Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Anyone here nearly die in a freak accident

• Closed Accounts Posts: 191 ✭✭Diarmiud

I can only barely remember choking on a gobstopper or some large sweet or other when I was about three. Ive never had my face go so red since. If my parents werent there to slap me on the back...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

chamlis wrote:
    When I was a kid I was flying down this hill near where I live on my BMX. The road was recently re-surfaced so there was a build up of gravel at the sides. I heard someone call me from behind so I looked back. When I looked forward again I realised the bike was gone and I was just flying through the air.

sorry but that sounds hilarious.

i was kayaking down a wier and capsized at the bottom. it was very shallow and the boat was on top of me so i was pressed against the bottom drowning in about a foot of white water. the boat floated out to the end of the wier and i was able to get out when it got deep again. needless to say the kayak needed some cleaning out afterwards :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,544 ✭✭✭✭Supercell

I was stabbed once in the chest.

If I hadn't subdued them, then I'd have been stabbed again and I'd have been dead. If you haven't been in that sort of situation then you really can't comment on how strong the survival instinct is. I had to pin this person up against a wall for over 10 minutes before someone else came along, all the while knowing that I was losing a lot of blood.

I never said I got an ambulance either... I was stayed pretty calm about the whole affair, I got a lift to the hospital and walked into A&E on my own two feet. Luckily you don't have to have to wait when you have lots of blood pumping out of you and they rushed me inside... it was only then that I let go and my body went into shock.

Luckily none of my internal organs were ruptured, but having the surgeon stick his finger inside the wound to check was a very unpleasent experience.

At least I know I can handle myself fairly well in a critical situation though...

Jaysus, fair play, that really was defeating death there, the force is clearly strong in you!

Have a weather station?, why not join the Ireland Weather Network - http://irelandweather.eu/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

Longfield wrote:
    Jaysus, fair play, that really was defeating death there, the force is clearly strong in you!
    It was completely unexpected as well. It was someone I've known all my life who stabbed me without warning while I was just sitting watching a DVD of Magnolia.

I can't remember what scene though.... it may have been a bit with Julianne Moore...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Thirdfox wrote:
    Hit by a piano when I was 4... no broken bones! :D

Did the piano say "Acme" on it by any chance? :)

Ruu wrote:
    Did the piano say "Acme" on it by any chance? :)
    Ah... I was trying to remember what that reminded me of...

It was in 'Who Framed Roger Rabit?'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,020 ✭✭✭mang87

I've had many a fit with a lawnmower according to my mates. that counts right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,110 ✭✭✭Thirdfox

Ah... I was trying to remember what that reminded me of...

It was in 'Who Framed Roger Rabit?'

Well anything from roadrunner too...

It wasn't acme but it was scary! Life in slow motion at four isn't something I want to experience again (not that I can anyway :D )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 753 ✭✭✭Font22

hmmmmmm had a gun pointed at me when i was 10 and living in Israel. that was fun. the guy didnt have any intention to shoot me, was just doing it for a laugh, but was scary all the same!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,963 ✭✭✭SpAcEd OuT

I was stabbed once in the chest.

If I hadn't subdued them, then I'd have been stabbed again and I'd have been dead. If you haven't been in that sort of situation then you really can't comment on how strong the survival instinct is. I had to pin this person up against a wall for over 10 minutes before someone else came along, all the while knowing that I was losing a lot of blood.

I never said I got an ambulance either... I was stayed pretty calm about the whole affair, I got a lift to the hospital and walked into A&E on my own two feet. Luckily you don't have to have to wait when you have lots of blood pumping out of you and they rushed me inside... it was only then that I let go and my body went into shock.

Luckily none of my internal organs were ruptured, but having the surgeon stick his finger inside the wound to check was a very unpleasent experience.

At least I know I can handle myself fairly well in a critical situation though...

fair ****s to you if its true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,561 ✭✭✭Rhyme

...but having the surgeon stick his finger inside the wound to check was a very unpleasent experience.
    Bleurgh... lucky you're still alive, for sure.

Closest for me is an arrow in my eye... it's an old story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,024 ✭✭✭Awayindahils

car crash; was lying down in the back seat of car which had no seat belts in the back, when we hit a bus. i should've gone through the front window but that my dad grabbed me. didn't actually seem so bad at the time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭dermot_sheehan

Nearly been decapitated by a chair lift.

Been shot at (or as I like to think of it shot towards)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,618 ✭✭✭Civilian_Target

Some very high skangers came very close to receiving the front end of the Dublin->Belfast express train at the back of my house last night. Could've been funny...

Chair lift? As in the machine that carries grannies up stairs??? How did that happen?

Oh and nearly got blown up by the IRA bombing of Manchester Shopping Centre too... huge mushroom cloud (I know it wasn't nuclear! :p )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 104 ✭✭Juicebox

in primary school on the way home driving by the cliffs of moher huuuuuge wind came blew in all the windows on top of us,knocked over the bus,and some panel exploded in front of me.Had to be hospitilised for fume inhalation.

had a few near death experiences with horses notabely standing on my back ouch..also nearly lost my eye due to an incident with a surf board

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Thirdfox wrote:
    Hit by a piano when I was 4... no broken bones! :D

Did you hit it back? :D

Now that I think of it, when I was younger I thought that it would be a good idea to warm up my butter knife so that it goes more smoothly through the butter......so I stuck it against the heating coil in the toaster! :D Turns out it wasn't a good idea...

Thank god for safety mechanisms in electrical goods!

Well I wanted to say it fell on me but that would give the wrong image i.e. ACME piano off a 20 storey building.

It was more of a gentle tilt by some rogue while I was trying to retrieve a toy car under the piano... lucky the main part didn't fully crush me!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 589 ✭✭✭MrSinn

I would tell you some of my near death experiences here but its just a big laugh for all of the lads here,golfballs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 599 ✭✭✭New_Departure06

A few years ago I was driving home on my motorbike on an attrocious pothole filled road and it was raining torrentially and my visor was totally impossible to see through. Next thing my motorbike is crashing into the ditch at the side of the road. Amazingly, I endured very minor injuries, including sortof a hole in my knee but that has healed since. The motorbike too was only mildly harmed, with one of the mirrors coming off. A helpful dude turned up to help me get the motorbike out of the ditch when the rain stopped shortly afterwards.

Dad bought me that motorbike. The last thing I wanted was him finding out and hell breaking loose so I managed to drive to the garage to get it fixed for a surprisingly okay fee. Almost like nothing happened. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

Fell off a waterfall once.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,378 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

Nothing happened to me but I met a belfast girl a few years back who had gotten shot befre she was actually born, i.e. whilst still in her mothers womb. I thinkthe bullet had just grazed her. didn't beleive it until she sent me a magazine article about her mother.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 100 ✭✭bazzer06

My dad drove over me when i was six! twas quite close though - i could see every detail in the tyre!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 243 ✭✭dmck2886

I was pulling on the cord of an extension lead when it snaped (were it was previously fixed) an the live wire just fell short of the puddle I was standing in, my life flashed before my eyes!

Maybe all of us here actually did die and this is us now sitting around talking about it in purgatory.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,249 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

Nearly drowned in the shallow end of a pool.

Got knocked down off my bike.

Neither were that serious but it's about as close as I've come to near death.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,561 ✭✭✭Rhyme

Maybe all of us here actually did die and this is us now sitting around talking about it in purgatory.
    That's enough out of you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

irlrobins wrote:
    Thanks to my Dad's botched attempt of wiring an extension cable, I picked up the live end of the cable that should have been dead. Thankfully I had my other hand on a metal radiator that was earthed so current went right thru me.

Gave me quite a shock. Excuse the pun.

Uh, no, having your hand on a radiator is the worst possible thing that could have happened. Electricity only harms you if it travels through you. Something being earthed is only a good thing if it draws the current away from a person, its the worst thing possible if its through a person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭irlrobins

Well I don't know the physics of it, but somehow it didn't kill me! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

i'm accident prone...lol
    i'm not going into all the accidents i've had though.
    just the one.

a few years ago, i got hit by a car on the way to study in school. luckily enough it was only a nissan micra....i'm a pretty tall guy so the car kinda came off worse than me. although i was unconcious for a while. apparently some girl looked after me at the scene, i wish i knew who that was, i'd love to thank them. the car hit me and i flew up in the air and landed on the ground. i got a bit of a concussion, a lot of scrapes on my back (of which i still have some scars), a few deep cuts on my legs, and a broken ankle. i was pretty dazed... after it. i lost my memory too. i cant actually remember it happening. just from what i was told in the hospital. as to the other people who say they had their life flash before them. i totally agree with this. i had a "Moment" of "contentment" where i told myself that if i was going now, i was ready. although i didnt want to go, if i had to i was ready. i know its a bad thing to think that, but i was out of it and unconcious for a good number of minutes, i think approx 15/20 at first and more later on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,658 ✭✭✭Patricide

Not near death(i hope anyway) but bad none the less, when i was on hols in turkey i went for a swim at night after about 5 mins the security guard on patroll came around saw me in the pool and went nuts, After he dragged me outta the pool he started screaming that chlorine was being pumped into the pool and that i had to go take a shower straight away. My skin ended up peeling off everywhere(and i mean everywhere) off my body. Needless to say that trip sucked.

i wouldnt be that pissed off but the pool has day and night rules which made me think it was ok to swim at night.

O and another story a guy i know got stabbed 5 times in the chest with a butterknife and survived, Crazy of all things a butter knife.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

irlrobins wrote:
    Well I don't know the physics of it, but somehow it didn't kill me! :D
    hurrah! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭Siogfinsceal

Years ago my aunt was staying over & asked me to go to the shop with her in the car. I got distracted by somethign & didnt go. She went down the road and crashed the car police said anyone in passenger seat would have been killed.

In a car few years ago, lay down in the back seat. Driver fell asleep & car flipped over into a ditch back window smashed in so if I was sitting up id be dead. Walked away with just bruises.

On a horse in my old job. had the strap of my hat hanging open (v unsafe supposedly). Horse got spooked and ran under a tree branch caught the branch across my throat and got bend backwards in half and the back of the saddle hit my into my back. Hat went flying several feet luckily I had the strap open or that would have been my head

another time a horse reared and fell backwards onto me. Miraculously I missed a rock by about 5 inches and only got a sprained leg ...feel very lucky to be alive after that one. Heard about another guy that same thing happened to and he broke his pelvis.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,620 ✭✭✭Roen

Sony wrote:
    Munich, Germany

Was living there fore the summer and I cant remember the name of the main river running through it........
    Isar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,104 ✭✭✭fly_agaric

swingking wrote:
    Has anyone nearly died in a freak accident; for example a car crash or nearly drowned

Post you experience

I aspirated a LEGO Technic cog once when I was ~7 or 8 and turned a bit red/purple before I coughed it out. I could have died and Ireland would have been a much better place! Is that good enough?:) Probably not close enough to death for you!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

I nearly drowned while 45 metres below sea level. It's very dark, cold, and silent down there. It's not something I'd care to experience again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 268 ✭✭Burts Bee

Roen wrote:
    *takes deep breath*
    Had a bolt of lightning miss me by about a foot when I was sixteen.
    Got malaria twice in Zambia.
    Went ass over tits down a steep set of stairs and rammed my head into the bit between the glass sheets, a couple of inches either side and I was clean through the glass, as it was I was lucky to come away with a split skull.
    Freak gust of wind knocked the microlight I was flying sideways, managed to level it out about 100ft from the ground, about two seconds at the rate we were falling.
    Fell 25ft out of a tree and missed being impaled on a sharp broken branch that was sticking vertically out of the ground by 1 inch.
    Oh, and I was bitten by a penguin in Dublin zoo once, (emotionally) scarred for life.
    There's loads more but I've had so many bangs to the head that I have difficulty remembering the rest :)

You must be the luckiest person alive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 831 ✭✭✭Carb

Nearly choked on a pickeld onion once. Only got it to move after getting my back thumped for a minute or so.

For the next 12 months I wasn't allowed pickled onions unless they were cut in half first:(

Sarky wrote:
    I nearly drowned while 45 metres below sea level. It's very dark, cold, and silent down there. It's not something I'd care to experience again.
    Searching for R'lyeh?

You've got to let go of that crazy dream!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

Searching for R'lyeh?

You've got to let go of that crazy dream!

>_>

...No, of course not...

:€

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,620 ✭✭✭Roen

Burts Bee wrote:
    You must be the luckiest person alive
    Not sure if somebody up there likes me or hates me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 575 ✭✭✭JustCoz

When I was in Canada for the summer, myself and a few of my friends went white water rafting. I fell out of the raft at a pretty dangerous place and was sucked under the water by a current. They tried throwing me ropes but they missed. It was very scary.
    Eventually the raft in front of us was able to get me a rope but there was no time to pull me on before the next rapid so I had to go through it in the water holding onto a rope. Thankfully all I had were a few cuts and bruises. Could have been way worse!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

I was hillwalking with some other people outside Westport about a year ago.
    We were all walking on a hillside sloping down towards a 40 foot drop and the sea. Suddenly I slipped and started sliding down towards the edge. Digging my heels and fingers into the damp ground I managed to come to a halt before falling over but it was a very close call indeed...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭snickerpuss

Wow all your experiences are much more scary.
    I sat back on some grass but i'd sat back on what i hope to this day was glass (*not a needle*) and got a really deep cut and i went into shock, was bleeding all over the place.

Howandever when i went to the doctor to get my stitches out he said if it had been an inch to one side i'd have cut an artery and have bled to death within a few minutes and i never would have gotten to hospital in time.

Scared me no end. I had no plan to bleed to death in a park in coolock.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 107 ✭✭ek942

This is the result of a close call one frosty morning.I was in the passenger seat with no belt on(idiot).That's my mate who was driving making sure he can dance.Funny, he couldn't before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

not really near death but near scarring: my mother had made chips and she put the pot full of oil on the draining board to cool. when she put it down it started to sizzle the water that was on the draining board and i couldn't hear the tv over it so i poured a glass of water into it. destroyed the curtains but my reflexes were fast enough that it only got on the back of my top. i'm an idiot :D

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Was in a couple of car crashes, one when I was 5 or 6. The car I was in got hit by a car that went out of control on a bend hitting us and almost pushing us to a drop of about 30 feet. Remember having to get out of the drivers side and seeing the car with one wheel (the one in front of me) hanging over the edge.

The other was when a ESB pickup truck collided with me head on, on a small by road at around 80 km/h, I wasn't really injured... But I was well pissed off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭dermot_sheehan

Thirdfox wrote:
    Chair lift? As in the machine that carries grannies up stairs??? How did that happen?

Slipped while coming off at ramp with drop on one side, was struggling up, chair behind (with no one on it) was coming up, turned around and just saw this chair heading for my head, let go and fell for about 6 feet down back of chairlift ramp, not a big deal in retrospect but was scary at the time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

I was shot in a bank robbery in New York in 97, I served 2 years in the state prison.

10 years previous whilst on holiday with my family in Tailand the small plane we were island hopping in crashed into the ocean.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,977 ✭✭✭mp3guy

Well, is was cycling along, and went round a corner, started to speed up so I was standing on the pedals, and the chain locked up as did the wheels, so the handle bars turned completely to the right, and my lower abdomen slammed right into the end of the handle, then I fell. Next thing I know, I've a big cut on my shoulder and the side of my face, I must've hit the curb or something, can't remember, and theres a big bulge where the handle bar went in. Nearly passed out, got an ambulance anyway, turns out I got a hernia and damaged the outer wall of my bowels.