Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

BMW Customer Service-Opinions

• 15-05-2006 10:50pm
    Registered Users Posts: 1,882 ✭✭✭

HI

I am on my 2nd and throughout my journey I have had the most exceptional treatment, so much better than what we are used to in this country.

I bought my 1st privately and had a service II done in Frank Keane. I had a fault some months later where Joe Duffy was the nearest. They looked after it after sending me home in a courtesy cab. When I collected it it had a nice wash and all, a 99 316i that I bought privately! not bad.

Then today my key would not come out of the ignition on my new one a 318ci. As I bought this one from Duffy I rang the 24hr assist and within 20 mins a customer care technician landed on my doorstep at 7pm. He had the 2cent piece out of the AT that had lodged and was prevnting the car recognising Park.

There were all the touches in the delership and and everthign else around the experience was excellent. It bsolutely true that treating the customer wellget return busuiness and gets them to part happily with cash.

I would be interested in hearing any other stories good or bad?
    cheers
    DM

• Registered Users Posts: 12,863 ✭✭✭✭crosstownk

I deal with most manufacturers daily in relation to both warranty and non warranty repairs. The quality of service is so different from one manufacturer to the next. BMW are one of the best, imo with Toyota a close second. Others such are just dire. Most of these 24hr breakdown numbers are companies who specialise in this sort of recovery such as the AA, RAC, Mondial, Ireland Assist, etc, etc. The AA and the RAC are probably a little better and certainly the most professional.

But your 'good' BMW experience is, thankfully, something that is somewhat of a standard for them. Others should take note.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,277 ✭✭✭kdevitt

Personally I think the customer service from BMW here is pretty crap.

I used Joe Duffys for all the servicing on my last BMW - and had no major problems. Occasionally you'd ask them to do something with the car, and it wasn't done - so I'd take it back and they'd eventually get it done. Car was always returned immaculately - full valet etc.

Last time I was there (for an oil service on my 328ci - basically an oil change) was the first time I used their new premises. All the service staff have changed since they were in Griffith Avenue, and they don't give a flying fcuk to be perfectly honest.

Apart from my service costing over €800 (oh we thought you knew the coolant change was €400), the car was scratched, and the interior was filthy - I have a light beige interior and its obvious when someone with mucky shoes has been in it. I also got charged €135 for a visual vehicle inspection. -"theres a crack on your windscreen sir". Given the crack was about 6 inches wide, Stevie Wonder would have spotted it. Made a complaint to the service manager - oh yes we'll refund the vehicle inspection (they never did) and we'll have the paintwork repaired and a full valet done. Car gets collected from my house, and gets returned.... still dirty and all the paintwork still damaged. As far as I can see they took the car, forgot what they were meant to do with it and returned it. They took the car back again, this time touched up the paintwork - exterior was cleaned, interior was still dirty. And only two weeks ago it turns out that the dumb bastards hadn't replaced the dust seal on my passenger side brake caliper when they did the pads, so my caliper seized after the car wasn't driven a for a week.

So have decided against any more main dealer work on the car if at all possible - especially since its for sale! Wouldn't recommend JD's in a fit.

TBH, I don't use Joe Duffy's much but I do find Maxwell Motors in Blackrock and Frank Keanes quite good. Kevin O' Leary's in Cork are good too - but they can have some 'moments'.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

crosstownk wrote:
    TBH, I don't use Joe Duffy's much but I do find Maxwell Motors in Blackrock and Frank Keanes quite good. Kevin O' Leary's in Cork are good too - but they can have some 'moments'.

What moments?

Just a couple of situations they handled pretty poorly but in the end they sorted them all out.

I'm glad to hear we did, and hopefully we'll be a little better in the future. We've a whole new management structure and followup procedure in place. Let us know how we do, because no matter how much we spend on training, or equipment, it's all for nowt unless we get some genuine feedback.

ned78 wrote:
    it's all for nowt unless we get some genuine feedback.
    Very true ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,142 ✭✭✭TempestSabre

A friend used to use Duffys and wasn't happy so he switched to an independent guy aswell. Personally I've found any main dealers I've used absolutely woeful. The only thing they are good at is being creative with a bill.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,910 ✭✭✭✭RoundyMooney

I'll vouch for O Leary's in Cork-have almost finished restoring an E30, and have found them very helpful and prompt for parts and advice, and not as costly as you might think.

One part I required was incorrectly supplied (not their fault-I have access to BMW part numbers, and the part has been superseded by one which simply doesn't fit the earlier cars). I was offered a refund or credit note without question, along with profuse and mostly unnecesary apologies.

Fair play.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,882 ✭✭✭Diamondmaker

Interesting range of opinions. I wonder why it is so varied, I would understand if I had a bad word or 2 but I have to give 100% so far on my 2 years ownership.
    I would ALWAYS purchase from a main deaer though due to the 12mth warranty and 24hr assist.
    That simple 2 cents coin, from my 1st post, would have cost me how much to remove without cover?
    2/3 day wait, I would have had to drive out to a dealer that very night and leave it with them in a safe lock up as I could not lock the car, taxis home , lifts from friends..... so handy.
    Conclusion do not allow loose coppers into your car, the technician said 99% of the time in an AT it is this very reason.

Giving a girl from the office a lift one night she dropped her brand new engagment ring somewhere between the seats. Took us about 20 mins to find it in the dark. I had visions of dismantling the center console and gearstick surround to find it.

If you've an expensive car, and no time or resources to fix it yourself. I reckon it often wise to go the warranty route. Friend had the engine blow on a BoxsterS with under 30k on the clock. Out of warranty a new engine costs about 11k (sterling). His had just expired. Thankfully they fixed it out of goodwill, and that he'd had it dealer serviced from new.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,277 ✭✭✭kdevitt

Interesting range of opinions. I wonder why it is so varied, I would understand if I had a bad word or 2 but I have to give 100% so far on my 2 years ownership.

To be honest - you're one of the first people I've ever heard praising a dealer - and I'm involved with the BMW Car club and my own site for 6 years or so.

You don't work for Joe Duffys by any chance? :D

• Registered Users Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

I'm absolutely happy with my dealer and their service.

A normal service costs between 100 - 150 Euro
    They ring me, when they find something out of the ordinary and clear the cost beforehand
    They show me the parts they replaced
    They give me some old car to drive home for free (I have to put some fuel in it though)
    They don't clean the car ...but they don't dirty it either.
    They answer all the questions I might have about the car or the service.

The car I get serviced is a 7 year old ....

...Suzuki !!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,033 ✭✭✭Mc-BigE

Bought a 2002 320d touring in main dealer in Wexford, car comes with a 12months BMW warranty.
    When I brought the car it had 49Kmiles on the clock, last service stamped was at 43Km’s 11 months before I bought it (car was traded in about 6 months b4 I bought it).
    Was told (verbally) by the salesman that the car had a “BMW pre-sale inspection” or something to that effect, which in my head was picked up as “car got a Service”.

And when I pressed him as to why the car service book wasn’t stamped, he produced a Job Detail Enquiry spreadsheet, showing a list of items done to the car before I bought it, but oil change wasn’t mentioned , 1 litre of oil was mentioned for topup, but no oil change , again in my head this piece of paper falsely confirmed “car got a service” .

So did the deal and drove away home, next time I started the car, the Service interval remainder said it had 13K miles left to its next service! which would be true for a car just serviced!

All this didn’t make sense, i.e. according to the service book the car was serviced 6Kmiles / 11 months ago, and according to the cars computer the car doesn’t need a service for 6 + 13K = 19K miles , for a diesel, sounds excessive.

So I rang the salesman and ask him if he would stamp the book when I bought it at 49K, he said no, the cars oil change was done at 43K and to follow the cars service interval i.e. 19K. to the next change.
    I then emailed BMW directly and asked what was BMW’s recommended service interval of a 2002 320d engine, and the replied “follow the computer service interval”
    ???
    I find I hard to believe that nobody in BMW could tell me what the service interval was, and to just follow the computer? I just can’t believe that oil will last 19K between services in a diesel engine.
    So picture this, 11 months into my warranty, 19K service interval fastapproaching and the turbo blows? I wonder would BMW suddenly remember that the service interval is 10-13K not 19K?, “sorry your warranty is void because you didn’t stick to the service interval”

So for peace of mind and also worried about my warranty, I will have to book my car in for a service in about 3K miles to meet MY recommended service interval of 10-13K, after just buying it 2 months ago and I’ve only done 3K miles.

I know this is something small to some ,but I feel that when a dealer sells a car and says it had a “pre BMW pre-sale inspection” it should also have an oil service.

This small thing has left a bitter taste in my mouth, and this dealer has probably blown any chances of me or my friends buying a new/used BMW from them again, all because of an oil change which wouldn’t cost the garage much.

To be honest - you're one of the first people I've ever heard praising a dealer - and I'm involved with the BMW Car club and my own site for 6 years or so.

You don't work for Joe Duffys by any chance? :D

No not at all, honest! During the sale of the car ( which me and my GF played good cop bad cop. ... she drags me out just as we were going to close saying "NO way, its too much " they then "coax " her back in with further 500 reduction. 1 hours negotiation and we knocked 1500 off and 500 more on the trade in than they could "possibly" offer initially. ( EOM Targets tee hee hee )
    Obviously its all there to be got, but you wont get the reductions without the work!)
    Yeah right up to the handover it was all " call us no matter how small etc etc"
    Was very impressed and well the cars, speak for themselves and deserve a good aftyer sales. I am very surprised as I have heard that they ( BMW ) in general have a good/great CC rep.

Mc Big E , are you allowed name ther dealer?

The turbo is a consumable, and most 2002 Beamers would have had either a turbo, or a mass airflow meter installed by now. And the directive from BMW to follow the service indicator is correct. The car monitors how you drive, if you're the type of person who's in traffic all day it will reduce the interval, and the type of person who spends all day on a motorway, it will extend it. The turbo popping had nothing to do with the oil, it's a high pressure component, and that's the downside of having a 2 litre 150bhp engine, the upside is that at the time it was the most powerful engine in it's class.

There is no reason diesel engines can't go for the type of service intervals you're being quoted without an oil change. Most new premium cars now have service intervals of up to 15k for petrol and 20k for diesel.

What happened to you was unfortunate, but the A.U.C. check every BMW gets makes sure you get a car that's almost as good as new the day you collect it. If you have documentation to backup your claim, and I'm sure you do, I'd stand tough and get the dealer to pay for the new Turbo.

ned78 wrote:
    The turbo is a consumable, and most 2002 Beamers would have had either a turbo, or a mass airflow meter installed by now. And the directive from BMW to follow the service indicator is correct. The car monitors how you drive, if you're the type of person who's in traffic all day it will reduce the interval, and the type of person who spends all day on a motorway, it will extend it. The turbo popping had nothing to do with the oil, it's a high pressure component, and that's the downside of having a 2 litre 150bhp engine, the upside is that at the time it was the most powerful engine in it's class.

There is no reason diesel engines can't go for the type of service intervals you're being quoted without an oil change. Most new premium cars now have service intervals of up to 15k for petrol and 20k for diesel.

What happened to you was unfortunate, but the A.U.C. check every BMW gets makes sure you get a car that's almost as good as new the day you collect it. If you have documentation to backup your claim, and I'm sure you do, I'd stand tough and get the dealer to pay for the new Turbo.

Sorry, just to clarify my turbo is fine, I only have the car 2 months, I was only making an example, a "what if" scenario, actually i'm happy with the car itself, just not convinced that a 150BHP high pressure diesel engine should be left alone for 19K.
    As a matter of interest ned78, as you work in BMW ,what is the recommended BMW service interval for the 320d engine, and please don't say "follow the service computer" to me because I’m sick of that answer:)

Surely when an engine is been developed and tested a service interval has to be recommended, and programmed into the computer for the worst case and the best case scenario, do you have does figures?

Mc Big E , are you allowed name ther dealer?

there's only one Main BMW dealer in Wexford.

ned78 wrote:
    The turbo is a consumable, and most 2002 Beamers would have had either a turbo, or a mass airflow meter installed by now.

are you saying that if my turbo blows the warranty won't cover it because its a consumable?

and i'm no expert, but i don't think my turbo should be blown after 49K miles and 4 years old? should it?

yeah t'was after I thought that likely.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,220 ✭✭✭✭Lex Luthor

crosstownk wrote:
    TBH, I don't use Joe Duffy's much but I do find Maxwell Motors in Blackrock and Frank Keanes quite good.
    I have to agree with you on Keanes...I used Murphy & Gunn in Milltown and found them to be exceptional

• Registered Users Posts: 65,414 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

Lex Luthor wrote:
    I used Murphy & Gunn in Milltown and found them to be exceptional

I used them once in 2001 and they were courteous and professional. I got a detailed report with all the checks carried out and a specified bill. At the time a standard oil service cost £350 all-in. That's for a V8 though. A standard 4-pot service was £200 or thereabouts iirc

Since then I use a specialist. They know their stuff, have all the required equipment incl. BMW software and I trust them. Bills are less than half compared to the dealer...

Mc-BigE wrote:
    As a matter of interest ned78, as you work in BMW ,what is the recommended BMW service interval for the 320d engine, and please don't say "follow the service computer" to me because I’m sick of that answer:)

Surely when an engine is been developed and tested a service interval has to be recommended, and programmed into the computer for the worst case and the best case scenario, do you have does figures?

BMW man is after getting very quiet when i asked this question? why is that?
    must be busy down in cork or maybe gone to Cardiff:)

• Registered Users Posts: 508 ✭✭✭Mac 3

I have a 320i, love the car and would buy another but would probably not go through a main dealer again. Anyone who is familar with the BMW owners club will probably have read about my fun and games with BMW.

Long story short, bought a 97 320i from main dealer, it had this 112 point inspection carried out before I bought it and 1 years warranty etc. peace of mind for me.

After 6 months (6months warranty left) The 320i started guzzling oil, with the help of the owner's club I was informed about an engine defect in some of the six cylinder cars. (Premature bore wear is the technical term)I went back to the supplying dealer who gave me the brush off a few times, the warranty company said that it's wear and tear on the engine, hard luck. BMW in the UK had a system in place to deal with the defect should the car meet certain criteria, such as having FSH and the failure of a compression test. Mine had the FSH and was down on compression. The only fix is a new short engine.

A member of the owners club told me that his brother had the same trouble with his car and had it sorted out free of charge up north. I went to a Northern dealer after they carried out the tests, they spoke to BMW UK and sorted out my problem quickly and efficently.They had a new engine shipped from the Uk and fitted in a matter of days, the only cost to me was a set of spark plugs. The car was spotless when i got it back. Basically, my car had a manufacturing defect and next to no-one in the Republic wanted to know. I sent a letter to BMW Irl and got a half a$$ed apology, and since they had done nothing to resove the problem, I asked about maybe a free oil service as a good will gesture and all they came up with was an offer of 50% off the labour costs.

I felt at the time that the dealers in Ireland had a lot to do to catch up to thier UK counterparts, they seem to be making an effort. The warranty is now run by BMW and not a third party, as was the case with my car.

Overall, hats off to the Lads in the Owners' club, and BMW UK. my next car will be a BMW, but I would have little confidence in buying from a main Dealer or thier warranty.
    Mac.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,222 ✭✭✭\m/_(>_<)_\m/

lads lads..... when will ye ever learn....BMW,

slated by every motor journalist in the last 4 years...
    to quote Jeremy Clarkson..."think 3-series and you have a job staying awake"

bottom of Top Gears "Good Car Bad Car 2006"

lads lads..... when will ye ever learn....BMW,

slated by every motor journalist in the last 4 years...
    to quote Jeremy Clarkson..."think 3-series and you have a job staying awake"

bottom of Top Gears "Good Car Bad Car 2006"

I suppose a rusty old lancia would be more exciting?

Clarkson - tabloid journalist not motor journalist :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 11,220 ✭✭✭✭Lex Luthor

Mac 3 wrote:
    I have a 320i, love the car and would buy another but would probably not go through a main dealer again. Anyone who is familar with the BMW owners club will probably have read about my fun and games with BMW.

Long story short, bought a 97 320i from main dealer, it had this 112 point inspection carried out before I bought it and 1 years warranty etc. peace of mind for me.

After 6 months (6months warranty left) The 320i started guzzling oil, with the help of the owner's club I was informed about an engine defect in some of the six cylinder cars. (Premature bore wear is the technical term)I went back to the supplying dealer who gave me the brush off a few times, the warranty company said that it's wear and tear on the engine, hard luck. BMW in the UK had a system in place to deal with the defect should the car meet certain criteria, such as having FSH and the failure of a compression test. Mine had the FSH and was down on compression. The only fix is a new short engine.

A member of the owners club told me that his brother had the same trouble with his car and had it sorted out free of charge up north. I went to a Northern dealer after they carried out the tests, they spoke to BMW UK and sorted out my problem quickly and efficently.They had a new engine shipped from the Uk and fitted in a matter of days, the only cost to me was a set of spark plugs. The car was spotless when i got it back. Basically, my car had a manufacturing defect and next to no-one in the Republic wanted to know. I sent a letter to BMW Irl and got a half a$$ed apology, and since they had done nothing to resove the problem, I asked about maybe a free oil service as a good will gesture and all they came up with was an offer of 50% off the labour costs.

I felt at the time that the dealers in Ireland had a lot to do to catch up to thier UK counterparts, they seem to be making an effort. The warranty is now run by BMW and not a third party, as was the case with my car.

Overall, hats off to the Lads in the Owners' club, and BMW UK. my next car will be a BMW, but I would have little confidence in buying from a main Dealer or thier warranty.
    Mac.
    Mac, was your car originally a UK car? The nikasil issue you experienced seemed only to appear mainly on UK imported cars.
    Which is probably why BMW UK responded faster to your problem than BMW IRL. I'm not patting BMW IRL on the back for their actions, but can you just let us know where the car originally came from?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,563 ✭✭✭Padraig Mor

Have had a few dealings recently with Ryan's Subaru garage in Bishopstown, Cork. The service manager there is ex-BMW.....and is possibly the most obnoxious person I have ever met in my life! The guy should seriously not be let near the public! Dunno how long he was with BMW but it doesn't say much for them that they hired him in the first place.

Lex Luthor wrote:
    Mac, was your car originally a UK car? The nikasil issue you experienced seemed only to appear mainly on UK imported cars.
    Which is probably why BMW UK responded faster to your problem than BMW IRL. I'm not patting BMW IRL on the back for their actions, but can you just let us know where the car originally came from?

Why does that make a difference?