other. Those involved know who I am on about

mike65 wrote:

Well said Mike, I didn't personally insult anyone PHB, it was a general light hearted query that touched a nerve with some Liverpool fans, and you, but then again everything seems to annoy you, you report someone a couple of times a day.

Fair play to Liverpool, they've had another day out today and another trophy to add to their collection.

Have to stop not beating teams and then annoying everybody else though with talk of "being champions". At least if all the medals were all melted down and one big huge one given to gerrard, might be some justice, but that's football for ye.

Aww aint you cute :)

Eh thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,188 ✭✭✭growler

At least Crouch showed why he's going to the World Cup ;)

Oh well, fair play to Gerrard FC , Cisse and Kewell looked utter ****e though.

At least that means we get yet another shot at the scousers in the Charity Shield.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

Well done Gerrard FC! Great match with a great finish.

RasTa wrote:
    Its called socialising and you should try it some day, esp for footy matches. and I didnt spend a penny I just sat there and soaked up the atmosphere. All be it the worst team won

Well perhaps you should not call people wasters if you do not want a response in kind. My sons and I enjoyed the game no end in the comfort of my own home.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,610 ✭✭✭dbnavan

Trizo wrote:
    Feel sorry for West Ham they totally deserved it today , put up much more of a fight then I thought they would and should really have won it,
    Another cup final mugging by Liverpool and victory for anti football ah well congrats to the pool enjoy it while it lasts! :P
    Didnt have to see ur sig to find out that you where a man united fan, we score an Og, have 2 good Goals Disallowed, 3-1 down, we win on penos thanks to an equaliser from an injured player, and we mugged them???

Cop on! what do you want us to do win blindfolded? Great win by the pool

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,987 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

Was a great game, well done to both teams.

fade2black inciting the usual rubbish which is her trademark on this forum.

Liverpool FC - FA Cup Winners 2006

Oh the irony from ManU fans, EC Final 1999 anyone?

I think its just great the way Liverpool keep raising the bar for sheer madness in Cup finals -

UEFA Cup 5-4 ping-pong

CL 3-3 from 3 goals down win on Penos

League Cup 3-2 loss with Gerrard OG

FA Cup 3-3 from 2-0 down to win on penos.

Not great for old ticker though!

Mike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

Dunno if it was the right tactic to start Xabi, maybe he could have been used as the impact sub with Didi starting.
    He just wasn't on form today at all.

Kewell was..well, back to his old ways really. Hoesntly, he got injured running back onto the pitch for the second half :(

Cisse was horrible the second half. Is it a trait in some french players to sulk like he did? Jesus.

Really did think WH had it after jamming a third goal but once it was going to penos, you had to feel they couldn't sustain it.

Always had a soft spot for WH.

zabbo wrote:
    Was a great game, well done to both teams.

fade2black inciting the usual rubbish which is her trademark on this forum.

Liverpool FC - FA Cup Winners 2006

I'd advise you to back that statement up.

dbnavan wrote:
    Didnt have to see ur sig to find out that you where a man united fan, we score an Og, have 2 good Goals Disallowed, 3-1 down, we win on penos thanks to an equaliser from an injured player, and we mugged them???

Cop on! what do you want us to do win blindfolded? Great win by the pool
    Same can be said about your loyalties. Liverpool were awful in the first have and were all but beatin if it wasn't for a bit of magic in the last minute.

Would ye all get a room for ****s sake. Never seen such handbags at dawn in all my life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,482 ✭✭✭RE*AC*TOR

Great game. Best FA Cup final in my memory. What can you say about Gerrard that hasn't already been said? He really stepped up to the mark.

West Ham played well, and fought hard - but had more than their fair share of luck. It was an unusually inneffective defensive display from Liverpool today. The team looked tired. Hyppia looked the most solid, he is the only one of the back four I don't remember making an error.

Pool were fairly unlucky with injuries to Kewell and Alonso as well. Even Gerrard seemed reduced to playing as a third centre half towards the end.

The best team did win in the end. West Ham were fortuitous with all of their goals really, and Liverpool should have had a goal from Crouch.

All the same sympathy to WH fans.

As for the begrudgers here, there's really no need, it was a great game and everyone can appreciate that.

It was a shame there had to be a looser. West Ham were well worthy of getting a win but that is football and it is why we all love it so much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,839 ✭✭✭Hobart

Great game all round, and not one for the faint hearted Liverpool fans. Once again, Gerrard shows his complete class with a motm performance and the goal of the season.

I also thought Reina had a decent game, although the occasion seemed to get to him earlier on in the game. His save in the last minute of extra time more than made up for his earlier mistake.

Well done Liverpool and Rafa, what a great record, with only 2 seasons in charge.

The result was made even better for me, by the completely idiotic comments by some (particularly Manu) fans after WH went 2-0 up. That should shut the lot of ye up. It's no wonder to me that you are one of the most hated teams in the world, with fans that have attitudes like that.

No, I'm going to finish off my cup of coffee and ponder where in Spain I'm going to buy that holiday home, with all the money I have saved from not going out today.

Oh, and PHB if the sam ol same ol Liverpool is having a record in Cup Competition like they have, I'll take that anytime. Enjoy the rest of your useless cup season :rolleyes:

Hobart wrote:
    Great game all round, and not one for the faint hearted Liverpool fans. Once again, Gerrard shows his complete class with a motm performance and the goal of the season.

I also thought Reina had a decent game, although the occasion seemed to get to him earlier on in the game. His save in the last minute of extra time more than made up for his earlier mistake.

Well done Liverpool and Rafa, what a great record, with only 2 seasons in charge.

The result was made even better for me, by the completely idiotic comments by some (particularly Manu) fans after WH went 2-0 up. That should shut the lot of ye up. It's no wonder to me that you are one of the most hated teams in the world, with fans that have attitudes like that.

No, I'm going to finish off my cup of coffee and ponder where in Spain I'm going to buy that holiday home, with all the money I have saved from not going out today.

Oh, and PHB if the sam ol same ol Liverpool is having a record in Cup Competition like they have, I'll take that anytime. Enjoy the rest of your useless cup season :rolleyes:

I have to admit, I was holding the phone in my hand at 2-0...but I thought...no no, this is Liverpool... It's all part of the banter with my mates who are pool fans, I'll meet them later and buy em a drink. Some people really take this too seriously, the two teams gave us a vintage match today and all soccer fans should appreciate that.

Hobart wrote:

Hobart mate, I dont recall any Man U supporters making any idiotic comments when it went to 2-0.

This is Liverpools day, so lets for once not turn this thread into another useless pointless Liverpool/ Man U thread.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

We have now been involved in the best European Cup final of recent years and the best FA Cup final of recent times.Things are looking up.

I think that the emergency services around the world do not appreciate it though, heart-attacks aplenty and alot more kids called Pepe and Stevie around liverpool this time next year ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,482 ✭✭✭RE*AC*TOR

They certainly are. Interesting to see Bolo Zenden there at the end - I'd kinda forgotten about him, never really got going before his injury.

Also its been a really long season for pool. Its gonna be weird for the next few months. I'll have serious withdrawal symptoms.

Still, I'll have england and spain to shout on for the world cup.

fade2black wrote:
    I have to admit, I was holding the phone in my hand at 2-0...but I thought...no no, this is Liverpool... It's all part of the banter with my mates who are pool fans, I'll meet them later and buy em a drink. Some people really take this too seriously, the two teams gave us a vintage match today and all soccer fans should appreciate that.

True about the banter, just off the phone to the old fella and he was in our local when with 5 mins to go a large contingent of new west ham manchester utd fans (mates of ours) came in for a bit of a gloat he was preparing the old speech only to disregard it thx to stevie G. they had to stay then and endure it. It would have been exactly the same had the teams been reversed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 958 ✭✭✭Mark

Sadness from a Hambag fan. At 2-0 I was expecting Liverpool to level it, but thought Konchesky assured victory. This feels like some alternate reality where Gerrard just refused to accept defeat, the bastard.

Edit: Before I go kill myself, Dean Ashton was magnificent. I've been a fan since his Norwich days, being a manwhore for a good header, if he can keep up that sort of performence 7 million will be a decent bit of business.