Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ghost hunting / Paranormal Investigation in Ireland

• Registered Users Posts: 209 ✭✭Torlac

ok so lets say we meet at 1 for 2 hours then head on to the castle.
    any earlier is not suitable for anyone travelling a long way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,136 ✭✭✭Superman

well no ghost story would be complete without bringing along the token black man , me!. I'll go

• Registered Users Posts: 1,005 ✭✭✭MeatProduct

Originally posted by Superman
    well no ghost story would be complete without bringing along the token black man , me!. I'll go
    Great Superman! Where are you living?

Nick

• Closed Accounts Posts: 607 ✭✭✭malico

Hey guys.
    I have confirmation for and phone numbers for:

Torlac O'Reilly
    Nicholas Kelly
    Andrew Kenneth

But none for:

Trevor Breen
    Andy
    Keith Redmond

Can you guys please e-mail me with your phone numbers today so we can arrange everything?

Also Superman, can you e-mail me today with your phone number, area and equiptment so I can add it to my list?

Ian

(Next saturday boys and girls! Woohoo!!)

Heya guys!

Well the time is upon us. I still haven;t heard from:

Trevor Breen
    Andy
    Keith Redmond

Guys if you're comming, please please call me today / e-mail / PM me.

Superman, if you're heading will you pls IM me ASAP?

I say we meet up in tullamore at 12. Maybe Nick / torlac could pick up us dubs if no-one is driving from Dub?

If no-one is driving from Dublin, the trains are at:

Dep. Sta.
    Arr. Sta.
    Date
    Dep. Time
    Arr. Time
    Changes
    Service

Dublin Heuston
    Tullamore
    12/05/2004
    Arrow
    Leaving:
    Dublin Heuston
    Tullamore
    12/05/2004
    InterCity

Home:

Dep. Sta.
    Arr. Sta.
    Date
    Dep. Time
    Arr. Time
    Changes
    Service

Tullamore
    Dublin Heuston
    16/05/2004
    InterCity

Tullamore
    Dublin Heuston
    16/05/2004
    InterCity

Is anyone driving from Dublin? The directions are:

Acc Dist Route Directions

0.00 0.00 N81 Start out at Tallaght,Dublin
    Follow signs Blessington N81
    0.30 0.30 N81 Junction for Oldbawn
    At traffic signals forward
    2.50 2.20 N82 Junction with N82
    At traffic signals turn right N82 (signposted The South) At next four roundabouts keep forward
    3.80 1.30 N7 Junction with N7
    At roundabout take 1st exit to join N7 (signposted The South)
    13.10 9.30 M7 Junction with M7
    Keep forward (signposted Limerick, Cork) to join Motorway M7
    20.20 7.10 M7 Junction 9 (M9)
    Take right-hand lanes
    23.20 3.00 N7 Junction 10 (N7)
    End of Motorway Keep forward N7
    27.20 4.00 N7 Kildare

33.50 6.30 N7 Moore Abbey

33.70 0.20 R420 Monasterevin
    Turn right R420 (signposted Portarlington)
    39.70 6.00 R420 Portarlington
    Shortly turn left
    44.40 4.70 R420 Clonygowan

48.80 4.40 R420 Geashill

57.10 8.30 R420 Arrive at Tullamore

- - - Section time 1:24, Total time 1:24
    You have reached your destination.

Here is the Cork route:

Acc Dist Route Directions
    0.00 0.00 N25 Start out at Jct N25/N28 (Cork Tunnel South),Cork
    Follow signs Dublin, Rosslare N25 and cross the Douglas Estuary Bridge In 1.5 miles through Jack Lynch Tunnel
    2.50 2.50 N8 Dunkettle Interchange
    At roundabout take 2nd exit At roundabout take 2nd exit N8 (signposted Dublin)
    17.10 14.60 N8 Rathcormack

21.60 4.50 N8 Fermoy
    Follow signs Dublin N8
    31.30 9.70 N8 Mitchelstown
    Follow signs Dublin N8
    35.30 4.00 N8 Kilbeheny

48.90 13.60 N8 Junction with N24
    At roundabout take 2nd exit
    54.00 5.10 N8 New Inn
    In 3.7 miles turn right into
    59.40 5.40 N8 Cashel
    Follow signs Dublin N8
    68.00 8.60 N8 "Horse and Jockey" public house

70.30 2.30 N8 Littleton

73.30 3.00 N8 Noard (Turnpike)

79.10 5.80 N8 Urlingford
    At far end of village branch left
    81.40 2.30 N8 Johnstown
    At crossroads forward
    87.40 6.00 N8 Cullahill

91.30 3.90 N8 Durrow
    Follow signs Dublin N8
    96.80 5.50 N8 Abbeyleix

104.30 7.50 N8 Junction with M7
    At roundabout take 3rd exit (signposted Port Laoise)
    105.80 1.50 N80 Port Laoise
    Follow signs Tullamore N80.
    112.20 6.40 N80 Mountmellick
    Turn left then right
    121.40 9.20 N80 Killeigh

126.40 5.00 N52 (edge of) Tullamore
    At roundabout take 2nd exit N52 (signposted Town Centre)
    126.60 0.20 N52 Arrive at Tullamore

- - - Section time 2:57, Total time 2:57
    You have reached your destination.

Ian, I don't mind picking people up from Dublin but people might be a bit concerned travelling with me since I am on my 2nd provisional license. I've no problems with that though.

Nick

Hey Nick!

Ahh dont; worry! I'm on my third provisional!! :)

If andrew wants to get the train thats cool, otherwise I'll drive the bike down. I'm easy (as i'm told!!) :)

Is 12 ok for everyone? then we can head to the castly for 2 and get to work!!

Hi Ian,

Looking at the AA route mapp I posted above it will take Tolloc and myself about 3 hours to get there with no traffic, if there's traffic I reckon that could go to 4 hours. So if Torlac and myself leave at about 8:30am we should do ok for getting there at 12. A 2 hour meeting should do the trick before we head to the castle.

Nick

• Registered Users Posts: 2,633 ✭✭✭stormkeeper

I was thinking of taking the train, though I'd end up being in Tullamore. So I take it we're not meeting in Birr?

Looks closer than birr!

How about I meet you on saturmorning andy? Then we'll grab the train down

Sure :)

I can take the bus down, er... UP to Heuston. I'd better top up my phone in case I can't find you, lol

I need to work out what I need to bring now, lol

Andy, meet ya at Huestan at 10:15 for the train?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,136 ✭✭✭Superman

i'm in dublin and i don't mind goin but it seems like alot a travel and expense, If i can get a mate to go, i'll go.

any chance we can just head to a forest in the dublin mountains and fester evil there?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,566 ✭✭✭Gillo

By my reckonign there are a few goign from Dublin. why not rent a car?

Gillo, Only me and Kenneth are gogin from dublin. No-one else mailed me to confirm. The train trup shouldn;t be that expensive all round, About 30 i reckon.

Superman, send me on your contact detaisl will ya? Also, anyone else thta i didn;t know about! Are you gogin Gillo?

Ian

Originally posted by malico
    Andy, meet ya at Huestan at 10:15 for the train?

Sure, that's grand. I'll need to catch an early bus to meet you there. I'm going out to pick up a package from the post office, so I should have the EMF yoke now :)

PS: Sorry about the delay in answering, DSL was out since 7pm last night, and it's only back on since a few mins ago.

Looks like just the 3 of us! I hope we can get through the work they have planned for us there at the castle.

Ian, can you think of anything I would need to bring apart from my laptop?

Nick

Hmm... Just 3 of us? Hmm... That's fun, sorta. Ah well, all the more ghosts for us... Though I think there's a 4th person coming along?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,566 ✭✭✭Gillo

No, afraid I can't make it due to family commitments.

Ah well. Perhaps next time?

Btw guys, I just got my EMF Measurer, and I detected a ghost with it already.... I think, so it works pretty well so far :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,135 ✭✭✭KlodaX

that sounds interesting.

where are yous going next time?

I don't think we're actually sure yet, but it's all down to voting and stuff, I think..

I'd like to do a stone circle next.

Nick

• Registered Users Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Sorry guys, I wanted to go and still really do but...I chickened out. I don't have the bottle for it. I am really going to push myself to go on the next one. Since this is the biggest one(does it get bigger than Charleville castle???), this should have sooooooooo not been the first one!!! Anyway, extremely interested in seeing/hearing about you guys and what happens! If i bring a mate with me next time, it will be easier. Plus i drive.

I am Jealous!!!!

Andy :dunno:

If I'm late getting to Tullamore it's because I've become terribly lost :( See you guys there!

Nick

Wow, less than 12 hours to go... I'm all pumped up, and I'm all ready to go :D

I might take the train... Though I'd get there faster... Only one I could get leaves at 854am... Usually is a tad late. Imo, I'm best off withthe train coz I arrive in Heuston, and gives me a chance to find the train to Tullamore... I haven't been to Heuston in yonks, lol

I'd get lost :o

Anyway, I'll be there about 930am-odd, will prolly get myself a bit of breakfast or something...

• Registered Users Posts: 209 ✭✭Torlac

did i miss anything??????????

A fair few things happened, but I can't remember much at the moment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,204 ✭✭✭bug

well hope you's had a good one, let us know of any reports you have.