Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Satellite broadband advice

• 26-05-2006 1:24pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 149 ✭✭

I'm new to boards.ie....I'm wondering if someone can give me advice re. satellite broadband...I presume there must be a thread somewhere but I"ve gone back 10 pages with no success.
    I live in west Roscommon,miles from an enabled exchange.It has to be satellite.I'm not a gamer but would like to use limewire (PtoP) now and again.Would this be a problem.The main players seem to be mediasat down in cork and digiweb-does anybody have experience dealing with these companies-good/bad or indifferent?Is there much point in going for the significantly more expensive 1028k speed rather than 512k for the average home user who just wants to browse the net in the evenings?
    Any advice would be appreciated.
    mike

Comments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,713 ✭✭✭✭jor el

Thread on digiweb bad experience here.

The caps are fairly restrictive on Satellite net access (I won't call it broadband because it isn't really) so using P2P might not work out so good in the end. I don't know if there are any restrictions placed on the ports to stop you using it though.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 25,234 ✭✭✭✭Sponge Bob

cxcully wrote:
    The main players seem to be mediasat down in cork and digiweb-does anybody have experience dealing with these companies-good/bad or indifferent?

Correct. Thats your lot in Ireland along with (various names but same thing) Educom aka Orbitlink aka Hughes .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,417 ✭✭✭✭watty