Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The story with the slowdown and its fix.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,049 ✭✭✭Cloud

Oh yea, search enabled - get to it!

• Registered Users Posts: 22,231 ✭✭✭✭Sparky

What this boardstracker, your opinion link?
    mmm interesting

• Registered Users Posts: 2,809 ✭✭✭edanto

Hadn't heard of boardtracker. Damn, all those automated searches must use a lot of puter power. Is that anything to do with the problem? Or do we send their server a copy of every new post?

Anyroads, I've just searched for slowdown, to see if there were any threads giving more technical details about the speed issue. Nothing recent popped up, is that because the details are on the Admin/Mod side or was I just using the wrong keyword?

I don't know anything really about dbs, but I'd be interested to watch the discussion unfold about how this gets fixed. I might even learn something! Is there a breakdown of what type of requests are keeping the machines busy? Are they even maxed out?

Oh and since I don't really post that much, might as well take the opportunity to thank yis for all the hard work you put in. No doubt about what someone was saying above - slow boards is well good, way better than no boards!
    muchos gracias.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,312 ✭✭✭✭Esel

zabbo wrote:
    I think everyone uses the 'My Posts' feature which is a hacked search string(or something)

Everyone time i log on, a jump into 'my posts' its the only way I can remember what i was posting.

Spose if *everyone* done that, there'd be trouble.

Use Quick Links > Subscribed Threads instead. It does not make baby Boards cry!

Not your ornery onager

She's losing power, Cap'n!

2 minutes ago, cloud, no sigs

http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2054931678

beaker: Page generated in 35.99503 seconds with 10 queries

http://boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=354

beaker: Page generated in 38.68612 seconds with 14 queries

Not your ornery onager

Scotty, Im getting fluctuations in power, move to warp 3, What? We are.

Oh christ.

Cloud with sigs.
    TCN
    beaker: Page generated in 48.07002 seconds with 14 queries

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Computers/Technology about 1 min ago

beaker: Page generated in 1.31188 seconds with 14 queries

• Registered Users Posts: 5,112 ✭✭✭Blowfish

I see BoardTracker is paying us a visit:)

Gardening/DIY

beaker: Page generated in 56.23682 seconds with 14 queries

Thats via www.boards btw.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Im on the www.boards.ie also, flying along for me

a few mins ago at Online Buying/Auctions.

beaker: Page generated in 0.89102 seconds with 14 queries

For the past ten minutes, Boards has been slower than a 15 year old obese Labrador with severe arthritis - and that's being kind.

'Search' and 'New Posts' must die! :mad:

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users Posts: 5,112 ✭✭✭Blowfish

LOL - For the hell of it, I decided to do loads of searching by stalking newbies. Came accross this wonderfully sneaky spammer. Posted several times in the test forum so that no-one would notice, and it would improve his sites google rank

• Registered Users Posts: 24,924 ✭✭✭✭BuffyBot

Pretty lousy tonight alright :/

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,097 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Fine on 56k. Faster than my bband...odd.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,049 ✭✭✭Cloud

Search disabled again. Thanks for the testing, there was a noticeable increase in load on our graphs, which I hope to post after more testing...

One or two minutes ago. Worked on Refresh.

http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2054933726

There seems to have been a problem with the boards.ie database.
    Please try again by clicking the Refresh button in your web browser.
    An E-Mail has been dispatched to our Technical Staff, whom you can also contact if the problem persists.
    We apologise for any inconvenience.

Not your ornery onager

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

I'm getting the same, and refresh brings up the "invalid thread" message.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,124 ✭✭✭homah_7ft

Was boards down for the last four hours?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

Yes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,978 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Life complete again.

Mike.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,196 ✭✭✭✭Crash

ffs lads, could you not have left it down for another two hours or so? i was actually getting study done for this damn exam!

• Registered Users Posts: 614 ✭✭✭dent

Just wondering if you guys have ever load tested boards to try and identify some of the bottlenecks. Jmeter http://jakarta.apache.org/jmeter/ is a great open source tool for this purpose.

Without knowing the particulars of your system setup I'd say that three servers (if your spending 3500 on them) is plenty for a high performance web application. I don't think adding another server would solve the problems.

Does boards cache the HTML of the most popular threads?

• Registered Users Posts: 37,301 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Eek:eek: No searches :( Won't be posting as much :(

Ah well, good luck with the baby, Cloud. Have a happy (miserable?) few months of sleepless nights.

Regi, if I see ye in the pub, I'll kick you. Pass your exams, and back to the [strike]cage[/strike] lab to fix boards.ie:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

Those sleepless nights will be just right for tinkering with the new server. ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 11,196 ✭✭✭✭Crash

Thats no way to refer to clouds babeh - just remember cloud the kid won't grow out of the crying stage just by adding more ram :)

• Registered Users Posts: 78,417 ✭✭✭✭Victor

kippy wrote:
    I noticed a definite improvement up until about 15:00 today and it appeared to deteriorate again....
    Traffic expands to occupy available road space. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 14,339 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

I was just wondering ... 3500 for a server or 7 x €500 basic dells. which would I choose?

• Registered Users Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Server :)

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

I believe he's named the child Mini-Cloud. Disturbing.

DeV.

• Registered Users Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

Baby Nimbus. Good luck and congrats to the Cloud family!