Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

PC labs:Talking on the phone

Options
  • 17-05-2006 8:51pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 107 ✭✭

ok was in a computer lab in earlsfort terrace,

There were 2 other people and me. One guy's phone rings and he proceeds to have a general conversation for about 5-10 mins. He was talking quite loudly but people talking on phones doesn't really bother me except maybe when I'm studying. Even then, I wouldnt really say anything.

About 20 mins later my phone rings and I start having a conversation with my mother. a few minutes into the conversation the very same guy has the nerve to come over to me and ask me if I would mind 'making my phone call outside'.

I thought fair enough and left and when I came in I realised that he had in fact made a phone call earlier. Unfortunately he left soon after before I could make a snide remark about his double standards :mad: (hence the need to vent my frustration on boards! :D:D )

but it got me thinking how acceptable do people think taking phonecalls is in the computer labs?

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 1,755 ✭✭✭elmyra

Texting and such doesn't bother me, phone calls I've got used to. If it's a quick call I think it's pretty ok, no point in being draconian about it and the labs aren't the same as the library, you have to expect a degree of noise there.

I guess I'm just bitter cos I got asked to stop talking to my friend (who was present, as opposed to on the phone) in G6 a while ago....a while ago as in near the start of the year when nobody had even started doing real college work. I wasn't even being loud!